Vallen Employee Reviews

Found 116 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucked in this place
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Travelers Rest, SCJanuary 4, 2017
was material handler, forklift operator
management was horrible
no room for advancement
co workers were so so
hardest part of job was the management
not really enjoyable
Pros
none
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So enjoyed this job!
Crib Attendant (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEDecember 4, 2016
I am a morning person. This job started early. I performed cycle counts first thing in the morning. When CNH employee's arrived I waited the counter to charge out the supplies they needed. The rest of the day was shipping/receiving, stocking, waiting the counter.
I had wonderful co-workers. We worked well together, helped each other. I loved this job. I love working with people.
Pros
The work.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Shipping and Receiving Clerk/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Addison, ILDecember 3, 2016
I loved working at Hagemeyer. The crew was great to work with. Would love to go back to hagemeyer but they closed the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global parent company
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 25, 2016
Typical work day is managing the production area and kit process area, customer service, inside sales and associate interaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much room for growth/long work hours
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Monroe, OHNovember 1, 2016
Expect you to work for weeks on end without a day off. No raises as if right now. Moral is very low. Can't keep new employees
Pros
There isn't any
Cons
Long work hours, no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
District Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAOctober 6, 2016
Responsible for overall profitability within the CA market. A great deal of responsibility for one person.
Difficulty balance between taking care of direct reports and an enormous and complex sales force.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work enviroment
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 28, 2016
deliver products to customers unload all incoming freight ensure inventory control was conducted. ensure all material delivered was on packing lists. very hot environment in summer and very cold in winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company doesn't care about their employees
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Belmont, NCJuly 28, 2016
This company doesn't care about the well being of their employees and there is really no place to advance even when you perform and do your best.
Cons
Low pay, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going from plant to plant
Technical Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 15, 2016
Management is ok the people i worked with were nice and its not the hardest job but it take a lot of physical work.hagemeyer overall is not a bad company i just hope get better equipment to make the job less stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Various Management Positions (Current Employee) –  Blemont, NCJuly 12, 2016
There is no work-life balance, compensation is terrible, and leadership is nonexistent since the CEO retired last year. Advancement is only for those who are related to managers, or are part of the Good-Old-Boys network that formed the company years and years ago. IDG is being merged with Hagermeyer, which seems like they may be an OK company, but avoid IDG.
Pros
Pay is usually on time, if sometimes incorrect
Cons
Misery and low morale abound, just ask anyone below a Director-level
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unreliable
N/A (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCMay 23, 2016
This company will jerk you around and make a ton of promises they never intend to keep. You will watch your friends get laid off one by one and take on their work with no additional pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
warehouse Receiving & warehouse Lead Manager (Former Employee) –  Orange, TXMay 20, 2016
Ok company per work load, hours, healthcare, sick leave, vacation, holidays, working with other personal with the company and helping others.
Pros
Free lunches for achevments.
Cons
short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with good values
Document Control/Sales Support (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCMay 16, 2016
* data entry and assistance office manager
* accounts payable and accounts receivable
* management was great and caring
* co-workers worked together
* finding small parts in a big warehouse
* traveling to other location
Pros
I got to travel some
Cons
Company merged
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Counter Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 12, 2016
Supportive coworkers however compensation and management leaves something to be desired. Great place to learn the industry basics.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDApril 14, 2016
Good company to work for.

Learned how to work on various breathing and safety equipment such as SCBA's, fire extinguishers. etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Area Operations Manager/ Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 4, 2016
I have enjoyed my time at Hagemeyer. The leadership provides direction, but autonomy as well. Compensation is acceptable.
Pros
Values initiative
Cons
Need infrastucture upgrade
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very much state of the art offices, fitness ctr, cafe for lunch and breakfast
Operations Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCFebruary 26, 2016
I loved working for the company, had many friends there, long time working for one company but I just loved the people, they were like my 2nd family.. Only once did I have a Boss that I didn't care much for. Many opportunities to advance within the company.
Pros
Nice cafe
Cons
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hagemeyer was a fun and productive workplace
Transportation Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 21, 2016
Because of the downward turn in the economy my position was eliminated. I have learned many skills over the years and meet hundreds of people will all types of backgrounds and skills. I am confident that I will find another company that will profit from my skill set. Just hope it does not take to long.
Pros
Fun meeting people and learning so many skills
Cons
Always new an end had to come
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and supportive team members
Accounts Receivables Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCFebruary 10, 2016
Typical day I worked from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and stayed very busy.
I learned a tremendous amount about accounting.
Management settled for nothing less than perfection.
Best co-workers I can remember working with.
Hardest part of the job was continually striving to meet my supervisors standards.
Felt like part of a work family.
Pros
Had United Way fund raisers with raffles for quality items
Cons
Wasn't five minutes from my home
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and people very friendly
Customer Service Account (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2016
Enjoyed working for HNA. co workers were great to work with. We had lunch and learns along with our lunch being provided. We worked hard. It was a pleasant place to go to every day that I worked there .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vallen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 117 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2