Valley Baptist Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 63 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a great environment to work in
Financial Counselor team lead (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMay 3, 2013
staff and management were friendly, learned to step it up and take on more responsibility without being asked; learned to to handle different types of scenarios when patients were mad or upset, I enjoyed being able to help the patients without having to send them all over the hospital. The hardest part of the job was dealing with families that had just lost a loved one.
Pros
discount at cafeteria
Cons
management changed 7 different times
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate, faith based hospital.
CPE Resident- hospital chaplain (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, TXAugust 5, 2013
A typical day at work as a CPE Resident involves seeing patients on assigned floors and responding to emergencies within the hospital. I learned about leading families in crisis situations. My coworkers were amiable and concerned with my welfare. The hardest part of the job are the long on-call shifts. The most enjoyable part of the job is rewarding interaction with patients.
Pros
The culture of kindness pervading the hospital.
Cons
Long 24 hour on-call shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but can be overwhelming to new nurses
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXAugust 28, 2014
great people to work with such as other floor nurses. I learned how important it is to have good time management skills. I observed many illnesses in which I never had taken care of before. the hardest part of the job is taking report from negative nurses and having that begin mood to start your day. lots of nurses seem unhappy
Pros
reduced lunches
Cons
no lunch break at times due to workload
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, face paced, great co workers
RN/ PRN GI Lab and Full time Day Surgery (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXJune 3, 2015
Stressful Monday though Friday job with day starting at 6am. Preoping patients for surgery and recovering patients in phase 2. Taking call for GI on weekends and working during the week when taking a low census day from Knapp Surgical Center. The hardest part of my job is working under stressful situations without sufficient staffing. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with great co-workers and doctors and Monday thru Friday. The hardest part of my job is working with difficult doctors
Pros
Monday thru Friday, day shift
Cons
no breaks, short staffing, difficult doctors
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and learn
ER, Women Center,QA, Insurance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXDecember 10, 2012
making sure patients were seen in a timely manner, making sure demographic information was updated, management helped when needed, coworkers were helpful and hard working, hardest part of the job was patient waiting due to ER being busy, Enjoyed serving my community.
Pros
serving my community
Cons
patients waiting to be seen by doctors
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, team work, great weather
RN Postpartum (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXDecember 17, 2014
Excellent place to work, most of nurses were part of team, good benefits. Manager were very supportive of nurses, food was excellent, the families and patients were very nice
Pros
good food, weather, team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always the opportunity to learn something new
Patient Access Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJanuary 25, 2014
Fast paced environment, always something new to learn,
What I have learned so far is that each and every person has
to be treated with dignity and respect regardless of their social or economical status. Our patients,families, and friends deserve the
best treatment and customer service possible. During the years
that I have been working at Valley Baptist, there has been several
changes and three different managers. I have been able to adjust
to new changes and policies.I am always open for a change. In
reference to my co-workers, I am always willing to help them.
Since there is new group of employees, I was assigned to
train them. For, I am proud and happy for the confidence placed in me.
The most enjoyable part of the day is to see that the job has been
done and that I have taken care of my patients.
Pros
healthcare, PTO hrs
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXJanuary 15, 2015
It was a great experience to work here because I got the chance to see so many different diseases that patients have. I definitely learned that time management is very important when working in a hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun doing my internship in the Hospital.
Biomedical Intern (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXOctober 18, 2015
When I did my internship in Valley Baptist Medical Center it was the best. The workers are really friendly and willing to help one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented
Valley Baptist CPE Residency Program (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXFebruary 27, 2015
Its a great family environment, and the culture is inviting here in South Texas, pay could be better for resident chaplains
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valley Baptist Medical Center
Intern (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXAugust 7, 2015
A typical day would begin at 8 am and end at 4:30 pm. While at the job many different things are going on such as keeping track of productivity, scanning and indexing patient papers, and also doing what is being asked (analyzing charts or helping get all the work completed). The work environment is very quiet.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great atmosphere.
Practicum Student (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 2, 2013
Co-workers were eager to help you. Their was never a dumb question. Everyone knew their job. Management wanted to know how your day had gone.
Pros
Discounted lunches.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place for Ultrasound Technologist
Ultrasound Technologist (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 3, 2014
A typical day at work would be as follow: Receive exam assignment from ER, Labor and Delivery, ICU and the floors, Perform Ultrasound Examinations in Accordance to department protocol. Specialized in Vascular, Abdomen, Obstetrics/Gynecology, and Small Parts ultrasound.

Some days were super busy. Other days were very slow.

The hardest part of this job was seeing a patient in pain.

The best part of this job was my coworkers and manager.
Pros
People I worked with and great pay.
Cons
Not actually being part of the rehabilitation process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy supporting patients
Palliative Care Coordinator (Current Employee) –  BrownsvilleSeptember 7, 2015
Busy for a small Hospital, I enjoy supporting patients and families, with the end of life issues.Not all palliative care is hospice care, but all hospice care is palliative care.
Pros
Employees are friendly
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Healthcare Program
Home Infusion Director (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXOctober 9, 2013
I did not work in the acute care side of the healthcare program of Valley Baptist but instead the Home Health division. I had a great opportunity to start the Home Infusion Division from the ground up and was given the support needed to do so in the beginning but after a year, the leadership structure changed and the expectation of my role and duties changed which lead me to make a change in employment.
Pros
Startup program was challenging and rewarding
Cons
Leadership who did not understand home infusion requirements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMay 9, 2013
I learned that you work hard and you eventually can move up within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical assistant / pharmacy technician
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  harlingenAugust 23, 2014
medical assistant / pharmacy technician

In addition to educating medical assistant students, instructors may be required to fulfill other responsibilities. Depending upon the employer, medical assistant instructors may participate in school open houses, attend faculty/board meetings and participate in graduation ceremonies. When an internship or externship is required, the instructor may also evaluate and supervise students in the on-the-job training experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comments
Help Desk Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXApril 6, 2015
 Responsibilities include troubleshoot PC users
 Process day to day steps and keeping the system in good operating condition
 On-Call for any emergencies in case of any emergencies that may arise
 In charge of Troubleshooting Levels 1,2 & 3
 Troubleshooting Remote Access to all General users
 Perform Maintenance on PC Computers for doctors when
Pros
No Comments
Cons
No Comments
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and flexible
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXJune 29, 2015
I had a great time working, typical day consisted of calling in companies for updates. My co-workers made it easy to understand the procedures and continue by doing follow ups.
Pros
A typical day flew by really fast
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Lead Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  BrownsvilleAugust 23, 2015
Cashier, taking orders, cleaning surfaces, customer service, cash handling, cleaning tables, moping floors, cleaning restrooms
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valley Baptist Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Valley Baptist Medical Center Reviews by Location