Find companies:
Valley Baptist Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Valley Baptist Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to develop nursing skills
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXMarch 25, 2013
Pros: strict schedule
Cons: strict schedule
This is a nice company where you will work with nice people and will enjoy teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Sterile Supply Tech (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXFebruary 27, 2013
working for this company was very stressfull
co workers didnt pull thier own weight
managment was unfair didnt know what was goin on
the hardest part of this job was having no life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Sterile Supply Tech (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXFebruary 27, 2013
working for this company was very stressfull
co workers didnt pull thier own weight
managment was unfair didnt know what was goin on
the hardest part of this job was having no life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and learn
ER, Women Center,QA, Insurance Supervisor (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXDecember 10, 2012
Pros: serving my community
Cons: patients waiting to be seen by doctors
making sure patients were seen in a timely manner, making sure demographic information was updated, management helped when needed, coworkers were helpful and hard working, hardest part of the job was patient waiting due to ER being busy, Enjoyed serving my community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vangard took ownership of VBMC it went south......
ER Tech / NA (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXNovember 29, 2012
Pros: zip
Cons: need to leave town....
They have no reagrd for the employees, they just want to work you
and all they care about is profits.....$$$$$$$$$
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting-edge technology on the Mexican border
LPN/Data Manager (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXAugust 29, 2012
Pros: great benefits, adequate staffing, good scheduling, pleasant co-workers, approachable management, multiple opportunities to do what you most desire in your career, occasional travel opportunities relating to the job. excellent salary and pay raises
Cons: hot weather, language barrier between doctors and patients not easily resolved with spanish, once promoted and given an office, there was no window and due to confidentiality the door could not be opened
Wonderful working conditions, 12 hour shifts always staffed appropriately in the areas I worked, management was reasonably accessible and always cooperative, co-workers were knowledgeable, helpful, and fun to work with, culture made family a priority, I learned almost all of my critical care skills there before turning to informatics where I learned – more... computer skills and quality care for patients as well as experienced and learned how to be a circulating nurse in a catheterization lab. Opportunities for advancement were out the roof including opportunities for schooling, benefits were super and the overall quality of care was the best I have ever been involved with giving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hospital
Internship IBiomedical Equipment Technician (Former Employee), Harlingen TexasAugust 20, 2012
Pros: good people
Cons: more pay
Excellent Hospital need better pay. People take care ofyou
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
introduction also for nursing
Nurse Aide (Former Employee), harlingen txAugust 7, 2012
Pros: great insurace at the time.
Cons: 12 hour shift needs better pay
12 hours shift,learned great customer service, worked holidays as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with certain people
LVN (Former Employee), Harlingen, TexasJuly 8, 2012
Pros: good friends
Cons: bad management
Valley Baptist is a good place to work because you make life long friends there. The management is the problem, they are not there beside you to work hands on or to see how you work, to get an idea about your hard work and professionalism. They like to tell you when things aren't going the way they want it to be, but they will come in early to tell – more... you when you have made a mistake. They are no "atta boys" or pats on your back when you do good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace work place and kind, good hearted people to work with
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Harlingen, TXJune 9, 2012
VBMC is a wonderful caring place to work. I work in the ER and usually a typical day for us is seeing anywhere from 5o or 120 patients a day. However working with the staff I work with doesnt always seem like my job is so overwhelming. What I enjoy most is how well I do my job. It is quite rewarding when a patient comes in and knows that they are in – more... good hands. – less

April 23, 2013

How can someone get a phlebotomy job At VBMC. I have applied for 5 phlebotomy jobs and still no interview. I see there have been quite a few opening.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Team member/ Student Work Study (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXApril 24, 2012
Great place to learn! If you are a nursing student i would highly recommend applying for a team member position. work with nurses while studying and learning helps in not only school but your first nursing job as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Bedside nurse (Former Employee), Harlingen, TxDecember 20, 2011
My overall review is definitely an institution I would highly recommend to anyone. Valley Baptist is a teaching hospital and my experience working for them was like no other. Great people and great Administration