Valley National Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Found 167 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work in, I recommend it to anyone
Assistant Manager (Head Teller) (Current Employee) –  Florham Park, NJJuly 5, 2016
I appreciate working there , it is really good place to learn and have good knowledge about Financial Industry. Managers and Coworkers are awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
AVP Territory Sales Manager II (Former Employee) –  Middletown, NJJune 27, 2016
• Ran a 220 Million Book of Business in Monmouth County New Jersey.
• Made 50-70 calls a day, for an average of 25 Meetings every week.
• Enhanced and developed 85% of new Commercial business for the bank.
• Provided financing options to Key Prospects of 5 Million in Annual Sales and up.
• Provided commercial lending to existing clients and new prospects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valley National Bank
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 23, 2016
Not sales pushy at all, however they are way too old fashioned for more modern banking systems these days. Co-workers are pleasant.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping stone
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 21, 2016
expirence what banking can be so that you learn as much as you can and move on....its a extremely rhetorically work place
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative/Call Center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJJune 21, 2016
Customer Service for Call Center....Customer service was first priority to customer. Able to troubleshoot and resolve all types of customer issues.
Pros
able to work extra hours for overtime
Cons
short lunch, benefits not good
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Teller / Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 14, 2016
Promptly and effectively resolved customer issues and complaints while delivering exceptional customer service. Great co-workers
Pros
NA
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VNB acquired CNL Bank
Vice President Treasury Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 8, 2016
The majority of the time I was at VNB it was working on the transition It was a unique experience which I had participated in at other financial institutions as well.
Pros
Great staff and added to my experiences.
Cons
Job was eliminated so I am back on the job market.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Employee (Current Employee) –  Wayne, NJApril 20, 2016
A poor organization. Pay is below par, management is in it for themselves, not much room for advancement, no company culture, etc.
Pros
Always out by 5
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point as small company
Part Time Teller (Former Employee) –  Sparta, NJMarch 29, 2016
I really enjoyed my time at Valley, and they were very gracious in my maternity leave. They went through a slew of managers, but the sales manager who is still there, was the best and most fair I've seen.
Pros
Hours, Pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Passaic, NJMarch 7, 2016
friendly co workers and managers. A typical is helping customers with there daily bank transactions. Like chasing checks, depositing and withdrawing money from their accounts. hardest parts could be identifying counterfeit bills and also keeping your box with no difference at the end of the day.
Pros
flexible hours to work
Cons
short breaks and to much responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Statement Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJMarch 3, 2016
 Maintained files of cancelled checks and customers’ signatures.
 Compared previously prepared bank statements with canceled checks, and reconcile discrepancies.
 Prepared statements for distribution to customers’ and stuffed envelopes.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work
COLLECTIONS SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJFebruary 23, 2016
Nice place to work

Pleasant co-workers

Close to home in a very nice neighborhood environment

Good working hours

Learned about banking policies and procedures
Pros
NICE VACATION TIME
Cons
LITTLE TIME FOR BREAKS
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe with a great group of people
Vice President (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2016
ability to learn and grow if you really work hard at it. Not the most progressive corporate culture out there, status quo rules the roost...
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  Little Silver, NJDecember 31, 2015
My bank was bought out from Valley but I had the same management so nothing really changed. I enjoyed my time there and working with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and successful.
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 11, 2015
The management was very helpful and extremely organized. It was fun working with the team I had. I learned a lot while I was working in this company, it help me grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Teller (Current Employee) –  Belleville, NJNovember 6, 2015
Nice place to work in, looking for something better. Easy Job, good cooperation , looking for advancement. Get along well with people, enjoy the fast paced enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banking
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  East Newark, NJNovember 4, 2015
I loved working for this bank. It was a small friendly work environment. We knew each and everyone of our customers and their needs. I enjoyed the personal service I was able to provide to each person who walked in our branch.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Customer Service, Training Supervisor (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYNovember 1, 2015
Upper management interacts on their personal relationships with subordinates. There's no recognition for employees if you do not fit the face of the majority of upper management's circle. Salary's aren't competitive; subordinates should not be making more than their managers. The company is not uniformed, it lacks structure and professionalism from the top to the bottom.
Pros
NONE
Cons
NOT CONSISTENT WITH COMPANY'S PROCEDURES
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable and fun place to work
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Succasunna, NJOctober 20, 2015
A typical day at work would be handling customer transactions and proving our teller work. I learned how important banks were to the residents, communities, and businesses. Also, I learned about the time value of money and mortgage loans. Overall, management did a fantastic job of keeping our customers satisfied. My co-workers and I would work together to maintain the success of our branch. The hardest part of the job was finding your mistakes after a teller proof sheet would have an error. The most enjoyable part of the job was coming into work everyday and interacting with my customers and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and family friendly
Teller (Former Employee) –  New JerseySeptember 28, 2015
Depending on the branch, working for valley can be rewarding or highly stressful. Due to the amount of branches closing, remaining branches are either understaffed or overstaffed (with no in between).
Pros
Good healthcare benefits and Decent breaks
Cons
poor incentives and managment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 168 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Valley National Bank Reviews by Location