Find companies:
Value City Furniture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
112 reviews

Value City Furniture Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver (former Employee)
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), North Canton, OHSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: driving a box truck
Cons: low pay
The managers treat the driver's like garbage and they have no respect for them or their families they care for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Company
Furniture Repair Technician (Former Employee), VirginiaSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: pay/benefits
Cons: sold bad products
Repaired Furniture (wood/Leather/Vinyl/Microfiber).

The Company sold low grade furniture, so there was always Customer Complaints and Technicians constantly repairing more furniture than just 2 people could handle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A mixed bag of good and mainly bad
Sales (Former Employee), Flint, MISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: lots of sitting and free time
Cons: lots of sitting and free time
If you are into gossip..this might be a good job for you. Plenty of time to kick back and relax. Very little cross training of associates if some one is absent. First place I ever worked where they encouraged you to use sick days. Poor ad sets and crazy availability of merchandise threw a wet blanket on customers as they entered the store made a selection – more... and left dissatisfied. Management spent most of their day covering the front desk of the store or helping with deliverys instead of maintaining the sales floor due to staff shortages. Sales people expected to follow company sales goals while the direction of the stores merchandise constantly changed ....successful or more often times not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Staff (Current Employee), PittsburghAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great staff.
Cons: commission structure is rough.
The job is a normal retail job. Some days are tough, but I can honestly say the people who work there are like a second family. They help me and I help them any way I can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers nice Good atmospere
Furniture Sales Associate (Former Employee), Florence, KYAugust 22, 2014
Pros: no income cap
Cons: 100 % commision, long hours, with no life.
Was a nice place, but management very disorganized . Priorities mixed up. Set unrealistic goals. And over crowded the floor, to boost sales, when all it did was lower moral, and makes pieces of pie smaller making associates less money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fair and diverse work place.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), East Brunswick, NJAugust 17, 2014
Pros: a great working enviornment
Cons: business was slow during inclimate weather.
I enjoyed working for Value City. I obtained the knowledge and skills that allowed me to have a productive work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt comfortable working there and feel I was treated fairly by the company.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Canton, OHAugust 11, 2014
Pros: great working conditions.
Cons: long hours, ( at least when i was there.)
A great company to work for. They don't pressure you, YOU pressure yourself if you want more income. Relaxed atmosphere. Company is very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Fun
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: sitting down
Cons: not enough pay
I answer all customer's issues and final purchases and repair of furniture!! I learned how to satisfy my customer's at the end of the day!! My manager"s were awesome!! The hardest part about my job was a slow work day!! The most enjoyable part about my job was not having to stand all day and being in a professional atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff, poor hours and long un-busy days.
Office Associate (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 27, 2014
I loved the staff there, but the job not so much. Too much drama from day to day with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for a starter job
Clerical (Former Employee), Lakewood, NJJune 13, 2014
Pros: nice co-worker
Cons: does not encourage you to advance in the company, managment is not stable and they choose who they like for the day
*Input of all sales in to the computer
*Scheduled and confirmed all deliveries
*Heavy phones
*Filing/photocopying/faxing
*Verify all financial paperwork
*Did all scheduling for the clericals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with home decor
Home Furnishing Consultant (Former Employee), westland, miJune 12, 2014
a typical day at work would be helping people furnish and decorate their homes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintain a safe operation through out the day
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Woodbridge, VirginiaMay 26, 2014
Morning meeting with supervisor, Equipment checks make sure all equipment is properly working, create adequate schedule to oversee operation, direct and control all aspects of the operation, maintain all areas of the operation safe, follow company rules and regulations, deal with training, coaching, mentoring, disciplinary actions, etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value City Furniture
Home Furnishings Consultant (Former Employee), Greenfield, WIMay 15, 2014
A typical day at Value City consisted of making sales for the whole month. you learned a lot of communication skills and how to interact with the customer. the most hardest part of working at Value City Furniture was making your quota for the whole month but it was all well worth it if you did make it. The most enjoyable art about working there was – more... the people I worked with they were all fun to be around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funiture Store
Driver (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMay 8, 2014
Atmosphere is good with co workers but no room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
REALLY GOOD FURNITURE
Home Furnishings Consultant (Former Employee), Toledo, OHApril 26, 2014
Pros: really good furniture at reasonable prices
Cons: no room to negotiate
TOO MANY SALES PEOPLE AT THE TIME FOR THE AMOUNT OF BUSINESS IN TOLEDO.
MARKETING WAS SUB PAR.
CORP DIVERTING SOME BUSINESS TO INTERNET WHICH CUT INTO SALES OPPORTUNITIES
SEEMS LIKE MGMT VIEWS SALES STAFF AS A NECESSARY EVIL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best part of the job was the customers!
Home Furnishings Consultant (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 16, 2014
Pros: customers, benefits and commission
Cons: hours, co-workers and management
I worked as a Home Furnishngs Consultant at the Catonsville store in Maryland. Great job if you have no life! Very little training, the management has favortism; and has an arrogant, snotty, disrespectful, hateful attitude! You can make a lot of money if you are strong enough to ignore your ignorant co-workers everyday who have no respect for themselves, – more... their job, or the customers!!
The best part was the customers, who were strong enough to ignore all of the ignoramises with me (I made that word up! Lol!)! The benefits are good, but the weekly premium is high because I had my husband on my health insurance.
There are months of slow periods in sales because a lot of the customers go on vacation! Overall, I would recommend this job if you have no life, don't mind working ridiculously long hours including EVERY Friday and Saturday, can ignore all the evil co-workers, and have basically given up!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like meeting costumers and help them solve problems
Credit Analysis (Former Employee), New Carrollton, MDApril 9, 2014
Making phones call to make sure a costumer is happy. People are very friendly .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
helper (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDApril 1, 2014
Pros: was on the road alot
Cons: had to load truck after delivering 10 to 12 stops
a typical workplace, coworkers were great, loved most of the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging Job
Office Lead/Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Joliet, ILMarch 11, 2014
Everyone here is very supportive and understanding. They push you to achieve new goals and recognize talent with positive remarks and adequate raises. Customers can be a handful at some times but the chain of command works and you always have help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy production at a fast pace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brooklyn, OHMarch 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: high healthcare
must be a people persons, and be able to deal with the public.

1 2 3 4 5

About Value City Furniture

The quest for Value City may not require you to venture outside of your hometown. A leading home furnishings retailer, Value City – Read more