Find companies:
Value Options
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

Value Options Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance company
Clinical Services Assistant II (Former Employee), Latham, NYOctober 22, 2014
I learned about about insurance and how to manage different tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, answering phones, receiving and delivering mail, preparing fedex packages, greeting customers, faxing, scanning & other office duties
Receptionist (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAOctober 19, 2014
Pros: job was not far from home. the area was near the mall.
Cons: i was only there for two months and wanted to be there longer.
A typical day starts with answering phones, giving out badges to visitors and employees. Accepting mail and delivering mail. Preparing Fed Ex packages. Getting packages ready to be sent to Corporate Office. Copying Documentation and Faxing and Scanning Documents.

Co-workers were very helpful when I didn't know my way around the office.

The hardest – more... part was when employees didn't turn badges in and I couldn't locate lost badge.

The most enjoyable part was working in a nice atmosphere and co workers always there to help if problems arose. Also working with managers that were there when times got really busy in the office and I had to be out of office. There was always a backup system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Finance Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 9, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: service center closed.
My time at Value Options was great. Management was flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Claims Service Representative (Former Employee), Latham, NYOctober 7, 2014
Pay was minimal comapared to other call centers. Supervisors had no understanding of how to make work tolerable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast pace call center for Mental Health and Substance Abuse.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Coppell, TXOctober 6, 2014
Pros: helping people
Cons: state funded
Answered up to 150 inbound calls per day for benefit and eligibility claims for mental health and substance abuse customers.
Provided accurate benefit information, followed up on inquiries and served as point of contact for bi-lingual calls.
Served as department interface for claim inquiries, enrollments, clinical assessment information and eligibility – more... update. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fairfax, VASeptember 7, 2014
I met great people and was able to learn about insurance, and negotiating rates. They hired me with no experience and trained me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing and miserable place to work
Clinical Customer Service II (Current Employee), Roseland, NJSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: breaks within 40 mins of your arrival time, poor management with no knowledge of the business
this is the worst company I have ever worked for. The schedule for breaks/lunches makes not sense to the employees working there.It shows no appreciation for the work being done. Breaks/lunch are all done by 12pm. Management is very ghetto. Constant profanity and disrespectful manner of verbal abuse to workers. No one working there has the correct answer – more... to a question so most agents just wing it. The pay sucks and when they hire new agents they get paid even less than the agents before them and they are still doing the same amount of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!!
Clerk III (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 17, 2014
The best job I've ever had. Great work enviroment, friendly people & awsome benifits. It gets stars from me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worse company to work for
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Latham, NYAugust 12, 2014
Cons: everything....
Management sucks.. treat their employees like they are children. No trust. All this company cares about is numbers. They don't care about the employees are real people. Not allowed to talk to co workers just sit at your computer and work work work.. mandatory overtime. Would recommend this competition to my worst enemy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get your experience and get out of there!
Document Control Unit (Former Employee), Latham, NYAugust 9, 2014
Pros: decent wages, paid holidays, great insurance
Cons: poor management, hr is awful, very short breaks, terrible vending machines
VO is one of those companies where you work for a couple years, gain some experience and then leave as soon as you can. Unless, that is, you like being micromanaged to death. Nothing is ever good enough for this company. If your computer is idle for more than 30 mins total during work hours (this includes potty breaks & scheduled breaks), you will be – more... written up. Your fingers literally have to be moving every second or your computer logs it and you get a scolding. Bathroom/stretch breaks are frowned upon unless done during legal breaks. Management is a seriously a joke; they do nothing but sit behind closed doors and talk nasty about everyone. I know because I witnessed it firsthand. It's very clique-y. Many experienced, solid workers were nagged so hard or bullied that they just quit. Advancement is possible, but you have to be a serious brown noser and door mat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working environment
Psychologist (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 8, 2014
Working with Federal contract for active duty and retired military personnel is certainly a rewarding opportunity. Laid back atmosphere working alongside other mental health professionals to assist our military community. You are given the autonomy to perform your job duties and treated like the professional you are.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roseland, NJ
Mental Health Claims Account Manager (Former Employee), Roseland, NJJuly 18, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: atmosphere, employees
I would've stayed working there if there was a better system in place. The location was new and there was little organization. The employees that were hired to work were not people that would be representing the company in a positive light. I came from a professional background and I know how to represent myself in a professional manner and I felt out – more... of place with the staff that was there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is no work/life balance.
Corporate Customer Service Rep -Level III (Current Employee), Latham, NYJuly 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: micro managing, short breaks, months on end of forced over time, no work/life balance
There is no work/life balance. I do not wish to discuss this job on the internet. If asked about my experience with ValueOptions in an interview, I will be glad to discuss
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with the military.
Triage Consultant (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: great co-workers and supervisors.
Cons: being "impacted" by the downsizing.
I worked as a triage consultant for MilitaryoneSource which is a branch of Value Options Inc. MilitaryoneSource is the United States Military EAP. I was responsible for taking calls from soldiers and their dependents that called in needing any kind of resource. A huge part of my job was conducting referrals for counseling. I was responsible for conducting – more... a short intake and determining if the individual was in-scope for the type of counseling that MilitaryoneSource provided. I worked with a lot of callers who were dealing with active suicidal ideation with a plan to harm themselves and would have to try to deescalate them and get the appropriate authorities to their location so that they could be assisted. I also dealt with a lot of callers who were victims of domestic abuse and were needing to make report and also get resources to assist them. Due to the nature of my calls that were dealing with suicidal ideation/homicidal ideation and or domestic violence, i would have to write extensive reports detailing the issue and the resolution. I worked 4 10's days each week and sometimes worked overnight. I would average 28-35 calls a day and each call would average approximately 8 minutes. The requests for counseling calls would last approximately 15-20 minutes and the crisis calls would last 45-90 minutes. I continued to polish my crisis management skills with this current job and learned how to deal with a individual who was dealing with domestic violence and was in the state of shock. I learned to trust my instincts when determining if a participant was in scope for services and i also learned the power of verbal communication with someone your talking to on the phone. My co-workers were all master level counselors and were always very supportive and nurturing. My supervisors were very good. My supervisors encouraged consultation on cases and also pushed me to analyze what I was hearing and seeing and making a determination. I have drastically improved my clinical skills due to the supervision that i have received at militaryonesource. The hardest part of the job would be the long commute from my home in Baltimore Md to Alexandria Va. The best part of my job would be the people i work with and my supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work enviorment
Denial/Appeals/Grievances Coordinator (Current Employee), Newark, NJJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great salary and bonuses
Cons: have to pay for parking
The staff I work with are awesome! We all get along and work as a team if one of our co-workers are struggling we all runt to help them understand.

I learned alot about the different types of coverage Value Options offers for behavioral health and the great service.

The hardest part of the job were cases that needed a little more investigation.

the – more... enjoyable part is knowing we helping patients to get the treatment they need. Also the enviorment we have as co-workers friendly, and overall professional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain Case Management experience
Supervisor -Patrina Yazzie (Current Employee), Phoenix AzJune 25, 2014
Pros: gas mileage. mon-fri and off holidays
Cons: pay rate
Busy environment, multi task and working with SMI popultion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Top does not understand the bottom Constant Double Speak
Arlington Virgina Triage Consultant (Current Employee), Arlington VirginiaJune 25, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: laying off good people, lack of support from supervisors, no upward mobility
You have workflows coming from the top and they do not understand what the triage consultant does at the bottom. They are not familiar with the type of calls they get and why it is ineffective for the members who call from the military. They received the Military OneSource contract which resulted in a mass layoff in Arlington that they knew about when – more... they posted the jobs in Seattle Washington. I agreed to stay on but constantly looking for work. There is no advancement opportunity but you have to constantly be a POC if you have no license. They said the people who stayed was based on tenure which is not true because the most experienced people who were here the longest were asked to leave in favor of peers who had less experience but banged out calls neglecting customer service. The people who were asked to stay all had one thing in common they had a good relationship with the only supervisor that is left. They do not tell the truth and are being bought out. I am not sure why service members and their families call MIlitary OneSource because some fo the time we have to refer out especially if there is medication involved. The reporting is not helpful for the members because they get reported to the military and they do not get the counseling services that they need. The supervisors are not very helpful if there are calls in the queue they should be advised to answer and handle calls like other managers and the lack of knowledge shows because they can not handle the computer system. They do not give enough breaks especially if you work a ten hour shift. The Arlington call center is a very toxic environment right now with persons who do their job well being laid off in favor of opening a call center in Seattle Washington due to the weather in DC metro area this year. I agreed to remain wiht the contract but only until I find another position that pays well and is less stressful and more helpful to members. – less

September 2, 2014

The Military OneSource contract must be the most poorly run of the contracts. They do illegal layoffs. The first round of employees had FMLA and because of the point system they could not fire them especially if they were doing an excellent job. They had an employee ready to go to Seattle and they instead chose two other employees to go for just a week to train and paid ALL of their expenses. They did not pay or reimburse the employee who was willing to relocate. They also are not fair to their managers. They chose an auditor who was with the company less than six months over a seasoned supervisor for a team lead position because the only supervisor who stayed bullied her into applying for the position. This proves the layoffs were not done based on tenure but based on the supervisor who stayed preferences in her clique. If you have any disabilities or in the military or have any issues that may require you by law to be absent do not apply to Valueoptions particularly Military OneSource. They do not VALUE their employees so choose other OPTIONS. Hopefully Ceridian or Magellan get the contract because this contract is in the toilets .They have the new Seattle WA location that is still not up and running which means they choose poorly because the people hired could not get on board after 3 months which is not good for a 24 hour call center. I hope VALUEOPTIONS knows that karma is real and the way you have treated good people will be your downfall.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), Hamilton, NJJune 6, 2014
Good work good pay and offer chance to work in a customer service call center environment within healthcare industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain claims processing knowledge then move on.
claims processor (Former Employee), trafford, paMay 9, 2014
Pros: flex scheduling, casual dress code
Cons: salary, management, 012.543
This position is good for gaining knowledge of processing claims. Once you gain that knowledge get out! Management is poor. The manager and supervisor are never on the same page when answering questions. They give no positive reinforcement. The manager has a hard time balancing business and personal feelings. The max raise you can get if your PERFECT – more... is 3%. The starting salary for a claims processor 1 is way below what most companies offer. You will probably be offered 10.00/hr, if you are lucky 11.00/hr. The room for advancement is slim. Claims processor 1, 2, and then claims specialist. To become a claims specialist you have to basically be doing the job without the title and HOPE that they decide to promote you. Flexible scheduling and make up hours available. Two 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute lunch. The health insurance premiums are affordable per pay, but they are very high deductible plans. The atmosphere of the department is laid back and casual dress code. 401k plan is not the best, for awhile they were not contributing at all, last year they did make a 1x per year contribution. However this is not a yearly guarantee. Most people seem to like working for Value, unless your in the claims department. All in all I would say if your house hold needs a supplemental income and you have no other worries this place may work for you. On the other hand a person cannot take care of a family on this salary and the office shenanigans will slowly eat away at you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Stability
Claims Processing Clerk II (Former Employee), Coppell TexasApril 16, 2014
Cons: no rest room breaks
This company had no structure. No stability within the company. No team players.

1 2 3 4

About Value Options

FHC Health Systems┬áprovides stability through its behavioral health care services, which are offered┬áto millions of people through – Read more