Find companies:
Vanderbilt University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
282 reviews

Vanderbilt University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best company ive ever worked for
Laboratory Service Representative (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 30, 2014
Pros: free mata bus ride
labeling and accessioning, im in training right now but so far I love everything about this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic coworkers and very supportive management!
Registered Nurse- Critical Care (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 24, 2014
I have never worked for a better manager. My coworkers are super helpful and always willing to assist when needed. By far my most favorite job in 7 years of nursing!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What an experience!?!?
Custodian (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 21, 2014
When I was at Vanderbilt Children's Hospital, the upper management was professional. When I got to the leaders of the cleaning crew, things changed. I was dumb founded. The crew was unfriendly, most of the time they (cleaning crew) would be talking about others in the same crew. In my opinion, not somewhere I wanted to stay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MICU
Registered Nurse, Clinical Nurse II (Current Employee), Medical Intensive CareJuly 20, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: changes and downsizing due to changes in health care
Job is challenging, interesting and fun. Stable manager with over 20 years of experience. Teamwork defines culture of the MICU
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Medical Record Health Information Specialist II (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 15, 2014
Productive work place, energetic, and educational. Fast paced depending on job. Lots of teamwork and encouragement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Lab Services Rep (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 15, 2014
Pros: some good benefits
Cons: short breaks if any at all. pay to park when you come to work
Vanderbilt has not given raises in 3 years. They also have taken away some of our time off. They want you to work long hours with and do double the work since they have laid off jobs and give you no compensation or bonus for you time and effort. Also they want you to pay to park when you come to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything was ok
cage wash 1 (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: short lunches
everything is fine.hard work but was porductive.thats all i have to say
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 9, 2014
Pros: hr. break
Cons: benifits
Busy and productive enviroment, the most enjoyable part about the job is the patient interaction. The hardest part is seeing patients who cant afford to pay for treatment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Student at Vanderbilt
Student Volunteer for Science (VSVS) (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 8, 2014
Cancer Research II: Adapter protein APPL1 and Cancer Cell Migration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22+ employee call center division for Vanderbilt University Medical Center, providing technology and hardware support for Medical Staff and Faculty.
Technical Support Representative (S1) (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 8, 2014
Assist end users with computer, network, printer and application related errors, with the ability to do remote diagnostic on workstations to help resolve issues that they might be having. If problem cannot be solved through remote connection, assuring that a ticket is issued to the appropriate on-site technician to be able to diagnose the problem based – more... on the notes within the ticket. All calls are logged with an interactive logging software and tracking purposes and recorded sporadically for quality management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space
medicine department, post-doc fellow (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 6, 2014
While working for Venderbilt University, I received outstanding training in multiple laboratory procedures. It has been a very positive learning that help me to grow up scientifically and personally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Research and Teaching Institution
OR Scheduling Coordinator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 2, 2014
Vanderbilt is a large hospital which services a wide variety of people for a wide variety of needs. In my time at Vanderbilt, I have learned several new popular software programs, and I have also honed skills used in managing a schedule, ordering for large groups of people, and communicating with many different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service oriented professional customer service.
Floater - COOK ASST. (PYS) (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 30, 2014
Pros: benefits.
Cons: free parking was not offered.
A typical day work entailed knowing where I worked for the day; since I was a Floater. I helped in many different departments within Campus Dining. Coworkers are always happy, always helpful, and always smiling. Our management was superior when it came to our concerns about any area that was related to the job, if we needed help, and how they could – more... help us. The hardest part of the job was definitley making sure to listen to make sure orders were correct, food was prepped and cooked right, and that items were getting put back while closing at night. The most enjoyable part about the job not including the campus, which is very beautiful, is the confidence that you feel while helping customers! Nothing feels more amazing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Supervisor (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 27, 2014
I enjoyed the 5 yrs I was at Vanderbilt. I learned alot and my work skills were built and enchanced at this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 27, 2014
A typical day at work for me is busy and challenging. I have learned how to work EMR ,and other scheduling systems. The management team is great and their job gets more challenging everyday with staffing and patient care. I love my coworkers we all work as a great team. The hardest part of my job is when a patient is being seen in the clinic and the – more... doctor may want the patient to have a test done that same day while they are being seen in the clinic and sometimes that is not always possible, but you try to do the best you to make sure the patients needs are being met. The most enjoyable part of my job is being around people and taking care of patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment to work in!
Research Assistant II (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 26, 2014
Pros: health focused, tobacco-free, maps
Cons: overcrowding in courtyards, navigation at first
I actually was in the medical research building, and I worked under an associate professor. We conducted diabetes research for the university and NIH. I enjoyed my time at VUMC and would not trade it for anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working in a world class hospital with talented physicians.
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits and pay.
Cons: too busy to take lunch most days.
Vanderbilt is a cutting edge research hospital with up to date technology and medical access. The normal day is extremely busy and challenging dealing with sick patients and busy physicians. Our physicians practiced in a clinic setting while also traveling extensively to meetings to keep on the cutting edge of the medical field. My job was to coordinate – more... and assist a top surgical oncologist and some of his staff physicians by keeping the flow of their surgery, clinic and travel smooth. My days were filled with challenges which I enjoyed accomplishing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 Years At Vanderbilt
Departmental Administrator (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 23, 2014
Vanderbilt is a top healthcare provider in TN. I worked for the Medical Center for 19 years and enjoyed a competitive salary and desirable benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and yields satisfactory outcome
Internal medicine Externship (Former Employee), Center, TNJune 18, 2014
Pros: free meals on certain ocassions
Cons: adequate breaks
Highly reputable organization. Employers and employees are highly dedicated to roles and responsibilities. Government rules and regulations well observed. The organization is keeping up with the revolving health care transformation and technology complexity. Friendly place to work. equipped with training and learning opportunities. institution well – more... furnished with tools, and equipment to make employees and patients comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhilerating place to work
Central Appointment Scheduler (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 18, 2014
I had an overall good experience working at Vanderbilt in the psychiatry department. There was never a dull day. I had the opportunity to cross train in areas of front desk check-in, charge entry, insurance verifications, and call center. My co-workers and I developed a team and worked really well together. I enjoyed the most being able to engage patients – more... on a day to day basis, knowing that my encounter with them was making a difference. – less

About Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University is a private research university located in Nashville, Tennessee, United States. Founded in 1873, the university – Read more