Find companies:
Vanderbilt University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
260 reviews

Vanderbilt University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Registered Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 12, 2014
This hospital is a wonderful place to work! There's always someone willing and ready to teach!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was not very fun but the teammates were awesome.
Part time Prep Cook (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 8, 2014
Pros: 75% discount on lunch, great teammates, great benefits
Cons: food production, no room to advance
There was not really any place for advancement, and the food we produced was not what i would consider ideal for my experience, but the environment, costumers, and co-workers were worth having the job. Everyone was usually very helpful, everyone got along great and working with the students was a pleasure. It was a job that was hard not to make friends. – more... Even the managers were fun to talk with. There was not very much to learn but the job showed that even though the work was not so enjoyable you could still look forward to coming to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 6, 2014
It was just a program within my major, non-paying position for school credit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive work environment, competent fellow workers, Great benefits
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 5, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, competitive salary, progressive environment
Cons: long, hard hours; sometimes understaffed, travel on i-24 to work
Vanderbilt was a very good place to work in many ways: 1( always progressive in health care techniques 2) Encouraged employee continued education and advancement 3) Most peers were very capable, willing team players 4) Provided good salary and excellent benefits.

Hardest part was helping these families through difficult times when they experienced – more... a painful loss!
The most rewarding part of the job was knowing I had made a positive difference for my patients, both physically and emotionally throughout their hospital experience by assuring them they were in "good hands" and would receive not only competent services but truly feel "Cared for" throughout their stressful experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clicks & Liars
Temporary MA (Former Employee), Edward Curd pediatricsJune 2, 2014
Cons: short breaks, staff is two faced, liars & lazy.
Worked as a temporary MA. Office manager had no backbone. The nurses there were lazy, two faced, & since they have been there for years if they didn't like you they will lie to get rid of you. No team work, they want temporary employees to bust their butts while they conspire & lie to get rid of you. Plenty of people that have worked for Vanderbilt – more... are quitting for a reason!!! Vanderbilt is nothing but a name. If interviewed for as full time position, forget it!!! They take their sweet time deciding if they want to hire you. STAY AWAY FROM THERE!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co Workers horrible upper Mangagement.
Operating Room Technical Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 2, 2014
Pros: the people and benefits
Cons: pay increases and management
Great Co-Workers. Loved the people who worked there... Like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, fast-paced
Coordinator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 2, 2014
Great opportunities to learn new skills
Very competent and engaged coworkers
Some programmatic cuts due to changes in healthcare a potential concern
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people and good research place
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: low salary
Professors and students are good in the laboratory, and they are patient and nice to give help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to start out
Intake nurse (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMay 29, 2014
Pros: neighborhood support
Cons: unorganized
very busy spanish speaking patients
Multiple providers, with multiple specialties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Central Appointment Scheduler (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 29, 2014
Pros: overall great place to work
Cons: management
Great place to work! The hardest part of the job was understanding and reading the doctors writing. Management in my department could have been a little better, but others were awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good foot in the door but poor Managers
Account Reimbursement Specialist I (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMay 27, 2014
Was told to choose between my child & my career. I did the only thing I could, find a job closer to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employees -caring employees
Patient Service Representative 1 (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 24, 2014
I am part of an excellent team in office -very caring doctors and staff. Some of the top rated doctors in the country work in the office. My co-workers are a excellent team. I have learned so much about Neurology and the diseases that are treated in our office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Voted top 10 hospitals in the country.
Administrative Assistant/Program Coordinator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMay 21, 2014
Pros: good benefits, discount on vanderbilt football/baseball tickets, advancement is always a possibility
Cons: have to pay for parking to come to work, unless you ride public transportation
My typical day changes hour by hour, minute by minute. Because of my longevity of 16 years with the Institution, I'm a go-to person for questions and troubleshooting, especially within my department of over 200 staff members. Communication is mostly through emails, so I'm on the computer answering emails, setting up meetings for the department Administrative – more... Director, and composing documents most of the day. I supervisor four clerical staff helping them through situations that require my assistance on a daily basis, mostly answering questions. The hardest part of my job is trying to complete all tasks that need to be done in an eight hour period, which is why prioritizing and organizing is so important. The most enjoyable part of my job is the team atmosphere that is within the department and hospital as a whole. Everyone is always looking out for each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits
Education Specialist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 20, 2014
The benefits at Vanderbilt are great
The hardest part of the job is learning the personalities and expectations of those you work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMay 20, 2014
Pros: free metro public transit in case i have car problems
Cons: breaks and lunch
Patient service rep., giving great customer service.
I work with Vanderbilt Orthopedics Clinic were we deal with Trauma, Spine, Sports, Oncology patient I learn something different everyday.
My co-worker and I have a working relationship. The hardest thing about my job is dealing with a patient who walks in and their doctor is not in clinic wanting – more... medication. I do handle the siuation. The most enjoyable are my patient I treat them like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place To Work
Accounting (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMay 19, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: pay, benefits, communication, management, pto/worklife balance
In the past 2 years VUMC has taken away vacation time accrual, changed our future PTO accruals to much less than ever before, restricted promotions and growth, increased the amount you pay on healthcare coverage, and they refuse to pay reasonable salaries. I received 1 raise in the last 3 years, and it wasn't even enough to offset tax increases and – more... increases in what I have to pay for my health insurance. At one time VUMC was a wonderful place to work, but, since 2012, this place has gone down hill fast.

STAY AWAY! Especially administrative folks. They don't care a thing about you, and management is so disconnected from reality that it's scary. Communication and Pay are the worst I've ever seen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn but pay is low compared to other hospitals
Charge Nurse-CVICU (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 11, 2014
Pros: great learning and experience
Cons: very low pay
Great place to learn especially if you are wanting to become a CRNA. Pay and benefits are pathetic compared to other hospitals in the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company to work in TN
Healthcare System Analyst Programmer III (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMay 6, 2014
You will meet a lot of talented people everyday. I have enjoyed worked at Vanderbilt. The only downside is that most of the jobs are based on Federal funding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to understand
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 4, 2014
Pros: not difficult to learn duties
Not a difficult job. Duties are quite easy to comprehend. Casual atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a motivated, easy-going funny guy!
Research Assistant III (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 3, 2014
I am a motivated and have extensive experience (20+ years) working with a wide range of techniques in the field molecular and cell biology, an advanced understanding of underlying scientific theory, the ability to work independently and to trouble-shoot, as well as having an extremely easy-going personality. Also I like to learn and a lot of outdoor – more... activities like fishing , ping pong table,dance sometime....etc – less

About Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University is a private research university located in Nashville, Tennessee, United States. Founded in 1873, the university – Read more