Find companies:
Vanderbilt University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
255 reviews

Vanderbilt University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational experience
Circulating Nurse, LPN II (Former Employee), Nashville,TNApril 15, 2014
Able to learn many areas of the surgical arena and expand my nursing knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefit
Patient Service Rep (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 14, 2014
Pros: hospital enviroment
Cons: short breaks expensive benefits
Vanderbilt benefits are nothing like they were 5 years ago BEWARE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go there
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 10, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: terrible pay/terrible management
Terrible place to work. No matter what you do, they do not give you any respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, caring professionals, best experience of my nursing career.
Perioperative Circulator (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 9, 2014
Pros: supportive environment.
Cons: none.
Team environment with pride and excellence in every patient and family we cared for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere with
Senior Accountant, Department of Finance (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 8, 2014
Pros: wondering...
Cons: compensation is way under market, sr leadership does not have bottom line mentality = lots of wasteful spending.
Relaxed environment to work in overall. Co-workers are great. Mid-level mgmt is great. I have learned that "close" is good enough. Not very detailed or process driven here. The longer you last - the more you deserve a promotion. This organization if allergic to efficiency. We have a meeting to talk about the meeting where we discuss the plans to meet – more... for lunch to review something we've already agreed on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vanderbilt is not what it used to be.
RN, Nurse Residency Program, 8S Med/Surg Floor (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 4, 2014
Hard to keep staffing in line with patient needs. Supportive of continuing education and advancement. Low starting wages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN case manager
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 31, 2014
It was ok--except the on call and driving all day in this crazy traffic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Vanderbilt was a great educational experience which enhanced my skills as a Patient Sevice Representative during the entire eight years of
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 31, 2014
Pros: excellent parking
Cons: short breaks
I opened the clinic at 7:45am, greeted patients coming in for their appointment. Checked copy machines for ample paper, checked fax machines for requests; medication refills, referrals and new patient records. Distribute paperwork to appropriate incoming trays for pick-up. Turned on telephones. Start checking in patients, verifying demographics and – more... insurances, collected co-payments and self pay fees. Place patients paperwork in providers arrival basket for ancillary staff. Answered phones with Vanderbilt greeting, transferred calls or sent electronic message through Star Panel system. My manager
was very hands-on and knowledgeable of the front desk duties. She communicated very well with her staff and challenged us to learn more computer skills in order to move up. My co-workers and I were great team players, if one of us was behind in our work, we'd pitch in and help each other. The hardest part of the job was keeping a smile when someone was impatient and yelling at you. The most enjoying part of the job was being thanked by a patient after you've gone that extra mile to accommodate them after they've yelled at you. Working at this job was more educational to me because, it allowed me to see people in a more compassionate way and understand what it really means to show kindness during a stressful situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice environment with the Vanderbilt students.
Retail (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great pay and fantastic health insurance.
Cons: it was a seasonal job. off all summer with zero pay.
I was fortunate to work in the Vanderbilt's brand new health food store. I learned to provide accurate information to Vanderbilt's students regarding meal plans and meal money choices. The hardest part of the job was stocking inside coolers in 32 degree temperatures every night from forty minutes to over an hour. The most enjoyable part was the experience – more... I had working on a college campus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's just a name nothing else special
Baker's Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville,TNMarch 23, 2014
Pros: discount lunches great health insurance
Cons: bad leadership, terrible communication between management and employees
If you are a culinary student or a graduate... don't believe the hype in the job description. The kitchen and food prep area is okay, but the bakery is everything but a bakery. Nothing is made from scratch and just about everything that is a "bakery item" comes out of a can or a box. The head chef in Rand Dining Hall is burned out and has lost passion – more... for what he does, and only cares about what's going on when he is put on the spot. Job security is nowhere relevant in this job during probation. You can get fired sneezing around there while on probation. Nothing to truly invest a future in as a cook, chef, pastry chef, or any kind of culinarian. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management problem, money problems
Senior Cytogenetic Tech (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 22, 2014
management problem, money problems
Days
No advancement or learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Technology Support Manager (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 18, 2014
This company provides a wonderful environment to accomplish your goals and get your work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Certified Nurse Technician/ Care Partner (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 14, 2014
Pros: patients
Cons: management
the patients that they have are great. the management is rude and very unprofessional. if you cant make the resident, the management get rude and then they will not tell you that they gave your case to someone else. then act like that they didn't know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Resume Builder Job
Research Assistant I (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 10, 2014
Being a research assisstant is a great job for someone who is working on a higher level degree. You get great a experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extern
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 3, 2014
I did chair massages for employees and family members at the hospital. I also went to patients rooms and offered massage if allowed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting place to work
LPN -ST2 (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 3, 2014
Being A level 1 Trauma center means experiencing a lot of new and exciting techniques and equipment the amount of experience I received during my years there was invaluable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding hospital
Clinical Experience (Former Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 28, 2014
Vanderbilt Hospital provided an outstanding clinical experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Certified Respiratory Care Therapist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Best time of my life. People are assume. You have to keep up your skills. No skating thru this place. If you keep your ears open You will learn more everyday. Fast moving. Be ready to run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable for those that like working with patient and patient families.
Patient Services Representative (Current Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: repetitive, not challenged, work pace is too slow.
Interacting with patients, problem resolution, scheduling of future appointments and radiology testing, assist nursing staff with patient needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's work in a research lab...
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: free pizza fairly often
Cons: research is hard
Graduate labs vary wildly in culture.
However, you will always learn a lot, not get paid well, and be frustrated. You may also get to spend lots of time learning about something that you really like - that can be rewarding. In fact, that's a necessary condition for starting graduate school - I think you need to love what you are doing.

About Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University is a private research university located in Nashville, Tennessee, United States. Founded in 1873, the university – Read more