Find companies:
Vanderbilt University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
297 reviews

Vanderbilt University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Lab Services Rep (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 15, 2014
Pros: some good benefits
Cons: short breaks if any at all. pay to park when you come to work
Vanderbilt has not given raises in 3 years. They also have taken away some of our time off. They want you to work long hours with and do double the work since they have laid off jobs and give you no compensation or bonus for you time and effort. Also they want you to pay to park when you come to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything was ok
cage wash 1 (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: short lunches
everything is fine.hard work but was porductive.thats all i have to say
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 9, 2014
Pros: hr. break
Cons: benifits
Busy and productive enviroment, the most enjoyable part about the job is the patient interaction. The hardest part is seeing patients who cant afford to pay for treatment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Student at Vanderbilt
Student Volunteer for Science (VSVS) (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 8, 2014
Cancer Research II: Adapter protein APPL1 and Cancer Cell Migration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22+ employee call center division for Vanderbilt University Medical Center, providing technology and hardware support for Medical Staff and Faculty.
Technical Support Representative (S1) (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 8, 2014
Assist end users with computer, network, printer and application related errors, with the ability to do remote diagnostic on workstations to help resolve issues that they might be having. If problem cannot be solved through remote connection, assuring that a ticket is issued to the appropriate on-site technician to be able to diagnose the problem based – more... on the notes within the ticket. All calls are logged with an interactive logging software and tracking purposes and recorded sporadically for quality management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space
medicine department, post-doc fellow (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 6, 2014
While working for Venderbilt University, I received outstanding training in multiple laboratory procedures. It has been a very positive learning that help me to grow up scientifically and personally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Research and Teaching Institution
OR Scheduling Coordinator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 2, 2014
Vanderbilt is a large hospital which services a wide variety of people for a wide variety of needs. In my time at Vanderbilt, I have learned several new popular software programs, and I have also honed skills used in managing a schedule, ordering for large groups of people, and communicating with many different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service oriented professional customer service.
Floater - COOK ASST. (PYS) (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 30, 2014
Pros: benefits.
Cons: free parking was not offered.
A typical day work entailed knowing where I worked for the day; since I was a Floater. I helped in many different departments within Campus Dining. Coworkers are always happy, always helpful, and always smiling. Our management was superior when it came to our concerns about any area that was related to the job, if we needed help, and how they could – more... help us. The hardest part of the job was definitley making sure to listen to make sure orders were correct, food was prepped and cooked right, and that items were getting put back while closing at night. The most enjoyable part about the job not including the campus, which is very beautiful, is the confidence that you feel while helping customers! Nothing feels more amazing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Supervisor (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 27, 2014
I enjoyed the 5 yrs I was at Vanderbilt. I learned alot and my work skills were built and enchanced at this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 27, 2014
A typical day at work for me is busy and challenging. I have learned how to work EMR ,and other scheduling systems. The management team is great and their job gets more challenging everyday with staffing and patient care. I love my coworkers we all work as a great team. The hardest part of my job is when a patient is being seen in the clinic and the – more... doctor may want the patient to have a test done that same day while they are being seen in the clinic and sometimes that is not always possible, but you try to do the best you to make sure the patients needs are being met. The most enjoyable part of my job is being around people and taking care of patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment to work in!
Research Assistant II (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 26, 2014
Pros: health focused, tobacco-free, maps
Cons: overcrowding in courtyards, navigation at first
I actually was in the medical research building, and I worked under an associate professor. We conducted diabetes research for the university and NIH. I enjoyed my time at VUMC and would not trade it for anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working in a world class hospital with talented physicians.
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits and pay.
Cons: too busy to take lunch most days.
Vanderbilt is a cutting edge research hospital with up to date technology and medical access. The normal day is extremely busy and challenging dealing with sick patients and busy physicians. Our physicians practiced in a clinic setting while also traveling extensively to meetings to keep on the cutting edge of the medical field. My job was to coordinate – more... and assist a top surgical oncologist and some of his staff physicians by keeping the flow of their surgery, clinic and travel smooth. My days were filled with challenges which I enjoyed accomplishing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 Years At Vanderbilt
Departmental Administrator (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 23, 2014
Vanderbilt is a top healthcare provider in TN. I worked for the Medical Center for 19 years and enjoyed a competitive salary and desirable benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and yields satisfactory outcome
Internal medicine Externship (Former Employee), Center, TNJune 18, 2014
Pros: free meals on certain ocassions
Cons: adequate breaks
Highly reputable organization. Employers and employees are highly dedicated to roles and responsibilities. Government rules and regulations well observed. The organization is keeping up with the revolving health care transformation and technology complexity. Friendly place to work. equipped with training and learning opportunities. institution well – more... furnished with tools, and equipment to make employees and patients comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhilerating place to work
Central Appointment Scheduler (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 18, 2014
I had an overall good experience working at Vanderbilt in the psychiatry department. There was never a dull day. I had the opportunity to cross train in areas of front desk check-in, charge entry, insurance verifications, and call center. My co-workers and I developed a team and worked really well together. I enjoyed the most being able to engage patients – more... on a day to day basis, knowing that my encounter with them was making a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Climate has changed in last several years
DAR (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 16, 2014
Vanderbilt was once a vibrant and exciting place to work but the overall atmosphere of the institution has changed in the last several years due to many lay offs and downsizing, especially of older employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of educational opportunities
Registered Nurse - Staff and Charge Nurse (Former Employee), neuro med/surg and neuro icuJune 12, 2014
I left this hospital in 2000. I raised me as a new nurse and left there more knowledgeable than I ever expected to. You get to see so many different medical problems there. It makes a nurse more worldly than most hospitals. I remember working under some incredible leaders there. It was a great place to start my nursing career!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Registered Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 12, 2014
This hospital is a wonderful place to work! There's always someone willing and ready to teach!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was not very fun but the teammates were awesome.
Part time Prep Cook (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 8, 2014
Pros: 75% discount on lunch, great teammates, great benefits
Cons: food production, no room to advance
There was not really any place for advancement, and the food we produced was not what i would consider ideal for my experience, but the environment, costumers, and co-workers were worth having the job. Everyone was usually very helpful, everyone got along great and working with the students was a pleasure. It was a job that was hard not to make friends. – more... Even the managers were fun to talk with. There was not very much to learn but the job showed that even though the work was not so enjoyable you could still look forward to coming to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 6, 2014
It was just a program within my major, non-paying position for school credit.

About Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University is a private research university located in Nashville, Tennessee, United States. Founded in 1873, the university – Read more