Find companies:
Vanderbilt University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
282 reviews

Vanderbilt University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to understand
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 4, 2014
Pros: not difficult to learn duties
Not a difficult job. Duties are quite easy to comprehend. Casual atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a motivated, easy-going funny guy!
Research Assistant III (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 3, 2014
I am a motivated and have extensive experience (20+ years) working with a wide range of techniques in the field molecular and cell biology, an advanced understanding of underlying scientific theory, the ability to work independently and to trouble-shoot, as well as having an extremely easy-going personality. Also I like to learn and a lot of outdoor – more... activities like fishing , ping pong table,dance sometime....etc – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Learning Environment
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 29, 2014
Pros: work with your schedule
Cons: no benefits as an intern
Vanderbilt University Hospital is a productive learning environment for those in the medical field, such as pharmacy. They are an innovative teaching hospital that specializes in cardiac, neurological, and pediatrac care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with wonderful benefits.
Senior Research Specialist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 29, 2014
Pros: college tuition benefit, good insurance benefit
Cons: funding for senior positions limited
Vanderbilt is a wonderful place to work. Research is done in a very collaborative manner. There is generally great support for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
These positions were through Kelly Placement
Case Cart Specialist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 22, 2014
Cons: cutting back employment and not being reinstated.
Opportunity to learn new skills and became full time. The faculty and staff were cooperative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant department
Clinical Supply Specialist (Former Employee), nasvhille, TNApril 21, 2014
Pros: nice department
Cons: no room for growth
Learned alot of myself and acquired alot of knowledge on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Post doctorate research and teaching.
Assistant Professor and Post-Doctoral Researcher (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 18, 2014
Excellent research environment. Students could be a bit demanding in asking for additional office hours, but overall they were well prepared. It was a fixed three year contract, so no opportunity to continue at the university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational experience
Circulating Nurse, LPN II (Former Employee), Nashville,TNApril 15, 2014
Able to learn many areas of the surgical arena and expand my nursing knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefit
Patient Service Rep (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 14, 2014
Pros: hospital enviroment
Cons: short breaks expensive benefits
Vanderbilt benefits are nothing like they were 5 years ago BEWARE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go there
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 10, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: terrible pay/terrible management
Terrible place to work. No matter what you do, they do not give you any respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, caring professionals, best experience of my nursing career.
Perioperative Circulator (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 9, 2014
Pros: supportive environment.
Cons: none.
Team environment with pride and excellence in every patient and family we cared for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere with
Senior Accountant, Department of Finance (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 8, 2014
Pros: wondering...
Cons: compensation is way under market, sr leadership does not have bottom line mentality = lots of wasteful spending.
Relaxed environment to work in overall. Co-workers are great. Mid-level mgmt is great. I have learned that "close" is good enough. Not very detailed or process driven here. The longer you last - the more you deserve a promotion. This organization if allergic to efficiency. We have a meeting to talk about the meeting where we discuss the plans to meet – more... for lunch to review something we've already agreed on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vanderbilt is not what it used to be.
RN, Nurse Residency Program, 8S Med/Surg Floor (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 4, 2014
Hard to keep staffing in line with patient needs. Supportive of continuing education and advancement. Low starting wages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN case manager
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 31, 2014
It was ok--except the on call and driving all day in this crazy traffic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Vanderbilt was a great educational experience which enhanced my skills as a Patient Sevice Representative during the entire eight years of
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 31, 2014
Pros: excellent parking
Cons: short breaks
I opened the clinic at 7:45am, greeted patients coming in for their appointment. Checked copy machines for ample paper, checked fax machines for requests; medication refills, referrals and new patient records. Distribute paperwork to appropriate incoming trays for pick-up. Turned on telephones. Start checking in patients, verifying demographics and – more... insurances, collected co-payments and self pay fees. Place patients paperwork in providers arrival basket for ancillary staff. Answered phones with Vanderbilt greeting, transferred calls or sent electronic message through Star Panel system. My manager
was very hands-on and knowledgeable of the front desk duties. She communicated very well with her staff and challenged us to learn more computer skills in order to move up. My co-workers and I were great team players, if one of us was behind in our work, we'd pitch in and help each other. The hardest part of the job was keeping a smile when someone was impatient and yelling at you. The most enjoying part of the job was being thanked by a patient after you've gone that extra mile to accommodate them after they've yelled at you. Working at this job was more educational to me because, it allowed me to see people in a more compassionate way and understand what it really means to show kindness during a stressful situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice environment with the Vanderbilt students.
Retail (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great pay and fantastic health insurance.
Cons: it was a seasonal job. off all summer with zero pay.
I was fortunate to work in the Vanderbilt's brand new health food store. I learned to provide accurate information to Vanderbilt's students regarding meal plans and meal money choices. The hardest part of the job was stocking inside coolers in 32 degree temperatures every night from forty minutes to over an hour. The most enjoyable part was the experience – more... I had working on a college campus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's just a name nothing else special
Baker's Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville,TNMarch 23, 2014
Pros: discount lunches great health insurance
Cons: bad leadership, terrible communication between management and employees
If you are a culinary student or a graduate... don't believe the hype in the job description. The kitchen and food prep area is okay, but the bakery is everything but a bakery. Nothing is made from scratch and just about everything that is a "bakery item" comes out of a can or a box. The head chef in Rand Dining Hall is burned out and has lost passion – more... for what he does, and only cares about what's going on when he is put on the spot. Job security is nowhere relevant in this job during probation. You can get fired sneezing around there while on probation. Nothing to truly invest a future in as a cook, chef, pastry chef, or any kind of culinarian. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management problem, money problems
Senior Cytogenetic Tech (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 22, 2014
management problem, money problems
Days
No advancement or learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Technology Support Manager (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 18, 2014
This company provides a wonderful environment to accomplish your goals and get your work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Certified Nurse Technician/ Care Partner (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 14, 2014
Pros: patients
Cons: management
the patients that they have are great. the management is rude and very unprofessional. if you cant make the resident, the management get rude and then they will not tell you that they gave your case to someone else. then act like that they didn't know.

About Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University is a private research university located in Nashville, Tennessee, United States. Founded in 1873, the university – Read more