Find companies:
Vanderbilt University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
269 reviews

Vanderbilt University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good, stable place to work
Software Development (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: creative freedom and casual, free thinking work environment.
Cons: the politics on the medical center side is a hinderance to progress.
In the department that I work in accepts only excellence as a standard. Everyone here is devoted to their jobs. You are expected to work on your own with creative freedom, but the expectations are high. I am ever learning new technologies, methodologies, etc and I am challenged every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Emergency Department RN (Former Employee), Nashville TNJanuary 10, 2014
As an Emergency room Nurse, I was able to receive patients, take their medical history, start I therapy, admisnister medications, counsel on drugs, patient teaching on home care after discharge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned
Research Billing Compliance Specialist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: learning environment
Cons: communication challenging with large organization
There are a lot of talented people throughout the medical center and university which makes the work very interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Medical Records Analyst (Current Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 26, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: rate of pay
The most enjoyable part of the job are the flexible schedules and my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was laid-off
Full-time Staff Chaplain (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 21, 2013
Pros: medical savings account/farmers market in season/lots of great people and extremely gratifying work
Cons: being laid-off
I enjoyed Vanderbilt immensely until I was laid-off. I miss it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed 2 units with over 100 FTE on two different floors.
Manager Patient Care Services (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 18, 2013
Developed Excel budget sheet to allow me to either lower or raise the amounts Administration would request that would carry over to multiple sheets in the matter of just a few minutes. Things always changing for the betterment of nursing care. Very compartmentalized. Loved my Director-very supportive and always willing to assist or just listen. Hardest – more... part of the job was staying out of the politics that is at every institution. Enjoyable part-working side by side with the staff so they could see that I was capable of doing what they did. Also involved staff in budget development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program Coordinator, Vanderbilt Medical Alumni Affairs
Program Coordinator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 10, 2013
Pros: healthcare
Cons: parking
Over the past four years, I have gained a great deal of work experience through office management and event coordination with Vanderbilt medical alumni. I have improved in people skills, computer skills, and learned to juggle several tasks at once. I am extremely organized, and I am a fast learner. I take initiative on any assignment, and I am very – more... good at managing my time and work. I get along very well with my coworkers - I am a people person, and I love being apart of a team. I experienced some difficulty when I was hastily promoted to a higher position with little training, but I succeeded in little to no time. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with my coworkers. We work hard and make a great team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why did I leave?!
ACCESS/EXIT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 8, 2013
Pros: amazing benefits, amazing team, professionalism, opportunities for advancement, convienience, training
Cons: disconnected from management (such a big company), parking.
Best place I have ever worked! Awesome culture of smart folks working for the patient's best interest and sharing knowledge with each other. I learned so much working here-how to work well with a team, how to deal with crisis situations effectively, how to supervise others and how to appreciate a hard day's work. Great co-workers for the most part (there – more... are always a few...) and management was fair and competent. Most enjoyable part was the constant opportunity to learn something new. Hardest part was the nature of the job-you deal with sick people all day! Loved being a part of the Vandy family. I left to take an opportunity to live overseas with family. I was in my twenties...what can I say...but I am trying to get back in their good graces :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad state of affairs.
Radiology (Former Employee), NashvilleDecember 5, 2013
A joke. I worked in Radiology and morale is a big zero. The management treats us as numbers and does whatever they want. And tells us that if we don't like it that their are 50 applicants waiting for our jobs. I am harassed and talked down to by my supervisors every time I work. Bad economy has given them the upper hand and they exploit it as much as – more... they want to. Nobody to go to for help and our turnover is very high.Steer clear unless your are ready to be taken advantage of and treated like a dog. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Academic and Clinical Environment
Associate Director, Quality & Patient Safety (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 4, 2013
Pros: working with very intelligent faculty and staff, opportunities to make a differece in safety at the clinical level.
Cons: difficult for non-clinical personnel to advance into leadership positions
Environment rich in learning opportunities. Challenging opportunities for ingenuity. I learned to leverage talents of those on the front lines to develop useable safety procedures. Working with managers and directors, I conducted a series of the most successful culture surveys in the history of the medical center. I was also called upon to organize – more... and conduct monthly continuing medical education seminars for all of surgery. Another highly successful venture with few resources.The most difficult part of the job was garnering the active support of senior management for culture-changing strategies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Records Data Specialist
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center -Data Specialist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 1, 2013
Pros: great working climate
Cons: very large organization
Terrific atmosphere for working. Great team of co-workers & managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place to learn skills
Staff RN, Float Pool (Current Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 29, 2013
Pros: teaching hospital
Cons: short breaks, understaffing, high nurse-patient ratios
Major teaching hospital which allows you to experience high acuity patients and new procedures daily using new software and equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vanderbilt
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 27, 2013
Pros: encourage extende education
Cons: the process of the paperwork involved with any perks
The job was the right fit with the right group of staff and employees, harmony. Easy to flow in work duties when the atmosphere is right. Management and its leaders were tops in what they did to create a winning team. Benefits were great and location and easy assess to parking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Vanderbilt.
Environmental Services (Former Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 26, 2013
Pros: environment, pay, benefits
Cons: 0
I had close relationships with the nurses and patients. I was also mentioned in The Vanderbilt weekly newsletter, by nurses, for exceeding my job description.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vanderbilt Temporary Services
Supply tech (Former Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 25, 2013
Sterile processing, building surgical case carts with instruments requested by surgeon for the next days surgeries.
Learned about the Sterile Process for instrument quality.
Good business management and processes and worked with some great people.
Physically demanding job plus this process has to happen overnight.
The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was knowing that I had a hand in helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research Analyst I (Current Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 23, 2013
Vanderbilt is a good place to work, but with research, you never know if you will have a job due to funding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great foundation for a student
Junior Designer, Internship (Former Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 20, 2013
Pros: a turkey (or tofu-rkey) for the holidays
Cons: stagnant attitudes and murky communication
Working at Vanderbilt gave me a lot of really great work experience as a student just starting out. The only aspects that were less than desirable are what I assume to be typically expected from a large institution: a complacent and somewhat stagnant attitude from co-workers in regards to change and a lack of clarity on the part of management that could – more... be frustrating at times.

Other than those two aspects, I had fun and learned a ton of valuable lessons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Access Specialist (Current Employee), NAshville, TNNovember 18, 2013
A typical workday would consist of 70-100 inboud calls while maintaing MD's schedules
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a productive and fun place to work. It supports recommendation and integration of research findings.
Transplant Coordinator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 16, 2013
Pros: free lunches during employee celebration months
Cons: improve employee satisfaction
It is a great place to work. The Medical Center has a lot of structures in place and has invested in acquiring the best. However, the management system needs to be remodeled for the Medical Center to truly evolve to excel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with
Sr. Human Resources Consultant (Current Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 12, 2013
I have enjoyed my experience in Nashville, TN. The people here are great!

About Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University is a private research university located in Nashville, Tennessee, United States. Founded in 1873, the university – Read more