Find companies:
Vanguard Healthcare Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Vanguard Healthcare Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest Company
Admissions Financial Coordinator (Former Employee), Brentwood, TNMay 30, 2014
Cons: bankrupt
mangers are very secretive, there is very catty behavior between all employees. Company is currently bankrupt and looking for a buyout. Do not work for this company. No respect for the job you do and managers take responsibility for any new ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE ALL AROUND!!
nurse (Former Employee), Churchill, TNApril 4, 2014
Pros: decent insurance benefits
Cons: everything except the ins benefits!!
Horrible management!! Horrible treaent of employees!!! Constant scare tactics!! Horrible pay!!! You are not ALLOWED to call in sick!!!! I was screwed out of PTO!! There is a small inside circle....you will never be in it!! They consist of only management. Management looks out for only management. No matter what you do, you will never be looked at as – more... more than a number. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst most disorganized, stressful atmosphere
Allied health (Former Employee), Boca raton flFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: cheap lunches and affordable health coverage
Cons: disorganization, humiliation, poor customer service, short-staffed
What vanguard doesn't realize is that excellent customer service and organization trickle down from the top. From the get-go vanguard hasn't had a clue about how to run a skilled nursing facility in Florida. They are based out of Tennessee and didn't bother to do their research or homework before acquiring the building. First of all, we stood out as – more... a facility because we are almost strictly short-term rehab, governed by Medicare part a. The differences between this facility and facilities that contain mostly long-term patients are like night and day. Second of all, it took several months after the change in ownership before any employees received any type of training related to facility-wide changes or to the computer system that was being used. Third of all, like any other corporation, one of vanguard's first moves was to slash its staff of nearly 500, in more than half. They don't seem to realize that taking care of people requires manpower and is a different type of business than, let's say, selling fur coats. After leaving 3 CNAs(if you're lucky) on a unit of 40 patients, they have the audacity to blame the line staff for the fact that the patients are complaining and want to leave earlier than they should. After cutting the staff, they never explicitly gave directions on who was taking over their jobs. They would rather have professional staff answering call lights when not trained to take residents to the bathroom; and serve during meals than hire the necessary staff to get the job done. Nurses are stretched thin and never available to answer any medical questions and most if the day is consumed with unnecessary, redundant meetings that make it impossible to get your job completed. Forget about having a personal life- they demand that if you're a salaried worker, you take work home and be available 24-7 to come in in case they call you, whether you're a manager or not. And also forget having an opinion or making a decision( you're nothing more than a robot for corporate so be prepared for them to make any and all of your decisions and to get written up for any dissent or offering of your suggestions). They cut corners wherever they can, even in terms of raises, primarily so they can go on a shopping spree and acquire more buildings. We were told that we would be eligible for raises up to 2 percent( a joke in itself), but yet apparently the supervisors have to provide a detailed written explanation of why we are deserving of raises. There is a high turnover because management makes sure to create hell for line staff by humiliating them in front of their counterparts. Logical question: if employees are miserable and walking on eggshells all the time, what type of customer service do you think they will provide? The list goes on....... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Nurse (Current Employee), NCJanuary 23, 2014
Cons: intimidation, disorganized, false promises, extensive required on call times
Lots of great promises going in that were never realized. Unbelievably chaotic and disorganized. Horrible morale among employees, leading to frequent absences that put everyone else under more strain. Mandatory on-call requirements leave staff with less than four days a month that are actually "off". The staff that are there do their best because they – more... care about the residents and coworkers, but when it's not enough to bridge the gap they are often reprimanded publicly, loudly in the resident's halls, or alternately put in a closed room with only management and asked to justify themselves to HR and their supervisors without access to supporting paperwork, or any specifics about things they are accused of because of "possible employee retribution". This to the point that residents pull staff into the room to ask questions or make comments so that staff "don't get in trouble or yelled at".

This company's grand mission statement "to provide dignity in life for those we serve" would be better served if the employees were treated like people, first, so the residents could feel their caregivers are trustworthy professionals who are good at and enjoy their jobs. You know something is wrong when the people in the beds feel they have to protect the people caring for them. That's not dignified at all, it's sad and I wouldn't let my parents stay in that type of establishment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked, dangerous patient to staff ratio, no support from managment
nurse (Current Employee), boca Raton flNovember 21, 2013
Pros: some good coworkers
Cons: unreal expectations, no support, constant family and state complaints
Save your license, everyone either quit or fired, sad what it has turned into, run as fast as you can. No breaks no backing. Run @@@
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great philosophy
Receptionist / Front Office Admin (Former Employee), Brentwood, TNNovember 11, 2013
Everyone worked hard and worked together as a team. Positive attitudes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate office is there own worst enemy
Nurse (Former Employee), TennesseeOctober 15, 2013
Pros: some good people at facility level
Cons: many
Corporate office is a joke - they want to hold buildings accountable but don't hold themselves accountable. Dishonesty is common from that level. Lots of change over and administrators aren't able to make their own decisions .... Corporate does all decision making then allows the buildings to suffer for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order Entry Tech
Order Entry Tech (Former Employee), MSOctober 12, 2013
Pros: nice building, above average pay, great benefits for a single person
Cons: training, management, systems used, speed above accuracy
This company has great benefits, for the employee only. Seemed to be very pleasant atmosphere (In the beginning). Training seemed unprofessional and unexplainable, as long as you didn't ask questions it went smoothly, they seemed to find it unimportant for the new hire to understand the details of how the system worked, honestly I think they couldn't – more... explain it. Several other techs said it would take up to a year to feel comfortable and adequate at this position. Supervisors and management tend to be partial to the younger employees whether mistakes are made or not it's all about speed not necessarily accuracy "just do it attitude". The system is a joke and not user friendly to say the least, with multiple duplicated meds that aren't entered in proper form or strength, and calculates inproperly, orders with no start or stop times, multiple duplicated orders faxed to weed out, very time consuming. Almost as if you're a nurse manager going behind them and thru separate system(s) to see if the order was entered properly verses the faxed order.... A lot of back and forth work... Remember speed is the key to keeping the job not necessarily accuracy. And the 90 day probationary period... Lol.. Try 6 weeks! Good luck to those who plan for a long term position. Brownie points get you far in this department! I've seen this same position open 3 times in 4 months, red flag? My point Exactly! Although, I do believe it could be a great place to work if improvements were made in policy and procedure, systems used, appropriate management skills and morals, these are desperately needed on MANY levels. Until then employee retention will be next to impossible. Good luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
Former employee (Former Employee), Shelbyville, TNSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: the staff
Cons: corporate is horrible
Vanguard healthcare services is the worst company to work for. The administrator life span is one year. They say to follow policies and procedures, yet they fire people for it. They get buildings shut down and then open 12 more... Glen oaks had a wonderful administrator and they terminated him because he did the right thing. If you are a immoral and – more... unethical person then this company is the company for you. If you are moral and ethical then do not work here!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
dietary (Former Employee), shelbyville tnAugust 25, 2013
The dietary dept is not for real cooks. If you are satisfied with thaw,warm and serve or open a can warm and serve then this is the job for you. If you are real cook, then it is not. They talk about patient rights...but the patients do not have the right to eat food that is not processed...their biggest complaint is the food. Never as a cook have i – more... had to do dishes, prep for next day shift that i dont even work and mop floors. I spend more time prepping for bfst and lunch and doing dishes than i actually do cooking for supper. Sad...the patients deserve more...pity the DM is clueless
And does not care ...Maybe he enjoys processed food or more likely, lacks the ability to actually cook resl food...just mh opinion – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
getting ride of a wondrful activity department u had
Activity director (Former Employee), columbus MsAugust 13, 2013
Pros: close to wehere i live my gradmother were here
Cons: no team work. "not my job" precption
They let the whole activity deapartment go. This has shortened one one visits got those that do not leave there room. The guest that participate are upset at games going on know. Nothing yo do
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Nursing (Former Employee), Poplar Point in Memphis, Tn.June 30, 2013
Pros: cheap lunch, fair pay, low cost health insurance for employee only.
Cons: awful turn over, terrible management, low morale of employees, depressing enviroment.
Poplar Point Health and Rehabilitation Center in Memphis, Tn. is a terrible place to work. The management changes a lot and the rules changed daily. The employees are worked very hard and not appreciated. The facility is always short handed and the employees quit on a daily basis. The turn over is terrible and when I worked there they had orientation – more... every week, so this in it self says something. The management treats the employees like slaves. When upper management comes in from Nashville they are there to raise a ton of hell and belittle the employees. No one ever stays to long at this facility esp. the nursing employees. There has been very good and caring employees and they were fired and harassed until they left. This company provides very little orientation to employees but yet they expect a miracle. Don't waste your time coming to work for this company. It is a very depressing environment and the employee morale is low. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current Employee
Nurse (Current Employee), Shelbyville, TNMay 23, 2013
Pros: fun environment with a family style atmosphere. free cookies!!!
Cons: some residents, and some families, are challenging. corporate changes policies and people a lot
*** Laughs after reading previous negative comment and realizes someone doesn't know that nobody HAS to work where they're unhappy because we live in a free country***
I've only been here few months, but so far it's a nice place to work. Administrator is active on the floor and seems to respect people at every level, whether it's housekeeping, nurses, – more... or CNAs.
New DON seems knowledgable. Sometimes teamwork isn't great, but that seems to be typical in long term carel – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it!
CNA (Current Employee), ShelbyvilleMay 23, 2013
Pros: glen oaks staff
Cons: corporate
Actually, Glen Oaks, the facility is a great place to for!
All the department heads are very pleasant to be around
And the staff really loves the residents. The administrator does not
Sexually harass anyone, actually, a lot of the employees are only there because of him. He has made glen oaks very pleasant to work for an cares about the residents and – more... staff and also fought hard to get the nurses and CNA s a raise when they needed it. I loved working there. The DON is very nice and understanding as well!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Nurse (Current Employee), Shelbyville TnMay 19, 2013
Pros: patients are nice
Cons: not a good atmosphere to work in
Would not recommend working here. No real leadership. Management blames the workforce to protect themselves. Administrator sexually harasses female workers inappropriate language. Upper management belittles workforce. Rules change daily, weekly and monthly a example of lacking leadership. Director of Nursing yells at everyone on the floor lack of professionalism. – more... People work here cause they have too. – less

Nursing1 – May 23, 2013

There has been some management change, but it's been good for the most part. Some people get angry when new leadership has tighter rules or "hold people to the fire." But, that's the only way to make nursing home better in the end.

– May 28, 2013

I agree with staying away from this company because they are unstable and unorganized. We as CNAs here work hard to take care of the residents and we get a slap in the face by taking away our pay and short staffing us. We as the CNAs are the backbone of the facility we get talk down to slap in the face with lies about getting raises that we have not got in 3 years and not only that they take our pay down lower then we already had. I truly believe they is trying to make themselves in a better living status then we are. I wish they will work in our shoes for 2 months with a pay cut and with the head people looking down on you like we don't matter. If it wasn't for CNAs the nursing homes would not exist. We are the ones that do the lifting, pulling, feeding, bathing, cleaning, and we still don't be appreciated for the hard work we do. So don't act like this company don't have their flaws because they do.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skilled Nursing Facilities
o Director of Centralized Admissions and Marketing (Current Employee), Brentwood, TNNovember 7, 2012
Pros: personable, dedicated employees
Cons: unstable management team
Numerous SNF's, growing company - changing everyday to grow with the industry.