Find companies:
Varian Medical Systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Varian Medical Systems Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Installation Manager
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Lincolnshire ILJuly 1, 2014
Pros: had an excellent team to work with.
Cons: company was not organized properly to handle the is responsibilities.
Managed the information systems installers in the Midwest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
IT System Engineer / project manager (Former Employee), BeijingMay 20, 2014
Good working place. Nice environment. A traditional company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace company .
Hand soldered, touch up SMT (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 3, 2014
Good benefits and management. Nice place to work. Safe workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old-school company
LMS Lead/Internal Learning Consultant (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CaliforniaMarch 29, 2014
Pros: stabliity, ability to work from home
Cons: change- and risk-resistant, unimaginative management
Varian is one of the Silicon Valley's earliest technology companies. Many employees have been there for 15 years or more. Naturally, most of management are old timers. As a result, the company is change- and risk-resistant and management is hierarchical.

I have focused most of my time at Varian on driving quality system training to be more effective – more... and risk-based. The existing regime is geared almost exclusively to creating training records for auditors rather than promoting quality behavior. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
SAP CRM ABAP Technical Developer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAMarch 18, 2014
Good company, always enjoyed working at this company.
Good team of professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company.
Field Service Engineer II (Former Employee), Chandler, AZMarch 14, 2014
Every day you learn something new while troubleshooting the linear accelerators.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice experience
Security & GRC Consultant (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAFebruary 4, 2014
I have very good experience in Varian medical systems.
Here I understood how the business runs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company if you can get in.
manufacturing technician (Former Employee), palo altoFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good pay.
Cons: bad hours, managment is questionable
a typical day at varian consists of mostly standing all day and working on the manufacturing floor. i learn a lot of stuff while i was there i got my forklift license and crane operating license also.
i was not a fan of the management they didn't have a good grasp on the work we did .the co workers were awesome alot of good guys and gals. the hardest – more... part of the job was the schedule. most enjoyable was working on the machines i really liked all the hands on work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Design Task
Senior E/M Designer IV (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: various work task
Cons: very little training offered
Good environment, various tasks, Good support from coworkers.
Little supervision and not much in the way of training.

Fast pace environment, multiple task and aggressive schedule.

Good work, complex design.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Software Engineer (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CADecember 10, 2013
Pros: good working environment, free fitness classes
Cons: na
Day start with scrum stand up for 15 mins. Every team member briefs about the achievement done on previous day , plan for the day and any impediments will be discussed.

Opportunity to analyze the entire application code flaws, design issues using code analysis tool which gave enough time for me to understand the design and fixing the flaws at the same – more... time. This resulted in better code quality.

Managment keeps the team updated about organizations change updated and are approachble.
Team members are very co operative, fun loving and enjoy day today activities. Apart from regular work everyone works on side project of their interest which keeps us motivated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on Ion Implanter Integration
Electro-mechanical Technician (Former Employee), Gloucester, MANovember 29, 2013
Pros: the work environment eas very professional
Cons: ther were some o ngoing safety issues.
integrated water,vacuum,electrical harnesses into the mainframe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet easy place to work
Test Technician II (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTNovember 8, 2013
Pros: quarterly bonus
Challenges are provided everyday, but can get a little mundane if you arent kept busy day to day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Administrator (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 5, 2013
What the talented people at Varian Medical Systems do everyday is inspiring.
As Administrative Assistant, my day consisted of general office duties, but I learned a lot about Excel, and expense management.
My co-workers are inteligent, talented and dedicated people who put the clients needs above their own.
The hardest part of the job will be leaving.
The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with co-workers throughout the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Varian
Various (Former Employee), Marietta, GAOctober 27, 2013
Pros: overall great place to work
I relocated with my husband and his job to the Fort Worth, TX area. I really loved it at Varian and miss it very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
re worker (Former Employee), Tempe, AZOctober 22, 2013
Pros: being able to stay busy
Cons: little pay for the amount of work being done
I would start by getting the parts needed for the job i was to get done replace the parts and send it to QC for inspection then move on to the next job. The management was pretty good and the co-workers were okay some of them were really good but most were just there for a pay check. And i would have to say the hardest part of the job was doing 9 jobs – more... to everyone eases 1 for the same pay got a little irritating at times. And the hardest part of the the job was trying to keep the parts form one job separate for the others when they kept putting everything at my work station and i enjoyed feeling satisfied when everything worked perfect – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Challenging and fast paced
Field Service Engineer-Level II (Current Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 30, 2013
Pros: healthy pay
Cons: always constant uncertainty
- work was based as on call status
- management is always in crisis management mode

- I really enjoy helping people solve problems. In this opportunity I am able to help people on a daily basis. The structure of this situation makes it hard to balance work and life. When this happens it takes a toll on both sides and neither side tends to get the attention – more... they deserve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked long hours
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 13, 2013
Pros: great stock and retirement plan.
Cons: poor family / work balance
I enjoyed performing installation and maintenance on cancer treatment systems because it provided a means that helped save lives. I worked solo most of the time, but also would work with a great group of people who were mostly previous military. The hardest part of the job would be the traveling. I spent to many days away from home, 20 nights a month – more... in a hotel and I flew all over northern America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Systems Specialist, Installation Service Engineer
Systems Specialist, Installation Service Engineer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: working with top-of-the-line technology, close knit group
Cons: excessive travel, minimal advancement etc.
 Created and managed multiple product installation and service plans from initiation to final acceptance with physicists, therapists, medical oncologists and department administrators.
 Installed, serviced and maintained optical guidance systems for stereotactic cancer treatment.
 Routinely served as interim Lead Project Manager for North American – more... optical guidance installations and service.
 Instructed optical guidance pilot educational training course for service engineers and Varian Education Department instructors.
 Participated in the development of technical evaluations, investigations and designs in support of assigned projects for immediate and future implementation.
 Provided manufacturing design support and feedback for continual product improvement.
 Demonstrated product application and software features to customers.
 Served as product representative for technical and clinical applications support to customers and colleagues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company whose IT senior management made (IMO) some bad decisions.
Global IT Project Manager (Former Employee), Beijing, China and Palo Alto, CAJune 24, 2013
An excellent company from an investment perspective but from an IT empolyment perspective a far cry now compared to the 90"s and early 00's. I learned almost everything I know while employed there for 19 years and would still be there if the old senior IT management team was still in place. The co-workers were great until senior management changed and – more... started letting people go that had been excellent and loyal employees for many years and replaced them with their friends. The hardest part of the job was dealing with people who did not value the contributions of their team and worked to pit team members against each other. The most enjoyable part of the job was always the ability to have intelligent conversations and debates with peers and at the end of the day walk away with consensus and go play soccer and have a beer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Material Handler (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAMay 8, 2013
pull oders for manufacturing floor via sap system. load unload trucks via forklift/palletjacks. detrash and stock material. learned a great deal with sap. got along good with co-workers hardest part of the job was the demanding schedule for production the most enjoyable part of the job was the very fexible and high demand for overtime.