Find companies:
VCU Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

VCU Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 15, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: so many people come and go
Management doesn't help or care about you. They will say one thing and do another. They will lie to you in your face
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Totally Dependant Upon Area and MANAGERS!!!!
VCU (Former Employee), RichmondJune 6, 2014
Pros: doorman, co-workers, healthcare
Cons: pay vs skill, managers
I found that my time working at VCU, specifically Training, to be interesting to say the least. Advancement within that area is impossible. But would you really want to stay there?

The skills required on the job posting and in the interview versus what really was needed - yeah HUGE disconnect.

The managers tend to be passive aggressive at best when – more... they have problems - which is unfortunate. An 'under our thumb' management style with obnoxious undercurrents makes for crazy seas ahead. Bring your wetsuit and 'thick skin' when they start rolling out the 'its just business, not personal' jargon. Right...yet some of the conversations and interactions say otherwise.
(reading out ER charts from the computer to the whole office and messaging them - I'm sure that is a big privacy violation there)
I could go on but really its not worth the effort.

The only saving grace in this department are the other trainers and the doorman. (yep, you read that right!) They seem to have similar struggles with management on a daily and weekly basis as well. There is a theme here...

Save yourself and your sanity by applying somewhere else. This one particular branch of VCU Health System was very 'we will help you and make your experience great' but ultimately it failed. The company is not private and in this case it shows. It seems to be that ill trained managers who are inappropriate are just put up with in a system that encourages tenure more than skill.

As someone who is not new to the workforce, I did learn a great deal of how not to be a manager. When my time comes to guide a team - I will remember everything Training instilled in me and do the exact opposite. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room to advance and encouraged to progress
Registered Clinical Nurse II (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 17, 2014
Pros: educational advancement
Cons: strict attendance policy
VCU Health System, recognized as a Magnet hospital, encourages advancement in education and clinical position. A great place to grow in skills and knowledge. New attendance policy is strict. No longer have a 7 minute window allowed for time. If clocked in 1 minute after schedule time ,it is counted as late. Two late entries equals one occurrence/absence. – more... Also only allowed 8 occurrences per rolling year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the work unit
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 23, 2014
Pros: don't know of a single "pro" from my time at vcuhs. i was miserable every day.
Cons: pay and benefits meager. it's non-profit.
There are 9,000 employees at VCU Health System. I know many who love it, many who go to work every week for a paycheck and can't wait to go home. My co-workers and I were daily frustrated by a manager who was unclear and unspecific in giving direction, upset and frustrated when we could not guess at her meaning, she would change priorities on a dime – more... and be angry when assignments before the sudden changes weren't completed. She seemed overwhelmed by her role and became even more anxious when a new manager appeared who she reported to, with no known recruitment or foreknowledge. I felt sorry for her, and she made her employees feel her sorrow. On the other hand, I met some of the smartest and most enthusiastic co-workers I've encountered in my work life (in a parallel work unit). And everyone I worked with (except the unit manager) has left. I've seen job postings for months and months and months to refill the positions -- not sure what that's about. WIsh I'd have landed in one of those units where employees were well-managed and enjoyed their jobs. I'm so, so glad to be out of there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ensuring outstanding service to patients and family
Receptionist in Bone Marrow Clinic (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 19, 2014
. I worked with an interdisciplinary team of professionals such as nurses, doctors, social workers, dieticians and other support staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast-Paced
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 19, 2014
A typical day in the Anatomic Pathology Department is very fast-paced from answering calls whether it's doctors, patients or outside facilities either requesting biopsy results, scheduling FNA biopsies, or surgical pathology slides. This actually is the first position outside of my field (accounting/finance) that has been very interesting and educating. – more... The hardest part is learning some of the medical terminology. The most enjoyable part of my job is the fact that I'm able to assist and satisfy patients or individuals who call or request for pathology slides. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent for advancement
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: learning is encouraged
Cons: parking
Need to find a way to not to pay for parking. Need to make pay according to cost of living,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Temp Scheduler (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: lunches, team building meetings
Cons: sedentary position, only one 15 minute break
A typical day at work was answering phone calls from patients and scheduling according to their healthcare needs. I thoroughly enjoyed being able to help a patient who was sick and getting them an appointment to be seen. The hardest part of my job was telling the patients if there wasn't an available appointment within the timeframe they requested.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 13, 2014
awesome place to work, great work environment, wonderful people to work with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A few great Doctors and Front Desk Staff
Patient Service Rep. 3 (Former Employee), Richmond VA.December 22, 2013
Pros: some free lunch
Cons: often no breaks
Former Patient Service Rep.3 the medical ctr. have the worst Sr. Supervisors/Nurse Managers they like to micro manage the front desk staff if you aren't in the click of favorites you will loose your job. some of the front desk staff work in a very Hostile work environment. if you contact employee relations for help your days will be numbered at VCU – more... Medical Ctr. Perhaps more training is needed for the sr. supervisor's nurse manager's and employee relations staff.
Every Day Is A New Discovery....... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a learning and rewarding facility to work at.
Medical Records Clerk (Current Employee), Richmond, VADecember 9, 2013
I typically start my day scanning in documents for our clerical staff and clinics. I assist our patients with their requests, answer phones, copy requests that come through the printer, as well as answer phones. I enjoy my job. I have been in medical records for 6 years. I started in 2005 as a sterile tech. I enjoyed assembling all surgical sets. It – more... was really a learning experience to utilize all of those instruments in one setting. I love my co-workers, without them I could not accomplish what I have achieved all of these years. The hardest thing is the patients that don't communicate well and tell you what they need. It can be overwhelming at times. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting the staff and the patients. Some patients are very sweet and they appreciate what we offer to them. I am very sharp when it comes to customer service. It is my responsibility to our patients or anyone for that matter to serve and do it with a smile. I try to serve with humility and trust, to show them our patients we care and we are concerned about them. Thank You. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a little above okay.
Dietary Aide (Current Employee), Richmond, VaNovember 27, 2013
Pros: pay, opportunities, location.
Cons: lack of care for employees.
I've worked for the VCU Health System for about 5 months. There are many opportunities to advance within the company. My biggest issue with the Health System is that they don't really show much concern for there emplyoees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No review proided
Patient Account Rep Coll. B (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 16, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
No review provided. I will not provide any information regarding this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning enviornment
CARE PARTNER (Current Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 22, 2013
Great environment for students in the medical field. Nurses and doctors are willing to teach those interested in learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Coder (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 30, 2013
Pros: tuition reimbursement, annual reviews, room for advancement and change of careers
Cons: parking downtown - not free, more expensive copays for going off campus for medical care
There are good opportunities for advancement - if you pursue them. Tuition reimbursement - 18 credits a year, good health insurance and many work life balance offers. As a non-medical person, this a great place to get your foot in the door and advance. I have had 5 positions in 7 years and consider each an advancement.

With any place, there are some – more... workers with bad attitudes and a couple of mangers without managerial qualifications.... there's always one or two in the bunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced medical facilty
Care-Partner (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 16, 2013
Pros: flexiable schedule
Cons: insuffient pay
Our job is to deliver safe and qaulity care to patients and family members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VCU Health System is a great learning facility
CARDIOGRAPHIC TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 16, 2013
At VCU Health Systems you will have the ability to be a part of cutting edge medical care. As an employee of an urban hospital, I am afforded the opportunity to meet a variety of people. My co-workers are friendly, helpful and caring. As a VCU Health System cardiographic technician I strongly believe that I am part of a team. The co-workers and the – more... patients are the most enjoyable part of my workday . The hardest part of the job is not always being able to control every aspect of your patients care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total lack of communication skills
Medical coder (Current Employee), Richmond, VAApril 23, 2013
Pros: defiantly a learning environment, seminars abundant
Cons: no communication, no chance of advancement
Management too overwhelmed to notice what Managers were doing. Very report heavy environment; lot of checks and balance. Team environment is nill Communication sorely lacking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outpatient Pharmacy
Pharmacy Tech/outpatient (Current Employee), RichmondApril 4, 2013
Pros: pay is good
Cons: not a team environment
The outpatient pharmacy is poorly managed. Work ethic is a non issue because the management is clueless to who actually works or doesn't. Your going to work every other weekend, on call shifts, and most holidays. If your needed or not. If you get a chance to apply here, inpatient is where you want to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging but engaging
Registered Nurse, Clinical Nurse II (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 26, 2013
Level I trauma center for central VA. in the middle of the action and groundbreaking medical procedures changing the lives of many.