Find companies:
VCU Health Systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

VCU Health Systems Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule, educational
Childcare Teacher/ Aid (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 3, 2015
Flexible working environment, primary research, monthly meeting to report progress, learning to digitize essential information for easy acess
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traffic
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Richmond VaMarch 31, 2015
Pros: Great food vendors
Cons: parking
The hospital is located in the heart of downtown Richmond parking can be very congested at times, but working in this environment is a wonderful experience you see and learn some on a daily basis I would trade that experience for nothing. The work is pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring people who place the patients first
Unit Secretary, Cardiac Surgery ICU (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 26, 2015
The unit where I work is very busy. The nurses and physicians do amazing things to help the sickest of patients. The hardest part is saying goodbye to family members who have lost a loved one. They become part of our family. My favorite part is assisting these families and making a difference in their lives while their family members are in our unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cusotmer Sevice
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee), Richmond,VANovember 6, 2014
To much customer service taught as adults and they want employees to be unrealistic than normal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General
Patient Access Supervisor (Former Employee), Richmond, VirginiaOctober 30, 2014
One of the greatest experiences of my life, I miss that facility. It truly was home to be there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Patient Transporter (Current Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 8, 2014
I have a very neutral opinion about this work place. Most of it is very personal, I do not wish to share. It is an alright place to work, but it all depends on which department you find yourself in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VCU Health Systems is Great!
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Richmond,VAJune 11, 2014
I would highly recommend the VCU Health Systems as a great place to work overall. I do have a difference of opinion regarding the specific department that I worked for. I also was not a big fan of the leave policy that was in place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work not a lot of room to move up
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 22, 2014
Pros: benefit cost
Cons: annual increase
Works well for my family as far as the hours I work. I work three days a week 12 hour shift which gives me four days off. It is hard to move up as far as money in position wise. I have been here for over seven years and have not had a huge jump in salary due to the policy they have on the annual reviews which does not give a huge increase. The benefits are good and the amount you pay out is ok but it increased every year since I been here. The policy changes that they implement seem to not work well with people who have small children at home as far as the call outs and coming in late. Overall it is a ok place to work but not great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Inventory Technician (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 5, 2014
It was a great job, but management could have used improvment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB
Operating Room Materials Management Supervisor (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 11, 2014
STABLE WORKING INDUSTRY, LITTLE ROOM FOR ADVACEMENT UNLESS YOU HAVE A DEGREE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Patient Transporter (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: insurance, employees, patients etc
Love this job.......Management was great....Nothing left to say except I miss my VCU family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient care tech 7p-7a
Care partner (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: educational, benefits
Cons: unfriendly environment staff/patient
Worked on Ortho Trauma unit, I mostly did vital signs, 1:1 care, ADL's, lite housekeeping, transport patients to and from procedures, specimen collection, documentation, assist RN with patient with any and all necessary issues/ concerns, patient care, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Richmond, VANovember 9, 2013
A typical work day is unpredictable. It's a healthcare industry, therefore; no one day is the same while working with patients. I've learned how to put my managerial skill set into play. The most difficult part of my job is being involved with people during resuscitation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Careet
Material Technician (Current Employee), VCU Heath SystemJuly 27, 2013
Great Employer. Flex schedule. Great Pay. Great management. Career Advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get experience.
Program Coordinator OR/PACU (Current Employee), Richmond VAJuly 2, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: being contracted out to a company
I enjoy working at VCUHS, the department is very diverse, people care about one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it's a great place to work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 1, 2013
Pros: insurance benefits
Cons: you have to pay for parking
VCU Health Systems is a great place to work. You have opportunity for advancement in many areas. They allow you to receive education once at no cost once you have been employed for a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Registered Nurse (Clinical Nurse III) (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJune 5, 2013
Pros: potential for advancement
Cons: pay for parking
VCU Health Systems is a great place to work. Great benefits and potential for advancement is a plus. The only negative is you have to pay for parking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical input
Patient Access Services Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 27, 2013
register outpatient surgery into computer system. Verify insurance and input data in system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drawing blood and collecting specimens steadily
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 13, 2013
Pros: meeting patients
Cons: lack of proper management on site
Drawing blood and other specimens and labeling them correctly
Learned how to organize and correct specimen collection vials
management was not at locations as much as needed
Some co-workers needed more guidance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: benefits, gym, tickets to the game salary is okay
The culture with some of your co-workers need to change, just because you work a certain position does not mean that person do not know something.

About VCU Health Systems

The VCU Health System is one of only two nationally recognized Level I Trauma Centers in the state and is the only one in central – Read more