Find companies:
VCU Health Systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

VCU Health Systems Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work not a lot of room to move up
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 22, 2014
Pros: benefit cost
Cons: annual increase
Works well for my family as far as the hours I work. I work three days a week 12 hour shift which gives me four days off. It is hard to move up as far as money in position wise. I have been here for over seven years and have not had a huge jump in salary due to the policy they have on the annual reviews which does not give a huge increase. The benefits – more... are good and the amount you pay out is ok but it increased every year since I been here. The policy changes that they implement seem to not work well with people who have small children at home as far as the call outs and coming in late. Overall it is a ok place to work but not great – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Inventory Technician (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 5, 2014
It was a great job, but management could have used improvment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB
Operating Room Materials Management Supervisor (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 11, 2014
STABLE WORKING INDUSTRY, LITTLE ROOM FOR ADVACEMENT UNLESS YOU HAVE A DEGREE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Patient Transporter (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: insurance, employees, patients etc
Love this job.......Management was great....Nothing left to say except I miss my VCU family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient care tech 7p-7a
Care partner (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: educational, benefits
Cons: unfriendly environment staff/patient
Worked on Ortho Trauma unit, I mostly did vital signs, 1:1 care, ADL's, lite housekeeping, transport patients to and from procedures, specimen collection, documentation, assist RN with patient with any and all necessary issues/ concerns, patient care, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Richmond, VANovember 9, 2013
A typical work day is unpredictable. It's a healthcare industry, therefore; no one day is the same while working with patients. I've learned how to put my managerial skill set into play. The most difficult part of my job is being involved with people during resuscitation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Careet
Material Technician (Current Employee), VCU Heath SystemJuly 27, 2013
Great Employer. Flex schedule. Great Pay. Great management. Career Advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get experience.
Program Coordinator OR/PACU (Current Employee), Richmond VAJuly 2, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: being contracted out to a company
I enjoy working at VCUHS, the department is very diverse, people care about one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it's a great place to work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 1, 2013
Pros: insurance benefits
Cons: you have to pay for parking
VCU Health Systems is a great place to work. You have opportunity for advancement in many areas. They allow you to receive education once at no cost once you have been employed for a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Registered Nurse (Clinical Nurse III) (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJune 5, 2013
Pros: potential for advancement
Cons: pay for parking
VCU Health Systems is a great place to work. Great benefits and potential for advancement is a plus. The only negative is you have to pay for parking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical input
Patient Access Services Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 27, 2013
register outpatient surgery into computer system. Verify insurance and input data in system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drawing blood and collecting specimens steadily
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 13, 2013
Pros: meeting patients
Cons: lack of proper management on site
Drawing blood and other specimens and labeling them correctly
Learned how to organize and correct specimen collection vials
management was not at locations as much as needed
Some co-workers needed more guidance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: benefits, gym, tickets to the game salary is okay
The culture with some of your co-workers need to change, just because you work a certain position does not mean that person do not know something.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with great my life benefits
Inventory Technician (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 29, 2012
Pros: good benefits, end of year bonus
Cons: mandatory overtime
I have worked for this company for 3 years and I would like to continue to work for this company. But, they have so uch room for advancement as long as you have a degree in certain fields, so I am working on gettingb thoses degrees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working in the healthcare field.
Patient Account Legal Specialist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 4, 2012
Pros: the benefits and education
Cons: turnover in patient accounting
My responsibilities include processing self-pay accounts for legal action. Prepare warrants in debts for court proceedings. Respond to personal inquires in a timely manner. Assist Attorney General’s Office with questions and or concerns and serve as a witness in legal proceedings for the Hospital. Answer phone calls from attorney’s offices, patients, – more... and or guarantors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've had the opportunity to meet people from all walk of life.
Program Support Asstistant (Current Employee), Richmond,VaApril 16, 2012
Pros: nver a dull day
Cons: not a lot of room for advancement
Excellent place to learn basic job skills. Great platform to build a resume to branch off to other fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workp place
PUBLIC HEALTH NURSE (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 16, 2012
nice benefits great educational opportunites. family oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult floor with higher and higher patient acuities
LPN (Former Employee), Acute Care MedicineNovember 14, 2011
VCU was an excellent place to work when I started there. The benefits were excellent, and you had a feeling of belonging and security. As an LPN, that has changed. Now VCU seems to be set on RNs only for patient care with LPNs being only in clinics. That left me feeling very vulnerable and insecure. Immediate management did little to ease those fears – more... and feelings. – less

About VCU Health Systems

The VCU Health System is one of only two nationally recognized Level I Trauma Centers in the state and is the only one in central – Read more