Find companies:
VCU
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

VCU Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Administrative Assistant/Collections (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 21, 2013
Great University that help my jumpstart my life and career. The experiences that I encountered were great as well as the people I met. I was a business major and successfully completed goal there which was to graduate. I experienced issues while attending VCU, but through it all it made me who I am today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product and fun workplace
Patient Care Specialist III/ Adm. Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 25, 2013
Register patients promptly using the IDX system, which was the first time i had ever work with programing. Verified patient’s eligibility from various insurance companies. Informed patients of insurance status, co-pays they may have and collected co-pays. Scheduled patient appointments following guidelines set forth by the clinic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is racist and employee relations does not have the employees back because of the right to work law in Virginia.
Central Sterile Technician (Former Employee), Central Sterile ProcessingSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: discounts, transportation
Cons: breaks, management
Overall VCU as a whole is good for medical learning experience but you have those person who are in management that abuse the power that they have in a negative manner. Some co-workers will assist you in learning your job duties but you have others that will compromise your work. The hardest part of the job was taken the negative comments from the manager – more... while the assistant manager stood by and allowed the belittling of the employees continue. The most enjoyable part of the job was those co-workers who were positive and about team work and not gossip or foolishness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Construction Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), VCU RenovationsAugust 28, 2013
Finished my undergraduate degree in VCU while working in the Renovation services department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand new Photography Art Gallery
Photography Senior Exhibition Planning Committee (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 6, 2013
I loved my experience at Candela. It taught me a lot about art administration and the art world. It gave me opportunities to communicate with artists, art directors, art leaders, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virginia Commonwealth University
Administrative Office Specialist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 7, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Troubleshoot PC's
Install PC's
On the job learning with Network configurations, Mail Clients, on the spot problem solving
Management was great very flexible
Co-workers were helpful and worked well with one another
Hardest part of job was making sure all sensitive material was transferred properly and in a timely fashion from PC to PC
Most enjoyable – more... part of job was setting up appointments to fit my schedule during the work day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place great atmospshere
Team Lead Registration (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 26, 2013
Pros: pot lucks, 10 k walk athon
Cons: healthcare
Learn about healthcare/ medicaid/ medicare, lots of team meetings and more information to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Research Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 2, 2013
Please see previous review as it applies to this position. All of my education and experience stems from a strong background provided by this university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great first job
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 5, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: did same thing every day
I learned to stay on task, keep organized, and how to cope with strange situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, people oriented environment with the ability to help all levels of faculty, staff and students
Office Services Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: quiet environment with opprotunities to grow professional skills
Cons: part-time position
A typical day at work involved assisting the Office Manager with the maintenance of running the department. As the "go to" person for multiple responsibilities in running the office, the opportunity to provide assistance to all levels of staff was bountiful. As a supervisor, there exist the ability to mentor another person in office management and allow – more... growth in this area. Through this job, I learned how to manage a mid-sized department, supervise others, and effective interaction with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning Experience
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 4, 2013
It was an unpaid internship where I learned more than I did in many of my classes in College. A great way to go for any research oriented student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A psitive working environment with a desktop computer on the table and a bunch of talented coworkers
Research Associate (Current Employee), Virginia, USDecember 23, 2012
Cons: primary healthcare
I work full-time as a teaching assistant in the department of chemistry. It normally starts from 8 am and go upto 6-9 pm depending on class schedule. At first, I check my official email to see if there is any important emails from the university or from my students. Usually, I read emails carefully from top to bottom and respond to them immediately. – more... The most important thing, I have learned from this job is time management. A good time management allows me allocate time for my family as well as for the job. I have a number of coworkers most of them come from different cultural backgrounds. They are friendly and tend to get socialized easily. The hardest part of this job is grading the quiz or lab report. The most enjoyable part of this job is the opportunity to work with a number talented people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work- Study
Front-desk student worker (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 7, 2012
It was nice to learn a new skill in front desk managing and office support. Not too much opportunity to grow, but definitely a learnign experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to meet and make freinds of diffrent cultures and productive work
Cook (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 19, 2012
Pros: meeting new people as well as learning new things.
Cons: was the over crowd od the shafer center sometimes.
A typical day at work was very busy at all times. What i learn was to get to know and understand differeant cultures, The managment was great at what they did. Some of my co-workers where great to work with while others where gave reasons to stay away from them and do my work. The hardest part of the job really was nothing at all. The most enjjoyable – more... part of th job was working with different people and meeting new people as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Internship (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 19, 2012
Pros: worked from home most of the time.
Cons: not paid
Good Place for Internship or to start learning. It depends what professor are working under. Some professors are really helpful and some just helpful. I learned a lot of techniques for designing and how to work with project requirements during the internship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VCU is a great company to work for.
Parking Deck Attendant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 2, 2012
the staff is very knowledgeable and very helpful. The job requires you to have great customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Houskeeper (Current Employee), Richmond, VirginiaMarch 14, 2012
Pros: meet new people, fun to work
Cons: short breaks
Working at VCU has given me the opportunity to meet new people and enhance my skills and talents I currently have established.