Find companies:
Veolia Environmental Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
122 reviews

Veolia Environmental Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compensation And Benefits
Swing Driver (Current Employee), Saint Paul MNFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: compensation, benefits, advancement
Cons: work outside in all conditions.
Good company to be a part of. A fit for just about anyone with a cdl and good driving record. Routes with overtime and routes without much overtime, so good fit for many. Room for advancement, good management listens to your concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Management Unethical, Dishonest, & Unprofessional
Sales Representative (Former Employee), La Porte, TXFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: unethical, dishonest, and unprofessional
Funny how leadership preaches ethics, honesty, and be professional and expects this from the rank and file but behind close doors they are completely hypocritical to all of these attributes. Pretty unprofessional how you can be told week after week how great you are doing then once you decide to turn in a two notice all of the sudden you are a sub par – more... employee. Management does this to discredit you in order to avoid paying you your earned bonuses and/or commissions. There is definitely favoritism running all through the company which creates a horrible work environment. When I first started, I thought that the office staff was just "bumps on a log" with bad attitudes but after being there for 8 months, I understand as local management is to blame for most of this based on how they treat people. I would challenge the executives to participate on "Undercover Boss" but I'm sure that they would be too embarrassed for this to air on national TV. One other note, they fall under the old adage "the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing". Think long and hard before accepting a job with the La Porte office and if you have other options - take them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Management Unethical, Dishonest, & Unprofessional
Sales Representative (Former Employee), La Porte, TXFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: unethical, dishonest, and unprofessional
Funny how leadership preaches ethics, honesty, and be professional and expects this from the rank and file but behind close doors they are completely hypocritical to all of these attributes. Pretty unprofessional how you can be told week after week how great you are doing then once you decide to turn in a two notice all of the sudden you are a sub par – more... employee. Management does this to discredit you in order to avoid paying you your earned bonuses and/or commissions. There is definitely favoritism running all through the company which creates a horrible work environment. When I first started, I thought that the office staff was just "bumps on a log" with bad attitudes but after being there for 8 months, I understand as local management is to blame for most of this based on how they treat people. I would challenge the executives to participate on "Undercover Boss" but I'm sure that they would be too embarrassed for this to air on national TV. One other note, they fall under the old adage "the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing". Think long and hard before accepting a job with the La Porte office and if you have other options - take them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they dont care about their employees
n/a (Current Employee), Nitro, WVJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: the occasional lunch and dinner is bought, good insurance
Cons: they have no consideration that you have a family
very poor management, very rarely see them in the field. they have their absolute favorites and some they keep out of town traveling and seems they basically forget about their existance. very poor bonus program. god forbid you get a ticket that you pay and doesnt go against veolia. very little raises. we cant even get so much as a tee shirt or a hat. – more... I dont recommend that anyone come to work here. word of advise people, ivs, is right down the road. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous place to work
Process Operator II (Former Employee), Sauget, ILJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: schedule and holiday pay
Cons: extremely dangerous safety jeopardized daily.
Processing hazardous waste.
What I learned is how to and how not to treat people.
Safety is jepardized on a daily basis.
Co-workers were fun to work with.
Hardest part of the job was the schedual could never get use to the days and night changes two weeks of each then rotate.
Most enjoyable is the off days 2 days on 2 days off every other weekend we – more... were off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mechanic
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), Decatur, ILDecember 20, 2012
i love a challenge, trouble shooting, repair, hydraulic and electical. i learned new things evry day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close work environment, like family
Temp (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TxDecember 16, 2012
I really enjoyed working for Veolia, but the management was terrible. When you are in a management position, you are suppose to set a good example to the employees beneath you. This was not practiced in Veolia office, and the position was abused.

I enjoyed my clients in which I worked for or with on a daily basis. Each day when I clocked out for work, – more... I clocked out with pride knowing I done more than what my job required. It was one of those jobs that you enjoyed shutting the alarm off to in the mornings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hydroblasting
Safety Auditor, Hydroblasting, (Former Employee), La Porte, TXDecember 7, 2012
Pros: travel
Cons: low pay
Good employer, alot of work and activties. Company travels alot, very safety oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management, no loyalty
Field Tech/Fleet/Procurement, etc (Current Employee), Ashland KYNovember 28, 2012
The upper management two are very incompetent in their work responsibility. They use all the people that know what they are doing to make themselves look great & then try get the ones that know the business fired. The new younger generation wants to surround themselves with people that won't question the bad business decisions they are making. Very – more... sad, evil ways. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pruductive and fun place to work for
OFFICE MANAGER (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILNovember 18, 2012
A typical day at Veolia
A great place to work for with very good benefits and management team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace job at times , a lot of attention to computer , paper work and scale
Scale Operator Technician (Former Employee), Totowa, NJNovember 13, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: company died down every year
Good place to work at . I weighed in and out trucks and gave out recipts to costumers .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good while it lasted
Life Support Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 3, 2012
A good company to work for. Wish the Marine Division would have lasted longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed Customer Service Department
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Hartland, WiNovember 2, 2012
Pros: good work shift
Cons: non-dedicated employees
A typical day would consist of the very few customer service employees there constantly talking to each other, ignoring the incoming phone calls. The phone calls would go to one employee, it would be ignored, then it would bounce to the next available representative who would then ignore it and so forth. I had on the job training but from different – more... employees. Each person I learned from taught me differently (the way they do their job) versus the correct way. I was told not to listen to my manager with certain protocols. The hardest part of the job was to take on a lot of the work because my co-workers simply did not feel like helping our customers out as well as the very unpleasant dispatchers that I had worked with. The only part of the job I enjoyed was the hours of operation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work experience
Environmental Specialist II (Current Employee), fremont caSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
drive out to several companies and pick up their hazardous waste
and lab packs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on chemical plants roofs
Laborer (Former Employee), Prince George, VirginiaSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: long lunch breaks
Cons: didnt get to see my kids as much
It was an experience for me. I never hydroblast or waterblast a chemical plant before then. I was the only female and somtimes i did a better job then the men. We used to travel alot to different plants, the one i like the most was the Dominion Power Plant in Yorktown
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service / Dispatch (Former Employee), Nicholasville, KYSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: very relaxed
Cons: not very secure
Was taught how to dispatch and excel in customer service. Management was great and easy to talk to. My co-worker was excellent and I couldnt have asked for anyone better. The hardest part of my job was leaving. I enjoyed absolutely everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Culture with Limited Growth Opporutunities
Assistant Controller (Former Employee), Batavia, ILSeptember 3, 2012
The role I had as Assistant Controller was very loosely defined. My primary function was to assist or fill in for a controller who was either indisposed or had left the company. The most challenging and rewarding span of time at Veolia was when I was functioning as a full time controller for three operating units over a period of six months.

If I was – more... not assisting a specific controller or area I was responsible for completing ad-hoc reporting and analysis for corporate and some special projects. One special project I did enjoy was designing and implementing a macro based Excel sheet called the Labor Tracker. After rolling it out to the field, mangers were able to bring labor costs down to below budget.

After those challenges though, I felt there was very little possibility for growth. The culture in the office wasn't the most friendly meaning that everyone just sat in their respective offices without any sort of conversation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Supervisor (Current Employee), TXAugust 28, 2012
Its not too bad of a company to work for. There's plenty of opportunities for advancement as long as you are willing to learn. Its never the same thing twice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment with good co-workers
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Evansville, INAugust 22, 2012
Pros: good hours and friendly co-workers
Cons: pay rate is low and benefits were not great.
Answering calls and helping clients with any problems they have, with a quick solution.
Having a great attitude and being a team player at all times.
Keeping an organized and productive cubicle.
Being a helpful individual for all the clients calling in with problems.
Making collection calls and sending out letters.
Taking electronic payments over the – more... phone and making sure there account reflects the payment and sending out a confirmation.
Typing up contracts when ordering huge roll-off containers for construction sites.
Getting a permission slip signed by the city that we would be sending a container if on the street of that city.
Helping with anything that is needed to be completed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Find something else
Driver (Current Employee), Waukegan,ILJuly 28, 2012
Cons: everything
This company is terrible for drivers. They do not care at all about you and will fire you at the drop of a hat. Managment is very difficult to deal with. They have drive-cam in the trucks that can record at anytime and they will fire you over that as well. I would not recomend working here.

Veolia Environmental Services Photos