Find companies:
VeriCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

VeriCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vericare is a resilient company that recognizes their clinicians as the key to its success.
Clinical Psychologist (Current Employee), Santa Rosa, CaliforniaApril 23, 2014
Vericare offers an attractive hybrid of private practice and salaried employment, largely providing the best of both worlds. A few of the pluses include autonomy over my schedule, a consistent caseload, freedom from a host of administrative tasks (including billing!), virtually no overhead, reliable, professional and competent support and leadership – more... from management, ethical practices, being an instrumental part of a treatment team at each facility, and the opportunity to be involved in a relatively new and fertile area in the field of psychology. On the downside, there is limited face-to-face contact with Vericare colleagues and management, and none with support staff, which can be especially challenging as one is coming on board and learning a new system. Nonetheless, Vericare is a resilient and vibrant company that recognizes their clinicians as the key to its success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff, flexible work schedule
Clinical Psychologist (Current Employee), San Jose, CAApril 15, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, strong management team
I thoroughly enjoy working for Vericare. The management team is extremely professional and understands the importance of allowing psychologists to create their own work schedule. While they provide autonomy in one's work, they also create a team atmosphere in which you can always get consultation and/or questions answered. I truly enjoy working with – more... the geriatric population Vericare provides, and the documentation required per patient is easily accomplished. Additionally, it is wonderful not to have to do my own billing!
Bottom line: I highly recommend Vericare for their patient care as well as their employee care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's working for me . . .
Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee), Napa, CAApril 15, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, autonomy
Cons: multiple facilities equals multiple needs
There are so many things that I love about my job. Having such a flexible schedule makes my home and family life a lot easier, which was always a challenge with prior jobs. I am very autonomous at work so no one is breathing down my neck or micromanaging me. But if I need help, it is always easily available, either by my collaborating physician, management, – more... IT or customer service. All of my benefit/paycheck info is available online 24/7. Most of the staff I work with is fantastic! That's what makes work fun! The hardest part about my job is because I go to several different facilities, each one has their own way of doing things. It's hard keeping everyone's particular needs straight and accommodated. The most enjoyable part is, of course, the patients themselves. Delightful and funny elderly clientele with much wisdom to share. I find it fulfilling to help make their golden years a bit more golden. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work days and supportive coworks
Psychologist (Current Employee), san franciscoApril 13, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules and bonuses
Cons: long commuting
One of the things I enjoy about my job is the ability to work with the elderly population and make a difference in their lives. Vericare has licensure reimbursement fees and mileage reimbursement. The travel can be tiring at times but you are given plenty of patients to see so it is worth the drive. The management is very professional and they bought – more... is all iPads to use for our work. Many people work for Vericare part time while they do their private practice. I recommend Vericare to anyone who wants an opportunity to work independently with some collaboration with other Vericare staff or the facility staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for flexible schedules and rewarding work
Rehabilitative Specialist, Clinical Psychologist (Current Employee), Dallas-Fort Worth, TexasApril 10, 2014
Pros: a great find for independent, organized and motivated clinicians
Cons: no 401k match program at this time.
I have seen this company go through many changes in the last 3-4 years with an aim towards growth and continued advancement in the field of health psychology and geriatric psychology. Though there are always bumps with change, I have been pleased to see management's responsiveness to the needs/concerns of providers. I am pleased to see use of electronic – more... records and clinician concierges (which are simply the best!) to make our administrative task much, much easier. I look forward to seeing continued improvements in administrative support(s) to streamline a complicated process. I am also pleased to see that Vericare places great emphasis in training providers to stay informed and knowledgeable in best treatment approaches. Plus, they offer very generous professional development funds each year to help providers grow/stretch skill sets.

The hardest part of the job deals with the nature of the work --in serving a very vulnerable population. Though rewarding to help patient's and their families find comfort as they go through varying health difficulties, it can be emotional draining (but very, very rewarding).

Pros: flexible hours; rewarding placements working with medical teams; supportive general managers for consultation/problem solving; emphasis placed on continual learning/training; CEU funding; Licensure funding; Mileage reimbursement; IPADs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed corporation only interested in the bottom line
Psychiatrist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: don't have to set up a business and do it yourself
Cons: very little reimbursement for work done, terrible management who pays no attention to clinicians, horrible emr, difficult to get paid on time and correctly
This company is terribly mismanaged. They had shifts in leadership at least 5 times in the few years I worked there. These shifts included the CEO, COO, Human Resources Director, etc. Management does not care about anything but the bottom line, and it is obvious from the time one starts working there.

Non-clinicians are constantly attempting to push – more... clinicians into seeing a certain amount of clients (from which they take about 70-80% of your gross, per patient reimbursement), despite it being unnecessary and at worst, unethical.

Furthermore, their EMR is horribly slow and built on Salesforce, which was never meant for clinical work. After spending 8 hours a day actually seeing clients, one then has to spend another 4-5 hours each night trying to email and find out why one didn't get paid, why the referral didn't go through, etc.

One ends up spending so much time emailing, trying to figure out what is going on, that eventually one wonders what the point is. Supposedly, they take most of the gross for marketing, coordination, and training, but one doesn't get any of that.

The company presents itself well at first, but once hired, the situation changes drastically as per the above.

Their "marketing" is non-existent - I was told there would be plenty of skilled nursing facilities near my house, but that was not the case. All "my" facilities were nearly 2 hours away.

I'd stay far, far away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly Poor Management
Psychologist (Former Employee), CaliforniaJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: my patients, i love working with the elderly
Cons: poor management, long hours
This is the most poorly managed company I have ever worked for. They have major changes in corporate every few months. The company is so focused on the $$ that clinical relevance is not considered. They have managers making clinical decision as to how many times we should see our patients and continual pressuring us to do so.. Your pay is based on fee – more... for services, which is linked with their EMR system for notes and billing that is a nightmare. After spending 8 hours seeing your patients you spend another 8 trying to sort out your pay, missing notes and referrals; which results in endless emails. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at many things; poor at some of the most important.
Contract psychologist, part-time (Current Employee), N. Texas regionApril 17, 2013
Vericare is a company that was founded by mental health professionals, and for the first 15 or so years of its life honored the people in skilled nursing facilities who were its patients as well as the ethics of the various mental health professions involved--psychology, social work, and psychiatry.

About 5-6 years ago, Vericare was sold to a group – more... of investors who do not have a background in mental health care and who's interest is primarily in the bottom line. Their goal has been to squeeze as much money as possible from Medicare, Medicaid, and other third-party payors in order to enhance their bottom line and make the company attractive to other investors. Vericare has become a microcosm of what is wrong with our healthcare system overall. Through privatization it has become all about profit and economic opportunity versus a high quality of health care.

That said, I enjoy my work in the skilled nursing facilities I have served over the past 9 1/2 years with Vericare. Vericare does many things right--from streamlining our documentation process by giving us IPads to creating and contributing to a 401(k) for even its part-time employees. The managers in Vericare who are mental health professionals are excellent at trying to match the goals of a highly trained professional provider with those of the corporate world

However, the continuing pressure that the corporate office puts on providers for increased productivity strikes me as being professionally unethical. The expectation that we will treat 8-12 patients per day plus do documentation for which we are held accountable is unrealistic at best and unconscionable at worst. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Challenging Environment
Referral specialist, receptionist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: friendly environment, close relationship with co-workers
Cons: backlog of referrals from holidays, or systems problems
Co-workers are willing to help others, typical day processing referrals and meeting your daily goal, ,management is friendly and mentioned their door is always open with questions or concers, hardest part of the job would be sometimes obtaining the patients complete information that was missing on the information sent in, the most enjoyable part of – more... the job would be being with co-workers who make you feel like family and are always willing to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is cutting employees as the Medicare fee schedule reduced by 5%. Revenue to company went down. The lay off is from high management to high pay
Billing Specialist - (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 13, 2012
Pros: example: free lunches, etc.
Cons: example: short breaks, healthcare, etc.
Review A/R using Excel Pull the dates that have not been paid to see why. Check denials correct reprocess, Answer costumer calls, emails from field representative,
Answer questions and help co worker due to extensive experience in the field. Hardest part of the job keeping up with non credential providers rendering services, Electronic billing issues – more... that casing delays in processing clean claims. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to work independently and resolving all issues that are difficult. Being productive the best part – less