Verisk Health

55 reviews

Verisk Health Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding, fast paced environment
Record Retrieval Agent (Former Employee) –  Ephraim, UTDecember 5, 2014
Verisk Health is a very forward thinking company as far as business ambitions go. As an employee, I felt management did not really know what it took to achieve the goals they set for us. They ask for input, but disregard it. Even though we each had our own cubicle space, we changed location and teams every few months. We were required to maintain a high volume of calls, enter notes, and collect huge amounts of records every day. I learned ways to increase my computer skills and glean a lot of information in one call. My co-workers were regular, every day people. I made some good friends. Breaks are short, lunch is barely long enough to gulp down your food. The advantage of that is that the work day is shorter. In Ephraim, they provide the workers with two lunch rooms with microwaves, fridges, coffee machines, and a foosball table. There are frequent competitions, monthly birthday cake, and other recreational activities. This is an effort to improve team work, relieve stress, and keep us informed of the constantly changing details of the job. Sometimes I resented these activities because we were still required to maintain our volume of calls. This would be a great job for a highly competitive, assertive, computer savvy, high energy person.
Pros
the office administrator is personable and enthusiastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Reactionary management and poor benefits make for a bad work environment
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 9, 2016
Reactionary management leads to lots of nights and weekends. There is little to no forward thinking. High turnover makes it very difficult to get anything done as nobody has product knowledge. Nights/weekends are standard for SMEs punishing them for hard work and knowledge. Multiple war rooms happening at a time to put out fires is normal, then those employees get yelled at by upper management when trying to resolve issues. Morale is very low. Communication is very poor. Job roles and responsibilities are very unclear. Lots of managers (bosses) and no leadership. No advancement opportunities or employee development plans. Instead of considering internal, the standard is to hire external.

Benefits are minimal. They have 2 options for health care because one doesn't qualify for the minimum requirement for one if the states in which they have an office. 401K matching is done with company stock.

Salaries tend to be high. PTO is about average, not too bad. Maternal/Paternal leave available.
Pros
High Salaries
Cons
Nights/weekends, no advancement, reactionary management, poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Analyst (Former Employee) –  South Jordan, UTMarch 16, 2014
A typical day was looking for any potential fraud situations and report for investigation.
I found there was a huge difference in what is acceptable within Medicaid programs and private insurance companies.

Manager was not as pro active in getting resources and training needed for new employees to be successful as others I had worked for in the past.

Most of my coworkers were a dream to work with. Smart, funny, helpful and all there for you when you had a question or needed help.
Great support system within the Team.

The hardest part of the job was learning to "let go" of the bigger picture and focus on smaller but significant discrepancies.

I loved the diverse atmosphere of this company. I worked with and around a lot of people who enjoyed their job and wanted to make a difference. I enjoyed every day I went to work.
I would love to work there again but in a different area.
Pros
employees are the best
Cons
not enough training or management involvement
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rising Organization with Passionate People
Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 4, 2015
Verisk Health is a company that offers a lot of really brilliant people and a place where you truly can learn something new every day. There exists experience within the organization that can help you grow, not just intellectually, but professionally. The hardest part of the job is handling the chaos created by frequently changing leadership in a company that has grown really fast and has had a hard time finding the stability point in the growth. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to watch teams truly come together and grow together to become extremely productive as a whole. Due to the fast growth, processes have not been fully defined, which allows the ability for individuals to have input on what the processes should be moving forward.
Pros
Passionate Team Members, Understanding of the Goals
Cons
Healthcare industry can be illogical. Must be able to adapt to frequent change
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career that taught me a lot
Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  South Jordan, UTMarch 2, 2014
Developed a career in the finance department and made sure the Medical Records invoices were either paid or disputed depending on State Statutes, if the invoice was a duplicate, had already been adhered to, or if the medical records had already been copied and sent from the facility prior to instead of from a copy service. Worked using a 10 key and wrote informant letters to the copy services explaining any discrepancies. Gained a financial and accounts payable knowledge in which will be in need and will be put to use in any career as well.
Pros
the team i worked with
Cons
being hired and let go as temps, even though the trainer told all of the temps that we were officially hired on, that bluff was not acceptible according to my work ethic, and the hourly wage was low as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Verisk Health
Records Retrieval Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ephraim, UTAugust 5, 2015
I worked at Verisk Health for 6 months. The compensation was decent. Job duties included calling medical facilities to verify information so we could request medical records on behalf of insurance companies and lawyers offices. Follow-up calls would be made until the request was filled.

There was a high expectation on how many facilities needed to be called every day and how many records needed to come in each day. It was difficult to meet these expectations no matter how hard I tried. We would have breaks but there wasn't much time to get to know our co-workers.
Pros
The pay
Cons
Not enough time to get to know co-workers, Expectations were very difficult to reach.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great opportunity, needs major training
Remote Coder (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 12, 2015
This is a great company to get your foot in the door of the medical coding world. I can only speak from my experience, all staff were very professional and curteous, however lacked the mangerial skills needed to teach entry level personel exactly what is expected. Rules changed on a daily basis and it was very hard to grasp the concept when nothing seemed stable at the time I was employeed. There was a great amount of Managerial turn over along with entry level coder turn over.
Pros
Pay was great, very flexible hours, extra training provided if needed
Cons
Rules changes on a daily basis, management was not consistant
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very employee friendly and high quality
Data Entry (Current Employee) –  South Jordan, UTOctober 19, 2015
This company is very dedicated to service and in providing a high quality product. Since the work involves very sensitive information (medical documents) their security is extremely tight, so as to protect personal information, both for employees and for their clients. They are also very concerned with each employee as a person, being very flexible and understanding to personal circumstances, being willing to work with you, whatever your circumstances may be. Benefits are very good (if you can get on permanently) such as discounted stock options, excellent insurance (low premiums with high coverage) and employee matching for 401K.
Pros
Employee matching for 401K, discounted stock options, excellent insurance (low premiums with high coverage), tight security (to protect both employee information and all client information)
Cons
A lot of temporary work, so it's hard to get on permanently.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position was 100% remote work from home.
Remote HEDIS Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  South Jordan, UTJune 23, 2015
My supervisors were very involved in the day to day work. They kept me informed of what was expected and responded quickly to my questions. My co-workers all worked remotely from various places around the country yet communication was quick and easy among all members of the group. The work assigned was exactly what I expected. Compliments came regularly and when a problem did arise, friendly reteaching instead of reproach was used as a form of correction.
Pros
Work my own schedule; work as much as I wanted to
Cons
computer glitches occurred a few times but were quickly fixed
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pretty good place to work
MIPS Agent (Former Employee) –  South Jordan, UTFebruary 17, 2014
I worked the late shift (1:30PM-10:00PM), which suited me very well. I learned a lot about different software programs, as well as procedures for procuring medical documents. Also learned some medical and legal terminology from the documents I handled. The management was good for the most part. The hardest part of the job was when there would be technical difficulties that interfered with job performance. The most enjoyable part of the job was that, while I was part of a team (and thus had a support system I could turn to if I had any difficulties), I was also able to delegate my own tasks and work independently for the majority of the workday.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment , but repetitive.
Data Retrieval Specialist (Former Employee) –  South Jordan, UtahJanuary 2, 2015
I only worked there for around 3 or 4 months, but I enjoyed working there while I did. It taught me professionalism in a fun environment. There were free messages, Foosball tournaments, raffle drawings around the holidays, The list goes on. The only downside is that you go in and do the same work day in and day out. From when you clock in to when you clock out you're just making calls and taking notes and paying invoices and trying to not count the clock until your next break.
Pros
fun work environment with nice people
Cons
repetitive and boring work
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning environment
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAOctober 23, 2012
My tenure in Verisk health has been very productive where I learned to design OLAP cubes and later became an expert of this field. Every day there was a new challenge in the nature of job as we were fairly new in implementing OLAP cubes but my co-workers including management supported very well. Most enjoyable part of my job was working from Waltham, where I faced the challenges of solving issues from client in fairly short time and I was single in-charge of big client like Premera.
Pros
free pizzas and drinks in kitchen
Cons
working on weekends sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes8No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad if you need a job to have one
Medical Records Representative (Current Employee) –  South Jordan, UTMarch 4, 2015
This isn't a bad place to work. It's tedious and sometimes boring. I would like it more if there were more chances to move up. Something that irritated me is that I had been working as a temp for over 90 days and a new temp was hired on and moved up shortly after they were hired on. Spoke with others and they said it happened a lot. That's not exactly fair for all and others doing a good job. Other than that it's not bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Introduction Into Healthcare IT
xxx (Current Employee) –  Waltham, MASeptember 18, 2014
Verisk is a great company for getting your feet wet in the healthcare IT market.

The company offers great solutions for the market place. Verisk continues to be challenged by high turnover and lack of strong and consistent leadership, but the company seems to be stabilizing.

A lot of the people who were most vocal, critical and negative have left. Those that believe in the company and want to build a strong company are coming together to help reshape the culture and perception of Verisk Health.
Pros
lots of company activies and great healthcare benefts
Cons
high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Hedis Abstractor (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 9, 2014
Each nurse was given specific health plan patient assignment to review for specific medical information. Management and co-workers worked together to complete the assignments in a timely and orderly manner. The most challenging part of the job was reading through the many pages of medical records to find the correct and necessary information. The most enjoyable part of the job was finding the most recent information.
Pros
working from home
Cons
reading 1-1000 pages of medical records, specific information needed was not included in the medical records.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reviewed medical charts for HCC codes.High production expectation and little to no training.
HCC Coder (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 17, 2015
Great job for at home workers. One all day training and then very large production expectations. Very little feedback. Was told if you don't hear anything from team lead, you were doing well. Not so. When contracts end, so does your employment.
Pros
Pay and ability to work from home
Cons
No training. Never knowing if you are doing your job correctly.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back workplace not as stressful as most call centers
Medical Record Retrieval Agent (Former Employee) –  South Jordan, UTJune 29, 2015
I enjoyed working at Verisk Health because my manager was awesome. The work was easy to learn but I got sick of it after awhile because it became very repetitive and I started to feel like a robot
Pros
nice building
Cons
computer system needs update
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Verisk Health
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  South Jordan, UTMay 17, 2015
Very laid back environment. Work at your own pace and be in charge of yourself. Some employees are great to work with; others not so much. Management wants to be your friend more than a supervisor which can cause some trouble with work. Can be very stressful at times and you will feel you are doing more work than what you get paid to do.
Pros
laid back environment
Cons
pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 9, 2013
It was a call center position. I learned how to properly conduct a phone conversation with customers. I truly enjoyed interacting with clients and my co-workers were great people to work with. Management was also very helpful & beneficial towards me succeeding within the company. Unfortuely, it was a contract position that only lasted for three months.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job
Customer Service Representative/IT (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 13, 2014
Hated the job, was only there a couple of months before they decided to let me go, they informed me that I was on call status and never call back to go into work, management sucks, only wanted people whose parents work in the important jobs
Pros
they provided good food
Cons
no benefits, no nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture