Verizon Employee Reviews in United States

Found 10,374 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job
Financial Services/Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 24, 2016
The company I was working for at the time was purchased by Verizon. I liked the company I worked for better (Alltel). Verizon was a stressful job
Pros
PTO
Cons
Micromanaged
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Senior Marketing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 24, 2016
Verizon is focused on the development of its employees. Benefits are top notch and education is a the forefront. A great place to work and the opportunities to advance are limitless.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Verizon Wireless Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJuly 23, 2016
I had the pleasure of working with a great team whose skills and personalities meshed well together. Verizon puts over 20k into each person with their training process alone, so you know their committed to having you stay and thrive.
It is easy to forget these positives with some of the quotas and somewhat over-bearing corporation culture -- but you should know what you're signing up for with a Fortune 15 company.
Pros
Benefits, competitive pay
Cons
Corporate culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits w/ Decent Room for Movement
Business and Government Technical Support (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTJuly 23, 2016
Verizon offered excellent benefits including tuition assistance and flexibility to go to school. Minimal room for improvement in a call center, unless willing to relocate.
Pros
Nice building, friendly co-workers
Cons
Extremely strict schedule with lunches and breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Verizon was a great place to work.
411 Operator (Former Employee) –  Rochelle Park, NJJuly 23, 2016
I enjoyed working at Verizon. Everything was done by the book, which I liked. I miss working there. I learned how to find phone numbers quickly. The management had nice people. My coworkers were nice also. The hardest part of the job was getting up real early sometimes. The most enjoyable part of the job was figuring out how to spell names and places.
Pros
Cake there all thie time in the lunchroom.
Cons
Couldn't take too many breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company Great Benefits.
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Sierra Vista, AZJuly 21, 2016
I enjoyed working for Verizon. The benefits were second to none but the work life balance and scheduling was interesting. The job was relatively high stress with commission based and pay high sales quota's
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Layoffs/Stress
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJuly 21, 2016
Layed off management every quarter for 4 years making culture very negative. Trying to get rid of the wireline business.
Pros
Benefit and compensation
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Below
Authorized Retailer Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJuly 21, 2016
Cellular Sales is not the company for everyone. 100% commission based not any thing more. If someone steals anything you pay for it out of your check.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it learned new things everyday.
Service Technician/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJuly 21, 2016
Even though i only worked there for a brief time it was fun. Loved every second of it. I got to work with machines and technology i never seen before luckily i'm a very fast learner even though i was an entry level worker management trusted me with jobs confidential work
Pros
Everyday was a new experience
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 21, 2016
i love everything about this job and it was a great work experience everybody worked hard as a team and i was like i was my own boss
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture, fun, great benefits.
Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIJuly 21, 2016
A great company to work for with amazing benefits. Management places a lot of pressure on sales reps to meet quota requirements. I didn't necessarily agree with their methods.

Verizon is a great company but I have to note too that the company as a whole receives many complaints from employees to the Complaince and Ethics department. Management will use scare tactics and threats in order to make you perform better which has caused many employees to feel unsafe in the work place.

Full benefits start on day one of work. Includes full medical and dental. 401K, tuition assistance, company phone, discounts on products, uncapped commission, quarterly bonuses.
Pros
Great benefits and creative training environment.
Cons
Poor management, high pressure demands.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company to Work For
Coordinator - Attendance Expert (Former Employee) –  Elgin, SCJuly 21, 2016
I worked for VZW for 15 years. I only left the company because I had to move to another state to be closer to my spouse's relatives. It was very difficult to leave a job with great people, pay and benefits. The company goes above and beyond to try and keep it's employees motivated and happy. The only downside is, working in any capacity other than customer service, the company keeps it's departments at a bare bones minimum and a lot of overtime is needed to get your job done. If you take vacation or time off you feel guilty for leaving your work behind on your already overworked teammates.
Pros
Benefits, Pay and People
Cons
Too much workload
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  New JerseyJuly 21, 2016
great place to work , you get to work with so many great people great benefits , tuition reimbursement , vacation days personal days, there are bonus and recognition compensation .
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work culture
System Engineer (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 20, 2016
Good Work culture and job security.

Good telecom domain with interesting areas to enhance or develop.

Nice pay and very professional team members.

Flexibility in work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Place
Director (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 20, 2016
Very results oriented
Good and Bad leaders
Best part was people
politics can be tough
Lots of conference calls
Travel for meetings
Pros
People
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are valued, however the bottom line takes priority
Systems Engineer / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Temple Terrace, FLJuly 20, 2016
There is very little security with Vz, they continually have reduction in forces, which seem to be driven by the part of the business that are covered by the Union. The flip side to that is when the Union fights for benefits, and wages that generally trickles over to the management side of the business.

They provide many benefits to their employees, they are a good company, but it would be nice if they followed the USF School of Business motto: People, Planet, Profits.
Pros
Training, and good benefits
Cons
Constant reductions in force so no job security, very little ability for promotions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay is great
Sales / Service Consultant (Inbound­Sales Agent) (Current Employee) –  MarylandJuly 20, 2016
pay is great , strict attendance policy , high sales environment. I like the fast pace environment. We always have some type of sales event going on that end with really good prizes.
Pros
pay benefits perks
Cons
long hours, too much office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked, understaffed, Unstable commission structure
Wireless consultant/Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 20, 2016
A typical day would include activating as many new line of service customers as possible and sell everything.
Phone sales aren't for me.
Management is lacking , the turnover rate is unreal.
Co-workers usually not cohesive because of the high turn over rate.
The hardest part of the job is watching the commission structure constantly change.
Pros
Discounted cell phone bill
Cons
health care, pay, commission
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong customer service driven company. Enjoyable working atmosphere, energetic and knowledge employees.
Global Enterprise Advisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 19, 2016
Strong customer service driven company. Enjoyable working atmosphere, energetic and knowledge employees. 15 years of customer service to great customers. Learned a wealth of knowledge along the way.
Pros
Benefits and Bonuses
Cons
Competitive industry
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, Good get the training out sooner
Customer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTJuly 19, 2016
Good place to work, low on training before changes came out and the hardest part is the tech support. Most enjoyable it helping the customers and getting to talk with a different variety of people and changing to match them.
Pros
Good pay and Benefits
Cons
Poor training before the changes took place
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 10,678 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7