Vicor Corporation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable With Management Issues
Manager (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAJune 30, 2016
The company overall, is just OK. Work hours are flexible and benefits are decent. The issue is upper management. Often making rash decisions which negatively impact the company and its employees. The employees can't say anything without fear of recourse.

An extremely dynamic and unstable environment. I would not recommend Vicor to a friend.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Upper management is clueless and only cares about the bottom line, not their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Designer (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAMarch 5, 2016
Good place to work as a new graduate. Lots of perks like cafeteria, gift cards, great teams and mentors for life. Good work life balance although compensation is not at par with competition
Pros
Lunches, people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for a young engineer to grow.
Manufacturing Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Andover, MANovember 7, 2015
As an intern at Vicor I had many opportunities. I began in the SMT department where I worked with solder paste screen printers as well as automated pick and place machines. As I excelled in that role I was asked to move my focus towards the manufacturing of a new product family. I spent the majority of my time at Vicor working on improving process capabilities to develop robust manufacturing processes for the new product line. I worked closely with planning, manufacturing, and design groups to drive towards production.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Test Engineering-Mechanical Engineering Co-Op (Former Employee) –  Andover, MASeptember 28, 2015
I worked for Vicor for my college co-ops. The experience proved to be an amazing stepping stone in my education and development as a mechanical engineer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tons of legacy code
Software Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAJuly 22, 2015
Vicor is a manufacturing company. Most of the intranet is done in Spring and Spring MVC which is ok. But there are some legacy system that are a waste of time to learn and work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and a great experience of learning
Analytical Lab Co-op (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAJuly 22, 2015
The work environment is really great. The environment is very diverse. The work, life balance is nice. People help each other to get a job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture is great
Manufacturing Engineering Co-op (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAApril 26, 2015
Great culture to work for. Compensated food made it cheaper to eat there than make your own lunches. Friendly employees, most people around the company seems like they're in a good mood and always willing to help with the development of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge technology but very poorly managed
Senior Product Development Engineer (Current Employee) –  Andover, MADecember 13, 2014
Vicor is great if you're into job security. Company is very poorly managed. Management structure is very flat so communication between departments is not good.
Pros
people are very nice
Cons
very un-realistic schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal Issues
Project Manager & Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Andover MAOctober 3, 2014
Working Phone queue from 8 am to 2 pm
Receive high severity tickets via phone
Punch down network and telephone drops
Configure network devices
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, fast paced and fun
Supply Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAJuly 10, 2014
Led by a brilliant, passionate founder that energized everyone that was in his presence. Employees were encouraged to take chances to improve the product and processes and were rewarded accordingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Vicor Corporation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Robust industrial experience brought about by engagement in complex and challenging projects. Opportunity to be a significant contributor.
Manufacturing Engineer Co-Op (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAJune 10, 2014
Working at Vicor has been a very positive and constructive experience in my collegiate career. The projects I undertook allowed me to:

- Learn what goes on in maintaining a production/assembly line
- Industry standard statistical analysis, graphing and technical writing
- Quality Control (PFMEA, Control Plans)
- Working efficiently with cross-functional disciplines
- Problem solving and associating it to its $ value
- Communicating with vendors
- See how the ISO/TS system works and how it is implemented into a factory setting.
- Broadened my thinking level by forcing me to come up with more than one design/solution for any problem that may occur.
Pros
encouraging work environment, delicious and cheap food, overtime pay, no strict dress code
Cons
may need extra time commitment depending on production issues/timeline
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Fun
Mechanical CAD Design Co-op (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAApril 15, 2014
Vicor's Engineering Department was the best place I've worked. There was constant contact with engineers, tons of variety in the assignments, and never a lack of work.
Pros
low down-time, diverse workgroup and assignments, and amazing chef-cooked lunch.
Cons
extremely fast-paced, harsh (sometimes impossible) deadlines, some communication issues between departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and Coworkers
Material Handler II (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAApril 13, 2014
Looking to get hired, but I see no opportunity to do so. I will continue to work hard and hoping for the best. It would be nice to be part of the Vicor team as a irect hire.
Pros
team oriented
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manufacturing floor has a ping pong table
CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJanuary 7, 2014
Most people have worked here for many years. This is good in some ways and but not so when it comes to change management and process improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Administrator
Sales Administrator (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAOctober 8, 2013
Great company! Fast paced and always busy.
Assistant to 3 regional managers and customer service manager.
Pros
room for advancement
Cons
distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vicor Retrospect
Sr. Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAMarch 7, 2013
An electronic manufacturing company in integrated power supplies.
Email Development engineer for entire company.
Not a lot of consideration was given to messaging systems within the company.
Pros
free thursday lunch, some benefits
Cons
no updward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work/great people
Facilities Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAApril 5, 2012
great place to work/great people/excellant management from president on down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Mechanical Engineer/ Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Methuen, MAMarch 24, 2012
Busy at work
Test and Troubleshooting,and QC
Team work
Independant
Full Resposibility
Work accomplishment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.8

Vicor Corporation Reviews by Location