Find companies:
Village Green
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Village Green Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Certified Nursing Assistant II / Restorative Aide (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCMay 29, 2014
Pros: best cna experience
Cons: heavy work load at times
Learned a great deal working under some exceptional nurses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Maintenance tech (Former Employee), KyApril 28, 2014
Pros: hr lunch and insurance
Cons: hostile, belittling, takes priority over personal life, false promises, hr department doesn't help employes
The work environment is very hostile and abusive. Managers belittle and attack their employes when they are upset as well as verbally assault employes in front of residents. I will never work there again because of the lack of accountability the company enforces on property managers and service managers.

DO NOT WORK FOR VILLAGE GREEN!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sentinel
Leasing Manager/Sales Consultant (Former Employee), St. Louis MOApril 22, 2014
Very good first property management company to work for and I learned a tremendous amount of knowledge from my time with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the company as a whole but depending on site you work can be difficult
Maintenance tech (Former Employee), St. LouisApril 9, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: work/life balance
Long hours good company to build your experience. Management can be difficult at site level. You must be able to politic for advancement management does not respect hard work. Honesty is not the best policy must be lawyer or politician type person. Pay can be above average
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Shop Foreman/ Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Huntington, NYFebruary 9, 2014
Fun and hard work. I learn almost everything that I know today and more. Management skills, customer relation, bookeeping to being the best employee that I can be. Great crew wounderful leaders and teammates,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with experienced personel would have been a plus.
maintenace tech (Former Employee), Holland, MIJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: residents
Cons: managment/lack of support
revolving door or training ground for inexperienced managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviroment
Lead maintenance (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: rotating pager property well taken care of awesome office staff.
Cons: weather to hot and need to be outside for long periods of time.
Good work environment great team laugh and have fun working together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice, personable business
Landscaping Crew Member (Former Employee), Wapakoneta, OHDecember 22, 2013
 Cared for established lawns by mulching, weeding, trimming and edging around flower beds, walks, and walls
 Followed planned landscaping designs to determine where plant flowers and plants
 Used heavy equipment such as tractors and dump trucks
 Took care of customers and questions when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a lawn manger
Chemical Operator (Former Employee), New Brighton, MNOctober 22, 2013
i ran a lawn mowing crew. and i also irrigation landscaping and was chemical applicator
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me to live on-site and home-school my kids
Apartment Care-taker (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: lived on-site, cared for family, beautiful place to live, made friends with the other residents, able to plan the work day without much managing
Cons: poor benefits, management was dishonest, paid full rent for my home, residents used me as go-between, did i say management was dishonest?
This position allowed me the flexibility to home-school (and check up on) my kids while I worked. I was able to work on my own as long as jobs were completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Service Tech 1 (Current Employee), Kansas City,MoAugust 16, 2013
Pros: i work by myself.
Cons: i have to deal with all the seasons.
I work Hard everyday But I enjoy my job ad the people I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract More
Service Manager (Current Employee), Canton, MIJuly 15, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: long hours, not having funds to do jobs correctly
Work days are good until the hick up then it just seems to roll down hill from there.
Time management was one of the main things I learned at village green.
Management are hit or miss depends on the person in the position.
enjoyed working with everyone I encountered at village green.
One of my biggest challenges is pulling 80 lbs sleds up 3 flights – more... of stairs and also not having funds to complete jobs.
Making the resident happy and the bonuses is what makes the job worth wild. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workhorse company
Property Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 18, 2012
Worked crazy hours, made a lot of money, unreasonable expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware youll be Sorry
Property Slave (Former Employee), Evansville, INOctober 27, 2012
Pros: vacation and lunches
Cons: manager, supervisor, insurance
A typical day consist of waiting for manager to tell you what to do, she thinks she has to due to since supervisor spends more time trying to keep from working. He's never held accountable for his actions and deceit. He fabucates bogus hours on his time sheet. He leaves as much as possible and has no real skills when situations calls for some technical – more... skills. Hes the type that dont do as he preaches, litterly. If you like to have everything dumped on you then run to get this job. The manager makes everyone very uncomfortable and bully's all the employees. She power hungry and very sly at making you do things thats not in your job description. Company has no idea what really going on, if they did a few people would be fired on the spot. Shes ran off several long time employees that couldnt stand to be there anymore. Office people can be easy to work around if manager isnt around. They have to do only what she says no matter what concerned, even if it goes against thier opinions or values. Nepatism is a big problem. Company's insurance is a joke. Overall not a decent place to be. The property is old and its not taken care of very well. Certain maintenance would rather get paid for doing nothing. Double standard always applies! If you like daily DRAMA, this is the place for you!!! COMPANY NEEDS TO CLEAN HOUSE. If you dont believe this then ask the supervisor some technical question and watch him squirm, youll see for your self!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Professional Company
Property Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 8, 2012
Pros: health insurance
My typical work day is to oversee the property. Review and approve applications. Endorse, post and make daily deposits. I enjoy communicating with the employees and residents. I've learned the rules and regulations for Section 42 and HUD programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes Communities
Community Manager (Former Employee), Rossville, GAJune 7, 2012
Pros: pay, always learning newtrends or ideas
As far as how fast my income grew from starting at $10.00 per hour in March 2010 to leaving May 25, 2012 making over 50K, I was very pleased. The corporate office was always on the cutting edge of new ideas and trends as this is who you go to as manager instead of your regional. The first quarter for Village Green was the highest profit they had made – more... there since the purchase four years ago. I loved my job but it was difficult working 60-70 hours a week to ensure I made goals and my employees were scheduled for the following day. My letter from my regional after his last visit (4/27/2012) was again poistive and gave me no reason to know they were going in a different direction. Once they had found out that I had been applying in California I was gone two weeks later. Again, the positive of that is HR took care of me and paid me a short severnce and all of my May bonus' for rentals and the manager bonus. In the two years there and being promoted twice, and I had exceeded all goals they let me go and refused to say why. He had always known that my goal was to move to Northern California but maybe felt cheated as I had not directly told him I was curently looking, as I have been for two years.
This will now give me the opportunity to move there and have time to aquire employment if needed.
What was more astonishing, is about 5:00pm today one of the guys who had worked for me called and wanted to stop by. He said they called in all four of the service guys and let them go also. So I am at a loss! But have the weight of the world lifted off me, as that manager role of two communites took the most hours and was the most challenging I had encountered up to now.
Good thing is I learned things that I would have never learned on a different style of community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful place to work the staff and customers are awesome
Guest service and custodial (Former Employee), Vernon, BCAugust 27, 2014
Pros: 10% off at subway and 1 free coffee at a&w
Cons: i found none
Since i was hired on at Village green center in Nov. i found the job to be very uplifting for me. Interactiing with the customers daily was fun and getting to know the wonderful staff was a very good experience for me

About Village Green

This group of village people operates apartment communities, not onstage at a revival show. Village Green develops and manages – Read more