Village Inn Employee Reviews in United States

Found 242 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great restaurant
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Virginia, MNApril 20, 2016
I would greet and seat customers. I would clear tables and make sure that restaurant was presentable. I would use the cash register to check customers out.
Pros
great staff
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Moorhead, MNApril 2, 2016
Good place to work. The owners were good people and were very good to work for. Nothing bad to say about the village inn. I was over all satisfied working for this company and name brand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Village Inn.
Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  Hutchinson, KSMarch 30, 2016
My day would start at 5:30 five or six times a week.
I learned so many things at Village Inn.
The management at Village Inn is not the best.
My coworkers at Village Inn where awesome.
The best park of this job was knowing that customers were always happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to make money
Server (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 24, 2016
nice and friendly staff that will take care of you. Learned the value of a dollar and how to work hard. Coworkers are friendly and management takes care of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, good regular customers, predictable hours
Server, Host (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COMarch 24, 2016
Must have a lot of energy for this job. Luckily there is unlimited coffee for employees. Regulars are great, late night crowd...not so much. Never a slow moment so the day flies by and the hours are pretty set. No surprises.
Pros
Good tips, fast paced, easy point of sale system
Cons
Some difficult late night customers and some dead weight staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self mananegment with time and job duties
Server (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYMarch 23, 2016
very flexible, family environment, must lift, love the co-workers, must manage own time, very friendly co-workers, wish the job moved with me, must be fast pace person, self managed
Pros
breaks
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely
HOSTESS (Former Employee) –  Bay Pines, FLMarch 9, 2016
Loved the enviroment very family friendly and makes you feel at home. The wokers are nice and like a family. The owner is bery considerate and understands the employees. Good benefit. The food is lovely.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stick with it
Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Statesville, NCMarch 7, 2016
i was management my employees were great and it was all good no bad. and i learned some logistic software. all in all wish they didnt sell off all the routs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Host/Cashier (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMarch 6, 2016
It was a great experience to work, had fun helping customers, and was great work environment. Management also worked really well by making sure that hours were fair, and just was great to work with and for.
Pros
Made sure workers were happy.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work.
hostess/waitress (Former Employee) –  Douglas, WYMarch 6, 2016
i loved working there i loved my customers! i had people who wouldn't eat unless i was there waitress! but night management was awful an caused me my job! she didn't like me so she made up lies an got me fired! the boss didn't even look into the allegations an just fired me!
Pros
half price food
Cons
no breaks, horrible managment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot oabout a high volume breakfast restaraunt
Line Cook/Prep/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COFebruary 29, 2016
I started out on line as a grill cook in all stations, I then wanted to learn how and where the food came from so I learned to prep, I finally wanted to know front of the house so I volunteered to be a part host to help out our short staffed restaurant. Still maintaining my position on line as a line cook.
Pros
learning all the diifernt departments in back and front
Cons
Working closing shifts and no benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment understanding crew.
Server (Former Employee) –  Fremont, NEFebruary 29, 2016
Great everyone was very friendly understanding help eachother out the customers were fantastic tipped well the schedule was very consistant
Pros
Food
Cons
Fatty
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive friendly enviroment
Customer service and dining room hospitality (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IAFebruary 28, 2016
The village inn is a family dining restaurant. Productive and fast paced. I love being a server, but if there is lack of team work and poor management then your job becomes harder than it should be. The most en is enjoyable part of my day is enteracting with the guest and giving excellent customer service.
Pros
401k, vacation pay and insurance
Cons
short breaks, long floor hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Host (Former Employee) –  Moline, ILFebruary 25, 2016
Very fun and fast paced place to work. Management and and co-workers all worked well together. I learned customer service and time management skills working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Breakfast line cook
Cook (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 17, 2016
Prepare to rise with the

chickens before cooking their

eggs. As Breakfast Cook,

your day generally starts

around five a.m. when you

will mix eggs, chop

vegetables, concoct sauces,

prepare fruits and partially

cook breakfast meats. That is

all before you open for

business. Then the real fun

begins. As the orders line up,

you whisk, sizzle, bake, boil,

fry, and sauté your way

through hundreds of orders

before your shift is through.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great manager, poor work ethic with servers
Hostess, General Manager- Seating (Former Employee) –  Longmont, COFebruary 10, 2016
I enjoyed working for this company , however, they gave no notice and came in and shut down one Sunday. Our staff had no idea and had to figure out where and what to do from then on. I enjoyed my assigned tasks even though it was short lived
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome upbeat place to work.
Server (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 6, 2016
I really love working with people, so this was a perfect job for me. Daily I would give all of my customers fast and friendly food and beverage service. I also made sure all guests left happy.
Pros
50 % discounts, free holiday pie
Cons
Pie rush Wednesday
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  South Salt Lake, UTFebruary 3, 2016
village inn was one of my earliest memories, my mother was a server for 38 years there, so when i turned 16 i was there ready. its is where i learned how good i was at this job. i love it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work around
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Craig, COJanuary 30, 2016
Busy most of the time but I just don't have the interest in food jobs.I learned a lot about cooking while working there. I enjoyed making pies and learning new recipes and every day was different because it just depended on the customers who came inn and what they ordered.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scenic Hospitality
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Balboa Park, CAJanuary 30, 2016
I was instructed to create routine around accommodations for guests, implementing company satisfaction with the policies; I was reviewed and inquired about employment satisfaction and overall policy commemoration
Pros
Employee-Company Satisfaction
Cons
Non-Scheduled Company Orientations
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 251 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture