VineBrook Homes Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Staff (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJanuary 30, 2018
Each day is different which makes it exciting and never boring. I have learned more from working at Vinebrook than I have learned in my entire career. The management team is focused on ensuring their employees are successful and will either take time to teach you or invest in outside training.

Management listens and takes into account the needs of their employees. Work/life balance is very important. Happy employees helps to make Vinebrook successful.

Vinebrook makes working hard fun. They have make perks Employee of the Quarter, Paid Referrals and Discount on Rent. All of which helps to support the employee.

Vinebrook is fast paced and rapidly growing so there is always potential for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rapidly growing company makes changes to meet needs
Property Management (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJanuary 17, 2018
I have had the opportunity to watch this company grow and I am excited to see where the next years take this company! The world of property management is by no means "relaxed" or "slow-paced" and it isn't for everyone, but if you enjoy being challenged with something new every week, property management is a rewarding field. That being said, Vinebrook Dayton offers excellent compensation for top performers and management is cognizant of employees having and maintaining a work-life balance.

The staff is an eclectic mix and truly enjoyable - one of the best parts about coming to work is knowing that you have a team of people ready to assist where possible.

The only negatives would be that property management in general is a 24-hour job (dealing with peoples homes) and it can be overwhelming at times.

Vinebrook is still a relatively young company and is rapidly growing. This could be a negative if you prefer to have set instructions for everything. BUT I enjoy developing procedure and being able to have my input truly considered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay over worked
Former employee (Former Employee) –  OhioNovember 30, 2017
This company is a joke do not accept a job here. They buy poor houses in suspect areas and don’t want to put the money in to fix anything. They want you to find vendors who will do repairs for no money plus get the houses done. If you work here expect long hours and frustration. You will end up at Home Depot all most everyday cause there is always something that the person who scopes the house misses or something fails that they did not account for. This is a miserable job worst place I have ever worked for.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor houses in suspect areas you will hear gunshots
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people!
Employee (Current Employee) –  OhioNovember 30, 2017
I've been with VB for almost 5 years, owners are great! Co-workers are fantastic and I'm glad I took a chance on them when it was just starting to grow!
My superiors are extremely supportive and are always open to new ideas as the company gets bigger.
This is a great company that appreciates the employees that work hard for them.
Pros
Promote from within
Cons
Nonr
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unjust
Staff (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 2, 2017
Can't trust them , executive management is completely clueless to the real operations of the business.
Department managers , clueless on the logistics of their job.
Pros
An hour lunch
Cons
Cutthroat
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  OhioAugust 28, 2017
Vinebrook is growing by leaps and bounds. It has a great management team who supports their employees. Work/Life balance is important to the company.
Pros
supportive management team, great work/life balance. Family is important to company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall assessment
Construction Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 3, 2017
90% of actual Vinebrook employees are good people... but then you have the other 10% & a lot of subcontractors that will ruin that outlook. Employees are totally over worked & under paid!! Little appreciation is given to that extra work you do put in. There is a lot of TALK about change but that's as far as it goes. There is no true management going on throughout the company!!
Forget about any time off at this company, subcontractors will expect you to answer to them 24/7 even though you are the one that they are working for.
Pros
None really
Cons
To many to fit in this space
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  OhioFebruary 22, 2017
Vinebrook is growing by leaps and bounds. It has a great management team who supports their employees. Work/Life balance is important to the company.
Pros
supportive management team, great work/life balance. Family is important to company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clueless
Sub-Contractor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 10, 2016
I worked as a subcontractor for VB and it was total chaos. They can't see the forest through the trees. Slow pay and low profit. Gotta be deep pockets keeping that ship floating, but sooner or later it will sink. You get what you pay for.
Pros
None
Cons
Lose sleep trying to get paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many chiefs, not enough indians
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 4, 2016
During my short tenure there, it was a hot mess and I couldn't get out of there fast enough.

Over the last six months or so, they've lost a huge amount of employees (across all the departments), some leaving without another job, because of the poor management, because they simply couldn't take any more of the atmosphere there.

There are still people there who worked for the prior owners and they create dissension and cause personnel problems with their interference into the process. These workers strive to make the workplace a horrible place and refuse to accept any changes for the better while leading the CEO to believe they're behind him.

I had a difficult time learning anything because of the workplace bully environment and the constantly being told to discount procedure and do things "their way" by other employees.

Management constantly tells the employees they're making changes for the better only to learn they had no intention of doing so, they just don't want to lose any more employees. Also, the pay scale is low compared to the rest of the job market for similar work. When I left there for another job, I immediately started earning $5 more an hour. They also promise raises that aren't forthcoming, with no explanation as to what the delay is, just more empty promises.

Avoid working for Vinebrook at all costs, unless you have a great deal of contempt for yourself and enjoy being treated badly.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor management, poor working environment, low pay, poor benefits, lack of concern for people
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small start-up company - good people.
Investment Associate (Current Employee) –  Concord, MAJanuary 26, 2016
VineBrook is a small office with great people; however, the company is still gaining its footing in the industry and needs more time to establish itself in the market before expanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are going places
xxx (Current Employee) –  CincinnatiJune 22, 2015
A great place to work now that its under new management. Everyone is really nice and easy to get a long with. I really like working here. Management is trying really hard to offer good benefits and make this a really cool place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security at all.
person (Former Employee) –  Huber HeightsJune 3, 2015
Vinebrook purchased the company from a previous owner and assured us we would have jobs. They didn't say for how long. Within a year, most of the staff was laid off. They also implemented changes without anyone on staff to train or advise anyone about the new software, policies, etc. Very scattered, very hit and miss, very disorganized. By the end of my time, I found you could reach about no one by phone. Weird time, strange company.
Pros
?
Cons
numerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company that is off in many areas and direction
Contruction Manager (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, Dayton , Columbus, IndianapolisFebruary 24, 2015
A great place to work independently and create process and proceedurs to do your job more efficiently. The hardest part of the job is a constant change from management above with little to no direction or input.
Pros
Local area, all work is concentrated with in a 5 mile radius
Cons
Long drive to Dayton
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not like the rest!
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OhioFebruary 12, 2015
VineBrook Homes is a fast-paced property management company, based out of Dayton, Ohio and with properties in 4 large cities in the mid-west tri-state area. My role in the company was unique and required time management, good communication skills, and accuracy. I handled a portion of closing contracts and split my role between assisting the leasing department, establishing the customer service department, and executive assistant to the CEO. The most enjoyable part of my job was working under the CEO and learning of the acquisition process. I very much enjoyed the people I worked with. The most challenging part of my job was handling disgruntled residents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VineBrook Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 16 reviews
56
41
33
22
14

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture