Find companies:
VIP COMMUNITY SERVICES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

VIP COMMUNITY SERVICES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly work place
Counselor (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJune 28, 2014
Pros: people are friendly
Cons: healthcare
Its focus on the community and it helps family better there living skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Child Care Assistant and Office Assistant (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMay 28, 2014
Pros: i learned how to work with clients dealing with substance abuse
Cons: seasonal position
I developed a system to properly archieve old charts, which I enjoyed. I worked well unsupervised and with all staff members. I maintained a professional relationships with all of the couselors and supervisor. And I was deligently working towards redirecting childrens' mis-behaviors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Outreach Worker (Former Employee), 1910 Arthur AvenueMay 27, 2014
I enjoyed working for this company even though my position was part-time. They treated their employees with respect and the organization was culturally diverse. I learned that no one is perfect and they make mistakes and with guidance and support ones life can change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience
Management (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 4, 2014
Throughout my years, I oversaw different modalities which enhanced my knowledge and experience with substance users, medical services (general and HIV primary care), billing, grants, residential programs, linkage to care, SROs, staff (union and non-union), and HR issues.
A typical day consisted of troubleshooting, attending meetings, phone calls to – more... funders, communication with finance department and communicating with staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Case Manager/Substance Abuse Counselor-MMTP (Former Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 2, 2013
Pros: develop rapport with staff and clients.
I Learned to facilitate Monolingual groups and develop a positive rapport with Clients and maintain retention.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a good experience
Case Manager (Former Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 15, 2013
I liked the type of work i did. It was very fulfilling. A typical day consisted of monitoring a case load of 25 homeless females and ensuring that they maintain their sobriety. I had to devise and monitor IEP for each female on my case load. I had to refer them to social service agencies to seek services. I learned that people are victims of circumstances – more... and many of them want to better themselves. The hardest part of the job was my inability to make any significant changes. I enjoyed helping the women. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Entitlement Specialist/Biller (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 30, 2013
I truly loved this population.

fast paced work, requires dedication.

very family oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for Momentum Project was very rewarding and productive, i left due to career advancement.
Acting Director (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 6, 2013
I was very pleased with the work i did at Momentum we helped many individuals in a positive manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved Working at VIP
Executive Assistant to the Chief Financial Officer (Former Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 28, 2013
VIP is nestled in the Bronx and is comprised of a highly skilled, dedicated staff and the care is provided to clients at all levels. It was probably the most rewarding experience in my professional life. One of the saddest days in my life was when my position was eliminated. But I am truly grateful for the experience to have been part of the VIP family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Director (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 9, 2012
Pros: room for growth
Cons: hving to fight with the union
I worked at VIP Community Services as the Program Director for their Methadone Maintence Program. In wass a routine running the daily operations of the program. My co-workers and I worked very well together. The hardest part of the job was dealing with client you would meet in the streets, that you had to discharge from the program. I enjoyed helping – more... only if it be one client a day remain drug free and maintain their sobritery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcoming and rewarding working enviroment
Security Guard/Desk Manager (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJune 4, 2012
Pros: reliable, respectful and trust worthy co-workers, holiday lunches for employees
Cons: short staffed in security guard field
Typical day at work/duties:
§ Provide security and safety services to visitors, employees, clients, and coworkers ensuring policy and procedures are adhered to.

§ Perform facility rounds ensuring locked offices and doors. Investigate improprieties and suspicious activities.

§ Provide security at various VIP locations. Observe disruptive behaviors – more... and maintain a safe surrounding.

§ Ensure individuals sign in and out, as appropriate. Direct individuals to appropriate floors and offices.

§ Manage AMS client check-in program and coordinate daily administrative tasks including maintaining client records.

§ Handle front office tasks—answering and directing telephone calls. Forward messages to counselors.

§ Control crowds building in front of the facility; disband loiterers and clear out front entrance of building.

§ Respond to emergency situations and handle any disturbances; diffuse volatile incidences. Issue report.

§ Provide effective customer service functions to assist clients in their programs and appointments.

§ Utilize E-Med Vera Phone (Medicaid System). Verify information and ensure accuracy of input. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watching consumers achieve self-independence, sobriety, and gainfully employed
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 6, 2012
Helping our consumers accomplished there short and long term goals. Attending our clients graduations from our out-patient programs or vocational trainings, obtaining gainfully employment, and receiving supportive housing. Sometimes just simply watching clients feel good about themselves building up their self-esteem, and/or just being able to become – more... self-efficient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and demanding ork setting sering the Bronx community
Psychotherapist (Former Employee), Bronx, New YorkDecember 17, 2011
Pros: challenging work environment
Cons: funding for non-profit services
My first work experience after returning to the USA after 25 years abroad. VIP was an excellent and challenging reentry work experience in a supportive work and learning environment