VIP COMMUNITY SERVICES Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive management
Medical Biller (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 24, 2018
The problems of accuracy, efficiency, quality output can be solved with one simple equation. If you want better performance, you have to pay better. If you're unwilling to pay a competitive wage for the job, you have to accept
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 17, 2017
This place is the most cut throat place. No room advancement, they don't offer raises you stay at the same salary, have to do cross training for other departments and do more work than you are contracted to and no extra pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment was challenging
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 12, 2017
It was a temporary job that did not meet my expectation. The commute was very bad. There was no good communication among staff. I was only there for a few months. I gained the experienced needed and learned as much as I could to advance my career goal
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
commute was bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 28, 2017
this place has a very high turnover very unsatisfied employees who basically need a job. There is no team work or support there. You will be overworked and not fairly compensated. The benefits depend on your yearly salary the more you make the more they take out. Coworkers could be back stabbers and lazy. Clients are ok a majority are substance abuse users and they have a lot of mental health challenges. The staff call out often and the morale is low. Clinical management are not too bright creating much frustration within the department. Trying to get supplies or funding the stamp machine for outgoing mail is also a problem. Lots of promises but little improvement. If your starting out it is ok however if you are looking to have a long lasting career you are looking in the wrong place.
Pros
nothing
Cons
benefits too costly, too long to accumulate vacation time, poor managment, high turnover, ghetto employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management and services
OTP Clinical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 26, 2017
VIP is a very unorganized company. No support for staff or clinical supervisors. Limited professional development workshops and lack of individual supervision. The hardest part of the job is the lack of communication between administrators and staff. The most enjoyable part was working with the patients and teaching them positive coping skills.
Pros
Job experience
Cons
non supportive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for seniors
Residential Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 20, 2017
This Company truly cares for the well being of the elderly. its a great enviorment and everyone is very pleasent. i enjoyed chatting and showing compassipn for the elderly.
Pros
nice area
Cons
no room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and busy on the daily
Medical Assistant/Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 10, 2017
The day starts off with preparing examining rooms, making sure that all systems are up and running accordingly. Register patients upon arrival. Take vital signs, draw labs when ordered by physician. I've learned to be very compassionate and understanding to patients. As far as management they should have more structure to run a clinic. The hardest part of the job is knowing that a patient is very sick and you try to help them the best way you can, but unfortunately they don't make it. The most enjoyable part of the job of cause is seeing patients come in with a smile because they know that I'll be the one taking care of them.
Pros
Trainings are a plus
Cons
No staff unity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Outreach Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 30, 2017
Great for the community! This is a place that actually talks the talk and walks the walk. i have a great time working and learning from the people in this establishment.
Pros
You have the ability to help people.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fulfilling place to work
Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 24, 2017
Almost everyone who worked there enjoyed their work. The best part was when a client met a goal they had set for themselves.
Pros
Employees were encouraged to pursue additional education to assist with growth.
Cons
Change of management caused positions to be closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 26, 2016
Interactive staff, close to transportation and emergency services.
The day changes pace constantly from highs to lows in an instant.

Administrative communications lacks consistency with the relevant parties for any given task or responsibility to be carried out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I believe in the mission of this agency. they are client-centered and community based.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 29, 2016
I learned so much at this agency from substance abuse, recovery, health, adherence to medication, HIV Care. I learned about team building, and empowering our clients.

management staff was very involved in the recovery process as well as fostering good health habits. staff and clients create healthy bonds through sports, and art, music, poetry, support groups, etc.,

the hardest part of the job is losing a client to HIV or substance use. The most enjoyable part of the job was graduations, award ceremony's, AIDS walk participation, "breakfast club" participation on Fridays where everyone is welcomed clients, staff, family and friends to part take in positive, high energy group where we share about reaching milestones, attaining goals, celebrate sobriety, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substance Abuse Agency not for profit
Executive Assistant to CEO (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 4, 2015
This agency reached out to the community and to the clients. Helped with Substance abuse issues, housing, medical issues and mental health. The staff were very helpful and caring they did all they could to help there clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start in field.
Residential Aide (Current Employee) –  bronx nyAugust 15, 2015
Vip has a number of associated buildings. A lot of mandated clients come from all over. Many different personalities combined in one home being that this is a in patient facility. Hardest part of this job is seeing a good patient relapse. Most enjoyable is helping and watching them succeed. The coworkers are helpful. I learned that anyone can change their life around even if the only person that believes in you is you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with clients is enjoyable
Primary Counselor (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 26, 2015
Not very good at their book keeping working with staff and clients are a positive but always fighting for overtime pay owed is a negative
Pros
working with clinical staff and clients
Cons
being short changed in paycheck
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting Ground
Clinical Director (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 6, 2015
A diverse and educational workplace, Opportunites in abundance for growth and progression if desired, and very supportive of self enhancement and education.
Pros
Work hours and trainings
Cons
Health care coverage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Billing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 2, 2015
A typical day at work is very enjoyable, productive and interesting. I am currently a Billing Supervisor and I have good coworkers, we are a real good team player. The hardest part of the job is when is about to go home and wait for the next day to keep working. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I finished with a project on time and done right.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 29, 2015
Clients are great to work with and the company trains each employee very well. They are major advocates of the harm reduction module
Pros
Many Trainings
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 22, 2015
It was interesting getting to know different people each day and trying to help them make better life and health choices. The staff was awesome to work with.
Pros
Staff works together as a team
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vip
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 6, 2015
VIP is great the is plenty of room to grow.
I learned time management skills
My supervisor is great
my co-workers are great
the hard part is getting difficult veins
is working with patients and doing what I love
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Intern (Intake Coordinator) (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 17, 2015
A good place to start applying what you learned in school. Management did not really talk to the interns, but they did make sure we were paired with people who new their job,
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VIP COMMUNITY SERVICES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 38 reviews
511
412
37
21
17

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

VIP COMMUNITY SERVICES Reviews by Location