Find companies:
Virgin America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

Virgin America Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, awesome culture
Talent Acquisition (Current Employee), CaliforniaMay 20, 2015
Pros: Unlimited travel, 401K
Cons: Vacation Days, Manpower
Great place to be if you're looking to advance with a growing airline. Compensation and Benefits are a plus. Must love travel and people to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun place to work for young people.
Irregular Operations Agent (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 1, 2015
This is a great place for young people who are willing to work with the public for some really fun travel benefits. It can be stressful at times but in my opinion it is a really good opportunity to meet other young like minded people and work for a really fun cutting edge company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five Stars!! Best place to work in the Bay Area, Great People too!
Executive Admin/Reception for start-up airline (Former Employee), Burlingame, CAApril 24, 2015
Virgin America was a great place to work and if I had to do it over again I would have stayed there. The management was the best overall I've ever worked with. At the end of the day you felt you contributed to the team. Everyone worked together. The goal was to get certified by the FFA and that happened just after I left. I helped move the business from one facility to another. Once settled, everything fell into place and the rest is history! Virgin America has such a great reputation and it's because HR knows what they're doing when they choose their hires! I know because I used to go through all of those job applications. Thanks Virgin America!! Best of Luck now and in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
GUEST SERVICES (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 15, 2015
Pros: Flight benefits, health benefits
Cons: long probation period
Virgin America is a great company that cares about its employees. Loved working for them, great flight benefits, and full-time benefits. Most people are super nice and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Guest Services Agent (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 18, 2015
Pros: meeting travelers and flight benefits
Cons: fast paced environment where you are standing your feet all day
A typical day includes checking guests in at the ticket counter, lobby hosting, assisting with ticketing issues, meeting inbound aircrafts, boarding guests, and monitoring the operations of inbound and outbound flights. The most enjoyable part of this job is meeting and interacting with guests from all over the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Guest Services Teammate (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 13, 2015
Great place to work, teammates are what make the job what it is. Great travel benefits and amazing job culture.

Hardest part of the job would have to be dealing with delays, sometimes guest can become fed up with good reason so it is important to remain neutral and not take anything personal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Supervisor, Guest Services (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 5, 2015
Overall, Virgin America has been a great place to work. The culture is alive with great comradery and spirit. The recent IPO has lifted hearts as well, and the company has been generous with it's sharing of the benefits reaped.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience with energetic flight crews
Inflight Team Member (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAFebruary 20, 2015
Great place to work if you don't care about money. If you are looking for a livable income in flight attending, you have to go international.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great place to work, Great respect for each other. Very unique culture
National Sales Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: health club, lunches for key accomplishments, 401k, profit sharing
Cons: sfo based, very high cost of living
Virgin America is a wonderful place to work. The culture is amazing! The Senior leadership is awesome. They have great respect for all teammates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Director, Safety and Security (Current Employee), Burlingame, CAJanuary 18, 2015
Virgin America is a great employer, and a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Virgin America (Former Employee), San Francisco, CADecember 17, 2014
Management does not listen to the employees, they are only concerned about stake holders and what the executives can get out of the company. They do not promote from within the company, no matter how much education or on the job training you have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great brand, great perks, free to fly, positive people
Operations Agent (Current Employee), Seattle, WADecember 1, 2014
Pros: free flights, progressive company, bright future
Cons: terrible pay, terrible direct leadership
The shifts depend on flight schedule and city you are working from. Generally if you are working guest services you work a opening or closing shift. Either starting around 5am or starting around 1pm. Depending on the shift you get you may be working 4 ten hour shifts or 5 eight hour shifts.

It's a environment that is great when there are not flight delays. If there are flight delays it becomes very difficult as the flying guests have appointments etc and are not happy to deal with.

With Virgin America headquarters based in San Francisco we have delays all the time due to low visibility "fog" probably 4 out of 7 days a week on average and thats low balling it. Usually when there are delays guests want precise information and you give them the best information you have but they are extremely angry and not easy to deal with and there is never management present as they are usually trying to stay away from the chaos.

There are many perks such as flight benefits which means flying free most places, unfortunately the pay is terrible so hardly anyone has any money to fly anywhere. If the company does well makes a small profit they tend to give back to the employees which is really nice. Most companies do not do this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Guest Services Team Member and Lead (Current Employee), San Francisco Bay Area, CANovember 8, 2014
The company culture and people are outstanding. Virgin America is an innovative, fun company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to find advancement
Reservationist (Current Employee), Farmers Branch TxNovember 7, 2014
Virgin America is a nice company to work for. Good benefits, nice flights, and fun people to talk to
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
QA (Current Employee), CANovember 5, 2014
The company is great, the people are fantastic. Great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was over this job before it started
Ground Service Agent (Current Employee), Jamaica, NYSeptember 18, 2014
my job in collage, i was so happy to start but it was bad, very bad. long hrs payed bad and short lunch breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Inflight Team Member (Former Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 6, 2014
Had the ability to work at cooperate as well. Great way to practice different skill sets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virgin is Amazing
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Burlingame, CAAugust 22, 2014
What can I say.... Great uniforms, mood lighting and just an amazing experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new experience new beginning
Reservation Specialist (Current Employee), Farmers Branch, TXAugust 2, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: everyday changes
i, myself has a everyday schedule i adhere to everyday in order to ensure a successful day. Ive learned there is no I in teamwork, and every is an asset to the company one way or another. Challenging part of being a reservation specalist is the consist change everyday its something different. Enjoyable part, flexible scheduling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only good thing is the ping pong table
Reservation Specialist (Former Employee), Farmers Branch, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: short breks, terrible hours, uncomfortable work enviroment
While becoming a great multi-tasker and efficient in reservation programs like Sabre, I learned alot at Virgin America. But, the hours were terrible for example, they switched my hours when I was in school and I had to fight my hardest to get my hours back. The phones would also ring non-stop with rude customers prepared to curse you out because someone else messed up their reservation. We also had to deal with travel agents that had no clue as in what to do. I learned that you have to prepare to be ready for bad outcomes and also money isn't every and stay in school. The only plus was that the co-workers and mangers were real nice.

1 2 3

About Virgin America

An offspring of Sir Richard Branson's Virgin Group, Virgin America took flight just as high fuel prices and a recession rocked – Read more

Virgin America Salaries

Guest Relations
$33,280 per year
Team Leader II
$29,000 per year