Virgin Galactic Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute Chaos!
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAApril 12, 2017
If your manager tells you that they believe in communication it means that they want to know everything you are doing and want to read every email you send. Somehow "communication" became a new term for "micromanagement".

They say safety is important, but that's just talk. A lot of " talking the talk" and very little of "walking the walk".

Don't expect them to be in business 10 years from now.
Pros
Happy hour, free snacks, some really good working folks
Cons
Constant turnover, poor management, untrained management, safety is not priority.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with wonderful people
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAMarch 26, 2017
The company is still in startup mode so there are things that need to change and will with time. The people are great to work with and honestly care about one another. There is more than enough work to go around and no one is standing on your head to have it done yesterday. I honestly cannot say enough nice things about this company as I have been at places that are 100x worse.
Pros
No set work schedule for salary employees, free snacks, free drinks, free coffee and there is always support if you need it
Cons
Lack of promotion process, hard time getting rid of bad people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Manufacturing Engineer-Machining (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJune 21, 2016
Virgin Galactic is an awesome place to work. Salary is low because of the startup nature of the business.
This company is set on making a positive difference in the world.
Pros
Everything.
Cons
No locations in Huntsville AL
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I have worked for.
Metals Fabrication Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mojave, CAJuly 7, 2015
I had the pleasure of helping to create a great manufacturing crew.
The skills on the shop floor developed quickly.
The relationship between designers/engineers and the manufacturing department was outstanding. The employees show a genuine concern for the company goals. I will always remember the people I worked next to every day as some of the brightest people I have had the pleasure of working with.
Pros
Great atitude and determination to advance the program from the manufacturing departments., I truely enjoyed being a part of my crews developement.
Cons
Many of the manufacturing leaders are green and lack real world experience., I have seen some nieve approaches to company procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at. Interesting culture.
AVIONICS ELECTRICAL ENGINEER - Technical Lead (Current Employee) –  Palmdale, CAMarch 1, 2015
Interesting place to work. Lots of younger, highly energetic folks with limited real world experience.
Learned how to design, test, and certify LRUs and aircraft for space operations

Hardest part was to fit into the commercial mindset.
Most enjoyable part was designing the space ship hardware
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company, We work hard and play Hard
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mojave, CAJanuary 12, 2015
Lots of room for advancement
Great mix of people to create wonderful team
Tons of knowledge from many different companys
Pros
Dinner and Breakfast provided
Was this review helpful?Yes15No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting but that wears off...
Warehouse & Materials Logistics Manager (Current Employee) –  Mojave, CAOctober 30, 2014
Start up environment with rookie leaders. There are changing priorities that keep everyone jumping.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place, amazing people, amazing acheivments
Sr IT Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mojave, CAAugust 24, 2014
Amazing place, amazing people, amazing acheivments.

I learned a ton of skills from FORTRAN to How Rockets work.

Forever thankful for the experience.
Pros
Free Dinners
Cons
Mojave, CA
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2nd rate at best
PRINCIPLE FLIGHT CONTROLS ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Mojave, CAJune 4, 2014
Continued Scaled Composites culture of home-built aircraft. Composite aircraft and mechanical systems are designed by new grads with no knowledge of composite layup or FAR 23 FAR 25 design requirements. I've seen carnival rides with more integrity.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list here
Was this review helpful?Yes35No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making History, Making Spaceships
Systems Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mojave CaliforniaJanuary 20, 2014
Provide work for my Employees, Managing the construction of Spaceship 2, The workflow and getting supplies on time are difficult but getting better, I enjoy working with all the great people there.
Pros
Making History
Cons
Little Structure
Was this review helpful?Yes32No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun workplace where you enjoy coming to work everyday, and never know what to expect.
Recruitment Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mojave, CAJanuary 12, 2014
Working for TSC/ Virgin Galactic is truly amazing! The project that we work on is completely outstanding and we all reach our challenges every day to get our vehicles into space! Everyone who works here is like family, and I can honestly say we are a giant family. Management goes above and beyond to have a great team to send our customers into space. We work hard, and have fun at the same time!
Was this review helpful?Yes27No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun job, has its moments for a new company.
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Mojave, CAJuly 11, 2012
Good company and I am glad to be a part of history. Fun and easy job when it comes natural to you.
Pros
team building events
Cons
sometimes it feels like your opinion doesn't matter
Was this review helpful?Yes38No23Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virgin Galactic. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7

Virgin Galactic Reviews by Location