Virginia Commonwealth University Employee Reviews

Found 203 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place, usually
Clinical Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 13, 2017
I was fortunate in finding a good department at the University. That is really the key. At the time that I started the Administrator was expanding the practice giving me new and exciting roles. Unfortunately, the last administrator did not want to be bothered and began to shrink the department.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Change in culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for growth
Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 7, 2017
Working at VCU has many pros but also its cons. Benefits and work life is great but room for growth isn't always there. Otherwise I recommend them to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 28, 2017
Just your average university. Not exciting but safe. Like a big boat on the sea, but not a cruise mind you. Could benefit for an overall about the administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VCU Internship
Material Analysist Internship (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 22, 2017
Had a great time working with fellow student engineers to work with different departments at the university to help them advance their research using the skills we had learned during our engineering classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful lace to work
Administrative Office Support (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 17, 2017
A large University with a lot of diversity. You couldn't ask for more. Students were wonderful to interact with. Wonderful customer service when students needed help with founding a certain building.
Pros
Free tuition
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good college
Business Student (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 10, 2017
I worked hard here as a student. I was challenged to learn. I learned alot about Accounting, and Finance. VCU is a good place to learn and grow. My degree is pretty useful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mindfulness/Meditation
Mindfulness Advisor (Former Employee) –  The WellJuly 8, 2017
During this hour I attempt to help those that are under stress and need assistance relaxing and escaping from the normal or abnormal stress from everyday life. This can help with many obstacles dealing with on a easier path
Pros
it can only help it cant hurt
Cons
if you dont know how to let go it wont work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Social Media Analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 23, 2017
I loved my internship at Virginia Commonwealth University. I networked and met a lot of amazing people. If I had the change I would love to work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best culutral place to work
Payroll Garnishment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 13, 2017
Productive fun place to work with endless growth opportunity.
Great opportunity too work with so many different cultures. Beautiful upcoming campus, Offers great job security excellent benefits
job work life balance is fair . Overall a good place to work
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
No telecommuniting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students to gain experience
Research Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 11, 2017
As a student, I was able to gain lab time and research experience that many undergraduates do not. This taught me a great deal, and gave me an opportunity to learn more and spruce up my resume, all while getting paid. I would highly encourage students to look into a part-time research job or assistant job to an interested professor.
Pros
Resume builder, lab experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Phone Interviewer III (Former Employee) –  Richmond,VAJune 11, 2017
Survey Virginia household on studies
Constantly on on the phone
Documenting phonecall
Get customers to answer surveys (10-30 minutes)
Worked nights
Pros
Worked at the university
Cons
No vacation, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vcu
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 5, 2017
Working at VCU is enjoyable as well as the people that you work with. However, just like with any other job it depends on the department that you're in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing
Residence Life and Housing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 1, 2017
Working as a mail room assistance was very much so a relaxing job. General responsibilities were to sign for all incoming mail, check for damages on packages, and process them in the computer. Once all packages we properly processed email notification were to be sent out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
both challenging and rewarding
Student (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 1, 2017
My time at Virginia Commonwealth University was both challenging and rewarding. i learned a lot of different programming languages, database creation and management, website hosting, and many other computer science related tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 31, 2017
I loved working here due to how diverse the campus is and how well everyone gets along. I don't feel that VCU pays its employees well, but the company culture is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gret experience
proctor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 26, 2017
it was a great experience being a proctor. I got a chance to help a lot of students. And it was rewarding to help those around me. Hopefully in the near future I find a job i love as much as this one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Assistant.
Student Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 26, 2017
A typical day at work is very relaxing. Usually I do tasks that my boss is not capable of doing at the time which is sit at the front desk, come up with games for the students, write newsletters and etc. I learned how to use excel. The most enjoyable part of the job is my coworkers I love working with them.
Pros
I can pick my hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning environment.
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 22, 2017
As a teaching assistant there were some limitations with the job. No benefits, no room for advancement, etc. So I cannot speak those facets of VCU employment. Aside from those VCU was amazing. The staff was great, the faculty were welcoming and always up for helping out the TAs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect for a busy school schedule
Mailroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 19, 2017
Flexible and made it easy to work and go to class. People were fine to work with and the actual work was easy to do. Questions were answered on time and pay was fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Student (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 18, 2017
VCU is a great school for any student looking to matriculate in higher education. Life at VCU is always interesting as it is in the heart of an urban city.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Commonwealth University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 209 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

81%
43 ratings
Add your rating

Virginia Commonwealth University Reviews by Location