Virginia Department of Transportation Employee Reviews

Showing all 56 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace..
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  VirginiaMarch 21, 2017
A productive workplace very nice experience. Fun work..good learning experience..teaches agood overall skill.good people to work with. The people there are very helpful...you get good experience using weed eaters,star blades,chain saws,sickle bars.concrete saws.leaf blowers,your everyday tools like shovels,hoes,rakes,mad axes,...learn to listen and follow directions...get a task and go out on your on and get it done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
General Administrative Supervisor I/Coordinator I (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 25, 2017
I have enjoyed working with VDOT, I am just looking for full time work.

The most enjoyable part of my day is interacting with my co-workers; putting out fires, doing reach on projects.
Pros
The people I work with
Cons
I only work part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for most of the time.
Traffic Controller (Current Employee) –  Stafford, VADecember 30, 2016
No balance between life and work. Not willing to adjust work hours or give time off when needed. Will not pay based on experience. Everyone gets paid the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job to be working for the state of VA.
Transportation Operator II Maintenance Team (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 21, 2016
Work independently & crew leader learned how to take care the roads and bridge of Fall Church crew was very fun to work with perform manual labor demonstrate good judgment and safe working habits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
EZ-PASS REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VANovember 20, 2016
This is a great place especially if you enjoy helping others! Workign here you are still able to have that healthy work/Life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VDOT review
Electrical Systems Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 10, 2016
A day working a VDOT came with being able to mutli-task upon the speculations book where roadway regulations would have to be updated in case of use for new companies that had newly implemented ideas to improve safety upon roads. The staff happens to be very welcoming, as they have helped me learn new ways of efficiency lighting such as using LEDs instead of HPS due to light projection and cost efficiency which happened to be a few of the main factor for the change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive experience applying current knowledge to real world testing and analysis
Intern (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VASeptember 24, 2016
Working at the Virginia Department of Transportation was a great experience. Working under a project supervisor, created a working environment with structure and flexibility to develop your own project organization and solution strategies. To help conduct and gather results from these experiments, are kind and helpful co-workers and interns. Overall, if you want to get a good taste for real world experience while making an impact in the area of transportation research this is the place to go.
Pros
Flexible work hours, kind and help staff, and working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and laid back work environment
Flagger/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Martinsville, VAJune 27, 2016
simple and constructive work
learned more about how the road system works
managed pretty fairly
co-workers are very easy to get along with and helpful
most difficult jod is snow removal
most enjoyable part of my job is being able to be outside
Pros
being outside, great co-workers
Cons
dealing with public affairs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer in 20 plus years of professional career
Central Region Signal Systems Manager (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAMay 13, 2016
Management has an advesarial tactic due to their inability to do subordinates duties. Pay is far too low given the stress generated by management.
Pros
employment
Cons
employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy mostly reconciling between programs
Program Admin Specialist I (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 11, 2016
Would like to work with establishing spreadsheets and learning new systems. Reconciliation is my passion. I have good work ethics requiring little to no supervision.
Pros
Steady volume of work independent with little supervision
Cons
Hours set to the companies advantage
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice and busy place to work at.
Traffic Controller (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 22, 2016
A typical day at work was busy, especially during the winter months.

I've learn that working together as a team you can get a lot accomplish.

The management there was awesome.

My co-workers were really helpful when it comes to a task at hand.

The hardest part of the job was the irate customers.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the people there at VDOT.
Pros
An hour lunch
Cons
Benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Small Business Enterprise Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 8, 2016
Many opportunities for growth with this organization. Management is engaging and forth coming with positive feedback. There is a great sense of accomplishment with this organization and it is shown through their ability to empower employees.
Pros
Leaership and Training possibilities
Cons
Not enough positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Securty (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 26, 2016
I enjoyed working for the company and the staff was nice to work for as well. Learned how to deal with people from all walks of life
Pros
Benfits
Cons
nightshift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Associate Engineer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 21, 2015
Good place to work, with great benefits. Only disadvantage is little movement for advancement, unless done properly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position gave me the opportunity to continue learning payroll process.
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 6, 2015
There's not much room for advancement or opportunity to move beyond your present position. All in all, work was constant and stable.
Pros
Stable
Cons
Not much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Driver, VANovember 17, 2015
this position was contract, I met a lot of good people. shared a lot of good memory's; this was a custodian position; I shortly left when the contract ended;
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of government red tape.
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Culpeper, VAAugust 25, 2015
Great benefits, flexible hours, great co-workers. Most enjoyable part of the job was customer service. I transferred to the Culpeper District to be closer to home and my family. Hours were great as was the overtime during state emergences.
Pros
Great Benefit Package
Cons
Government Red Tape
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virginia Dept of Transportation
Program Administrator Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 18, 2015
Management was never fair when an issue come about. Supervisor was never supportive when asked for further education to further my career there. Was always walking on eggshells due to the horrible attitudes of management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on experience
Programming & Investment Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 7, 2015
VDOT is a great state agency to work for. They have an open door policy, anything you would like to know or experience they will try to make it happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp
Highway Maintenance Crew Worker (Former Employee) –  Phenix, VAJuly 6, 2015
great environment, great benefits, great people, I wish this job was not temp, I would have loved to stay.............................................
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Department of Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Virginia Department of Transportation Reviews by Location