Find companies:
Virginia Department of Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Virginia Department of Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
HR Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Suffolk, VAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: own office
Cons: no benefits
Busy with new hires, and retirees. Posting and reposting job positions. Receptionist duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VDOT
Program Administrator (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJune 9, 2014
Pros: downtown location; benefits; schedule
Cons: poor work culture;
Typical Government job: Decent Pay; excellent benefits; extremely unfullfilling and constantly dealing with lazy or incompetent coworkers/management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pace - Reassignment during emeregencies
Accounting Technician (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMay 3, 2014
Pros: learning new accounting software system
Cons: shrt breaks and long severe weather hours
A typical work day ranged from one of 40 or more invoices for prompt payment, 3-4 consultant invoices, 6 -7 employee travel authorizations, over 300 invoices to file. This was one of District offices and there were several area headquarters and residency of the department sent their paperwork to be approved and filed. All the files were maintained in – more... the accounts payable department. I gained the knowledge of the Cardinal software system and the small purchase charge cards. The most enjoyable part was the interaction with co-workers and learning another part of accounting by actually performing the fucntion. The hardest part of the job was getting use to becoming a emergency operator montir during serever weather and the long night hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Transportation Operator II (Hourly) (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 28, 2014
Enjoyed my positions. I learned alot this is all I have to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Toll Booth Operator (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 15, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: short breaks, co-worker late you can't leave until they arrive.
Learned how to recongized axles on cars,vans and trucks. While working at the Toll Booth I was able to work day shift only
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Electrical Helper (Former Employee), Suffolk, VAApril 8, 2014
Pros: work
Cons: work
it was good
I
it was fun
I had fun honestly and im kind of just writing this to get me finished with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team player enviroment.
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Colonial Heights, VAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no benefits
Process a/p vouchers, organize, file and maintain order for entire office. Assist other co-workers with their various needs. Create Journal Vouchers. Review State and Federal account codes to ensure accuracy of charges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent advancement opportunities
General Administrative Supervisor/Coordinator I (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 23, 2013
Great place to work with advancement opportunities. Opportunities for learning job skills is superb. I learned SharePoint and become the primary power user/business owner for the division portal. In addition, I gained experience in the new state financial system- Cardinal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job gave me the most responsibility, which is why I thorougly enjoyed working for this company
Command Systems Operator (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 19, 2013
There was never a set routine for this job. On any given day I would be handling service requests, to creating badges, to dispatching paramedics to a heart attack victim. I always stayed busy and learned new things everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work during the legislative session.
Senior Policy Analyst (Current Employee), Richmond, VAApril 5, 2013
I do enjoy working with legislation during the General Assembly session. Always something new and exciting. Everyone works hard for a common goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but enjoying
Flagger/Ditcher (Former Employee), Smithfield, VAMarch 5, 2013
Pros: paid holidays
Cons: short breaks, cold and hot environment
Hard work but got along well with my co-workers. Very cold in the winter and very hot in the summer, but my company was always concerned about they're employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Transportation Engineer (Current Employee), Salem, VAFebruary 7, 2013
Great company to work for. Hardest part of job is thinking out of the box to solve traffic problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers
TO2 (Current Employee), clifton forge,vaJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: great work hours
Cons: fairness
not a bad place to work. 3 or4 co-worker got speical treatment and it wasnt hidin at all. money could be better. public hates ya when you stop traffic in the summer but your a god send in the winter when your plowing snow off there roads
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
V.D.O.T. virginia department of transportation
Construction Worker I (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: great atmasphere to work in.
Cons: no enough hours.
clearing brush removing trees patching streets and side walks
concrete finishing painting and jackhammering genaral labor
ive learned that its agreat place to work manegment will give you the
leway to make your own calls on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Executive Secretary Senior (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 27, 2012
Pros: 12 paid holidays and able to vacations when i wanted to
Cons: no pay raises for a few years
A typical day at work for me, was typing letters, doing data entry to process consultant vouchers for payment, xeroxing, answering telephones, sometimes making travel arrangements, coordinating meetings. I learned more about making travel arrangements and how to process consultant vouchers for payment. Management was sometimes unfair, playing favorites – more... but I dealt with it. My co workers were good to work with, we all got along. The hardest part of the job was finding work to do during down times. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was typing and my salary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency
General Administrative Manager (Former Employee), McLean. VaDecember 16, 2012
Pros: great benefits, free parking
Cons: mandatory overtime
Prepare invoices, submit account ledgers for review, audit daily operating budget, report anomalies to Fiscal Manager or Facility Director. Supportive & disciplinary counseling, annual performance reviews of employees, prepare invitations for bids to potential vendors. Attend weekly senior staff meetings, report departmental procedures on projects and – more... their status. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Security
Associate Office Administrator III (Former Employee), Surry, VaOctober 11, 2012
Pros: great hours!
Cons: very little overtime available
All employees treated the same. You are well informed as to what you need to do and you can count on really good benefit coverage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping to maintain a safe highway system is satisfying.
Equipment Operator II (Current Employee), Amelia Court House, VASeptember 9, 2012
Pros: excellent medical benefits and generous holiday/time off
Cons: substandard wages without increase for over 4 years
A typical day at work would consist of a morning safety/scheduling meeting detailing the daily work objectives. I have gained experience in operating different types of equipment related to highway construction and maintenance. Present local manager is very good at this job, with an experience level achieved in all the aspects of the work his team performs. – more... My co-workers bring a mix of experience and talents, and work as a team to achieve our managers goals and expectations.The hardest part of this job is the potential of major storm damage repairs and clean-up, working in all weather elements.The most enjoyable part of this job is the satisfaction gained when highway projects and/or storm restorations are completed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Program Admin Specialist III (Current Employee), Northern Virginia (National Capitol Region)August 1, 2012
Pros: job security
Currently reviewing site plan and rezoning applications.
Great place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional
Incident Safety Manager (Former Employee), Staunton, VAJuly 13, 2012
Very Professional Place to Work, Fast Paced and always a challenge

About Virginia Department of Transportation

The common good of the¬†Commonwealth of Virginia¬†falls under the purview of the Office of the Governor. The office is responsible – Read more