Virginia Department of Transportation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 48 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice and busy place to work at.
Traffic Controller (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 22, 2016
A typical day at work was busy, especially during the winter months.

I've learn that working together as a team you can get a lot accomplish.

The management there was awesome.

My co-workers were really helpful when it comes to a task at hand.

The hardest part of the job was the irate customers.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the people there at VDOT.
Pros
An hour lunch
Cons
Benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Small Business Enterprise Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 8, 2016
Many opportunities for growth with this organization. Management is engaging and forth coming with positive feedback. There is a great sense of accomplishment with this organization and it is shown through their ability to empower employees.
Pros
Leaership and Training possibilities
Cons
Not enough positions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy mostly reconciling between programs
Program Admin Specialist I (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 11, 2016
Would like to work with establishing spreadsheets and learning new systems. Reconciliation is my passion. I have good work ethics requiring little to no supervision.
Pros
Steady volume of work independent with little supervision
Cons
Hours set to the companies advantage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer in 20 plus years of professional career
Central Region Signal Systems Manager (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAMay 13, 2016
Management has an advesarial tactic due to their inability to do subordinates duties. Pay is far too low given the stress generated by management.
Pros
employment
Cons
employment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position gave me the opportunity to continue learning payroll process.
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 6, 2015
There's not much room for advancement or opportunity to move beyond your present position. All in all, work was constant and stable.
Pros
Stable
Cons
Not much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Securty (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 26, 2016
I enjoyed working for the company and the staff was nice to work for as well. Learned how to deal with people from all walks of life
Pros
Benfits
Cons
nightshift
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of government red tape.
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Culpeper, VAAugust 25, 2015
Great benefits, flexible hours, great co-workers. Most enjoyable part of the job was customer service. I transferred to the Culpeper District to be closer to home and my family. Hours were great as was the overtime during state emergences.
Pros
Great Benefit Package
Cons
Government Red Tape
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Associate Engineer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 21, 2015
Good place to work, with great benefits. Only disadvantage is little movement for advancement, unless done properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Driver, VANovember 17, 2015
this position was contract, I met a lot of good people. shared a lot of good memory's; this was a custodian position; I shortly left when the contract ended;
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virginia Dept of Transportation
Program Administrator Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 18, 2015
Management was never fair when an issue come about. Supervisor was never supportive when asked for further education to further my career there. Was always walking on eggshells due to the horrible attitudes of management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Traffic Control Operator (Current Employee) –  Salem, VAMarch 13, 2015
Monitor active traffic, facilitate incident management. Ensure civilian and contractor safety during emergency situations. Operate a multi-frequency radio and computer-aided dispatch system. Receive and screen emergency and non-emergency calls from local and state police. Relay information to command personnel, contractors, or safety service patrol, as appropriate. During weather events, provide logistical support for VDOT emergency crews to minimize weather impacts to travel. Manage traffic in construction work zones and during special events. Provide the public accurate and timely travel information.
Pros
gained knowledge of va highway systems
Cons
limited employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on experience
Programming & Investment Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 7, 2015
VDOT is a great state agency to work for. They have an open door policy, anything you would like to know or experience they will try to make it happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was treated very well with respect and courtesy
Equipment Repair Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 25, 2015
A typical work day changed from busy to routine work.

I learned how success is achieved and a network of good relationships.

Management and Leadership activities empowering staff.

My coworkers are professionals and we had a great relationships.

The most difficult part of the job was the high demand for high volume work load.

I enjoyed the job staff management and the organization as a whole was great.
Pros
great organization i would return if the situation changes
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much advancement
Control Room Operator (Former Employee) –  Chester, VirginiaFebruary 18, 2015
• Responsible for monitoring systems and dispatching appropriate resources to detected and/or reported traffic/roadway - incidents; including coordination of safety personnel and location assistance to first responders.
• Familiarity with standard concepts, practices, and procedures within a particular field.

Hectic at times, management mediocre, miscommunication issues, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good company to work for. I got to meet a lot of people
Administrative and Office Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 5, 2015
Productive Company I enjoyed working for them. I learned a lot while working for them. I learned a lot about the computer. I also learned how to work the switch board. I got along with my co-workers. I like the job I had because I got to work independently.
Pros
the job was very flexiable
Cons
good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp
Highway Maintenance Crew Worker (Former Employee) –  Phenix, VAJuly 6, 2015
great environment, great benefits, great people, I wish this job was not temp, I would have loved to stay.............................................
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big organization
Procurement Officer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VADecember 5, 2014
My typical day consisted of coming in and processing mountains of contracts, extensions, RFP's and IFB's. I learned how to merge the financial documents with the bids or proposals. The management was not supportive of its people and what they wanted to accomplish. My coworkers were easy to work with and to get along with. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the management. I enjoyed learning about how the state government worked with regards to procurement.
Pros
learning
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Environment
Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 9, 2015
VDOT was an enjoyable place to work. The work was chanllenging and I learned a lot during my time there. Management was supportive and I enjoyed my ability to travel to different parts of Virginia
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job provides a very secure place of employment.
Sign Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Colonial Heights, VAApril 26, 2015
We are responsible for producing all state and federal signs for the state of Virginia to maintain driver safety and regulations.
Pros
Great hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Program Administration Specialist I (Current Employee) –  Chester, VASeptember 8, 2014
On a normal day I come in and review emails or phone calls that might have been missed while I was out. Then I look at the schedule and see what needs to be done for today and in preparartion for the next day.

I schedule meetings and enter data of training that workers have completed. I also intsruct leadership and team building classes when they are needed. It's a great place to be and and I have learned a lot from the short time that I have been here.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture