Virginia Farm Bureau Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and motivating environment with diverse culture and cooperative atmosphere.
Intern - Lead Cisco UC Trainer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 27, 2017
Working at Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance was a privilege, as well as a learning experience. Through the Information Services department, innovative thinking and customer service was the main traits each employee was required to pursue each and every day. Eventually, work became a hobby and I enjoyed myself training users on the cisco phone system along with training users on the Jabber application. Traveling around the state weeks at a time was an exhilarating experience that required upmost responsibility geographical mapping. I gained many close relationships with my supervisors and colleagues, as well as learning from others mistakes only resulting in preventing flaws of my own. We worked as a team and always were able to teach each other something new.
Pros
My position required innovating thinking and traveling.
Cons
Discourage of cross training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smoke and Mirrors...and angry customers!
Member Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  VirginiaJuly 30, 2016
The company has deep seated issues at the corporate management level. Ever-changing underwriting requirements, premium increases, and computer glitches that aggravate customers. I could no longer defend the company's actions that defied logic, and moved on. I am grateful for the friendships I made with customers, I am no longer a member nor a customer.
Pros
Friendships with customers who were neighbors
Cons
Bad Management that affected retention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not The Job They Say
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Southeastern, VAJune 19, 2016
I was an Agent for several years with VAFB. The company does not live up to its own hype. The upper management is a revolving door and the expectations and quotas are moving targets. I had 14 people in my original Agents Training Class all hired at the same time. All of us had left the company for similar reasons by the end of 5 years. I would not reccomend working here to anyone.
Cons
Poor Management & Pressure to hit quotas
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Wrok
Customer Service, Health Insurance Broker, Sales (Current Employee) –  Rustburg, VA 24588April 1, 2016
I've completely enjoyed working at Virginia Farm Bureau. My co-works are like family. My supervisor is wonderful. The work is challenging at times, but if provides a great balance between work and family. I'd recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cash Management & Investments Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 15, 2014
good work life balance...conservative company....benefits are mediocre - have been stripped away from employees over the years....
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the people I worked with.
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Emporia, VAMay 20, 2013
I really liked my job. I input insurance claims and payments and answered the phone.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Facilities Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 8, 2013
Great place to work and lives the work balance motto. Work days are short and no working from home. It is great to work at a place that values employees so much.
Pros
value the family
Was this review helpful?Yes10No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 15, 2013
Company activities were fun and enjoyable. The people were friendly and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No16Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Farm Bureau. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.5

Virginia Farm Bureau Reviews by Location