Find companies:
Virginia Hospital Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

Virginia Hospital Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice hospital.
Security Officer (Current Employee), Arlington, VAApril 16, 2014
I love the teamwork I have at this job. I like the hard work each of my co worker do to make this hospital be the best hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diet office admin
Diet Office Admin (Former Employee), Arlington, VAApril 9, 2014
staff was friendly and patients were nice to talk too. The job is mainly calls to the patients for their diet order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to work at
Central Processing Technician II (Current Employee), Arlington, VAMarch 31, 2014
After my experience working there I realized that you have no type of support from management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Patient Care Director (Former Employee), Arlington, VAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: patient care
Cons: traffic
Worked with 20 staff members ( nurses and technologist), daily operations for patients undergoing various cardiac procedures. Working with different departments to make sure the patient had an exceptional experience. Worked with physicians and building relationships with them and staff. Budget, scheduling. Most enjoyable part of the job was meeting – more... various people and patients, and helping them to understand their procedure and disease process. Hardest part of the job driving back and forth to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to start a career
Imaging Informatics Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: management
It's a good place to start a career,
provides good benefits.
Co-workers are nice and friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work. Knowledgeable, fun, hard-working people and good environment.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 28, 2014
Hardest part was the high patient load. Co-workers were helpful and learned a lot. Good patient satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: a teachable hospital
Cons: staffing
The clinic would see 16-26 patients daily with a staff of 6-7, I was trained on wound care from measurements, proper cleaning, coban compression and grafting. Management was kind of fair at times and the co-workers were great I loved the team spirit that kept us going day in and day out. My hardest part of the day was when we were short staffed. I love – more... people so my highest point was after the patient completed their 16 weeks of patient care with a positive outcome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place with lots of support from co-workers.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches some times
Cons: short breaks and lunch time
I stayed with them close to 7 years with 27 stars from patients and awarded best nurse award.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
PATIENT CARE TECHNIAIAN (Former Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: supportive staff
Cons: new management, health benefits not good, they are self insured.
Team work was wonderful
great people
Management was changing hands, I personally did not like it.
Supportive staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Environmental Service Aide (Former Employee), Arlington, VAJanuary 27, 2014
ok needed better hours love the hospital enviroment working in mother baby and labor and delivery
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centrally located and helps the community.
HEALTH UNIT CLERK (Former Employee), Arlington, VAJanuary 13, 2014
VHC is centrally located in Arlington, VA. It caters to a diverse community and ensures that all patients are treated equally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manageable place to work at
Medical Receptionist (Current Employee), Arlington, VADecember 31, 2013
Pros: people, learning new things
Cons: management
Working for VHC is great the only problem is working in the small offices and the management not making you feel important, or that your job matters. Some of the management just doesnt know how to talk to people which in turn they will be losing alot of there staff. Overrall great place to work for top 100 hospitals in the nation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VHC is a great place for nurses to learn and grow and gives #1 patient care.
Nurse (Former Employee), Arlington, VANovember 26, 2013
Pros: virginia hospital center wants their employees to do well, and to give the best care possible to their patients.
Cons: vhc is a great hospital but i live in sterling now and arlington is a longer drive.
I'm a nurse with over 25 years experience. I started on a telemetry/post surgical stepdown unit which took care of post surgical patients, who had extensive medical histories and required individualized care plans that would suit their needs.

I was floated to various units during my employment with VHC including ICU and the Cardio Vascular Unit when – more... needed.

I was the assistant patient care director and at one point the acting patient care director for 2 units, orthopedic and surgical.

VHC provided me with many opportunites to learn and advance as they do for all of their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
PTCB Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Arlington, VANovember 2, 2013
What I learned at the hospital was how to make IV's. Which I had never done before. I remember the first time I learned how to make them. I use to come home and tell my family members I learned this today at the hospital. I also learned for to make epidural injections for the labor and delivery department. Then I learned how to make chemotherapy IV – more... and the preparation which goes into this. All the precautions which I needed to take. I felt sad and worried for the patients who had to go through this but the experience was and still is to this day unforgettable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Barista (Former Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 29, 2013
Cons: it sucks!!!
Management treats you like a second class citizen.

Unprovoked, customers are allowed to yell and scream profanities at you, but then you get in trouble for upsetting them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning and teaching work place that allows you to grow within the company
Endoscopic Laser Technician (Current Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 22, 2013
This company encouraged me to work hard and motivated me by allowing me to grow within the company. They offered free training and invested lots of time and money in able for me to be successful with the company. I started as a OR assistant and quickly grew to a laser and endoscopy technician. As long as I was willing to learn they were willing to teach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate specialists dedicated in providing the best patient care
Graduate Student Clinician (Current Employee), Arlington, VASeptember 19, 2013
•Assessed, diagnosed, and treated adult and geriatric population with various communication disorders, dysphagia, and cognitive-linguistic impairments
•Created evaluation reports, treatment plans, progress notes, weekly summaries, and discharge reports for patients receiving acute and in-patient rehabilitative care
•Actively participated and discussed – more... patients’ progress in treatment during team conferences
•Provided patient and family education on communication and swallowing deficits and overall impact on function
Participated and led discussions for following topic areas: right hemisphere syndrome and treatment of anosognosia; incidence, prevalence, and treatment of dysphagia in patients status/post cervical spinal fusion – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work, all ways advance the technology for technolgist, like family
CT Technologist (Former Employee), Arlington, VASeptember 6, 2013
typical day with VHC is very busy work schedule. 100 plus patient in a 24 hour period. I have learned The latest technology on GE and siemens scanners. Example with GE, we know have Veo. Veo is a protocol that reduces the radiation exposure 30-70%. Also Cardiac scans on the Siemens Dual source scanner. Over the years I have learned to be a better technologist. – more... My co-workers are GREAT. We are like family. The hardest part of my job is leaving for the day. Reason why is because I love what I do. The most enjoyble paqrt of my job is everything. There is nothing that I don't like about what I do for a living. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Medical-Oncology/Hemotology RN (Current Employee), Arlington, VAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: good place to work
Cons: not enough clinical research activity for those interested in research trials
Good place to work, but I am interested in Clinical Research Trials, and would like to find a position for an RN in this area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Senior Technical Support (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAAugust 6, 2013
 Phone, remote (Track-It) and (Remedy), and desk side technical support.
 Experience working with Imprivata; installation, configuration, set security level access and trained the end users on Imprivata (SSO).
 Linked Imprivata with employee badge for password security for computer access within the hospital.
 Create system images and reimage PCs – more... and Laptops (GHOST)
 Support email, directories, standard windows applications and medical applications.
 Install, configure, support and troubleshooting VPN.
 Connect and restore PC Workstations to operational status.
 Desk side user training for proper operational use of hardware and software.
 Training and supporting physicians, healthcare staff and new medical students in using the Soarian Portal, Imprivata and medical programs.
 Provided after hours technical troubleshooting.
 Installing, configuring, troubleshooting, maintaining and upgrading Windows XP
 Assist in training of junior IT employees.
 Using TrackIt, HDX, and Remedy to open, escalate, monitor and close tickets. – less

1 2 3