Find companies:
Virginia Mason
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

Virginia Mason Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Family Oriented, Fun Place to work.
Patient Access Specialist II (Former Employee), Bothell, WAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: great management. suprise perks for job well done. recognition.
Cons: shortage in staff often times.
Typical day at work would revolve directly around our patients care.

I learned tons of medical terminology, how to multi-task, how to work in a fast paced environment, how to cheerfully handle disgruntle patients and how to work as a great team member.

My manager was wonderful. I seem to always get along well with upper management.

Loved working – more... in a team environment. I am still to this day very close to ex-coworkers at Virginia Mason.

Hardest part~ Constant, non-stop calls in the que, due to shortage in staff, and working with very upset patients to the point of them finally being content upon exiting the phone with me.

Enjoyable: knowing I took full care of my patients, and every phone call request. Working with a great hard working team. The fact that I was always busy was wonderful. I am a multi-tasker. I love a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient care
Medical assistant / surgery scheduler (Former Employee), Federal Way, WAAugust 3, 2014
I love working with the patients and providers! Enjoy learning new things everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job just not so good management
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 25, 2014
I would still be doing this job if management would have followed a request made by my doctor very simple but from April to November the had meetings with or without me they were a couple times a week and it just stressed me out to the point where I took a time of leave off and ended leaving the job all together. the commute was to much for more stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
RN (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: overworked
The pay is really good but the job is very hard and we are short staffed.Acuity of patients is really high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Patient Access Specialist II (Current Employee), Bothell, WAJuly 5, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is interact with patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Security Officer (Current Employee), Mason, VAJune 26, 2014
Good place to work, decent compensation and benefits, and some training opportunities. Co-workers are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, patient interaction.
Lead Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 5, 2014
This was a great job for me because it required lots of moving around, constant interaction with patients and their families. Challenged my skills, fast paced.

Working in Hematology/oncology was such a challenge for me, I had a hard time separating my feelings from my patiens who sometimes passed away, but what a joy to see a patient who was able to – more... overcome their affliction.

I learned a lot about myself my mental and physical strengths, but I also learned of my emotional weakness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with many advancement opportunities
Application Engineer (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMay 31, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule and trust between management and staff
Cons: healthcare costs when not having medical services performed with them.
Everyday is quite busy but the people you work with and management make it all much better and manageable. The management trust the employees and take a non-micromanagement approach to leading. It empowers the staff and allows them to manage their daily tasks appropriately.

The hardest part of the job can be juggling the many tasks of the day and being – more... available to assist coworkers. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with coworkers to complete tasks. The people who work at this organization are all very kind, respect each other, and are always willing to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment/Employees nice/management Great
Medical Assistant/CSR (Former Employee), Issaquah, WAApril 8, 2014
Pros: great nice people very helpful, gave vacations, hand longer lunches
Cons: no cons here
I worked her for about a year and the Management and Employees were very nice. The company would be a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible organization for work/life balance
Documentation and Coding Analyst (Current Employee), Seattle, WAApril 5, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: keeping up with all the insurance changes
Virginia Mason Medical Center is a wonderful organization to work for. The organization encourages you to balance the work and family life so you will bring 100% to your work. My co-workers are my extended family and we really work as a collaborative team. The hardest part of my job is not having enough time to educate the providers to make their work – more... day easier. The most enjoyable part of my work is being a self starter and juggle my workload. It's wonderful to hold a coding meeting with providers to help them understand the demands and changes within the coding world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very pleasant place to work. I worked with 6 education specialists and the manager, all women. I was treated with respect and admiration.
Education Coordinator (Former Employee), Mason, VAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: lovely co-workers, good workspace, good working conditions, good pay, excellent benefits, fully paid bus pass, for every year not using sick leave you receive two more vacation days
Cons: work was not interesting, did not get to use my advanced skills, location of the office, no advancement opportunities.
I recommend this employer highly. I worked in the education department. My position began with serving 2 education specialists, supporting them with PowerPoint presentations, Excel spreadsheets, Word documents, Publisher pamphlets and some Web design and entry. I also was the receptionist for the Education Department. Ultimately, I ended up supporting – more... 6 education specialists and being in charge of supplies and office equipment. I scheduled training sessions, set up training/meeting rooms with proper equipment and helped the instructors with using PowerPoint equipment. I was treated with ultimate respect and admiration and received raving performance reviews. We had a steady flow of work and we socialized for lunches and breaks. The managers were always taking me to lunch. The pay was good and the benefits were excellent. My dissatisfaction with the position was more about the location of the office, the work was not that challenging nor interesting, and the company was making it mandatory for us to get regular shots for miscellaneous diseases, including flu shots. I left for a combination of these reasons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 23, 2014
My usual workday consists of supporting medical personnel with administrative tasks and working in a team environment for most of the day. My daily tasks vary in a wide range of levels from meeting coordination to education development and extraction of data from large databases.
The most enjoyable part of my job is when I have full control over any – more... given task. I mostly enjoy the self satisfaction of being in charge of all the tasks involved and seeing the project be a success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent patient care and efficient work environment
Microbiology Supervisor (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 6, 2014
Excellent patient care and efficient work environment
Leadership development programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to gain experience
Charity/Collector (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 1, 2014
Pros: great benefits, rewarding
Cons: minimum advancement
Working in high paced incoming call center.
Diverse public
Learned how to create new standard work to reduce waste
Hardest part of the job is remembering to provide the best service to irate customers
Providing assistance to patients who are in need of charity, reassurance, education and understanding about their care, bills or their rights
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My second family
RN (Former Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 12, 2014
The work day was full but always great support and management.
The team was like a family. We planned things outside work and always enjoyed each-other at work. Lots of laughter and bonding at Virginia Mason. I miss my co-workers and friends dearly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good working place, but bad management, robot/spy work culture
medical assistant (Current Employee), University Village, SeattleJanuary 26, 2014
A great team work company, good benefits, long training period with medical assistant usually doesn't perform those duties in other clinics, needs 15-30 minutes to room a patient. You can get all the help you want, people smiles at you but watch over your every step; you get all kinds of feedback from your manager. Disorganized work flow, they allow – more... a clerk without any credentials of medical assistant giving shot, room patients, which bans by Washington State in July 2013, disorganized working personals, lack of communication between co-workers, doctors and management although VM promotes it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and grow with a culture of change.
Assistant Nurse Manager (Current Employee), Mason, VAJanuary 9, 2014
Leadership supports individuals educational goals and rewards hard work. A great place to work if you like to find opportunities for improving work processes and implement change. Management and leadership is present on the work units and offers support and coaching to staff. Team work is present in all areas of the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Medical Assistant in Orthopedics (Former Employee), Seattle, WADecember 29, 2013
Pros: yearly bonus incentives
A typical day consisted of checking in patients for their appointments, performing their vitals, updating their electronic health records, assisting the physician with the appointment and ensuring the patient receives a follow up appointment or phone call back. I learned how to perform safety measures correctly in order to avoid mishaps as a healthcare – more... worker and to protect the health of the patient. Management was great to work with. The leaders were very engaged in the department's daily activities. It was motivating to come to work each day to be a part of a successful team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lean Ideas
Sterile Processing Supervisor (Current Employee), Mason, VANovember 25, 2013
Pros: discount meals, bonuses
Cons: no parking
Smaller in size, this is also a teaching hospital, Lots of Lean thinking and ideas. Great place if you want to learn about the lean team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Seattle, WANovember 18, 2013
absolutely love working at Virginia Mason.
Amanzing team of providers.
amazing leadership team.

About Virginia Mason

With numerous awards and distinctions, including recognition as Top Hospital of the Decade by The Leapfrog Group, Virginia Mason – Read more