Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food,Beautiful Art, Musicand More..
Museum Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 21, 2015
A typical day would be come in sign out keys,radio, as needed. Get breifed on post found out if there any speical post orders for that day. If there was any thing that I need an answer to management was all ways just a call away.Working as an museum associate my co-workers and I we really relied on one another to ensure the safety of the visitors as well as staff.There wasn't antyhing hard about this job. The best thing about this job was meating new people it was awsome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment with emphasis on receptionist and customer service duties
Membership and Visitor Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VaJuly 25, 2015
On a daily basis my tea and I would provide excellent customer service to guests as well as administrative support for the department. I would answer phone and e-mail inquiries as well as register patrons for classes and programs held within the museum. Multitasking was essential to being able to perform self guided tasks effectively. I enjoyed working with like-minded individuals who appreciated each other and were all team players.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fantastic workplace with a variety of duties and tasks
Education Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 26, 2014
Developed lesson plans and gallery tours for permanent exhibitions
Developed and assisted online resources
Conducted research for upcoming exhibitions
Assisted summer studio teachers with programs and classes
Organized art materials and supplies
Pros
Adaptable environment, various tasks
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, not much room for advancement
Special Event Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 4, 2014
The VMFA is a great place to work and it is full of diverse people. However, there is no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The greatest place to work in Richmond
Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 3, 2014
There is always something happening here! Never a dull moment at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barista
Barista (Former Employee) –  Richmond VAJune 20, 2014
worked hard in a new position in a newly renovated business so to speak, learned to make coffee correctly, no one had ever managed before so new experience for all, loved the Picasso exhibit
Pros
beautiful and new
Cons
no one knew what to do at first
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going workplace with clear direction
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 2, 2014
A typical day at work would be cleaning my art gallery and doing the floors. I have learned to use properly use a buffer and wax floors. Management is good and gives a chance to do your work without being forceful. My co-workers are good team members and they don't mind helping you out.
Pros
Half off at the museum restaurant
Cons
No benefits, no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a barista and coffee specialist at the Museum
Barista (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 11, 2013
Loved the job at first, very good barista, excellent with my skills with the public. When the Picasso job ended, so did the hours and I trained a new barista and gave a two week notice. They were all sorry to see me leave but a new crew was ready to take over.
Pros
Beautiful place, clean, new, special time for me
Cons
First time managers and they have all been asked to resign after I left
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good job with good pay and ok hours couldn't live on just that but it helped
Food Staff (Former Employee) –  richmond, vaJune 11, 2013
got to meet many important people

was pretty easy going yet demanding which I liked

seemed like management only knew what they were doing about half of the time and orders would constantly conflict with other managers
Pros
free food fun environment
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about Virginia Museum of Fine Arts?

Ask a question

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.9
Culture
3.8

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Reviews by Job Title

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Reviews by Location