Find companies:
Virginia Premier Health Plan, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Virginia Premier Health Plan, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. The company has excellent benefits and excellent training and developmental opportunities.
Quality Director (Current Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 9, 2014
Great place to work. The company has excellent benefits and provides excellent developmental opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Premier, VAAugust 4, 2014
Excellent benefits, chance for growth, Enjoy working with the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were awesome.
Summer Program/Member Operations (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: a rewarding job, great management
A typical day would be assisting members with transportation or other needs. The staff was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Transportation Driver - Part-Time (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 11, 2014
Good job. Lots of driver/client interactions daily. Management was not supportive of drivers. Changes in supervisors, work hours & drivers excessively. The hardest part of the job was working with management meeting job requirements and having a good working relationship with co-workers,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and advancement in the company.
Audit Reviewer/Claims Specialist, EDI (Current Employee), Richmond, VAApril 19, 2014
Pros: free parking, baby to work for 6 months program
Cons: favortism
My typical days vary but it is very enjoyable. I learn and know of what each department does.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Anonymous (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: benefits are good
Cons: favoritism, unprofessional management
The company has great benefits. I've learned about how managed care works and how the various departments are linked together. There is high favoritism from management for specific employees. Lack of communication from management, very inconsistent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced Managed Care Executive
Vice President of Health Services (Current Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 24, 2014
My job entails developing programs to improve health outcomes for underserved populations, Medicare and Medicaid recipients throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming environment with exceptional talent
Communications Specialist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: competitive salary, tuition assisstance for you and dependents, good holiday and vacation scheduling
Virginia Premier is a great place to work. I've only been here for a few months but it already feels like home. It is a fast paced, results driven company with great morals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Information Systems Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VANovember 24, 2013
Great environment to work. There are very few typical days. Consistently working on new initiatives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place I've ever worked
telephonic utilization review nurse (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 30, 2013
Pros: corporate culture was strongly supportive of the nursing staff
Cons: one of my supervisors was a "micromanager" and left me feeling uncomfortable and unproductive.
I was employed as a utilization review nurse for about a year. My orientation was not well-organized because my supervisor was required to attend numerous development classes at the same time she was supposed to be training me. Fortunately I was already familiar with computer based documentation and Interqual criteria so I was able to fill in the blanks – more... myself in many instances. Other than that, many of the things I liked about working at Parallon I also liked about working at Virginia Premier. The primary thing I disliked was the feeling that I never really fit in to the corporate culture, followed by a supervisor who literally walked the halls looking for things the nurses were doing wrong. I don't like micromanagement, and I expect to be treated in a professional manner, and unfortunately there were a number of times when I found that these things were not happening.
Fortunately, both my direct report and her supervisor had open door policies that allowed me to ask questions frequently regarding issues related to my work product, and were always available to listen to me "gripe" when I needed to get something off my chest. One of my complaints was that I often did not get enough work compared to my co-workers, leaving me essentially twiddling my thumbs and trying to look busy. Of course, there were also days on which I had to pencil in time for lunch and breaks, as in any nursing job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A valuable experience
Medical Outreach Representative (Former Employee), Premier, VAMay 8, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: poor management
My days are very flexible and are sometimes filled with the unexpected. I learned the importance of insurance companies assisting members with managing their health care problems. I understand the importance of having a wonderful interdisciplinary team that is able to bring a host of intervention for the unique needs of individuals and families in crisis. – more... The hardest part of the job is linking member with appropriate interventions that will improve their quality of life. Finally, I enjoy collaborating with health care providers and community resources that offers quality interventions and services to members in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company offered many learning skills
Claims Adjustor (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 27, 2012
The company offered employees many training classes. Training classes on site offered many skill sets and allowed for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, management lacking effective communication skills
Office Manager (Former Employee), Abingdon, VAAugust 13, 2012
Pros: great pay and benifits
Cons: training was very poor
General office duties, filing paperwork, making sure inventory is being properly maintaned
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 6, 2012
Pros: some good peopleto work with
Cons: some supervisors are very good liers
In the years I worked there most were very good.but in the last year I had a lot of problems with the supervisor they hired.we just had a problem with. Me from the start..

About Virginia Premier Health Plan, Inc.

Virginia Premier Health Plan, Inc. is a Managed Care Organization, which began as a full service Medicaid MCO in August 1995. Mission: Virginia – Read more

Virginia Premier Health Plan, Inc. Photos