Virginia Union University Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased and Descriminatory
School of Arts and Sciences Computer Lab Director (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 12, 2017
This university is not a safe and secure working environment for anyone white. Because it is a historically black university your abilities and education mean nothing unless you're black. You can not file for vacation time without being given the run around to every department but the one you need, and complaints about student misuse of the lab environment falls on deaf ears.
Pros
none
Cons
racist managerial staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting work place.
Academic Advisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 8, 2017
Virginia Union University has been a beacon of hope for countless students over the years. Serving as an academic adviser has truly been a dream come true.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 31, 2017
Work study job so not much responsibility
I had to answer phones and take messages I also had to organize and answer questions
Since it was a work study job I never really had anything to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Students Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 22, 2017
i was able to interact with different people from different places, was able to do hands on accounting work . Learned how to process information in their data base, i answered phones, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love being a Resident Assistant
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 22, 2017
I have really enjoyed being a Resident Assistant and being able to impact the life's of the students on campus. The position has allowed me to grow as a person and I look forward to what else this position has in store for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe environment with room for advancement within the organization
Director of Purchasing (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 12, 2017
A typical day at work consists of prioritizing what needs to be done and accomplishing your goals that you set for the week and the day. I always try to learn as much about the job as possible and seek opinions from my colleagues. Teamwork is an important part of any job however I have no problem working alone as needed. I love customer service and interaction with external as well as internal parties.
Pros
Holidays off, good benefits and room for advancement
Cons
Work on holidays, weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virginia Union Univ.
Sports Information Director (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 14, 2017
Virginia Union Univ. has a family atmosphere that is great for the students, staff and faculty. Everyone is involved in student success and achievement.
Pros
Great culture
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this place
Admissions Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 15, 2017
Great place to work for. Very family geared. A great group of people to work for. The pay is very good for the area in which the school is in. The workplace is up to date with technology. I would love to work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 29, 2016
The only reason I worked their was because I was attending the school for a semester and that I needed money to put towards an apartment. Good summer job nothing major.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none given at this time
n/a (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 29, 2016
Too much to write about, great start to a person's career if they are looking for experience and not pay. Family/ work balance is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Virginia Union University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great
Adjunct Professor for PE (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 24, 2016
Provide Physical Education to Students
Developed syllabus and overall course structure, and administered all grade
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Development Enhanced
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 7, 2016
Working at Virginia Union University allowed me to cross train in various areas of Student Affairs, which was very valuable when deciding which area I wanted to focus my education and career development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite community of faith
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Union, VAFebruary 18, 2016
Great place to enhance spiritual knowledge and wonderful to assist students in their spiritual walk. Work is seasonal and not as fast past I thought it would be; however I have found a sense of peace and not carrying home extra stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding Place to Work, Work doesn't feel like Work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 4, 2016
Virginia Union University is a premier Liberal Arts Institution. During my time there I was able to organize and emplement fun and innovative ways to convey the principles of success in the workforce. This is just one of the many challenges that kept me on my toes. The most rewarding thing about working at VUU is knowing that you helped young inexperienced people gain experience through internships and learn to navigate through the complexities of self-marketing and vying for gainful employment.
Pros
energetic and rewarding work environment and the best employee cafeteria food
Cons
times during school year in which the workload can be overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving environment
Grant Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 10, 2015
Productive and fun place to work. I learned something new and informative everyday. All the employees were very nice and everyone got along well with each other. Management was amazing, very loving and trustworthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Union, VAOctober 7, 2015
Typical workday included answering phones, filing papers, data entry, etc. There really isn't anything hard about this job because you basically have fun while you work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 6, 2015
Very productive work environment. Constantly busy throughout the day. I had the opportunity to work there I again I would not hesitate to take it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Position
Title IX Program Coordinator/Compliance Officer (Current Employee) –  Union, VAJuly 28, 2015
Implementation of New VA Campus Misconduct Laws is challenging. I am looking forward to more guidance from OCR and the Virginia legislature
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational experience
Lead Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 28, 2015
Its a place where you can grow within yourself but also you campus community.
You are considered a leader on your campus throughout your time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment
Program manager/Career Counselor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 14, 2015
Outstanding, professional situations exist and environment lends to excellent working relationships. There is an enormous amount of professionalism being exhibited on a continual basis.
Pros
Excellent parking
Cons
Minimal parking available during events
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virginia Union University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Virginia Union University Reviews by Location