Find companies:
Visiting Nurse Service of New York
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
99 reviews

Visiting Nurse Service of New York Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was rewarding helpping clients in need.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: self worth
Cons: was temp job only
Management was very ineffective. Fellow staff members were not held accountable for discretions. evaluations were judged upon group efforts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT Job. "Top Heavy"
Full Time Staff RN (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 29, 2014
Great job, great pay, great benefits. Lot's of work (but let's be honest, home care is tough). Very top heavy. Lot's of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing with the times
Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 12, 2014
Pros: benefits, peers
Cons: lack of transparency
All in all, I am happy with my experience. I have learned a great deal and met some incredible people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Office Environment
Manager of Administrative Services (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 8, 2014
Every day brings a new challenge. From space issues, dealing with employee satisfaction and needs. I interact daily with senior management, facilities, procurement and accounting. Even though my office is extremely busy, I thoroughly enjoy every component of my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Business Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 24, 2014
• Great management.
• Flexible when attending school.
• Workers work well with each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Crisis Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 18, 2014
Pros: field work
Cons: not much office space
I worked as a counselor and it was a very good experience but the program ended and I was not offered another opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Atmosphere
Visiting Nurse Services of New York (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 17, 2014
Pros: teleworking
5 yrs ago i started working at The Visiting Nurse Service of NY and i've had the opportunity to work with some great people. More recently we're able to work from home which is very convenient. My day normally begins by checking my email to see exactly what i'm working on for the day and also to check the coverage. The communication between management – more... and employees is very open. I enjoy what i do especially knowing its helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically challenging, mentally rewarding
Maternal-Child Public Health Nurse (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 12, 2014
Pros: patient diversity
Cons: physical demands
I typically see 4-7 patients a day in their homes. I carry a caseload of approximately 25-35 patients and coordinate services including nursing, rehabilitation, nutrition, and social work. I also provide clinical assessment and skilled nursing care. The hardest part of the job is the physical aspect of going house to house via public transportation – more... with a large amount of supplies. The job, however, is very rewarding. Our patient population is medically complex and I am regularly challenged to explore alternative ways to meet their needs. I have seen vastly different living situations and family dynamics working in East Harlem. I have learned that despite these differences, we all have the same basic needs and deserve compassionate and skilled care. Although much of my day is working independently, I am connected with my manager and feel supported by my colleagues should a situation arise where I need additional input. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intensive Case Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 9, 2014
Pros: caring supervisor and program director.
Cons: few raises in salary.
My day at work is mostly in thew field. Learned more about the mentally ill than can be found in any book. Management was friendly, they had an open door policy I could talk to my Supervisor or the Program Director at any time if they weren't busy, and speak to them later if they were busy. My co-workers were extremely helpful, such in helping me with – more... a problem I might have, offering advice when my supervisor or other senior management were not available. Nothing was really that hard that's worth mentioning. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that I was working ti improving the lives of the client's I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENJOYABLE AND COMFORTABLE ATM
SR P.T. (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 30, 2014
Pros: supportive staff, gud lenig atm
Cons: rough weather, case load
Ability to work well as part of a team
Good organizational and administrative skills
Fluency in various Indian language and Spanish and, Urdu
Fast learner, focused and excellent communication and guest relation skills; ability to work efficiently under pressure.
Ability to multi-task effectively with excellent attention to detail
Knowledge about computers – more... software & programming events
Statistical Analysis Software: SPSS, SigmaPlot
Software Packages: Spike, Matlab, Microsoft Office Suite
Operating Systems: Microsoft Windows, XP, Mac
Word, Excel, PowerPoint, graphics – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first professional work experience
Accounting Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 29, 2014
I would commute every day in from New Jersey to Penn Station where I worked in midtown Manhattan. I was working in the financial department of the Visiting Nurse Services of New York. My main task was to reconcile two differing receivable accounts with a difference of over $500,000. I conducted a thorough one by one analysis of each transaction in order – more... to reconcile the two accounts. I also performed an audit of the organization's billing process. I provided management with suggestion's that could streamline their billing process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Nursing Team Manager (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMay 27, 2014
Pros: full tuition payment
Cons: no as secure at this time.
One of the best places to work in NYS. The culture of can do pervades the company. All staff are most willing to share information and resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and always learning something new
Administrative Assistant/Grievance & Appeal (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 8, 2014
very busy and always learning new things.
I am learning a lot about healthcare process including medicaid and medicare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission driven organization
Senior Recruitment Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 3, 2014
Overall, VNSNY was a great company to work for. Unfortunately, the organization lost money over the past year and had several rounds of reductions in staff. They continue their mission to provide quality healthcare to the surrounding communities. Hopefully, the financial situation will turn around in the next year and no additional staff reductions – more... will be required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Public Health Nurse (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 2, 2014
Working as per diem staff, Benefits were optional. The Compensation was good and it depends on your work performance and ability. The staff members were very supportive. Job security as a per diem staff was always shaky, but the organization made room for us until they made organizational changes and was global. In this job I met a lot of people, it – more... was really cultural diversity and I liked it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Entry level job for college grads,
Clinical Case Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 1, 2014
Pros: finally raised the pay scale. healthcare and benefits, flexible hrs
Cons: lot of paper work
Escorting Clients to appointments, and lots of paperwork and field work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team and Studenst
Training Specialist (Systems Trainer) (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 17, 2014
Pros: great team, love the work i do
Cons: lack of communication, no work life balance, no job security
Your work day is completely impacted by the individuals you work with. I work with a great team and I love teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challeging however productive place to work
Utilization Review Manager (RN) (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: great benefit package
My job involves utilization reviews for hospital, SNF, and acute care rehab as well as DMEs and procedures. My job also consists of care coordination (case management)of our members in our insurance plan. I have learned a lot from this position, such as being able to better communicate with other diciplines on our team. Most enjoyable part of my job – more... is getting the work done and giving our members the care that they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rated #1 place to work for several years now
Department Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Great company. Great people. Coworkers are the best. Its like family here. A home away from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place for work out. Pilates class.
Case Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYApril 8, 2014
Pros: free lunch during meetings.
Cons: mandatory weekend work.
Work time has the flexibility. We are obliges to report to office at least 4 hours in a week. The rest of the work can be done at home or in field. I learned Medicare and Medicaid benefits. The middle managers are approachable and I can talk my problems be it personal or work. Co-workers support each other. Problems in the job are solve as a team.

1 2 3 4 5

About Visiting Nurse Service of New York

When you're laid up in bed, Visiting Nurse Service of New York (VNSNY) can give you something besides your afternoon soap operas – Read more