Find companies:
Visiting Nurse Service of New York
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
106 reviews

Visiting Nurse Service of New York Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission driven organization
Senior Recruitment Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 3, 2014
Overall, VNSNY was a great company to work for. Unfortunately, the organization lost money over the past year and had several rounds of reductions in staff. They continue their mission to provide quality healthcare to the surrounding communities. Hopefully, the financial situation will turn around in the next year and no additional staff reductions – more... will be required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Public Health Nurse (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 2, 2014
Working as per diem staff, Benefits were optional. The Compensation was good and it depends on your work performance and ability. The staff members were very supportive. Job security as a per diem staff was always shaky, but the organization made room for us until they made organizational changes and was global. In this job I met a lot of people, it – more... was really cultural diversity and I liked it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Entry level job for college grads,
Clinical Case Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 1, 2014
Pros: finally raised the pay scale. healthcare and benefits, flexible hrs
Cons: lot of paper work
Escorting Clients to appointments, and lots of paperwork and field work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team and Studenst
Training Specialist (Systems Trainer) (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 17, 2014
Pros: great team, love the work i do
Cons: lack of communication, no work life balance, no job security
Your work day is completely impacted by the individuals you work with. I work with a great team and I love teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challeging however productive place to work
Utilization Review Manager (RN) (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: great benefit package
My job involves utilization reviews for hospital, SNF, and acute care rehab as well as DMEs and procedures. My job also consists of care coordination (case management)of our members in our insurance plan. I have learned a lot from this position, such as being able to better communicate with other diciplines on our team. Most enjoyable part of my job – more... is getting the work done and giving our members the care that they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rated #1 place to work for several years now
Department Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Great company. Great people. Coworkers are the best. Its like family here. A home away from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place for work out. Pilates class.
Case Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYApril 8, 2014
Pros: free lunch during meetings.
Cons: mandatory weekend work.
Work time has the flexibility. We are obliges to report to office at least 4 hours in a week. The rest of the work can be done at home or in field. I learned Medicare and Medicaid benefits. The middle managers are approachable and I can talk my problems be it personal or work. Co-workers support each other. Problems in the job are solve as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once had High standards and great with employee satisfaction but no more
Customer Relations Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 8, 2014
Pros: was great with benifits and home life balance
Cons: no longer showcommittment to patiens and employees
Apparently there were some bad guidance within the company for the company to lose millions of dollars and because of that they are no longer dedicated to their patients and their employees . massive lay off over and over and also now when patients call its like calling AT&T or Verizon or Apple no more personalize interaction with patients where the – more... person use to know the patients calling and attend to their needs. I am so scared for us as employees I know many of us are now job hunting before we also get that pink slip. I see many great and committed works got lay off in October and again this week. I am not sure in what directing Visiting Nurse Service of New York is going but a lot of us no longer want to be on this sinking ship – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 3, 2014
I would rather give information about the company based upon the direct answers asked by the hiring companies HR representative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with lots of opportunity for advancement.
Business Services Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: workload
My job is constantly fast paced where I have been able to hone my multitasking skills, while providing excellent service to both external and internal clients. I am learning to accept and make the best of my job in a profession that is constantly changing and growing. The management team as well as my co workers are hard working professionals whose – more... main goal is to provide the best service to our clients. The hardest part of the job is the constantly increasing workload while the most enjoyable part is positive feedback from satisfied clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Rehabilitation Clical manager (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 28, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: poor job security
Poor job security, major operational and staff changes that sacrificed support for field staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VNSNY
(Visting Nurse Service of New York), New York (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch and lots of smart people
Cons: they need new seats lol
Working here was very good but the management in my department was awful. They wanted to keep changing things in order to provide get service and all they did was make things worse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a flexible schedule which worked well with my kids at the time because of there ages.
Registered Nurse/Case Manager (Former Employee), Webster, NYMarch 25, 2014
Pros: m-f schedule 8-5, no weekends
Cons: becoming lax in skills that you would use in a hospital setting that are not required in home care
I worked mainly with the Long term care program, managing 40 patient's care in a home setting. In the past year with changes in insurances, typically medicaid, Long term care is being phased out because of the Medicaid's changed to Manged Long Term Care in Home health. During my 4 years I also provided Medication and diabetic management with patient's. – more... Various types of wound care. Assisted with the Cardiac teams patient's load as well the CHAA division of the agency. I provided assessment/ Recertification of patient's. I provided Start of Care visits as well as Resumption of Care visits.
I was let go from VNS on 3/17, as I stated earlier my Team is being phased out. I feel because of my experience is primarily in home care, I feel it is best for me to obtain a med surgical entry level RN position to begin to broaden my experience as a RN – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
Public Health Nurse (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 23, 2014
Pros: teleworking, field work, good salary/benefits
Cons: conditions of some patients homes, lack of support
Enjoyed most of my patients and their families and there are a variety of them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was able to be out of the office each day
Enrollment Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 4, 2014
Pros: managed your own hours
Cons: visited with people at their homes which were not always clean
Was able to be out of the office each day, which was great in the spring and summer months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good company to work for
Physical Therapist Assistant (Current Employee), Queens, NYFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: provides ample growth possibilities
Cons: spend alot personal time completing documentation
Pretty good company to work for if your looking for long term relationship that doesn't have a high turnover of employees. Provides ample growth possibilities in the form of internal development and higher education development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Business Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 12, 2014
Management, Co-workers have an excellent relationship. I enjoyed working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work. it provided me a work experience with manage long tern care.
Visiting Nurse Service of New York (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 30, 2014
A typical day at work consist of continuous assessment of all my case load/ patient coordinating their needs in the community as well as their health needs. Either on a field visit or in the office. Coordination with all the disciplines (MD, PT, SW) involve in the health care of my members. There is a good rapport with management and co-employees. The – more... hardest part is there is too much case load per individual, some duplication in the encoding of same data in another form, covering for a nurse who is sick / on vacation ,coordinating with the other programs within VNSNY.
The most enjoyable part are my co employees are very helpful, supportive and caring, we get along well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unrealistic expectations!!!
Comprehensive Care Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: tuition reimbursement
no lunch breaks. high turn over. lack of leadership. no or little potential for advancement. you have to be at 5 places @ once. your day is spent chasing behind clients who does not want to be found. then you get penalized for not finding the clients. your case load is from 25-32. then you get a case every other day. you have to share a work station; – more... even though you have endless paperwork to do. that means if the person you share your computer with is in the office, you either wait until that person is done or ask someone to use their computer. filthy work space.

co-workers are nice and professional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and socialable people and a great team
Aids Program Assistant (Former Employee), NYJanuary 25, 2014
I enjoyed working for VNS, everyone is kind and is also a learning experience for me.

About Visiting Nurse Service of New York

When you're laid up in bed, Visiting Nurse Service of New York (VNSNY) can give you something besides your afternoon soap operas – Read more