Find companies:
Visiting Physicians Association
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Visiting Physicians Association Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paper intensive non stop phone calls
Personal Care Cordinator (Current Employee), Middleburg Heights, OHAugust 21, 2014
Management is lacks and does not keep employees informed of company changes until the very last minute.

very paper intensive. Company has the ability to go paperless but choses to not use it.

Normally understaffed with a high turnover.

Very flexible when needing to take off because of family issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed up priorities and it is definitely not the patients
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Longmont, COJuly 29, 2014
Pros: opportunity to gain much experience
Cons: poor management, lack of understanding real patient care and what the patient needs versus what you desire...
I cannot agree more with "Cut throat workplace" review. It was spot on to everything I have wanted to say about this company. When I first started with VPA I thought I would be with this company for the long run.That is until I started noticing the favoritism being played by management and all of the pressure being put on by the CEO's to do unnecessary – more... protocols on patients who obviously did not need them. The scheduling started off wonderful and when new management came in and decided to schedule patients in random locations so far away from each other that it was difficult to spend the adequate time the patient needed. When brought to the attention with management it was shrugged off and completely ignored. I would have to put in overtime and later was told I was not allowed to do that. I was even deducted two hours of overtime I had done and was not paid for them but it was pointless for me to argue with management or even go through more stress of fighting for my hours. I can go on and on but needless to say, I am glad to no longer be part of this money hungry company and am happily moving forward from this nightmare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical technologist
Medical technologist (Former Employee), Troy,miJuly 25, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: management
The Laboratory is run very poorly. There is so much childish behavior that goes on this lab. The amount of favoritism is unbelievable. The hours are nice mostly mon-fri occasional saturday. No sundays or holidays. When you go to management about a problem nothing is done. The pay is good and hours are nice, but very poor management and a ton of drama. – more... More then I have ever seen at a company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized management team.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Mentor, OhioJuly 15, 2014
Pros: personal satisfaction of caring for others, gaining helpful knowledge
Cons: long work days, possibly no breaks, no safety concern for employees.
The entire goal of the company is a very good mission, but not well executed by the management and higher office employees. The patients have not been happy in the past with the communication skills of the staff members or scheduling. These issues have been presented and the entire management team has failed to attempt to address these issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized, clean, friendly environment
Externship (Current Employee), dayton, ohioJune 20, 2014
Considering I work out in the field driving all day, my work day consist of assisting the doctor in each patients home. Collecting vitals and information that the doctor may need. There is more of a one on one relationship with each other than having other co workers in the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace to work with lovely co workers and pt
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Williamsburg, VAJune 19, 2014
loved helping pt who couldn't leave their house get medical attention that they needed. learn a lot about blood draws.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced work
Patient Care Coordinator (Current Employee), Irving, TXMay 30, 2014
Pros: busy day
Cons: short 30 minute lunch, being laid off
I really enjoyed working for VPA but was sad that I am being laid off. I love working with my patients and making sure their needs are met. It's unfortunate that they have decided to dissolve the PCC position and move those positions to Michigan.

A typical day at work is calling in prescriptions, lots of phone calls, calling patients with results and – more... triaging calls. It was very busy and fast paced and that made the day go by quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past environment and being productive as worker
Dispatcher/Scheduler (Former Employee), Troy, MIMay 27, 2014
Pros: free lunches
My typical day of work will be coming to work getting updated with all the information I need to have to start the day. Answering phones, completing the work task, sending e-mails, communicating with co-workers about the work and prioritizing work task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical company culture, very disorganized, profit trumps everything
Physician (Former Employee), Columbus OHApril 17, 2014
Pros: good hours, no overhead/admin hassles of owning your own practice
Cons: very disorganized and poorly ran at corporate and local levels, unethical
The company is based on the premise that volume and profit trump everything. The disguise that they are here to help the "frail elderly" is a fictitious company creation to allow them to continue to bill for medically unnecessary services. Many (probably most) of the patients are not truly home bound by any definition, but the doctors are pressured – more... into signing off that they are.

The basic premise of the company is a good one; namely, that there are home bound patients that really need this service. However, this company is ran in an unscrupulous way. The brothers that own the company have no idea how to run a company of this size, and that culture trickles down to permeate each local office.

The hours are good, but that is about the only positive. The pay is sub-par, and the physicians are truly risking their license and livelihood every day by working there. The company paid out 9.5 million dollars to the government in a Medicare fraud whistle-blower case in 2009 or so, yet they continue to push the same fraudulent practices every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat workplace
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Moraine, OHApril 6, 2014
Cons: everything
This place has such a high turnover due to so many family members besides the outside mainstream runs this place. They promote only to the family members who has no type of degree on the job they are promoted to. This corporation has made many frauds as over pricing medicare patients in which they run tests which are not really required so than can – more... increase revenue. The managers in which come and go just work like robots as whatever the CEO says to do as coming up with bogus ideas to make more money, the manager ends up doing it. You have to take test in order to get a raise, its not like other jobs as your seniority increases, then your pay does. They claim that they care about their employees, but that's BS. Like when they give Christmas parties, what they do is they only give $500 to each site company and figure that should take care of the staff in which each site is different, but at my site we have 30+ employees. Also, they have a Podiatry in which is run by folks who have no knowledge of the Podiatry setting as scheduling, billing etc, in which just last year they had to payback Medicare $90,000 back due to faulty billing. The people who work for this company, they are very cut throat as for themselves. Please do not apply to this company. I am not the only one that has bad reviews on this company. I see this company tanking itself soon. They already sold 68% of it and soon it will just can itself as seeing the lack of leadership and responsibility of themselves, and the poor, poor very poor treatment of the employees. SO DO NOT APPLY!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving doctors to client residents
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 1, 2014
Pros: learn how to alphabetized medical records to submit clients information correctly.
Cons: do the least amount of work last in office.
My experience with Physicians Association was challenging for me with the doctors visiting patients at their residence. The clients were nice and I've learned how to apply my skills to assist the doctors. We were very busy and there was always work to do at the office as well as out in the field and not moment wasted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is no room for advancement at this employer
Intake Specialist (Former Employee), Troy, MIMarch 18, 2014
Pros: learning the work experience
Cons: extremely short breaks or none at all
A typical day at work was hectic, overwhelming. I like to keep busy so that wasn't a problem but constant change on a daily basis and different instructions from multiple people can get stressful. Nothing was planned and thought out properly. Co-workers had constant attitudes daily including management. They were not the most positive people to work – more... for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall
LPN (Former Employee), NorwoodMarch 18, 2014
Overall great atmosphere and I loved my job title. I was able to put a smile on every patient's face, which made me feel great at the end of the day. I was a triage nurse and helped so many patients get the help they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the enviornment there even though it was short term.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Irving txFebruary 5, 2014
i really liked working here because it was my intern and i was learning about the medical field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
career exiperence
Scheduler/Planner (Current Employee), troy, miJanuary 20, 2014
good place to learn and gain experience. I've worked there for 6 years and it is just time to more on. I held various positions with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere,Teamwork
Medical Assistant/ Home Health Cordinator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: free lunches, pto
Cons: short lunches, no benefits
With the skills I learned and my co-workers help I was able to help patients get Home Health for 30 to 90 days.I left everyday knowing I was able to help patients.That was enjoyable to me.The hardest part was not being able to recertify patients due to non compliance from patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work approach
registered nurse (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 15, 2013
Pros: m-f work hours
Cons: not competitive pay
fast paced, great environment, hard working team, m-f work hours, great interaction with phyisicians
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Experience
Scheduler/Receptionist (Current Employee), Austin, TXOctober 25, 2013
Pros: 1hr lunch, 2 15min breaks
Work everyday was good, everyone is nice and are always smiling. What I've learned was how to schedule, audit files, fax, scan, filing, mailing, and many other work related things. The managing is great, they're always on your case if you ever feel unsure about things, very helpful, and knows how to manage well. The hardest part is scheduling because – more... since we're a Podiatry, there are so many patients that needs to be seen and within that time a lot referrals are coming in and its like a big puzzle piece that needs to fixed. So far I've gotten better at it and take my at things. Being around people that care about you is the most enjoyable part about this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Initially was fun, open later seemed mistrustful.
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Troy, MIOctober 24, 2013
Was initially a company where the employees were happy, open. As they expanded things seemed to change. The company stopped doing small things for the workers, it seemed to become more "Scrooge" like in the memos that were sent out. The company stopped being a fun place to work and people began to worry about losing their jobs. There was a period of – more... years when all raises stopped . However, the company kept expanding during all that time. Who knows why. So that's why the mixed review. Overall I enjoyed working there and was sad to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience in outpatient home care
physician (Former Employee), Troy, MIOctober 4, 2013
hardest part of the job was to deliver quality ancillary services to homebound patients