Vista Unified School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run school district with a diverse student population
Campus Security Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Vista, CAOctober 3, 2016
I have enjoyed my time at Vista Unified School District but now desire to move back into the private sector. I enjoyed meeting and interacting with students, teachers, and administrators. It was very rewarding to ensure the safety of and to coach many young students. I met a bevy of interesting and articulate teachers/administrators with a wealth of knowledge and much insight into the human psyche.
Pros
Making friendships with students, teachers and administrators
Cons
boredom, lack of compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Rewarding Work Place
Instructional Aide (Current Employee) –  Vista, CAMarch 15, 2016
There is a lot of support that will help you grow as an individual and there is plenty of room to work with the students through your own methods.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place for carrier orentated people.
Grounds Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vista, CANovember 5, 2012
enjoyed working with staff and students. good benifits with a team enviourment. maintaind 33 school sites with daily chalanges. worked closly with a education management staff.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding working with children and staff members.
Classified- Noon Duty Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vista, CANovember 10, 2015
Monitoring and safeguarding children at play or during lunch, establishing an understanding and trust with students and faculty members.
Pros
flexible schedules, friendly office and school staff.
Cons
standing long periods of time outside.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and welcoming work environment
Senior Health Service Tech - LVN (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, CAJuly 1, 2015
My typical work day consists of 30-75 visits per day. I would say that the thing I have learned the most is how to balance a busy health office effectively. The staff and students are truly enjoyable and very warm. The hardest part of my day would be when my office becomes over run with 10-15 students needing care at the same time. I enjoy the fun environment and challenge that I encounter daily!
Pros
I only work 2 days that the kids have off, otherwise, I get the same vacations and days off that the students do.
Cons
No pay during July.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding job
Instructional Assistant After School Program (Current Employee) –  Vista, CAAugust 25, 2015
Great job to gain hands-on experience in the educational field and to learn conflict resolution. Students can be challenging, but this forces you to learn how to approach problem-solving in different ways.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is the best of my employment and love my work for HUST in the kitchens and somwtimes doing supervision.
Tri City Florist (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, CAOctober 8, 2012
The school district is my longest job and the location is perfect. Management and co-workers are friendly and there to help. I have learned a lot being around the students and their needs buit most of all being understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School out
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAMarch 1, 2014
A typical day at work begins with your partner giving you the list!!
You learn about people and their habits/routine.
Management - you was your own management, very few coworkers.
The hardest part of the job is trying to please everyone.
Pros
you meet a wide group of people
Cons
you get paid once a month, always on call
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An average place of employment.
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAOctober 18, 2012
Cleaning an entire elementary school was hard work. But the children and staff made the day go by on a positive. I truly miss my job, but with my back injuries and the work comp problems, I can not return to this kind of work.
Pros
medical, retirement, etc.
Cons
politics, school board politics, budget cuts, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with students and friendly co-workers
Driver (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAJune 25, 2014
Picking up students then dropping them at school
How to deal with different personalities and behaviors
Felt I was treated fairly
Truly enjoyed working with them all
People not respecting that you transport children
Did not get in an accident and all students where dropped at home
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8

Vista Unified School District Reviews by Job Title

Vista Unified School District Reviews by Location