Vistar Employee Reviews in United States

Found 49 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad health insurance/terrible management
Driver (Former Employee) –  IndianaFebruary 8, 2016
Worked long hours and had different routes each week. Expected to drive over exceeded amount of hours. Management expected me to work when I got injured and even had a doctors note stating I wasn't to work. Management threatened to fire me because of this. Was working with a partner on a run to Chicago and management told me to get off at rest area and another PFG truck would pick me up and then I would have to do a South Dakota run. I quit! We had no union. Health care was awful. Only good thing was the money.
Pros
The pay
Cons
Management/benefits and changing routes
Was this review helpful?Yes26No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't work there if they paid me more money
cdl driver (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAJanuary 7, 2016
Upper management doesn't care HR is a joke transportation managers don't have a clue warehouse managers work harder than the regular employees not a place to grow small minded people running company they say one thing and do another faulty equipment
Pros
Saying you work for pfg
Cons
Things constantly changing nothing set as a schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes34No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the money is definitely available
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAJune 17, 2016
good place to work if you are willing to hustle. good incentive plan that can really pad the check. the faster (correctly) you pull orders the more money you make
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work at
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAJanuary 24, 2016
i really wish i could've stayed their, you can have your own individual speaker with you on your electric pallet rider and no one really bothers you unless you make an error
Was this review helpful?Yes16No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!!!!
Driver (Current Employee) –  Houma, LAFebruary 16, 2016
High risk, low pay. Highly unorganized and unprofessional. Poorly maintained vehicles. Careless routing and irresponsible loading. Not worth your time.
Pros
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes22No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Moral
MB (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 10, 2015
There is no type of motivation or team moral to help support others. I love the job that I have because i love what i do but a higher up can definitely bring the team down. Its not far that you point our others peoples flaws and never say thank you or good job for what you do. If you can't accept your flaws why point others out.
Pros
Job, Benefits
Cons
Work Moral
Was this review helpful?Yes31No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
1st shift warehouse sup (Current Employee) –  Louisville KYSeptember 15, 2015
I have been working for this company for 20 plus years and have seen many changes and we have grown more then ever we just got a new building so we now have more room to work which also mean more work I have enjoyed working for Vistar and look to retire from there
Was this review helpful?Yes34No18
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, fast paced, unforgiving schedule
Selector (Former Employee) –  Victoria txApril 30, 2015
If you are able to keep up, then this job is for you. If you can't, then understand that they will drop you. Hard work, long hours, not for those who want to also have a personal life. Extremely demanding. HR is very helpful, immediate supervisors are hard but fair. Bad experience with anyone above that
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Short breaks, long shifts, extremely demanding, no time for personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes72No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but fair workplace. Excellently run Finance department
Information Technology Manager/Sr Accountant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 20, 2015
Due to the nature and size of the company I was able to hold many positions across several departments, therefore, learning the industry through various angles. Management was tough, but fair. CFO was one of the best i've ever worked with. Duties included: SOX audit implementation and review. Software migration, development, implementation, training. Project Lead for numerous ERP installations. SAP training and review. Developed queries and applications via SQL and Access. Performed reconciliations and audits for full accounting cycle.
Pros
flexible schedule, good learning environment, competitive salary
Cons
very little to no upward mobility.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and always moving
Material Handler/Hi-lo driver (Former Employee) –  belvilleApril 10, 2015
constantly moving and learned all aspects of warehouse operations including making management decisions with senior management. I was a part of union local 299 and focused on getting the job done and did not have to worry about co-workers but I get along with everyone and I am very team driven.
Pros
job security
Cons
afternoon shift
Was this review helpful?Yes15No25
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone just staring out in the business.
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Louisville,KentuckyMarch 9, 2015
Vistar is a great job for someone fresh out of high school that needs some experience before moving on to bigger better things. Same for fresh out of college individuals looking for a way into the business. The company offers an average wage with average benefits.
Pros
laid back atmosphere
Cons
limited advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes31No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you want to make less than 650 a week then this is the job for you
driver (Former Employee) –  austell gaFebruary 6, 2015
This is a very physical job in which you do not get paid a decent wage for. They have a weekly minimum but you will have to work up to 6 days to make decent money. Dont believe me stop any driver for pfg ask them if they are out of austell and i guarantee they will all tell you the same thing.. even the drivers that have been there 10 years or more are leaving. The reason its advertising as custard is bc pfg has so much bad blood with drivers
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes49No22
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun enviroment
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 15, 2014
it was a fun environment with great off days an good hours. Management was very nice an showed their employs respect. A typical day at vistar starts with you coming in at 5 pm an going over what the work load will be for the day. The coworkers are cool an respect each others space an will to try to help out when they can. The hardest part of the was the extreme cold working inside the freezer an the most enjoyable part was to come out of the freezer an select from the dry side
Pros
discounts on snacks in the machines
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes64No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rather not say
Warehouse Receiver (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CAJune 3, 2015
fast paced, never boring. Enjoyed dealing with customers and drivers making deliveries. Enjoyed the hours of work. also team mentality among employees
Was this review helpful?Yes46No26
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management & HR
MERCHANDISE COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Centennial, COJuly 22, 2014
Once you tell your manager you want to advance within the company they write you up, and continually do so every 6 months so you can not leave your job. Poor training, after 6 months the mantra is "you have been here long enough you should know". The company has a high turnover rate due to poor management. Repeated attempts to seek more training and understand your job go unanswered, even when you ask HR to intervene. HR's answer is to go back to your manager to discuss, no help. Only thing I can say good about the company is I met great friends, and the ice maker was always working.
Pros
ice maker
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes92No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work but very demanding and stressful
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  New YorkJune 5, 2014
The V P put me in good hands, I was trained by the top performer.
I had very little computer experience and they were very helpful and patient. Great job for people getting out of college or for those who don't need to be home for the family. I have no complaints and am a
better worker as a result of working for Vistar. NIce group of people to work with as well.
Pros
provided great training on product lines
Cons
demanding and stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes51No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive work enviorment, that allowed me to develop skills to excell in my position.
Warehouse Lead Person (Former Employee) –  Romeoville, ILOctober 15, 2013
It was a productive work enviorment, that allowed me to develop skills to excell in my position. I would come into work check in there was a routine and when thing diverged from the norm then we would adapt to fulfill out customers expectations. Management was very good, they gave employees tools with which to succeed. Co-Workers would look forward to going into work.
Pros
perks, like lunches and raffles
Cons
benefits could have been beetter.
Was this review helpful?Yes44No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face Paced Atmosphere Where Hard Work Pays Hoff
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Shawnee, KSJune 6, 2012
The employees have a great disposition and personality. Everyone is easy to talk to and great to joke with. I have learned many things throughout my stent with Vistar as I held both an operatoins, customer service and sales positions. Managers there are all willing to help you along and succeed in your career. But this is a place where only hard work gets rewarded. I enjoy the people most about this job.
Pros
atmosphere
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes16No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Great Pay for Great Performers. Very Stressful environment
Corporate (Current Employee) –  NationalDecember 16, 2012
Vistar is a great place to work if you are looking to advance or be a top performer. They pile on the responsibilities and demands if you are in one of the top positions. The pay is great but the stress is tough. Vistar runs a very thin head count which tends to stretch people thin and burn out their best performers.
Pros
great pay, great benefits.
Cons
high demands, very stressful, tend to spread everyone too thin.
Was this review helpful?Yes35No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless u want something temporary RUN!!
Driver (Current Employee) –  Austell, GAJanuary 30, 2013
If your an experienced driver PLEASE don't waste your time with this VISTAR WANNABE. This place is actually PFG customized who delivers to Wendy's. Vistar pays better, cares about you, and treats you good overall. At PFG customized you only get two weeks of vacation after working with them one full year! Things are constantly changing to benefit the management and try to pay you less than what you were told before. Go to REAL company and not this FRAUD who used to Roma!
Pros
you can get delivery experience if you don't have any
Cons
low pay, long hours, very low case pay/components
Was this review helpful?Yes58No16

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9