Find companies:
Vistar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Vistar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work but very demanding and stressful
Account Manager (Former Employee), New YorkJune 5, 2014
Pros: provided great training on product lines
Cons: demanding and stressful
The V P put me in good hands, I was trained by the top performer.
I had very little computer experience and they were very helpful and patient. Great job for people getting out of college or for those who don't need to be home for the family. I have no complaints and am a
better worker as a result of working for Vistar. NIce group of people to work – more... with as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love all of my co workers
Lead Payroll Analyst (Former Employee), Centennial ColoradoMay 13, 2014
Processed payroll, driver payroll. Garnishments, off cycle checks
problem solving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, ability to work on your own
Accounts Receivable Coordinator (Former Employee), Tempe, AZMay 12, 2014
Pros: their was always a mixture to your daily duties
Cons: being short staffed was hard to be crossed trained
Fast paced enviroment where I leaned cash application, account receivables,credit analyst. I learned to set up new accounts, worked with a wonderful sales team. Had meetings with the sales team going over how to improve our collections and reduce our dso. I learned how to credit backgrounds on new accounts. I worked closely with my management always – more... keeping them updated on accounts.

I worked well with my co-workers. We kept each other informed on our customers staus, such as accounts that were active and not active, short pays, and bounced ideas off each other.

My favorite part of my job when I could work with the customers/sales rep.and come up with a working plan that kept sales coming in, while the customer was reducing their past due. It was a win win. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physical work day.
Order Puller/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Shawnee, KSFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: some free lunches and discounts on purchases.
Cons: long hours
Working 13 to 16 hours 5 days a week pulling orders.It was very busy but everyone pulled their weight in a team attitude to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Straight/box truck driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hard days
Was a box truck driver. Some days I'd do local. Sometimes I'd be gone for a few days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
na (Current Employee), naFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: none?
Cons: waste of my time
VP's dont have a clue of whats going on. Just wondering where the business is headed. Managers are unhelpful think they know it all, but really dont know much at all. sad really. You ask them for help or you try to give advice and they shoot you down and than they tell you if you have any suggestions we really would support it. Do not know how to train – more... people. 5 - 10 year prediction going to go downhill. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Great Pay
order puller (Current Employee), Arlington, TXJanuary 15, 2014
My typical day at work is easy going, do my job and help other team member to get there job done. On every job i love to learn different way of doing my job to make it easy and safe on the body. Some management are ok until there job is on the line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistently a steady environment.
HR (Current Employee), CODecember 24, 2013
Pros: great benefits.
Management team is great.
Lots of work however a great ability to really impact the bottom line.
Excellent team environment.
Vistar gives to the local food bank, LLS and other charitable organizations.
Overall, the employees at Vistar make it a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I would say this is a pretty good place to work as a driver, it is what you make of it
Dedicated route, DOT OTR Delivery driver (Current Employee), Denver, CONovember 15, 2013
Pros: met my needs at a time that was very hectic and urgent in my family life
Cons: having been a manager in past jobs, i see areas of concern that this management doesn't seem to be.
I liked working here for the needs that were important to me at the time, however I feel it is time to move on now that my family situation has changed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive work enviorment, that allowed me to develop skills to excell in my position.
Warehouse Lead Person (Former Employee), Romeoville, ILOctober 15, 2013
Pros: perks, like lunches and raffles
Cons: benefits could have been beetter.
It was a productive work enviorment, that allowed me to develop skills to excell in my position. I would come into work check in there was a routine and when thing diverged from the norm then we would adapt to fulfill out customers expectations. Management was very good, they gave employees tools with which to succeed. Co-Workers would look forward – more... to going into work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome people
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 30, 2013
Pros: promotions
Cons: leadership
great company a lot of room for growth, wonderful benefits, management doesn't have a lot of follow thu
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN AWAY
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Swedesboro, NJJuly 14, 2013
Cons: everything
DO NOT COME HERE....this is the worst job i ever had...and this is not Vistar, it is PFG...I worked for Vistar and about 20 of us were left behind when they merged. Vistar left the building,and PFG took over...and i would have never left Vistar(that was a great place to work)Now PFG pays nothing and want you to bust your butt all day for low pay and – more... we will All be leaving soon – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was ok
Forklift Operator/Stocker (Former Employee), National City, CAMay 11, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
the job was ok. drove forklift most of the day loading and unloading trucks. And stocking pallets in there place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the elderly patients.
Vistar Eye Center Ophthalmic Assistant (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAMay 2, 2013
A typical day at work was fast paced. Satifying working with the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and ok place to work.
Buyer/ Adm/ Merch Asst. (Former Employee), Arlington, TXMay 2, 2013
Pros: employee appreciation with food and drinks
Cons: healthcare
Like any other job, is was a cool place to work and I learned a lot vend product that I didn't know before. Management was ok and some of the co-workers were friendly. The hardest part about this job was being pushed into a new position with little to no training. The most enjoyable part of this job was getting to know more about the vending and concession – more... side of business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work for would not recmmond for anyone
na (Former Employee), caMarch 23, 2013
Dont! work for this company pay is good but you are tread like bad to put out work. I worked for this company 4 years and I missied so much time with my family and kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless u want something temporary RUN!!
Driver (Current Employee), Austell, GAJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: you can get delivery experience if you don't have any
Cons: low pay, long hours, very low case pay/components
If your an experienced driver PLEASE don't waste your time with this VISTAR WANNABE. This place is actually PFG customized who delivers to Wendy's. Vistar pays better, cares about you, and treats you good overall. At PFG customized you only get two weeks of vacation after working with them one full year! Things are constantly changing to benefit the – more... management and try to pay you less than what you were told before. Go to REAL company and not this FRAUD who used to Roma! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thumbs down
Sales Executive (Former Employee), vistarJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: benefits are good..insurance, holidays
Cons: very poor management
I would not recommend working for this company unless you enjoy a lot of stress.Constant turnover due to poor management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job for Monkeys
driver (Former Employee), austell gaDecember 20, 2012
Pros: job
Cons: too much manual labor little pay
Run run run This is Pfg hiding behind Vistar....Run this job is for dogs....little pay too much manual labor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Great Pay for Great Performers. Very Stressful environment
Corporate (Current Employee), NationalDecember 16, 2012
Pros: great pay, great benefits.
Cons: high demands, very stressful, tend to spread everyone too thin.
Vistar is a great place to work if you are looking to advance or be a top performer. They pile on the responsibilities and demands if you are in one of the top positions. The pay is great but the stress is tough. Vistar runs a very thin head count which tends to stretch people thin and burn out their best performers.