Find companies:
Vitamin World
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

Vitamin World Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training on products but constant pressure on stats and numbers is a real pain.
Store Manager (Current Employee), paDecember 15, 2014
Pros: training/learning the field
Cons: very bad pay, higher ups micromanage so much and only want numbers.
Great staff to work with once youre settled, but no room for advancement. They make us dress professional and want us to sell with passion and professionalism but pay us like burger flippers. They con u into saying u can make a certain amount of dollars extra per hour with sales which is complete lies because it has to do with what shifts you work. – more... All the higher ups care about is numbers and not the reality of things. Depending on area your store is its very unlikely to move up to a great position where you can make a living. Company has a crazy turn over ratio for a reason due to very very low pay and butter u up by promising commissions and bonuses which are rare for most in my district due to sales goals that are just ridiculous with the decline of customers and traffic. Store managers honestly in our district only make about 10.50 to 13.00 an hour and maybe total on the good side low 20 thousand a year after factoring in commissions. Out of 15 stores in our district less than a dozen have been with the company for more than 3 years and some are part timers who work very little just to get their good supplement discount. Most store managers and assistants need a second full time job to make ends meet and because thats so hard to maintain most people quit. For a company whos praised on how deep their pockets are, they have some of the oldest and messed up computer systems from back in the early 90s as well as terrible pay structure. Raises are extremely rare where the company sets it up so that you dont meet or exceed expectations due to their numbers they want. When i started with the company they had 5.5% commission where it was actually decent pay but year after year they cut the commission down more n more where now its 3% on our items and 1.5 on 3rd party brands while promising many items u can make 10% on but yet there hasnt been a week yet where those structures are as promised. They constantly cheat corners and steal money from employees and claim they would look into any commission issues but you will never hear back from them. They constantly send out coupons or have different and better online sales and dont let stores be aware of it and say we have to maintain an outrageous $45 per customer sale when most of the company cant even steadily stay at $35. Those coupons constantly set u up for failure and more n more yelling from up above because numbers arent there. They have so much loopholes in the system is not even funny. Ive worked retail for over 16 years and have never seen a company pay so little for their employees. They costantly claim we pay better than gnc or vitamin shoppe but get their figures by comparing our best stores nationwide to the competitors worst stores. I have so many friends who are into fitness who work for gnc or vitamin shoppe an we compare things and find out they get paid better than us minus all the stress and pressure. One thing i can say this company has taught me is all the product knowledge and to be careful with sneaky retailers like this. They dont care about holidays and threaten you if u dont work on holidays and open on days where literally they think customers will come in to shop n get busy. Most people dont go to vitamin stores on thanksgiving easter, labor day, memorial day but they still insist they will get busy. Year after year figures and sales show that they r losing money on holidays having people to show up to work. Many coworkers i worked with have to shut off cell phone plans because they have to save money somehow since pay here is real bad. Great job for students, but otherwise u honestly cannot make a living working here. Marketing has to be absolutely the worst ive ever seen, they claim to be the largest manufacturer in supplements yet people know gnc and vitamin shoppe more. Month after month they start rebranding or wasting money on bad ads or signs and because theyre losing money on that they continuously make up the losses by taking more money out of the associates pockets whether through commission or making you work off the clock. They get away with a lot of shady stuff and somedays youll be required to work an open to close 12-13 hour shift without any break. If u try to take a break and close doors for 10 15 minutes they write u up. This is a very very slow enviroment where they get average of 15-25 sales a day so its very limited on where u can make commission depending on which shift u work. Most managers know that so schedule themselves on peak hours so the rest like assistants or part timers make an additional .50 cents to 1 dollar extra if that an hour from commissions. They expect u to live around their schedule whether you r full time or part time stating meetings are mandatory and constantly threaten you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and good environment to work in.
Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Blasdell, NYDecember 13, 2014
A normal day at work would include helping customers with their needs within seconds of walking in the door. I would let them know about any deals going on and explain anything they did not understand. Working in a vitamin shop with so many products, it is hard to learn about everything, but I did learn so much about most of the vitamins. My co-workers – more... were fun and very informative when I had questions about certain products. The toughest part of the job was learning about the products and trying to keep all the products and their benefits straight. The most enjoyable part was helping people feel better and working with the people I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall work environment
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 1, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, great work environment, good commission structure
Cons: low base pay
Good place to work and learn about health and wellness through the various types of supplements on the market. Great way to help people achieve and maintain healthy lifestyle choices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 25, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: short breaks. sometimes it was only me in the store so sometimes i wouldnt be able to take a break
a typical day at work was busy but fun i would be able to greet cusotmers and make ideal customer service relationships with them. i learned a lot about being a manager and doing what needs to be done. my management was ok. she took a lot of vacations and she was very contradictory on her work. my co workers and i got a long great. the hardest part – more... of the job would be explaining every vitamin a person asks about. the most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that i got to make someones day just a little bit better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about merchandising
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Las Cruces NMNovember 16, 2014
Vitamin world is an amazing merchandiser. They produce their own product and have a great retail strategy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Kennewick, WANovember 4, 2014
A typical day at Vitamin World included a lot of learning which was fun because it is something I was very interested in, Health and Fitness. My boss, Sherry is the sweetest lady you will ever meet and also is always on top of her game with everything.. she even goes the extra mile to bring food and water for her employees to have in case it gets too – more... busy. The co-workers there were cool and knew basically everything there is to know about vitamins. The hardest part of the job was trying to say all the big words in spanish but ever since I began working there in April my spanish is better than it has been in a while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, but pay is on the low side.
Sales-Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Montclair, CAOctober 29, 2014
A typical day of work would be completing and filing morning paper work from the day prior containing total sales, transactions, and units per transactions. Compute new daily sales totals, percentage to goal, percentage to last years goal, transactions, and percentages of key items sold. The morning paper work also contains information that needs to – more... be reviewed, such as negative items on hand, price changes,p.o. orders for shipments, and more. Next would be to read, print, and file store updates, new emails from District Manager. From here the store deposit will be made to the bank then filed and any change needed for the store will be gathered. A personal and store sales tracking sheet will be created for the day and constantly updated upon new sales. Then, execution of excellent customer service is critical and must be in accordance to companies standards at all times. Every sale must consist of a program containing 3 items plus an add on product. As a manager I am required to maintain a store performance that meets company goal, maintain a professional appearance, motivate and manage staff in completing their daily sales goal and task. Finally, compute and log individual and store sales performance for the day and send to the District Manager. Execute a register cash count, review starting and deduct starting bank,and make deposit.

I have learned the importance of tracking in the field of business, excellent management skills, team work, excellent knowledge in nutrition, excellent customer service skills,time management, the importance of having a great positive energy in the work place, calculations, importance of being goal orientation, and very aggressive sales experience.

I have managed and worked with excellent co-workers and obtain great friendships with them, outside of work.

I can't think of a particular area of the job as the hardest part, because I never like to think of something as difficult to accomplish. I will say time management is key to completing daily task.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the gains of business, sales strategies, marketing,and tracking knowledge. I also enjoyed the great relationships I had built with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy/a lot of downtime, but rewarding with sales and commission
Store Manager (Current Employee), Sugar Land, TXOctober 27, 2014
Pros: discount on supplements
Cons: alot of down time
This company has taught me a lot. I have grown as a manager with tons of learned knowledge. I have learned a lot of on hands operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), St. AugustineOctober 16, 2014
Pros: discounts, customers, great balance
Cons: future
Great place to work, great environment and staff. Love everyday of it and love helping the customers out. Upper management has some issues but overall its a good company. Just worried about the future of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAOctober 15, 2014
great place to help the customers at they ease and put a smile on their face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), NevadaSeptember 7, 2014
Great company to work for! Adequate staffing and training provided. Great balance of work and home life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great potental just dreadfully mismanaged
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Sevierville, TNSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great product. excellent benifits
Cons: mismanaged at the top
this company has everything going for it and could be the most powerful company in its class but this company just does not know what it has and how to put it out there. Heres a clue: advertise what you have and your amazing quality and prices. do what f'n GNC does theyare twice the price but people still shop there. and pay your managers more they – more... deserve it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and wonderful hands on experience with selling
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 21, 2014
At Vitamin World, I was tested on my knowledge of their products. Then was able to sell the products and educate my customers. I love being able to be personable with the customers, and I especially loved keeping up with all my regulars. I got a lot of joy when the customers would come back bragging on how well the product is working for them. I have – more... learned an exceptionable amount of information on different herbs, minerals, amino acids, nutrition, pre- and post-workouts, and vitamins. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry-level management position, but the company is going backwards.
Store Manager (Former Employee), New JerseyAugust 13, 2014
Pros: learn about supplements, great pay for part timers, great entry-level management job, customer base is usually good, work with nice people
Cons: low pay for store managers, benefits are pricey, no room for growth beyond sm, company not moving in the right direction (in my opinion)
I managed two different stores for almost five years there. My DM was fantastic, but then again, I did my job. Those who complain about their management are typically lazy. If you do what you're supposed to do and have some semblance of selling skills, your DM will leave you alone. I enjoyed my store and my staff, and my customers (for the most part). – more... It's a great way to get into store management because once you learn how, the store practically runs itself. Loved learning about supplements too. Feels rewarding when customers tell you about their good experience with something.

Biggest issue is that the company as a whole is turning toward a selling model that hasn't worked since the 1950s. Consumers don't favor one-on-one customer service anymore, they want value. 9 out of 10 people will laugh in your face for trying to get their name in a conversation at a vitamin store. Your DM oversells a customer, "shows you how to do it", and then the customer returns the product the next day when the DM is gone. VW needs to get back to basics, and instead of hiring robots that know how to read scripts, they need to get people that know how to sell product. Not following the company's selling scripts I always beat their goals and exceeded expectations.

And as I said before, entry-level at best. There is a HUGE gap between store manager and district manager (which is logically your next step), and the company is structured in a way that allows very little room for growth beyond store manager unless you're there for 10 years or more. And if you're like me, by the time you hit 24 and want to move on with your life, hourly pay plus commission is not enough to support yourself (or a family) on.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my job but moved on at the right time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Assistant Manager (seasonal) (Former Employee), Beavercreek, OHAugust 13, 2014
When opening, would make sure all sales for the day are current. The last nights deposit was good, management was amazing to work for, hardest part was convincing every customer to step in, most enjoyable is knowing a program is going to be used to change someones life for the better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible compensation for ANY management position.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), LouisannaAugust 11, 2014
Pros: laid back environment
Cons: compensation is that of a high school associate pay
This company is the worst paying company for management being it an assistant manager or store manager. The company makes it out that the commission and bonus paid is worthwhile and it could be if the stores were making plan and making goal. Over 75% of the stores have not made goal since January which means management doesn't bonus. The company saturates – more... the markets with coupons so much that customers stock up for months and foot traffic is very light in the stores. $12 an hour for a SM position company wide regardless of your experience is degrading in my opinion. However you if your looking to get into the health and wellness industry, it's a good start. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice homeopathic store...
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Concord, CAAugust 9, 2014
a typical work day consisted of greeting customers and helping with their purchases and what ailment they may be shopping for. great knowledge on the products we sell and how they may interfere with what a customer may be taking was always a plus. we worked on commission, and it just a fun well mannered place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting customer's with their needs
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 8, 2014
Pros: besides more money, there are bigger discounts, better benefits, more vacation time and sometimes even bonuses.
Cons: tough decisions, more workd and pressure
Deal with comments, questions or complaints from employees or customers while consistently monitoring customer service. Responsible for meeting monthly targets established for product budgets and labor costs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning about different Vitamins and Herbs
Sales associate (Former Employee), Woodbridge VAAugust 4, 2014
Pros: learning new things
Cons: not enough time on the job like i would like.
I make every job experience interesting and fun, Its a great work place but not enough hours for there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a work for a life time
vendedor (Current Employee), Cayey. Puerto RicoJuly 30, 2014
Pros: good training
Cons: not pro-employ
In Vitamin World we learn a lot on anything to do with maintain a quality with clients and now how to work with supplements and there benefits for every aspect of my life

1 2 3 4 5

About Vitamin World

In our fast-paced world, it's important to remember to take your vitamins. A subsidiary of NBTY, Vitamin World operates more than – Read more

Vitamin World Photos