Vitamin World Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay
Assistant Manager/Sales (Former Employee) –  mes azDecember 4, 2017
The pay was minimum wage very boring and quiet. No raises, lack praise for going above and beyond in the work place. all weekend required no set schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business closed
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Uniontown, PANovember 30, 2017
Business filed bankruptcy and closed all store or I would still be employed with them. Started out as a retailer then Asst Manager to Manager in a 3 year interval.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly retail is not the same
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARNovember 27, 2017
The company is A vitamin supplement company that has unfortunately fallen on hard times as other brick and mortar stores have.
I enjoyed my job. It was a way to impact customers in a positive manner.
Pros
Employee discounts and benefits
Cons
Company clsoing stores and has filed banruptcy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company review
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Middle tnNovember 27, 2017
I do not wish to leave a review for you at this time. Thank you for your inquiry and perhaps someone else will leave a meaningful review for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of money forced me to look for another job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 25, 2017
There was a a very low pay rate working at this retail chain. I spent three years working to become a manager. I needed another challenge to stimulate my mind and make more money,
Pros
discounted supplements
Cons
i had to work holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Ok
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDNovember 25, 2017
It is an alright place to work. Great starter place to start working. Advancing in the job is slow and not really rewarding. Other than that the pay is great for an entry level job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s was hard working and competitive and heads on job it’s was perfect
2nd Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  St Thomas, VINovember 25, 2017
For this position as 2nd asst . Manager you got to have a strong mind and be able to handle what comes to you it’s very competitive. There was day I would come in and it would be at its busiest but that’s when the challenge comes in and you got to make sure your giving the customers great service and also managing the employees .
Pros
Free samples
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The End is Near!
Senior Store Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 19, 2017
The company has been struggling to keep afloat and as a result, they had to close nearly half of their stores, with more on the horizon! As much as I was excited to further my career with the company, it looks like Vitamin World is headed downhill with its poor guidance, decision making, and leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work at
Nutrition advisor (Current Employee) –  Williamsville, NYNovember 17, 2017
Great company, potentially growing, great working environment. Managers are very flexible, willing to work with the employees. My only concerned is my hourly rate, I wish it was more.
Pros
flexible, easy going
Cons
not applicable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOved my job
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXNovember 15, 2017
Loved my job. I worked there till they closed the doors due to filing bankruptcy. Loved the hours and the work environment. My district manager was great also
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been with company for over 15 years
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Gurnee, ILNovember 15, 2017
was a good company to work for but stores are closing left and right. I would not waste time applying for company since they are closing 140 stores in the next 30 days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Business
Employee (Current Employee) –  Bohemia, NYNovember 13, 2017
It use to be a great place to work and since it was acquired by an equity firm and new management came in it has been nothing but a disappointment. Sorry!
Pros
People
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 9, 2017
If you are willing to apply yourself it can be a great career path. A lot of product to learn but great opportunity to progress customer service skills and team management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but a great environmet
1st Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 3, 2017
This was a very fast paced work environment that required a lot of product knowledge but the pay is well worth it if you do your job and work hard. It is competitive and employees have to work for their sales but the environment is great and management is typically well trained.
Pros
Pay and work environment
Cons
Can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Manager
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Valdosta, GANovember 1, 2017
Great environment to work all round. Great leadership, work life balance, flexible working hours, great staff compensation and discounts. Training is second to none.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company going through a lot of changes
Associate (Current Employee) –  Florida State, FLNovember 1, 2017
There is a level of uncertainty right now with Vitamin World due to their bankruptcy and closing of so many stores. As an associate with them,there is little to no hope for growth, advancement or raises.
Pros
Product discounts
Cons
Low pay, little growth or advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Pismo Beach, CAOctober 30, 2017
Its fine. the customers are great but the company is not. the sales are all over the place and their prices are barley competitive. there is no higher management support. the work is easy but stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn about vitamins
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  FloridaOctober 26, 2017
As a college student, this was my first job. It helped me learn about nutrition, health, and supplements. Managers supplied research and information in order to better assist customers with questions.
Pros
discounts
Cons
variable commision pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate maager
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Taunton, MAOctober 26, 2017
Was a liar. he no longer works for the company
it was a very educational job
me and mt store manager were very close and we got along well and learned a lot from each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very enthusiastic and competitive work place
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Bayamón, PROctober 22, 2017
Prepare all the requirements to open to the public it's just manageable. Every day the workplace was just excellent to be at. The Company facilitate every step of your management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport