Find companies:
Vitamin World
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
93 reviews

Vitamin World Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work/life relationship
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee), Boardman, OHJune 20, 2013
Excellent place to work where you can help people as well as yourself get healthy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), East Meadow, NYJune 15, 2013
Pros: -75% discount on vitamin world products, lots of down time
Cons: -awful management, no advertising, unnecessary sales protocol, pushy "car-salesman" attitude towards customers
They gave you a long list of things to do with each customer and called it the "Vitamin World Commitment". It's essentially a laundry list of unnecessary things to do, to scrape every penny from the customer. You are working exceptionally hard to earn a great sale, then some customer comes in with a $2.99 coupon for Calcium. Then the company blames – more... the employees for low sales numbers, when in reality, it's the company's fault for giving out an abundance of coupons. They also do not advertise and expect customers to come flocking in due to annoying email spam. The management needs to get their act together. Natures Bounty excels at manufacturing but after that, it's all downhill. Awful, inconsiderate management and they do not understand how their employees feel. There's also very little room for advancement, unless you somehow manage to get your store manager fired, then you get to sit in their awful shoes. No raises unless your store manages to hit the ridiculous sales goals that corporate sets for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good part-time job that gave me experience with customers and health supplements.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 29, 2013
The staff were enjoyable to be around and the facility was well kept. I learned a lot about the items I was selling and about health overall. I learned various skills and learned to work well with others in the work setting. I enjoyed assisting customers with their needs and building relationships with my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment always had something to do.
UPS Picker/Packer (Former Employee), Sparks, NVMay 23, 2013
Run the Line pick and pack parcels send them out via world ship or UPS. Often times UPS would be all caught up so we would help send out bulk orders on pallets or we would wrap pallets and load them on the trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company with High Employee Value
First Assistant (Current Employee), West Babylon, NYMay 4, 2013
Pros: benefits, commision, excellent training
Cons: lower base pay
Vitamin World, owned by NBTY, Inc. values its employees and ensures proper training in order to allow each associate to perform to the best of their ability. Advancement within the company can sometimes hit a stalemate due to technological inefficiency and a complex system of employee data management. On a retail level, base pay could be a little higher, – more... as it is not a salaried position, even on an assistant manager level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work environment that thrives on passion
Assistant manager (Current Employee), Tucson, AZApril 27, 2013
Pros: works well with my life style and future goals
Cons: not nearly enough hours
My job at vitamin world was at the perfect time with the perfect people. I enjoy everyday going to work and look forward to clocking in. my co workers share similar outlook as i do so it makes conversations easy to have. My manager is a cool guy hes really laid back but strict when necessary which is good for me since i'm very goal orientated and don't – more... need to be reminded of our mission or goal. There really is no "hard part" to my job so i cant complain it gets monotonousness but only on slow days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Store Manager (Current Employee), IllinoisApril 22, 2013
Pros: commission, discount
Cons: commission, robot-like scripts, not much of moral boosting upper management
Like many retail places, there's barely any room for advancement. A lot is required of you, but overall its an easy job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store level good, above store thumbs down
2nd Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Grove City, PAApril 7, 2013
Pros: great employee discount
Cons: bad hours, little to no chance of advancement
The store level of the company is pretty good. All the associates are really nice and friendly and the store managers are usually pretty great too. Above the store level is where it gets frustrating, the corporate office constantly has us change around the store often making things worse. The DMs are jerks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Manager/Store Manager (Current Employee), Hicksville, NYApril 2, 2013
Decent company to work for. Upper management needs improvement. Company as a whole is making strides to expand its' brand name.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work environment.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Scranton, PAMarch 25, 2013
Pros: manager instilled product knowledge into everyone.
Cons: their were none. this was my favorite job.
Paperwork, cleaning, shipment processing, sales, customer service.
Learned product knowledge on supplements from free health book which my manager bought for me.
My manager, myself, and our team moved our store into the top 5% of the company issuing our V.P. of the company to pay our store a visit, which used some of our work and sale methods to be – more... implemented company wide.
Hardest part of the job was leaving for a higher paying job.
Most enjoyable was working with the entire staff and helping our customer base with their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
1st Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMarch 25, 2013
Pros: knowledge of supplements
Cons: no regular, continous stability in schedule (not for all)
Days are long. Learning about the benefits of the different supplements and herbals are some of the best knowledge out there especially if you are able to help those that are not able to use perscriptions. The hardest part of the job is not having enough bodies during the busy time and not having the support for training of operations. The most enjoyable – more... part about the job is being able to HELP the customers. The love that is shared of the job and with the customers makes them come back looking for you and gives you the comfort of knowing that you made a difference. When making there visit feel comfortable and enjoyable is always the goal with the knowledge they need to continue with there regerments. Always remember each customer is different and to explain the supplements to them it what they want and need.

I LOVE VITAMIN WORLD AND WHAT IT STANDS FOR. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
$$ Corporate Cow $$
Asst. Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaMarch 9, 2013
Pros: healthcare benefits
Cons: low wages, high pressure sales
NBTY was recently ordered by the court as a result of a whistleblower investigation to compensate its employees for meal/break violations; that is to say, district and regional management routinely forced staff to override time to eliminate overtime and did not allow timely breaks ( to appear more profitable.) No problem for NBTY, as they simply reduced – more... commission a full 1% to pay for all those court-ordered checks NBTY forced to pay out for violations. (My check was over $1200 and I only worked there 2 years at time of payout...that's how gross court found violations to be.) Low wages-made about 35K/year as store manager; compare to Hollister at 70K/year. Great benefits. High pressure sales job for comparatively little pay. Profits before people culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, great Part-Time work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lebanon, TNFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: supplement discount, flexible, good work environment
Cons: sometimes micro-manage. get good products last after gnc, vitamin shoppe, etc. put too much emphasis on "sales numbers"
The only learning curve is learning about each product, this takes some time. You will never learn everything about each product.

Co-Workers, Mgr was cool to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: i love nutrition and sales
Cons: pour management
I was offered a job in management and decided it was a great leap. Almost 3 months into the job was bullied and was told " to look for a new job because the new manager was going to give someone else my job. Currently being investigated by HR and no longer employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great introductory job for sales experience.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLJanuary 3, 2013
Decent balance of pay based on performace. Had a store manager that sincerely cared about my well-being and my personal development. Really enjoyed being able to provide natural health benefits to people but became more and more difficult when legislation made the promotion of some really great products very difficult. Typical day of work mostly revolved – more... around greeting customers and interpreting their needs and then trying to find the best solution to their needs. Some stocking/cleaning involved as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good workplace with great customer service.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Silverdale, WADecember 28, 2012
Everyone is really friendly, with excellent customer service and great product knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CADecember 13, 2012
Pros: commission, employee discount
Cons: low pay, can get boring
Overall, a very fun place to work if you are interested in nutritional supplements and sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work if you want to succeed.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Two different StatesDecember 9, 2012
Pros: commission nurtitional supplements
Cons: excessive daily record keeping
The store manager's position allows you the independence to grow your business. If your figures are not suitable, there could be consequences. Those stores that are shopped are frequently accurate...however, there is always that one shopper that can make a huge blunder. Be prepared to defend your store with evidence. Excessive daily record keeping required – more... by a District Mgr. can take time away from the importance of working with customers. The bottom line in retail are always your figures...customers are so important. Time needs to be spent to make certain inventory is accurate and up to date...inventory is so important. Have eyes in back of your head and watch for theft, both internal and external.Study your product information....and "always" support it with references or personal/professional experience when talking with a customer. Call "product information," if in doubt. You can't know everything because research changes frequently, but know where to find information..books, computer, etc. If you are good at your job, doctors will refer their patients and help you build your business. Keep your stores very clean which includes the air one breathes (fumes,smoking!!!). You are dealing often with sick people (cancer, infections, allergies, etc). Choose a store location that guarantees that cleanliness.Be active in the community and with your other stores. Build a good relationship with your District Manager. Hire a great staff, they will present Vitamin World and you in the proper way. Allow your staff to take turns on the selling floor, otherwise they jump from one customer to another in a mad rush and the customers, store, and company lose in the end. My Best to All From a # 1 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job. Learned something each day about vitamins and other health products.
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee), Escondido, CADecember 5, 2012
Pros: the education one gets from learning about the products. talking with people.
I managed the store which required me to create the weekly schedules, hire and train. I greeted customers and answered their questions and sold them the products. I took in inventory, stocked shelves, dusted and organized products, placed orders for new inventory, opened and closed the register, and made bank deposits. The employees were friendly and – more... we were a good team. Sometimes I was unaware of a customers question but we had reference books and computer to help find answers. It was fun to learn more and more while on the job. I also enjoy interacting with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh. min wage job with little perk
2nd assistant/key holder (Current Employee), ILNovember 27, 2012
Pros: great people, discount, & small insensitives
Cons: very low sales paying job.
Never really the same everyday. I learned a lot. Can be extremely boring with no one to talk to no where to sit nothing to really read (always bottles and healthy advice! :) lack of breakes and understanding people do like having them and with not being able to listen to music it can be physically and mentally draining some days. But a few guests can – more... change that in a second. – less

About Vitamin World

In our fast-paced world, it's important to remember to take your vitamins. A subsidiary of NBTY, Vitamin World operates more than – Read more

Vitamin World Photos