Find companies:
Vitamin World
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
102 reviews

Vitamin World Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vitamin and supplement retailer
Store Manager (Former Employee), Manchester, NHOctober 17, 2013
Pros: managers were given a nice compensation pkg based on effort and results attained.
Cons: keeping the store staffed with enthusiastic and honest persons.
Began career as Asst. Store Mgr, and promoted to own store.
Reviewed and logged daily activities for store; interviewed, hired and developed staff; consulted with and helped customers take control of their health with appropriate information and supplements. Really built a great customer base with personalized service. Order and receive shipments; control – more... inventory with minimal shrinkage in a mall setting. Kept current with educational materials for industry as a whole. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of downtime, commissioned sales structure, pressures retail sales
Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia PASeptember 15, 2013
Pros: paid holidays, commissioned sales
Cons: low base hourly wage, being a low grade salesman, corporate sales environment
Following corporate selling guidelines. Up-selling. Offering a "program". Bonuses exist but are nearly unobtainable. Retail hours. Cutthroat management. Sales environment creates tension with your co workers. Best part f the job is lack of supervision and helping people with medical conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Assistant Manager, full-time (Former Employee), queens, nySeptember 4, 2013
Pros: education in nutrition
Cons: boring job
Learned a lot about nutrition and fitness. Job was simple and easy to maintain. Managers are friendly and staff is overly pleasurable to work with. Commission offered on all sales. Would love to work here again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low to mid range paying job for Store Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee), Bridgewater NJAugust 19, 2013
Pros: little to no effort, easy store to upkeep
Cons: small staff 3-4 people
Not great pay but a VERY EASY JOB. You are left to run your store and as long as you have no issues the District Manager leaves you to it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Smithfield, NCAugust 18, 2013
Good place to work as a Student. Learned alot about working in retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and knowledgeable
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Springfield, OHJuly 31, 2013
Open the store on time at 10:00 am , work on markdowns for sales. Make sure store appearance is great. The hardest part of the job is always working the weekends. The most enjoyable part is meeting new people every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee), Davenport, IAJuly 20, 2013
Good overall but not high paying.commission based. plus minimum
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy and Healthy Workplace
Assistant Manager / Nutritional Advisor (Current Employee), Marlborough, MAJune 28, 2013
Pros: great employee benefits, flexible scheduling
Cons: difficult to take breaks during shifts, no advancement opportunities
Through my six years I have been able to continue my learning outside of the classroom and in the workplace. What I have learned was more than just management skills but how to live a healthy and meaningful life. When working with customers I was not just a clerk but instead a listener and then a problem solver. I would work on finding my "clients" – more... what it was that would help with their needs and looking forward to the next time they came in with news of great results and continued customer satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing, hands on environment.
Sales Rep/ Second Assistant (Former Employee), Camarillo, CAJune 27, 2013
Pros: commission
Cons: script
Everyone is required to stock, clean, straighten and pitch merchandise to customers. Worst part is following a script for every customer that enters the store. This is a mandatory thing and is heavily stressed. Other than that its a great place to work. You do get paid hourly plus commission so thats a plus. Not to mention all the supplement knowledge – more... you will acquire. I would definitely recommend working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work/life relationship
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee), Boardman, OHJune 20, 2013
Excellent place to work where you can help people as well as yourself get healthy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), East Meadow, NYJune 15, 2013
Pros: -75% discount on vitamin world products, lots of down time
Cons: -awful management, no advertising, unnecessary sales protocol, pushy "car-salesman" attitude towards customers
They gave you a long list of things to do with each customer and called it the "Vitamin World Commitment". It's essentially a laundry list of unnecessary things to do, to scrape every penny from the customer. You are working exceptionally hard to earn a great sale, then some customer comes in with a $2.99 coupon for Calcium. Then the company blames – more... the employees for low sales numbers, when in reality, it's the company's fault for giving out an abundance of coupons. They also do not advertise and expect customers to come flocking in due to annoying email spam. The management needs to get their act together. Natures Bounty excels at manufacturing but after that, it's all downhill. Awful, inconsiderate management and they do not understand how their employees feel. There's also very little room for advancement, unless you somehow manage to get your store manager fired, then you get to sit in their awful shoes. No raises unless your store manages to hit the ridiculous sales goals that corporate sets for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good part-time job that gave me experience with customers and health supplements.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 29, 2013
The staff were enjoyable to be around and the facility was well kept. I learned a lot about the items I was selling and about health overall. I learned various skills and learned to work well with others in the work setting. I enjoyed assisting customers with their needs and building relationships with my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment always had something to do.
UPS Picker/Packer (Former Employee), Sparks, NVMay 23, 2013
Run the Line pick and pack parcels send them out via world ship or UPS. Often times UPS would be all caught up so we would help send out bulk orders on pallets or we would wrap pallets and load them on the trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company with High Employee Value
First Assistant (Current Employee), West Babylon, NYMay 4, 2013
Pros: benefits, commision, excellent training
Cons: lower base pay
Vitamin World, owned by NBTY, Inc. values its employees and ensures proper training in order to allow each associate to perform to the best of their ability. Advancement within the company can sometimes hit a stalemate due to technological inefficiency and a complex system of employee data management. On a retail level, base pay could be a little higher, – more... as it is not a salaried position, even on an assistant manager level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work environment that thrives on passion
Assistant manager (Current Employee), Tucson, AZApril 27, 2013
Pros: works well with my life style and future goals
Cons: not nearly enough hours
My job at vitamin world was at the perfect time with the perfect people. I enjoy everyday going to work and look forward to clocking in. my co workers share similar outlook as i do so it makes conversations easy to have. My manager is a cool guy hes really laid back but strict when necessary which is good for me since i'm very goal orientated and don't – more... need to be reminded of our mission or goal. There really is no "hard part" to my job so i cant complain it gets monotonousness but only on slow days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Store Manager (Current Employee), IllinoisApril 22, 2013
Pros: commission, discount
Cons: commission, robot-like scripts, not much of moral boosting upper management
Like many retail places, there's barely any room for advancement. A lot is required of you, but overall its an easy job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store level good, above store thumbs down
2nd Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Grove City, PAApril 7, 2013
Pros: great employee discount
Cons: bad hours, little to no chance of advancement
The store level of the company is pretty good. All the associates are really nice and friendly and the store managers are usually pretty great too. Above the store level is where it gets frustrating, the corporate office constantly has us change around the store often making things worse. The DMs are jerks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Manager/Store Manager (Current Employee), Hicksville, NYApril 2, 2013
Decent company to work for. Upper management needs improvement. Company as a whole is making strides to expand its' brand name.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work environment.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Scranton, PAMarch 25, 2013
Pros: manager instilled product knowledge into everyone.
Cons: their were none. this was my favorite job.
Paperwork, cleaning, shipment processing, sales, customer service.
Learned product knowledge on supplements from free health book which my manager bought for me.
My manager, myself, and our team moved our store into the top 5% of the company issuing our V.P. of the company to pay our store a visit, which used some of our work and sale methods to be – more... implemented company wide.
Hardest part of the job was leaving for a higher paying job.
Most enjoyable was working with the entire staff and helping our customer base with their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
1st Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMarch 25, 2013
Pros: knowledge of supplements
Cons: no regular, continous stability in schedule (not for all)
Days are long. Learning about the benefits of the different supplements and herbals are some of the best knowledge out there especially if you are able to help those that are not able to use perscriptions. The hardest part of the job is not having enough bodies during the busy time and not having the support for training of operations. The most enjoyable – more... part about the job is being able to HELP the customers. The love that is shared of the job and with the customers makes them come back looking for you and gives you the comfort of knowing that you made a difference. When making there visit feel comfortable and enjoyable is always the goal with the knowledge they need to continue with there regerments. Always remember each customer is different and to explain the supplements to them it what they want and need.

I LOVE VITAMIN WORLD AND WHAT IT STANDS FOR. – less

About Vitamin World

In our fast-paced world, it's important to remember to take your vitamins. A subsidiary of NBTY, Vitamin World operates more than – Read more

Vitamin World Photos