Find companies:
Vitas Innovative Hospice Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
150 reviews

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To Large to provide Compassion for Hospice Patients
Volunteer (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: nurses who still live by the mission values of caring
In last 6 years there has been a culture change after the purchase of the company from it's creators. The mission values have been compromised and have lost the passion as in the past. Were the urgency was always the patient. The drive to be the biggest and the largest has deterred the compassion for staff and patients. Marketing and technology has – more... replaced the gift of providing hospice service in passing with dignity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides excellent end of life care
Patient Care Administrator 2012-Present (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 18, 2014
Very cohesive management team with excellent professional and clinical skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Patient care
Patient Care Secretary (Former Employee), Norht Miami, FLJanuary 15, 2014
Family and patient interaction and, great and amicable place to work, dedication and care for those living their last days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the Vitas mission but they were unable to cooperate with me when my commute became a problem for us.
RN Admissions Liaison (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 29, 2013
Cons: when vitas required that i begin to do admissions throughout dc versus being stationary at whc, i had to leave the job that i enjoyed.
I loved the team effort that my job entailed that included educating people about the benefits of hospice and then following through with the provision of great hospice care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great co-workers
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 17, 2013
I have learned a lot about hospice care and what a help it serves for patients and families. I have also gained several new job skills and enhanced those I already possess.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company but some internal issues
Physician/Hospital Sales Representative (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLNovember 17, 2013
Pros: good pay/hours
Cons: poor service and follow-up
Generally a good company to work for. Fair pay and reasonable hours. Benefits good. Major problems were due to service failures. Reputation county-wide for these challenges so difficult to enlist physician usage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee), San Diego, CANovember 9, 2013
Cons: limited opportunities for advancement.
Fast paced environment requiring ability to provide great deal of compassion and support to patients and families dealing with terminal illness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but yet Rewarding
Staff (Former Employee), Milptas, CaliforniaNovember 8, 2013
Pros: rewarding satisfaction in helping others.
Cons: very high expectation & overworked
A typical day will start the minute you walk through that door where there is no room for error. Reports are sent the first 15 minutes to your manager. I learned from management that your performance and time is very critical. You must be extra careful in what you say and how you do things. Never assume. I worked great with my fellow co-workers. I wouldn't – more... say there was a hard part but a challenging one by far. The downfall was decompressing after a kaotic day of phone calls and reports. The most enjoyable part is knowing and helped make a difference in their lives and made things easier to adapt to the difficult situation these families have to face with their love ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Registered Nurse /charge nurse Telecare Triage (Current Employee), Tinley Park, ILNovember 7, 2013
Vitas is a great company, I've learned to really fine tune my triaging skills while at Vitas. I've also expanded my skills by taking on the role of charge nurse. Management has always had an open door policy when you have concerns or questions, which I really appreciate. The hardest part is not being physically with the patients to try to soothe their – more... pain or comfort the caregiver. I do so triaging and talking with them, but it's not the same. Most enjoyable is when you can make some sort of difference, whether it's getting pain medication changed to help relieve their pain, or bring some comfort to a caregiver by encouraging them, and letting them know they are doing a great job caring for their loved ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New start hospice program
Patient Care Administrator (Former Employee), Greenwood, INNovember 5, 2013
Pros: professional growth
Cons: work 80%/life 20% balance
Hard work but worth it.
Learned how to start a business from ground zero to staffing, patients and licensure.
Hardest part of the job was after hours on call and then working the next day as well.
Providing hospice care to patients and families was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee), Lancaster, CANovember 4, 2013
Pros: free snack
Cons: n/a
typical day at work... productive and focus
what I learned... I learned how to enter data and documents
management... cool
my co-workers... chilled
the hardest part of my job... having to leave it due to school
the most enjoyable part of my job... going to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring and great team!
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Greenville, TXOctober 30, 2013
Vitas is awesome! Everyone is so nice and they are a great team and they always go up and beyond with every thing they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced work place with good team work.
Patient Care Secretary (Current Employee), Covina, CAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: helping others, fast paced makes day fly by.
Cons: stressful
A very fast paced heavy work load environment. I really enjoy working with the group of secretaries who understand and help as needed. The hardest part of the job would be relating with patients and families and the grieving they go through. Although it is difficult it is is also rewarding to know you where able to help them during their darkest hours. – more... I have learned to have more compassion, to be passionate about life and to fully place yourself in others shoes to better understand their situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passion for this job passion
Registered Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Fremont, CAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: passion can't say enough how much i adore this job.
Cons: loosing young patients or getting attached to patients
I adore this job it was the best job the most rewarding, I miss it so, so much. However it was very hard devastating to see young people die.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment sets you up to fail.
Secretary (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: pto time if they allow you to use it
Cons: poor management
If you are not apart of the click, management doesn't care about you. They put you down in front of fellow employees. Work extra hrs and do not get paid for them. Do not give proper training for the job you are performing. Do not care about the patients only about the money they are making.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has a good mission statement
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Newark, NJSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: flexibility at times.
Cons: erratic schedule
Overall the company has a very good concept. It would carry it out more effectively with the right management. Dealing with death on a regular basis can be very draining. It is rewarding to know that you have helped the patients and families through a most trying time for anyone involved. I have learned to remain in control at a very trying time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible and family oriented
Staffing Coordinator/Customer Service (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: benefits
A typical day at work required lots of multi-tasking, hard work and patience. You may are required to speak to nurses to assign them to patients and sometimes to assist in their schedules. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people, it feels like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, they don't care about the staff or patients
Nurse (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: the patients--taking care of them
Cons: awful mileage pay, no cell phone, poor, cruel management, high turnover, awful benefits, very low pay rate, no pay raises
The general manager yells at staff, is a blow hard, with an enormous ego, and she has no nursing background. She puts social workers in team management roles, which offends the licensed staff. The GM hires employees who are related to one another which irritates the staff. For instance the PCA's daughter is an MSW--employed as a team manager---upsets – more... the staff because the PCA is in charge of her own daughter. The management are very cliquey. We were not allowed to request changes in assignments or call the scheduler. Every petty patient complaint is addressed and nurses are written up.The pool/on call manager is passive-aggressive and punitive; likes to bait the nurses. Yet, she has not done any employee reviews in over a year.The business manager dresses like a street-walker. If you write a complaint about a physician not calling back the general manager threatens you. I was terminated without cause. The benefits, except for pto are awful. Pay is dismal, wage increase freeze. They pay far less than other hospices for triple the work. They give you no cell phone and mileage reimbursement is terrible. High turnover. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Careing People
Patient Care Secretary (Current Employee), Glastonbury, CTAugust 27, 2013
Pros: lots of vacation time.
Cons: healthcare benefits greatly reduced.
Work assignments vary daily. Rewards are self realized as you care for others. Always something to learn. Always a new experience. Some long hours, travel long distances between patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Hospice Nurse (Former Employee), daytona beach flAugust 27, 2013
loved my job with hospice. just needed a break and to look for something different

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Photos