Find companies:
Vitas Innovative Hospice Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
155 reviews

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy interacting with patients and families and educating them on disease processes and progression.
Clinical Case Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: 6 weeks pto a year.
Cons: rarely able to enjoy related to low census and pto hours utilized to have full 80 hour check.
I enjoy interacting with patients and families and educating them on disease processes and progression. My typical day consists of assessing patient for appropriateness for hospice diagnosis. During my work experience, I have learned the end stages of life and can explain to families the stages of death when questioned. Being the clinical case manager – more... involved being responsible for all care related to the patient: includes interacting/collaborating with other interdisciplinary team members in order that patient gets the best symptom management possible. The hardest part of my job is discussing with families the signs and symptoms of end of life and they are not able to accept it. This is when I collaborate with social worker and/or chaplain for additional support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vitas employer and employess is greatly care for the pt and great team work between team mates. However, recent change of management changed work env
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Normally, I visited the pt directly to the home or facilities and went to office once a week for team meeting. I learned admission and discharge, team work with interdisciplinary team, prioritizing the case, time management, and customer services. Management were very supportive to the field staff until new management changed. Per company policy, CM's – more... can have 13pt but my pt load went up to the 25pts one time. co-workers are very supportive each other that they can cover other team members pt when they are off from work. The hardest part of job is fighting with times. There are so many things to do but there is not enough time. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping pt and family who are suffering from physical illness and emotional stress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Hospice Aide/ Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 29, 2014
This was a great company to work for. I had no issues. They work well with your schedule. Their door is always open with any concerns you may have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding work place.
Patient Care Secretary (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: the calm that you provide to patient and family
Cons: when someone tells you that they are not ready to go and lose a loved one.
There is nothing easy about working in hospice care. However you do get comfort making those on the program and their families last moments together a little easier to bear. I have learned that nothing is promised and to show love everyday. The team I work with is amazing. We may have our difference but we share one common goal patient and family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vitas is a good company to work for.
Patient Care Secretary (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FLJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: pto and benefit were great
Cons: should pay there employees more
Being a patient care secretary at Vitas was very challenging. You had to learn how to multi-task. There were many duties. My passion was helping patients and families and being resourceful for them. The hardest part was when I lost a patient. Although I know Vitas is end of life care, it still weighed heavy on my heart. I liked my co-workers and can – more... say I got along with everyone – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To Large to provide Compassion for Hospice Patients
Volunteer (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: nurses who still live by the mission values of caring
In last 6 years there has been a culture change after the purchase of the company from it's creators. The mission values have been compromised and have lost the passion as in the past. Were the urgency was always the patient. The drive to be the biggest and the largest has deterred the compassion for staff and patients. Marketing and technology has – more... replaced the gift of providing hospice service in passing with dignity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides excellent end of life care
Patient Care Administrator 2012-Present (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 18, 2014
Very cohesive management team with excellent professional and clinical skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Patient care
Patient Care Secretary (Former Employee), Norht Miami, FLJanuary 15, 2014
Family and patient interaction and, great and amicable place to work, dedication and care for those living their last days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the Vitas mission but they were unable to cooperate with me when my commute became a problem for us.
RN Admissions Liaison (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 29, 2013
Cons: when vitas required that i begin to do admissions throughout dc versus being stationary at whc, i had to leave the job that i enjoyed.
I loved the team effort that my job entailed that included educating people about the benefits of hospice and then following through with the provision of great hospice care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great co-workers
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 17, 2013
I have learned a lot about hospice care and what a help it serves for patients and families. I have also gained several new job skills and enhanced those I already possess.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company but some internal issues
Physician/Hospital Sales Representative (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLNovember 17, 2013
Pros: good pay/hours
Cons: poor service and follow-up
Generally a good company to work for. Fair pay and reasonable hours. Benefits good. Major problems were due to service failures. Reputation county-wide for these challenges so difficult to enlist physician usage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee), San Diego, CANovember 9, 2013
Cons: limited opportunities for advancement.
Fast paced environment requiring ability to provide great deal of compassion and support to patients and families dealing with terminal illness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but yet Rewarding
Staff (Former Employee), Milptas, CaliforniaNovember 8, 2013
Pros: rewarding satisfaction in helping others.
Cons: very high expectation & overworked
A typical day will start the minute you walk through that door where there is no room for error. Reports are sent the first 15 minutes to your manager. I learned from management that your performance and time is very critical. You must be extra careful in what you say and how you do things. Never assume. I worked great with my fellow co-workers. I wouldn't – more... say there was a hard part but a challenging one by far. The downfall was decompressing after a kaotic day of phone calls and reports. The most enjoyable part is knowing and helped make a difference in their lives and made things easier to adapt to the difficult situation these families have to face with their love ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Registered Nurse /charge nurse Telecare Triage (Current Employee), Tinley Park, ILNovember 7, 2013
Vitas is a great company, I've learned to really fine tune my triaging skills while at Vitas. I've also expanded my skills by taking on the role of charge nurse. Management has always had an open door policy when you have concerns or questions, which I really appreciate. The hardest part is not being physically with the patients to try to soothe their – more... pain or comfort the caregiver. I do so triaging and talking with them, but it's not the same. Most enjoyable is when you can make some sort of difference, whether it's getting pain medication changed to help relieve their pain, or bring some comfort to a caregiver by encouraging them, and letting them know they are doing a great job caring for their loved ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New start hospice program
Patient Care Administrator (Former Employee), Greenwood, INNovember 5, 2013
Pros: professional growth
Cons: work 80%/life 20% balance
Hard work but worth it.
Learned how to start a business from ground zero to staffing, patients and licensure.
Hardest part of the job was after hours on call and then working the next day as well.
Providing hospice care to patients and families was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee), Lancaster, CANovember 4, 2013
Pros: free snack
Cons: n/a
typical day at work... productive and focus
what I learned... I learned how to enter data and documents
management... cool
my co-workers... chilled
the hardest part of my job... having to leave it due to school
the most enjoyable part of my job... going to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring and great team!
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Greenville, TXOctober 30, 2013
Vitas is awesome! Everyone is so nice and they are a great team and they always go up and beyond with every thing they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced work place with good team work.
Patient Care Secretary (Current Employee), Covina, CAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: helping others, fast paced makes day fly by.
Cons: stressful
A very fast paced heavy work load environment. I really enjoy working with the group of secretaries who understand and help as needed. The hardest part of the job would be relating with patients and families and the grieving they go through. Although it is difficult it is is also rewarding to know you where able to help them during their darkest hours. – more... I have learned to have more compassion, to be passionate about life and to fully place yourself in others shoes to better understand their situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passion for this job passion
Registered Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Fremont, CAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: passion can't say enough how much i adore this job.
Cons: loosing young patients or getting attached to patients
I adore this job it was the best job the most rewarding, I miss it so, so much. However it was very hard devastating to see young people die.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment sets you up to fail.
Secretary (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: pto time if they allow you to use it
Cons: poor management
If you are not apart of the click, management doesn't care about you. They put you down in front of fellow employees. Work extra hrs and do not get paid for them. Do not give proper training for the job you are performing. Do not care about the patients only about the money they are making.

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Photos