Find companies:
Vitas Innovative Hospice Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
176 reviews

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
RN Hospice Case Manager (Former Employee), Tinley Park, ILJune 4, 2014
Enjoyable place to work, great upper management, Loved working for Vitas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping patients at the end of life was the most rewarding part of my job.
Hospice Nurse (Former Employee), San Antonio TexasMay 30, 2014
Helping patients at the end of life was the most rewarding part of my job,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day
Certified Nursing Assistant/ Home Health Aide (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 26, 2014
I enjoy my job alot, I like the feeling of someone needing your help and look forward to seeing you daily. Working with the company you feel appreciated for the work that you do on a daily basis,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Work schedule
Certified nursing assistant (Former Employee), AtlantaMay 22, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: employees are not always looked out for
Sometimes I made my own hours in the beginning and the patient load isn't always too bad. It was a great experience learning about the ins and outs of hospice and the process. It was great meeting different families and cultures and touching their lives in a good way. The hardest part would be getting attached to a patient who would pass away and sometimes – more... I would get patients that would require a lot of labor. The most enjoyable part would be making the patients and their families smile because of the care they received. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible with work hours
PCS (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 19, 2014
Pros: good for people who decide to go back to school
Cons: no room for advancement
Vitas works with school hours. Vitas does allow you to make your own hours if you're per diem. But there is really no room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Telephone Triage RN (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 12, 2014
Pros: flexible days and shifts
Cons: low wages compared to industry average
I worked for Vitas in the role of Triage nurse for many years. The morale was very low, Micro-management of employees is the norm, raises were frozen, turnover was high, vacation requests were consistently denied. Management lacks trust.
A typical work day is extremely busy and short staffed.
The environment is team oriented as delivery of hospice services – more... requires a team effort to be successful.
The hardest part of the job is the constant review of statistics extolling employees to do more and more, while the company denied pay raises and cut benefits to the bone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to volunteer and work
Administrative Volunteer (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 8, 2014
Everyone always greets you with a smile on their faces. The volunteer coordinator has taught me about patient care files, onboarding potential volunteers, putting together proper notes, packets and other literature. The hardest part of the job is to walk away. Time passes by when you're having fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runner
LPN (Current Employee), FLMay 2, 2014
Pros: job security
Vita's overall is a great organization to work for I currently work as a pool nurse hoping for a full-time position soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Continuous Care LPN (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIApril 30, 2014
Pros: never feel so fullfilled as a nurse that you are truly helping in time of need
Cons: healthcare
Top notch management team and support team who truly care about the patients they serve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great job...
Representative (Former Employee), Southfield, MIApril 27, 2014
Pros: best service for patients
Cons: the working environment
Well, where to begin. I cant rate management well because there is a new one every 6 months. For being a national medical employer, the benefits are the worst. They cycle through reps like changing underwear so there is rarely any customer relationships built. The program has so much to offer- but no one can get it moving in the right direction. However, – more... the job is rewarding. The work is tough, no one wants to talk about dying, but in all fairness- Vitas does it the best. They have the best service out there- and do things that no other hospice can or will do. I was proud of that fact and could keep my head held high for that reason. For the actual working environment- I've never seen anything like it. Unexplainable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support from office staff is very poor
LPN (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAApril 22, 2014
Pros: somewhat flexible scheduling
Cons: poor staff support, unreliable schedule, expensive health insurance with high deductible
I enjoy taking care of my patients although my shifts are quite long. 7pm to 8am 3 days a week. Hours are not reliable because if the caseload is low you get called off. When first hired I was told this doesn't occur often but I get called off quite frequently which puts a strain on me financially. My coworkers are wonderful but the office staff are – more... not very friendly, helpful or supportive of their nurses. I don't think they realize what we deal with while working and taking care of our terminally ill patients. There is poor training, poor staff development and never raises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and enjoyable company to work for
Continuous Care Coordinator (Current Employee), Newark, DEApril 19, 2014
The day begins with e-mail and voice mail. Scheduling nursing staff to cover patients. I have learned the only constant is change. The management is easy to work for and quite approachable. The most difficult part of my job is running out of staff to cover the patients. Somehow, though, we get our patients taken care of! The most enjoyable part of my – more... job is the reward of knowing I helped patients and families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I take great pleasure and helping and assisting others.
Continuous Care Aide (Current Employee), Lombard, IllinoisApril 13, 2014
Pros: gaining knowledge
Cons: limiting yourself and not trying.
One of the most rewarding and hardest things to learn is take self out and serve others who are in need! I love a challenge and look forward to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever Changing
Team Manager (Current Employee), Wauwatosa, WiApril 5, 2014
Pros: alot of good experience
The days starts with staffing with the other managers. Many hours are filled with staff compliance, documentation review, and patient calls. I complete multiple audits per month, and joint visits with my staff. I do some patient care, but mostly is management at this point. I am responsible for staffing my team, billing, and payroll. This position has – more... given me some great experiences in developing my management skills. I enjoy the activity, and of course the patients – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Administrative Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 3, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Develop and maintain detailed administrative and procedural processes that reduce redundancy, improve accuracy, insure efficiency and achieve organizational objectives.
Design and coordinate vital competitive analysis reports to assist in facilitation and implementation of company marketing strategies.
Provide support to high-level executives by identifying – more... problematic situations and using problem-solving methods to resolve complex issues in initial stages – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
used to be a beautiful company...
LPN (Current Employee), boynton beach,March 27, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling if pool
Cons: harsh environments and patients non hospice criteria
Majority Patients are not Hospice criteria. Favoritism with staffing/scheduling. Pool able to choose shifts if available. Environments crazy at times for 12hour shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that stands by it values
Admissions Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLMarch 26, 2014
Pros: job satisfaction
Cons: nothing to report
Vitas is a hospice provider that does put the patients and families first. Everyday I lead a team of 45 nurses that go out in the community and meet with patients and families, doctors, case-mangers providing education and guidance. My team provides customer service with excellence, making us the hospice provider of choice in our community. This is – more... a fast paced, referral based business, were only the best succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is very inconsistent
Hospice Nurse (Current Employee), Hartford, CTMarch 12, 2014
I have been employed almost a year now. This job is for the older nurses who does not mind sitting around for 12 hour shift. The management can be very rude and the work is inconsistent and unreasonable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Continuous Care Nurse (Current Employee), Miami, FlMarch 11, 2014
Pros: millage reinbursment, long shifts.
Cons: no cons.
VITAS is a great company to work for. There is job stability and the people that work there are very nice and friendly.

The hardest part of this job is being able to offer the best care possible and not be affected by the seriousness and degree of illness of most hospice patients.

To do this job well requires great personal and communication skills – more... to be able to relate efficiently with families and other health care providers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress
LICENSED VOCATIONAL NURSE (Former Employee), Covina, CAMarch 2, 2014
Pros: enable me to improve my nursing skills
Worked 1 2 AM to 8 AM, on call dealing with emergencies related to patients with respiratory, psycho-social, gastrointestinal and cancer, and was responsible for resolving the crisis by performing any required interventions and reporting to on call service, and team manager on the outcome, often having to call Physicians to get new treatment orders – more... and implementing and documenting new orders as well as updating the plan of care, via computer system. – less