Find companies:
Vitas Innovative Hospice Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
155 reviews

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has a good mission statement
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Newark, NJSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: flexibility at times.
Cons: erratic schedule
Overall the company has a very good concept. It would carry it out more effectively with the right management. Dealing with death on a regular basis can be very draining. It is rewarding to know that you have helped the patients and families through a most trying time for anyone involved. I have learned to remain in control at a very trying time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible and family oriented
Staffing Coordinator/Customer Service (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: benefits
A typical day at work required lots of multi-tasking, hard work and patience. You may are required to speak to nurses to assign them to patients and sometimes to assist in their schedules. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people, it feels like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, they don't care about the staff or patients
Nurse (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: the patients--taking care of them
Cons: awful mileage pay, no cell phone, poor, cruel management, high turnover, awful benefits, very low pay rate, no pay raises
The general manager yells at staff, is a blow hard, with an enormous ego, and she has no nursing background. She puts social workers in team management roles, which offends the licensed staff. The GM hires employees who are related to one another which irritates the staff. For instance the PCA's daughter is an MSW--employed as a team manager---upsets – more... the staff because the PCA is in charge of her own daughter. The management are very cliquey. We were not allowed to request changes in assignments or call the scheduler. Every petty patient complaint is addressed and nurses are written up.The pool/on call manager is passive-aggressive and punitive; likes to bait the nurses. Yet, she has not done any employee reviews in over a year.The business manager dresses like a street-walker. If you write a complaint about a physician not calling back the general manager threatens you. I was terminated without cause. The benefits, except for pto are awful. Pay is dismal, wage increase freeze. They pay far less than other hospices for triple the work. They give you no cell phone and mileage reimbursement is terrible. High turnover. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Careing People
Patient Care Secretary (Current Employee), Glastonbury, CTAugust 27, 2013
Pros: lots of vacation time.
Cons: healthcare benefits greatly reduced.
Work assignments vary daily. Rewards are self realized as you care for others. Always something to learn. Always a new experience. Some long hours, travel long distances between patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Hospice Nurse (Former Employee), daytona beach flAugust 27, 2013
loved my job with hospice. just needed a break and to look for something different
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Hospice Aide (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 27, 2013
good place. loving and caring. very helpful for the patient. good hospice aides . quality care from nurse
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Human Resources Assistance (Current Employee), Torrance, CaAugust 20, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: healthcare
Would like to offer my skills to other Company's.
Love to team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Heartfilled... Words can't express the blessing
Receptionist (Current Employee), Wauwatosa, WIAugust 17, 2013
Pros: bring pets to the office, flexibility in scheduling
Cons: my interests for career advancement is in miami, freeze on raises & pay rate
A typical work day is busy phones and incredible patient care. The staff works from their hearts and deepest loving by doing the right thing for patients and families, making miracles happen. VITAS is a very supportive company for patients & families also their staff professionally and personally.

I have learned many things about experiencing death – more... on a medical level, spiritual level and many ways of uplifting, being supportive to those who are bereaved. I feel rewarded to be the support to our clients and staff.

The hardest part truly is saying good-bye when staff moves on to their next journey.

The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I helped our incredible staff help our patients and families, on various levels, whom are going through the most hardest times in their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a compnay that I want to be associated with
RN (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 15, 2013
Pros: patient, families and co-workers
Cons: management, companies overt concern for profits
Not many good things to say about this company. I enjoyed my co-workers we all function as a great team, taking care of each other and our patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company really cared about providing equipment for the terminally ill patients
Medical Equipment Technician (Former Employee), Burbank, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: company always showed their appreciation of our hard work day in and day out
Cons: benefits were excellent
A typical day at work for Vitas was getting my routes for that day, loading the truck with what needs to go out. Driving to destination to deliver, pick up, service and give demonstration to family and patient on the proper use of medical equipment provided. Management was very helpful and understanding. My co-workers were ALL very hard working employees – more... that put in overtime to help the terminally ill patients. The hardest part of the job was getting to know the patients due to numerous deliveries, or service call stops and then finding out they've passed away. The most enjoyable part of the job was delivering, or servicing the medical equipment that the patient truly needed for comfortability or use and showing me that they truly appreciated my services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with patients and patients families.
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 23, 2013
Pros: good benefits.
Cons: lots of documentations.
Working in hospice is hard but very gratifying. I learned a lot working here and managing patient at the bedside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for part time field work as hospice RN.Lots of rehab experience,wound experience and pride myself on actually healing wounds!
Staff RN (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 19, 2013
Working as part of a Team is rewarding.Always enjoyed patient contact and working with CNAs
Enjoyed working with Dr, Chaplain,staff nurses, CNAs etc.

Switched to Pool Team for the partime status.
This was going well for 3 years seeing 3 patients 3 days weekly.

Now there is more demand for me to see 6 patients.All new patients,new locations,new problems.Plus – more... the patients change daily.

I enjoy the work and do more than my share but do not need unnecessary stress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Telecare LPN (Current Employee), Lombard, ILJuly 15, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: micro-management, position hours are structured in a way that limit the work-life balance.
Working here allowed me to advance my skills, this was my first Hospice position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive, educational environment.
Amissions RN (Former Employee), Lombard, ILJuly 12, 2013
Pros: meeting with people to explain a wonderful program and how it could help them.
Cons: the expectation of admitting certain numbers of patients (quotas), whether they were appropriate or not.
As an Admissions Nurse, I interacted with various referral sources from area hospitals and the physicians associated at them. I met with prospective clients, their families and friends, to explain the philosophy of hospice. As a group, we discussed how the program works and whether the client meets the criteris for admission to the program if he/she – more... chose to do so. I arranged followup care at that point and admitted them to the program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided staffing in am and reviewed with other managers each am. Had a lot of support from other managers.
Team Manager (Former Employee), Irvine, CAJuly 8, 2013
Pros: nice area to work close to shopping
Cons: health insurance starts after 90 days, and had lay off due to low census
In am a typical day provide oversight of staffing and work with other managers to review staffing concerns for the day. Review Medicare forms, Review billing statements for authorization. Pleasant co-workers that had longevity in the company. The hardest part of the job was staff getting used to a new Team Manager and adjusting to this company following – more... their own regulations established by Regional company. The enjoyable part of the job was teaching, providing triage assistance to patients and families. Providing assistance regarding clinical matters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, pleasant work environment and wonderful management
Hospice Aide (Current Employee), Shrewsbury, NJJuly 7, 2013
Pros: pleasant work atmosphere, early start times, plenty of overtime
Cons: no breaks, long commute to and from work, different daily work sites, no room for advancement
This is a beautiful company to work for where they value their employees which is evident by their generous PTO and health care plan. The early start times are great and allows for an easy work/life balance. The long commutes can be difficult during the holiday and summer periods but the solid management team makes it worthwhile. Unfortunately, the – more... one draw back is there is no place for advancement and the continually heavy lifting can be physically exhausting. Therefore, I am currently looking to go back to my field of medical transcription. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great patient care, but poor staff management.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 5, 2013
Pros: decent benefits, great hands-on clinical staff
Cons: poor management
VITAS is a company that goes above and beyond in providing patient care. The clinical staff truly cares about their patients, and excels in their hands-on capabilities. Unfortunately, staff are not cared for with the same exuberance. There are so many hidden agendas; communication and support are lacking. Morale is low; staff routinely live with pretenses – more... that are demeaning and insulting. A neutral party needs to evaluate the office and give it a complete overhaul. It can then again be a company people love working for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job very rewarding and fullfilling.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 25, 2013
Pros: team support
Cons: na
Independent care management of Hospice patients and families wholelistic care. Assessment implementing care and needs of home, ALF and Nursing Home pt. Co-workers included other nurses cnas social worker, chapline, managers, working together as a team. Typical day at work included visiting 5-9 pt per day assessing needs, pain issues,giving emotional – more... comfort. The hardest part of the job was letting go of a patient that you have grown to love and care for. The most enriching part of my job was helping familys cope with their dying loved one and helpin my patient die with dignity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering as Assistant
Administrative Volunteer (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAJune 3, 2013
I make telephone calls to patients to access their needs. Organize and file medical records. Mailings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring when it comes to patients and the employees
CNA/HHA (Former Employee), Torrance, CAMay 31, 2013
great job to work at. open yours eyes to all aspects of life. the hardest part of the job is seeing the family lose a loved one

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Photos