Find companies:
Vitas Innovative Hospice Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
149 reviews

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Human Resources Assistance (Current Employee), Torrance, CaAugust 20, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: healthcare
Would like to offer my skills to other Company's.
Love to team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Heartfilled... Words can't express the blessing
Receptionist (Current Employee), Wauwatosa, WIAugust 17, 2013
Pros: bring pets to the office, flexibility in scheduling
Cons: my interests for career advancement is in miami, freeze on raises & pay rate
A typical work day is busy phones and incredible patient care. The staff works from their hearts and deepest loving by doing the right thing for patients and families, making miracles happen. VITAS is a very supportive company for patients & families also their staff professionally and personally.

I have learned many things about experiencing death – more... on a medical level, spiritual level and many ways of uplifting, being supportive to those who are bereaved. I feel rewarded to be the support to our clients and staff.

The hardest part truly is saying good-bye when staff moves on to their next journey.

The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I helped our incredible staff help our patients and families, on various levels, whom are going through the most hardest times in their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a compnay that I want to be associated with
RN (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 15, 2013
Pros: patient, families and co-workers
Cons: management, companies overt concern for profits
Not many good things to say about this company. I enjoyed my co-workers we all function as a great team, taking care of each other and our patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company really cared about providing equipment for the terminally ill patients
Medical Equipment Technician (Former Employee), Burbank, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: company always showed their appreciation of our hard work day in and day out
Cons: benefits were excellent
A typical day at work for Vitas was getting my routes for that day, loading the truck with what needs to go out. Driving to destination to deliver, pick up, service and give demonstration to family and patient on the proper use of medical equipment provided. Management was very helpful and understanding. My co-workers were ALL very hard working employees – more... that put in overtime to help the terminally ill patients. The hardest part of the job was getting to know the patients due to numerous deliveries, or service call stops and then finding out they've passed away. The most enjoyable part of the job was delivering, or servicing the medical equipment that the patient truly needed for comfortability or use and showing me that they truly appreciated my services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with patients and patients families.
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 23, 2013
Pros: good benefits.
Cons: lots of documentations.
Working in hospice is hard but very gratifying. I learned a lot working here and managing patient at the bedside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for part time field work as hospice RN.Lots of rehab experience,wound experience and pride myself on actually healing wounds!
Staff RN (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 19, 2013
Working as part of a Team is rewarding.Always enjoyed patient contact and working with CNAs
Enjoyed working with Dr, Chaplain,staff nurses, CNAs etc.

Switched to Pool Team for the partime status.
This was going well for 3 years seeing 3 patients 3 days weekly.

Now there is more demand for me to see 6 patients.All new patients,new locations,new problems.Plus – more... the patients change daily.

I enjoy the work and do more than my share but do not need unnecessary stress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Telecare LPN (Current Employee), Lombard, ILJuly 15, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: micro-management, position hours are structured in a way that limit the work-life balance.
Working here allowed me to advance my skills, this was my first Hospice position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive, educational environment.
Amissions RN (Former Employee), Lombard, ILJuly 12, 2013
Pros: meeting with people to explain a wonderful program and how it could help them.
Cons: the expectation of admitting certain numbers of patients (quotas), whether they were appropriate or not.
As an Admissions Nurse, I interacted with various referral sources from area hospitals and the physicians associated at them. I met with prospective clients, their families and friends, to explain the philosophy of hospice. As a group, we discussed how the program works and whether the client meets the criteris for admission to the program if he/she – more... chose to do so. I arranged followup care at that point and admitted them to the program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided staffing in am and reviewed with other managers each am. Had a lot of support from other managers.
Team Manager (Former Employee), Irvine, CAJuly 8, 2013
Pros: nice area to work close to shopping
Cons: health insurance starts after 90 days, and had lay off due to low census
In am a typical day provide oversight of staffing and work with other managers to review staffing concerns for the day. Review Medicare forms, Review billing statements for authorization. Pleasant co-workers that had longevity in the company. The hardest part of the job was staff getting used to a new Team Manager and adjusting to this company following – more... their own regulations established by Regional company. The enjoyable part of the job was teaching, providing triage assistance to patients and families. Providing assistance regarding clinical matters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, pleasant work environment and wonderful management
Hospice Aide (Current Employee), Shrewsbury, NJJuly 7, 2013
Pros: pleasant work atmosphere, early start times, plenty of overtime
Cons: no breaks, long commute to and from work, different daily work sites, no room for advancement
This is a beautiful company to work for where they value their employees which is evident by their generous PTO and health care plan. The early start times are great and allows for an easy work/life balance. The long commutes can be difficult during the holiday and summer periods but the solid management team makes it worthwhile. Unfortunately, the – more... one draw back is there is no place for advancement and the continually heavy lifting can be physically exhausting. Therefore, I am currently looking to go back to my field of medical transcription. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great patient care, but poor staff management.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 5, 2013
Pros: decent benefits, great hands-on clinical staff
Cons: poor management
VITAS is a company that goes above and beyond in providing patient care. The clinical staff truly cares about their patients, and excels in their hands-on capabilities. Unfortunately, staff are not cared for with the same exuberance. There are so many hidden agendas; communication and support are lacking. Morale is low; staff routinely live with pretenses – more... that are demeaning and insulting. A neutral party needs to evaluate the office and give it a complete overhaul. It can then again be a company people love working for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job very rewarding and fullfilling.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 25, 2013
Pros: team support
Cons: na
Independent care management of Hospice patients and families wholelistic care. Assessment implementing care and needs of home, ALF and Nursing Home pt. Co-workers included other nurses cnas social worker, chapline, managers, working together as a team. Typical day at work included visiting 5-9 pt per day assessing needs, pain issues,giving emotional – more... comfort. The hardest part of the job was letting go of a patient that you have grown to love and care for. The most enriching part of my job was helping familys cope with their dying loved one and helpin my patient die with dignity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering as Assistant
Administrative Volunteer (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAJune 3, 2013
I make telephone calls to patients to access their needs. Organize and file medical records. Mailings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring when it comes to patients and the employees
CNA/HHA (Former Employee), Torrance, CAMay 31, 2013
great job to work at. open yours eyes to all aspects of life. the hardest part of the job is seeing the family lose a loved one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly & Supportive Staff
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 25, 2013
Pros: 3 days on, 4 days off & benefits
Cons: long hours
Managers work with you regarding schedule changes, PTO, skills training, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospice nurses are angels
Continuous Care nurse (Former Employee), Blue Bell, PAMay 21, 2013
Pros: flexibility, working three nights weekly, one on one care
Cons: scheduling and management
Unfortunately, it is commonly overlooked. Many families are in need of hospice care, respite care, and bereavement. The nurses here are very overworked and unappreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely stressful and fast paced.
Managed Care Coordinator (Current Employee), Miramar, FLMay 20, 2013
Pros: the pay and the pto is good but you have to manage it well.
Cons: 30 minute lunches, no breaks, calls are recorded, have to work holidays.
Call center environment. Constantly on the phone calling out to insurance companies to obtain benefits and authorizations. Mostly women but they hiring more men now to try to balance it out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a challenging workplace
Externship/ Admin Volunteer (Current Employee), Milpitas, CAMay 14, 2013
Everyday you need to work fluently I learned how to communicate with others how to deal with the problems and solve it with the help of my co worker their great ideas and opinions and what i enjoy most is when we met our goals the company recognized it and give us a free lunch and review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Productive, and organized work for staff members
Medical Office Assistant Extern (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAMay 11, 2013
Pros: helpful very informative with information and always in compliance with state and federal guidelines
Worked with various staff members projects included creating patient charts, and organizing doctor's faxes and fax them

I learned that the organization was extremely professional, and everyone supported each other

Most enjoyable part of the job was that I was doing my intern hours for graduation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment to grow
Patient Care Secretary (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FL 34741May 8, 2013
Pros: servicing the patients/family. aquiring new strong skills.
Cons: certain collegues; just too imature/disrespectful.
Great experience working in a hospice environment. Gave me a different perspective on life; what is really important *family, compassion, and helping others to the best of my ability.

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Photos