Find companies:
Vitas Innovative Hospice Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
125 reviews

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader in the Hospice Industry
General Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 29, 2013
Leading and "oldest" hospice in the nation. Tenured leadership at Executive and Upper Mgt levels. High quality, patient care. Very focused as sales organization and labor and productivity.

– May 28, 2013

I am the former GM for this program. I DID NOT write this review.

MBLD – July 13, 2013

How can a General Manager not know? The VITAS program was not the first Hospice in the country. It is not the oldest. The VITAS program was started in Florida as "Hospice Care" by a nurse and a chaplain, and the there were hospices programs already around the country. The Connecticut Hospice in Bradford, CT. is he oldest. The Connecticut Hospice inaugurated hospice care in America in 1974. Since then, it has been the beacon and teacher of the growing hospice movement throughout the nation, and beyond.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible full time position with good benefits
LPN - Hospice care (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLApril 25, 2013
Pros: flexible, patient supporting work, good benefits package
Cons: decreased focus on safe patient care in last 6 mos. since mgmt. change.
Total patient care and support. Strong patient monitoring skills. medication administration via po,sl, im, sc, intradermal. Gtube feeding and stoma care, track care, glucose monitoring and management, wound care, respiratory treatments. Patient advocacy. Caregiver support, Patient and Caregiver education. Team collaboration for optimal care of patient. – more... Improved on strong critical thinking, vent care. Worked well with others. Educating and support of family members r/t terminal illness, palliative care. Supporting patient and family/caregivers with the path of terminal illness and passing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Oppertuinity to grow
CPE Chaplain, Home Team (Current Employee), San Antonio, TxApril 22, 2013
The CPE Process and the Hospice environment has given me a great deal of personal and profession growth.

On a typical day I will visit patients in there homes and listen to them and offer Pastoral Care. I do Art with some patients, offer meditation with others. I attend deaths and offer brevemenent support to families. I also conduct support groups, – more... offer emotional support to staff, and work with in an interdisciplinary team.

They Joy of this position is that I am welcomed into home and peoples lives at a difficult and profound part of lives journey. I am honored to walk beside patients and their families in this scared time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work enviornment
Certified Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Eatontown, NJApril 21, 2013
Pros: pretty good health benifits.
Cons: lack of communication and no room to move up within the company.
A typical day at work is usually quiet and smooth going, I learned that one of the most important things to remember about caring for patients is that as long as they are comfortable thats all that matters. To be honest the management within this company could of communicated a little better then they did. My co-workers were team players and worked – more... very hard alone and or together The hardest part of the job was sometimes trying to keep even the most doubtful patients happy and the most enjoyable part of my job was going home at the end of the day knowing that all my patients needs were fully met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PATIENT CARE SECRETARY
Patient Care Secretary (Former Employee), Tinley Park, ILApril 14, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Promptly answer and screens incoming calls, with appropriate escalation as indicated.
Accurately communicates to family members appropriate expectations so the caller understands what to expect with respect to their concern or problem.
Documents all calls clearly and concisely including the reason for the call and all action taken.
 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vitas is a nice place to work
bilingual chaplain (Former Employee), Milpigtas, CAApril 13, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: in the field we eat when necessary
I worked with Vitas for twelve years. I have always enjoy my job. I worked in a bilingual setting and was always available to assist others whenever needed. During the many years with Vitas I have learn a lot about myself and the way to treat others, patient, family, volunteers and staff. Vitas allowed me to work on my own. I make my own schedule and – more... visit my patients and imput the information into the system after my visits. I was allowed the opportunity for continuing education that enabled me to work much better with patient and family. Vitas is a very good place to work. Patients and family come first. The objective of Vitas is to do good today and hope to do better tomorrow. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere for work and hospice care
Lpn (Current Employee), Volusia/flaglerApril 2, 2013
Pros: pto
Cons: very unsupportive of employees, unprofessional managers, they will over work you and have you putting thousands of miles on your vehicle monthy
Must say that this company has several issues that need to be addressed.

Vitas values:
1.Patients and families come first.
( well this is a lie, they put them selves and money before patient and families.)

2. We take care of each other
( another major lie, they will run you into the ground and leave you hanging. Instead of being supportive they talk – more... bad about you if you have any family problem or if you have an emergency with your family.)

3. I'll do my best today and even better tomorrow.
( well, we all know that it's Impossible to do your best when you are under stress from being over worked and burnt out from giving all your time away even time when you should be home with your family.)

4. I am proud to make a difference
( to all of the nurses, hospice aids, social workers, chaplains, and volunteers that are NOT working behind a desk, we are the ones who make that difference. All others sit on their butts and eat junk and talk trash) not to mention they are paid well to sit on their behinds and order expensive foods all day probably of vitas budget.

This company would be great if it had the right people in management who knew what they were doing. It's very sad as well when I have to sit there and listen to managers talk bad about some of the patients and their family members & their living criteria it's a shame. I was astonished at the last 2 Christmas parties to see how drunk many of the managers were I mean c'mon people really? Some were so drunk they had to rent hotel room so they Didn't have to drive intoxicated. I would not recommend this hospice agency to anyone I love or care for. – less

Junie – June 17, 2013

I have worked for Vitas for ten years, and it is not a good company to work for any more. I guess we have new owners. I am a CC LPN and we barely have pts .and we have to use PTO time to make up hours. They raised our insurance out of pocket cost to $8,500.00 yearly that has to be paid before UHI pays their 80%, so basically we have no insurance. They will not let us collect unemployment insurance,because they say there is work in other programs, but it's not. And the strange thing is no one ,from Corp. on down, seems to care that we can't pay our rent or buy food,and that's just the essential things needed just to live. I need to find another job ,ASAP.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your digging your own grave if you plan on joining
CNA (Current Employee), Volusia/Flagler , flApril 1, 2013
Pros: work in most cases is rewarding when you don't have to go in the office
Cons: 2 faced, fake, full of $!%^, non caring, cold hearted female dogs in heat.. that all i have to say
EXPOSED::: SAD TO SAY 95% of "Managers" and "office" staff will talk bad about you and put your personal info on blast. They are fake and VERY unprofessional and will try to bash you any way they can just because they have an upper authority and they feed off making people feel miserable.
If you plan on getting a job with this company your better off – more... hanging your self or they will force you to do so. I feel bad for the field nurses that are full time I hear many of them complaining about how they get paid salary for 40hours a week but are forced to work anywhere from 55+ hours with no over time... And then the other half of nurses who I don't understand how they even obtained a license don't care about any thing they do they work for the money and the money ONLY.
I could go on and on but I'm mad now – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've worked for in a long time
Hospice Aide (Current Employee), Dublin, OhioMarch 21, 2013
Pros: great team fun place to work for.
Cons: health insurance, milage compensation
I have been with the company about a year. The team is great and Co workers are wonderful. The turn over is high, however if you make it past your first 6 months it's not bad. Management is very supportive, friendly, and understanding. Not sure why so many negative feedbacks were left. The company isn't to bad, and their morals are very good. They set – more... their standards high and expect you to do your best and better the next day. If your caring, like to travel, and a friendly people person this is the place to be. And there is always room for growth within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership Deficiency - The Team Concept is great, Upper Management is aloof and out of touch
Psych-Social Team (Current Employee), So-CalMarch 20, 2013
Pros: good team manager - great team - fulfilling work
Cons: high demand and pressure from upper management to see more and more patients.
As with a lot of corporate scenes, trust is a bygone factor in upper management. With frequent firings and no explanations, lack of communication, and back room meetings, employees all but hope they will have a job each day they show up for work. There is a radical deficiency in leadership.
On the plus side, working with your IDT with the patients is – more... very fulfilling.

If you can stomach shoddy leadership, the work is rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Patient Care Secretary (Current Employee), Boynton Beach, FLMarch 18, 2013
Pros: one hour lunch break
Cons: healthcare is expensive
Coordiante Staffing every morning. Print out ADT/Census reports, Print out Telecare Reports, Run Hospice Pharmacia every morning these reorts are given to the managers to review at staffing meeting every morning. Complete Admissions or Discharges. Answer triage phone calls, Filing, complete daily tasks

VitasEmp – April 5, 2013

Consider yourself lucky if you get a one hour lunch break. Try working a 16 hour shift with only 1 (ONE) paid 30 minute break and being told that if you want another break it has to be unpaid. You're lucky.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless you are in desperate need for a job, don't do it
LPN (Former Employee), PeoriaMarch 15, 2013
Pros: helping patients is an experience that can't be replaced
Cons: key management values profit more that patient care-management is uneducated and lazy
They have a company motto of we take care of our patients and each other. Well the truth is the only thing they care about it is what they call the ADC, which means the daily money that comes in. Just to give you an idea of the culture, everyone that I have spoken to on the staff is currently looking for a new job. There has been over 10 RN's that have – more... quit/slashed fired over the past year. There are some wonderful and caring people that unfortunately have just been mentally beat up. This is a tough job, but management has made it unbearable. – less

anonymouss – March 27, 2013

I agree. Been there, done that....almost destroyed my career with lies, deceptions and burn out Two thumbs way way down. It is unfortunate!!! Taking care of people at the end of life is supposed to be compassionate, selfless and money should be the last thing on their minds. They over work their staff and the CM's are over worked and burnt out which leads to mistakes and short cuts, leading ultimately to a decrease in quality of care. Not good. Worked very long hours, throughout many nights and never got paid for that. No breaks, lack thereof. Then, they wondered why the nurses were falling asleep in the team meetings. Trying to mandate overtime and work for admissions without being on-call. Calling after hours demanding to come back to work to do an admission and then stating that if the company was not a priority over family, school, etc-then we should leave. Also a manager stating, this is why we do not hire young, new mothers. WOW. Just a nightmare that I still relive all of the time, PTSD is what I suffer from this place. (These are my own experiences and not stating that every branch and everybody is like this there but through my experience, it was a never ending nightmare).

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospice
Certified Nurse Aide C/C (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 12, 2013
Cons: calls in the middle of the night
How to comfort patient in thier time of need. The most enjoyable is know that I assisted patients and families to the best of my ability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Productive
LPN (Former Employee), Miramar, FLMarch 11, 2013
Comporting clients with endstage diagnosis and has a short while to live.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truth in advertising
Support Staff (Former Employee), DallasMarch 2, 2013
Pros: you get an employee badge
Cons: you don't get work
6 months after applying for a part-time position with Vitas, I was hired. I was looking forward to not only joining what I understood was a reputable team, but having a certain 20 hours of work a week. One month after orientation I was assigned a patient to check in on once a week. I asked management for more work, and they said "be patient". I called – more... the case manager immediately after meeting this patient and her family to follow-up. That was 9 months ago; I still haven't heard back. I begged for 1 fiscal quarter for work, and offered to meet with other case managers. There's no 'connection' or follow-through from the folks that sit in the office and field phone calls from prospective 'customers'. I stuck it out for a little while longer; averaging one referral / 2-3 hours per pay period every 7-8 weeks. This is part-time?
My manager was not available and/or would not communicate with me for the last four months of my time as a Vitas employee.
If you do make it past the first 1/2 yr application process, get confirmation of how much work you'll actually have, so you can budget accordingly. Good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the patients and their family
Staff RN (Former Employee), CaliforniaFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: love to care for hospice patients.
Cons: bad administration
As for the ''TEAM'' great,good spirit,very helpful,willing to help their co workers,no complaints at all,but the "MANAGER",that was a whole different story, i worked as a Nurse ( RN) for more than twenty years and that Manager was the worst one ever,i am not kidding,i felt harassed by her,she called me everyday at least 6 times and demand that i answered – more... her immediately driving or not even on my days off,she even question my choice of breakfast.When i request a team change she refused and wrote a letter lying about my work ethics and my caracter.I quit after only 3 months.Worst work experience ever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful mission.
Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Fairfield, CTFebruary 25, 2013
Working in hospice care is good experience in learning how the rehabilitation and nursing facilities function. Also, good experience if you want to learn more about the medical field and are questioning whether to get into it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love making a difference
Social worker (Current Employee), Walnut creekFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: pto 6 weeks, working in the field independently, working closely with the chaplain to divide and conquer the work
Cons: medical benefits are not that good, on call
I love working for vitas. I am a social worker and have been for 2 years at this company. This job is rewarding, you work independently, seeing both patients and families, and charting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't be fooled by vitas hospice
Chha (Current Employee), San DiegoFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: pto
Cons: management won't listen to you ever
The first 6 months of working here, I thought i landed a great job. For those of you considering employment with them, think again, and don't do it. The company will run you into the ground, both physically and mentally. All they want is for you to visit with at least 6 patients a day, and if you don't, you have to do unscheduled visits. They pay high – more... attention to patients with a money maker insurance company, but for those on medicare, take a number cuz your care is not a priority. I would never think of writing this review if I thought this was the best hospice company ever. As for management and as an employee, they will rob your paycheck of every single penny they can. Oh and don't even think about getting hurt on the job...corporate will call you a FRAUDULENT person. Your manager will not have your back. They will write you up for having any overtime ! Let's not forget the whopping 2% raise, which you can't even whipe your butt with ! If you work for this horrible hospice company and something doesn't feel right, get the hell out of there !!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is the worse
Telecare Nurse (Current Employee), Lombard, ILFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: the nursing team is absoultely the best, with all of the challenges we stick together & work hard to put our patients & their families first
Cons: nursing management, lack of understanding regarding hr policy & what's legal and/or not offensive to say.
If there were 1/2 stars available all of my 1 star ratings would be 1/2 stars. If you're looking for a secure job with no advancement or raises this is the job for you. There are no words, that are not obscene, that can describe the way this place is run. You have to work here to see or believe it. If you're a licensed clinician who enjoys having your – more... documentation reviewed by non-licensed clinicians with absolutely no nursing or medical training, this is definitely the place for you. If you enjoy going the extra mile and getting nothing, you'll feel right at home. If you enjoy getting several contradictory emails on how to do a simple task and then getting written up for making a "mistake" welcome. This is the job for you if you enjoy management that never leads or goes to bat for the team. Go ahead, apply, get trained & quit in a month. They won't mind they're use to the high turnover rate & seem to enjoy wasting money and resources training new employees instead of getting rid of the management that lacks any leadership ability. – less

– February 25, 2013

you are absolutely correct!

Vitas Innovative Hospice Care Photos