Find companies:
VMware
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

VMware Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product and company, leadership out of touch
Commercial Inside Account Executive (Former Employee), AustinAugust 4, 2014
Pros: free snacks, breakfast tacos on friday, volunteer opportunities, quarterly team offsites
Cons: toxic morale, slim chance for career advancement, off-balance compensation
VMware is an industry leader for a reason, they deliver a great product with great support behind it. The company as a whole has strong core values and great benefits/work-life. The Austin location has changed within the past year to a toxic work environment. Employees are no longer being fairly compensated (even though the company continues to hit – more... quarter after quarter for wall street). Management is out of sync with employees and customers, as they constantly churn territory managers between quarters but then threaten action/performance plans for not meeting guidelines when given little to no ramp. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low impact
Applications Engineer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: three restaurants to choose from
Cons: three restaurants to choose from
Good team spirit and good work environment;
just going through a lot of changes currently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and Work From Home Environment
Eastern Region Education Delivery Manager (Former Employee), Worked from home office in Fort Worth, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: working from home
Cons: upper management changes
Although days were long, I was able to work from home 90-95% of the time. There was a lot of management change the last 3 years I was there, which led to upper management instability, but co-workers were great and we continued to grow the education department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for!
Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Mountain View, CaJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: multiple changes in leadership throughout tenure
I enjoyed my 4 years at VMware immensely. I wish my position wasn't eliminated!

The job was challenging yet fun! Every day presented a different challenge so there was never a dull moment!

I met tons of wonderful colleagues who I've stayed in touch with even after moving on from VMware!

One challenge of the position I supported was the constant change – more... in management. In the 4 years I worked as part of the Global Training team I worked for 4 different leaders. With each leader wee we had different vision and goals. However I am very flexible and good at adapting to change and was able to match my work flow with what was expected each time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart People
Internal Service Sales Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TxJuly 14, 2014
Pros: friday 3 o'clock
Cons: very political
Good company experiencing growing pains and product creep.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table.
SOA Developer/OSB Developer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 17, 2014
I Learned new things. The co-worker were so helpful. And the hardest part of job is to finish big Project in time and enjoyable part of the job is getting very good experiance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tight on resources great comp
Sales Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 16, 2014
Pros: vmware events- onsite concert's
Cons: constant struggle to add resources
Great organization overall. my one complaint is the restriction of Resources company wide due to budget contraints.It makes it difficult to reach the productivity level
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT
IT (Former Employee), La miradaJune 6, 2014
IT team needs better team management and moral boosters. Company overall great work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
DATABASE administrator (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 5, 2014
Its great working over here. Good Co -workers . Its a good company , sun working place .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Company to work at!
Sourcing Recruiter (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 5, 2014
Top Company to work at, great management team. One of the best companies I have worked for!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Front Desk Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAMay 28, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: n/a
great company, good people.
Still would have been there if they did not let 900 people go global.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, high growth environment
Sr. Finance Manager/Finance Manager (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAMay 20, 2014
Intelligent, high-qualification and hard working people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice campus
Director, Cloud Product Marketing (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAMay 6, 2014
VMware is a growing company and with that, they have built out the campus to include several new buildings that are pleasant to walk to/from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging workplace to grow.
Software QA Engr (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAApril 29, 2014
Share workloads, took responsibilities.

Active participation in meetings/discussions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7+ years of IT experience in analysis, design, development, testing and Implementation Informatica Workflows using Data Warehousing/Data mart design
Sr. Informatica Developer (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAApril 16, 2014
7+ years of IT experience in analysis, design, development, testing and Implementation Informatica Workflows using Data Warehousing/Data mart design, ETL, OLAP client /server applications.
Experience in using Informatica Client tools: Power Center Designer, Workflow Manager, Workflow Monitor and Repository Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are not as happy as in other companies, stressfull environment
Administrative Assistant V (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAApril 8, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: not a fun place to work
People are nice however, they do hire a lot of contractors who are there 2-3 years or more and still unable to become a fulltime employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was OK
Sr. Tech Support (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAApril 2, 2014
Ran into a manager that did not understand hearing disabilities
Co workers were great
I was able to close over 100 cases per month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sr. ETL Developer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAMarch 24, 2014
Encouraging Management.
Good Supporters.
Nice Teammates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
ETL Informatica Consultant (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAMarch 24, 2014
Good place to work.
Encouraging Management.
Good Co-workers.
Offshore Coordination
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
SOA Developer/OSB Developer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAMarch 21, 2014
Learned new things and the co-workers are so cool and helpful. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting new projects and teamwork processes, and performance outcomes.

1 2 3 4 5

About VMware

VMware, Inc.is a company providing virtualization software founded in 1998 and based in Palo Alto, California, USA. It is majority – Read more