Vocational Guidance Services

Vocational Guidance Services Employee Reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very teachable experience
Food Service Trainee (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 3, 2017
It was a nice place to do my training at. The client they service gives you the opportunity to decide if you want to work with a diverse group of people.
Cons
trainees does not get free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The manager is outgoing and very open in hiring phase.
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 21, 2016
Helping the disabled find jobs is uplifting and rewarding. consumers are able to contribute to society; plus enabling them to have income. Refreshing.
Pros
interacting with consumers on a personal basis.
Cons
Having to say, 'no jobs are available at this time'
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Assistant Counselor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 30, 2016
Typical day at VGS was a exciting experience lot's of people every were you go good people fun job dealing with people. Love every bit of it.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment
Job Skills Trainer (Current Employee) –  Elyria, OHSeptember 5, 2016
Vocational Guidance Services is a great place to work people there are friendly. Wonderful Supervisor, Staff is also very friendly and willing to help when needed. Could be more team work but overall a great place.
Pros
Two 15 minute breaks and your 30 minute lunch.
Cons
No cons really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its on the bus line and easy to find.
Grocery clerk (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 14, 2016
Its was a long hard days it work . I learned how t to use a screwing machine the management was ok .the co-worker was mad and sum was nice to me but I really hated going to work everyday because of my co-worker but I love the job The hardest about job the was nothing
Pros
the lunch was short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just A JOb
Office Payroll Clerk/Final Inspector (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 28, 2016
It starts off with me inspecting the slacks for 8 hours a day. I have learned to inspect slacks then I either put them on the good side or the bad side. I got along with co-workers. The hardest part of the job was I sometimes had to push aside the negativity and pretending to be happy with the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is to work with music on my ears. I never fit in. I was different.
Pros
Occasionally Free Food, Listening to Music while working, Easy Money
Cons
No Healthcare, No Payment Increase, Unfriendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 29, 2015
I took incoming calls and also directed people to their destination in the building. I also filed paper work. I helped other staff when they needed help
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work and meet people
Floor crew supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 15, 2015
It was a fun place to work, always had work assignments. learned to get job done on an schedule as the clients requested. enjoyed meeting people that I would other wise never would have met.
Pros
mostly a good working environment
Cons
sometimes short on crew members
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job, plenty of on the job training, and growth
Case Manager/ Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 1, 2015
I grew and traveled, trained continuously. started as an employment specialist/ Job developer to a case manager over a office and staff of 5 including myself. I received several award during my years at Vocational Guidance Service.
Pros
Community resources, contact with city, state and county officials
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Working Family
Custodial Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OhioAugust 29, 2015
Working here was like working with family. Sure, there were stressful times but my Managers always had my back. This mission at VGS is very admirable and they do a lot of good for people in need. I loved working here and I'm sorry I left. Health benefits have a lot to be desired but the compensation and other benefits were very fair and generous.
Pros
Managers
Cons
Health Care Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Truly Rewarding Experience
Habilitation Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 14, 2015
Work in the DD field is truly rewarding, I am lucky enough to work with some great individuals that have taught me a lot about self Scarface, and having the strength to work for what you want no matter the disability. My fellow staff worked well as a team, there is a lot of management support and appreciation, over all a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job allowed me to do the following
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 31, 2015
•Emptied, cleaned all waste containers and removed waste paper and garbage
•Vacuumed all rugs and carpeted areas in offices, lobbies and corridors
•Washed, cleaned and disinfected all water coolers
•Cleaned entry door glass inside and outside
•Wiped clean all office furniture and fixtures
•Damped wipe and polished all glass furniture tops
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Administrative Assistant Intern (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 18, 2015
Answering the door and phone coverage in transferring calls.

Maintaining the files (regular and medical) and typing a sheet showing the statistical layout of the employees employment history.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst job ever.
Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 19, 2015
This was the worst job that I ever had. It is a very unprofessional organization that only cares about the fee income they receive from the consumers. Job coaches are more like paid babysitters who watch consumers but are not able to train them in soft skills, or assist them in finding outside employment. Many of the job coaches sleep on the job because if you try to make a difference and help the consumers they may move on to outside employment.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
¨ Willing to learn new skills & duties while following directions
Custodial Trainee (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 30, 2015
¨ Paid Work Skills Training program
¨ Cleaned public areas, restrooms, and office spaces on a daily basis
¨ Dusted high & low and cleaned glass surfaces and counter tops
¨ Removed trash and put in specified containers and bags
¨ Swept, mopped, and operated buffer to keep floors clean & hazard-free
¨ Managed inventory of cleaning chemicals & supplies on a custodial cart
¨ Double-checked & inspected work regularly to ensure quality
¨ Sanitized door knobs, door bars, and door handles
¨ Followed company safety procedures at all times
Pros
long Breaks, nice people
Cons
long hours, less work
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 20, 2015
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
The work is easy, and simple
Cons
The employees in the building will have something to say
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work
Food Service Employee (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 30, 2014
Very fast paced,fun place to work.Co-workers helpful.Working with public was best part about the job.Hardest part of the job was wearing hat in the heat.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , fun place to work
Job Match /Electronic Assembly Instructor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 22, 2014
Effectively instructed program participant on how to job search and interview, tracked and recorded statistical data as it related to program instructor , assisted job developers in following up with employers to schedule interviews and student evaluations. management one best supervisor I ever had.
I learned how to serve participants with disabilities and barriers to employment. The hardest part of the job was serving client that didn't want to be in program. Most enjoyable part was seeing participant succeed.
Pros
working under city contracts and grants
Cons
rewarding, working with people with disabilities
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had time to take consumers on trips and finding them outside work
Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 9, 2014
VGS. works good as a team, there is a lot of management support but not enough appreciation, there was nothing hard about the job. The most hardest about the job was not bring your work home with you
Pros
Trip, parents and the consumers accomblishments
Cons
open consideration for others
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DD Population was great
HABILITATION SPECIALIST, II (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 1, 2014
I learned how to work with consumers with varying degrees of disabilities, such as: low-functioning, high-functioning, down syndrome, etc.
Pros
A rewarding job, because improving the DD population gave me a true sense of accomplishment
Cons
short breaks, little room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vocational Guidance Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Vocational Guidance Services Reviews by Location