Voith Hydro Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independant thought not prefferred
Mechanical Engineer: Kaplan Turbine (Former Employee) –  York, PASeptember 21, 2017
Voith Changed significantly in my time there, Hydro Electric turbines are an excellent product to work on as every one is different and offers new challenges to overcome.

The standardization of design practice and focus on timelines increased the difficulty of performing my job
Pros
Challenging design opportunities
Cons
Difficult management to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
Sandblaster (Former Employee) –  York, PASeptember 5, 2017
very decent place to work. treated fairly good benefits. only down fall was getting laid off. I had plans of retiring from there. room for advancement
Pros
paid lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good environment to work in.
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Hannibal, OHJune 4, 2017
I worked for Voith for 5 years. Every supervisor I had in that time period was very respectful to the employees, treated everyone the same. They told you what they expected from day one and made it a great job to have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unappreciative management with a 1950 era mentality.
MACHINE SHOP SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  York, PAMarch 21, 2017
Lack of adequate controls to measure job performance creates an environment where survival is based on subjectivity instead of data. As one former Supervisor put it "You could walk on water and you still would not be appreciated."
Pros
Generous salary
Cons
Management Style is archaic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job / Lousy Work Life Balance
Engineer (Current Employee) –  York, PAOctober 18, 2016
Good Job.
Good opportunity for advancement.
Locations worldwide. Great benefits


Non Existent HR staff
No work Life Balance
Management teams can be overbearing.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No Work Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Buyer (Current Employee) –  York PASeptember 26, 2016
Good Place to work. Good Coworkers. Enjoyable.
Good managers and provides training. Would tell a friend to apply and work here. Apply !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and People to Work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Holyoke, MAJuly 19, 2016
Never a typical day at work - always something going on, learned about Human Resources procedures, my superiors were wonderful, nothing hard except for heavy lifting, I MISS THIS JOB
Pros
Got to get out of office and do errands
Cons
It was only a temp job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started as a Machinist Apprentice
Journeyman Machinist (Current Employee) –  York, PAJune 20, 2016
I started as a Machinist apprentice and completed 5 year 10,000 hour apprenticship to Obtain Journeyman Machinist Papers. Currently Working as a Machinist 1
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room to move
Hydraulic Engineer (Current Employee) –  York, PAJune 20, 2016
Voith is a great starting place for an engineer but after two years, any good engineer will outgrow the salary and position. Management does not manage assets well.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
No promotion opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
HSE Manager (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMay 9, 2016
Great company to work for, green energy is the future. Really good people wish I could have stayed with the team. Must move on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting work
Winder/Laborer (Current Employee) –  TravelJanuary 14, 2016
Very accurate work performed daily. Attention to detail is a very critical aspect to this kind of work. Every generator has differences so each one you learn something new. Enjoy traveling to complete generators in a time fashion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Willing to work with school scheduling
Assistant Document Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  York, PAJanuary 4, 2016
Hours and work are limited for the position. No possibility of advancement/raise within the position. Fairly agreeable work atmosphere. Department well suited.
Pros
Flexibility with availability
Cons
Not enough work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  YorkJanuary 4, 2016
Great location, great culture. Organized business structure. Safe, very safe for a machine shop. Flexible scheduling is nice, especially for me since my commute was an hour.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
things and stuff
Boilermaker Apprentice (Former Employee) –  York, PAFebruary 27, 2015
company was good. pay was good. started getting crazy and writing people up for stupid reasons. ultimately didn't seem to care about their workforce
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Though it was contractual position you have the opportunity to travel and stay with the company if you wish.
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Hannibal, OHFebruary 22, 2015
I have had the most awesome site manager. He is a very good leader who has taught us everything he knows. He maintains a very high standard and has encouraged the same pride in workmanship that he has. It has been a very small plant in Hannibal so friendships have formed and maintained, co workers all working together to get the job done in the most efficient economical way while maintaining the high standards we have .
I have traveled with the company as a Haz Mat Shipper and have enjoyed it thoroughly .
Pros
Terrific Boss, Grilling on Thursdays, Formed good friendships
Cons
no vacation time/holiday pay or retirement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow in your career field
Human Resources Intern (Current Employee) –  York, PAFebruary 3, 2014
I have extremely enjoyed working for this company as an Human Resources Intern. The opportunity I was given with this company has allowed me to grow my knowledge of the Human Resources field. I have learned to use HR systems, such as ADP, D.Vinci and Ebridge.

My typical day starts with a meeting on the whole HR team to discuss important, goals, deadlines and issues with employees and projects. My co-workers have been very helpful teaching me new information about Human Resources.

The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new and upcoming changes to the HR field, as well as working with great colleagues.
Pros
Ability for growth, Supportive co-workers and management
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lay back job site
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ORJanuary 19, 2013
the good people i work with make my job easy.the site manager is
a real smart guy i am learning a lot from him.
Pros
lots of bbqs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Voith Hydro reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Voith Hydro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 75 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1