Volunteers of America Employee Reviews

Showing all 1,171 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers but bad management
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Lanham MDJune 22, 2017
Overall, its a great place to work but they many bad managers. They do a lot of witch hunts on staffing and not one person in HR Lanham stops to investigate possible bad behavior of the management team. Friends are hired that never come to work and manager knows full well. They do the cover up so the manager can look better but she is totally incompetent. Any family member that has love ones in the place need to remove them immediate because they are getting bare minimum of care.
Pros
Location
Cons
No proper lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding position
Community Administrator (Current Employee) –  Burleson, TXJune 22, 2017
I enjoy working for VOA, it is a very rewarding position. I work with seniors and they are very pleasant to be around. VOA make sure that you are trained and the company keeps on training all staff members at all times. Documents change and so we have to be on top of things to understand those changes. My co-workers are great and I have med a lot of other people who work for VOA. They are very well coming to new employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Opportunity
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAJune 22, 2017
Most of the staff are part time or PRN. there is not much opportunity for full time employment. It's a great part time job and for the most part relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 21, 2017
Very rewarding to work with community and to help people who in need. The campus is very well organized and the case workers are passionate what they do. The whole organized help many homeless people as much as they can and they do not discriminate or turn any one away. My job was very fulfilling helping the men, women and the children to find placement and employment for families
Pros
Clients get housing
Cons
Lack of funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 20, 2017
Being that I have experience working in the Head Start program, I am knowledgeable of the heavy paper work load. I had to take on the role of lead teacher.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible schedule
Family Advocate (Current Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAJune 20, 2017
most people do not advance in this agency.
most managers are set for life until retirement.
no benefits such as disability, unemployment, etc.
not the best place to retire.
Pros
none
Cons
lack of management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worker Review
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee) –  Florence, ALJune 20, 2017
Arrive to an empty house. look in the refrigerator to see what to prepare for dinner and look for a quick snack for residents to eat upon arriving at the house from the day center. When they get there give them snack and them help them bath. Give meds, have dinner and then help them to bed when time came.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work
Disaster Crisis Counselor (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJune 20, 2017
Networking skills are developed working there and the challenge to be creative and productive in providing needs to various populations in need. Volunteers of America is well known and have many collaborations with other social services which allows you to become knowledgeable in community resources.
Pros
Supportive training in crisis intervention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients are never the problem its staff and management
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 19, 2017
Low pay, overworked, bedbugs, hoarders, Director treated Clients as if they were beneath her, and she is rude, nasty, and arrogant. I would not recommend any one to work here at Commonwealth Ave, Veterans SRO.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama
Client Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJune 19, 2017
The workers are more interested in gossiping about the clients instead of being of service to them. They use profanity and other unprofessional language in front of the clients, while management does nothing but sit in their offices in the back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.....
Lead Residential Counselor (Current Employee) –  Collingswood, NJJune 19, 2017
A typical day at work can be very stress full. Sometimes staff is placed in a environment that you may not be prepared for. Management is sometimes unorganized.
Pros
Overtime available
Cons
uncomfortability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy pace and fun place
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 18, 2017
a typical day at volunteers of America is to come in and see if patients is woke. I will cook patients food and when they are done I will give them their medicine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, OHJune 18, 2017
That's just it, it was fun. I didn't mind going to work and I felt very comfortable. I saw a lot of my friends and I got plenty of down time. This is a great job for a college kid.
Pros
Fun
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 17, 2017
Every day was a different day nothing the same. I enjoyed working here only reason for leaving company was I moved out of state. Lots of opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Was payed salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun dealing with the donations.
Donation Attendant (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, OHJune 17, 2017
The job was not very hard and the peers working with you help you learn the processes. A little bit of heavy lifting and slow process. I recommend to anyone who doesn't like hard labor.
Pros
You get one mandatory lunch break.
Cons
Not busy ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees/Prices
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Corunna, MIJune 16, 2017
Good company to work for, they are raising money for veterans everyday. A high lack of communication between management and employees. Very fast pace, quick environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exemplary
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 16, 2017
Very good company. Promotions are at a premium. Work hard and you get promoted. Work environment very beneficial to people who work hard. Committed to excellence and helping others
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VOA rated with 5 stars
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 15, 2017
I worked in several capacities as Volunteers of America. Started out in the Developmentally Disabled Department in a male group home as a trainer. Worked with six males. Training them to do such tasks as dialing 911 on the telephone. Opened another male home and was the lead trainer in that home,. Was responsible for grocery shopping and four other trainers in the home. Moved to the Developmentally Disabled Offenders program where we had 18 residents from all over the State of Texas. Each was on Probation and in jeopardy of going to the penitentiary.
Pros
Slow paced
Cons
Sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk communicating daily with all residents. Answering inquiries.
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 14, 2017
This position really showed me what a women's residence consist of.
The daily operations that are required me to assist.

Answering questions regarding openings and daily rates.
Intake of residents and filing out necessary paperwork.
Collecting fees and rent.

Distribution of mail.

Weekly reports on outgoing and incoming clients.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
dealing with all kinds of people including people with disabilities and anger issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a Children enviormentis always a challenge
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  730 W Union St Allentown, PA 18101June 14, 2017
Data requirements for DPW on attendance and food program with Perform duties necessary to aid Director, Teachers and help in creating a professional working environment.

Principle Activities:
Act as Administrator to all Office Procedures.
Install Security System with Intercom.
Updating of children’s activity records.
Purchase required office supply.
Do parent information updates.
Do daily receipts and deposits.
Update children info as required in computer.
Create reports as needed in Excel.
Generate Monthly Reports.
Print out all reports according to schedule:
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Volunteers of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,171 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

Volunteers of America Reviews by Location