Find companies:
VSE Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

VSE Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no entertainment on the job
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), mina abdoula, kuwait kgl siteFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: we took lunch from 11:30-13:00
Cons: short breaks were 15 minutes and there were 4 per day.
i sometimes did not like or enjoy the work environment. because some of our supervisors abused their positions in an attempt to intimate some employees which caused much unnecessary tensions. it was a daily ball bursting nonstop grind.i learned to install every upgrade on both series of tanks. the hardest part of the job was keeping yourself away from – more... being part of the job politics and properly handling your frustationssince we performed these upgrades in iraq and kuwait. it could be very frustrating at times especially with every missing thrir families. it really didn't too much to set anyone off under those conditions. they were frequent occurences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Office Manager (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAFebruary 24, 2014
VSE Corporation was a great place to work and wonderful people to work with. Enjoyed my tenure there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working and follow instructions
Retrofit Mechanic (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: travel the world
Cons: no benefits, part time
Go to work and be happy in what I have to achieve for the day. Have to install night vision equiptment on military vehicles. Travel army base to army base to install equiptment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Property Clerk (Former Employee), Dayton NJFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: a paycheck
Cons: dealing with an overload of work and some unfriendly co-workers.
This place is awful. Weak, ineffective management along with employees who are doing more socializing than working. There are some nice people but very few. New people are overloaded with work to pick up the slack for those who aren't doing much. I would never refer a friend to work at this place. Overall it's just not a good work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee), Springfield, VAFebruary 7, 2014
I enjoyed working with my coworkers. I learned a lot while I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little above average
Analyst (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJanuary 15, 2014
Every company has room to grow and improve. VSE is no exception. My experience at VSE has been a little above average. The pay is adequate. The benefits package is somewhat on the high side for out of pocket expenses. I have worked here now for nearly three years and have experienced some positives and negatives. Positive - I received a $5K bonus for – more... getting my PMP certification. Negative - The company has since reduced the bonus amount from $5k to $2K and has since reduced support for continuing education and professional certifications. Positive - I have had the opportunity to work with managers who are generally good people and have a relaxed style of management. Negative - Because they have been doing business a certain way for so long they are reluctant to change or take action on recommendations that can help the business (EVM methodologies were dismissed in a hurry). Positive - Some Co Workers were a joy to be around and easy to get along with making the work day more productive. Negative - There were a few Co Workers who were able to poison morale, were not controlled by management, and were able to make the work environment hostile for a time. No company is perfect, but I would give VSE a 6 1/2 on a scale of 1 to 10 for places to work. All in all, my work experience has been more positive than negative, but it's the negatives that really caused me to seek employment elsewhere coupled with the fact that the prospects for growth over the next few years indicate the company will be in a cycle of contraction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place with Ping Pong table
Financial and Procurement Specialist (Current Employee), Egypt,AlexandriaJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks and health care
(1) sometimes hard day and sometimes cool day
(2) I learned : how can save the product and save money for the company and how to finish the deals with the customers without making them upset but satisfied
(3) for the management : manage time and my supplies to cover me as long time as much without making the company charging any fees .
(4) the hardest – more... part : sometimes I have to send many orders on one day for one department or many department on many places
(5) the most enjoyable for me : the result which I get it when making all the departments are satisfied and happy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refurbished Millitary equipment
Lead (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: m-f
Work would start at 0600 and would end at 3pm. We would bring in a piece of equipment tear it down and send it to the sand blast and paint booth. Once that was completed we would bring it back into the shop and put it all back together. Co-workers were easy to get along with. Hardest part of the job would have to be down loading the equipment off of – more... incoming trailers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so so
Engineering Technician II (Current Employee), In fort samDecember 17, 2013
Pros: having fridays off
Cons: healthcare
A day at work... getting on us and pushing and telling us to moving even when theres nothing to do

What i have leaned...working on armys vehicles A-service

Management....to meany bosses one tells us to do it this way and the other says no this way it gets old after awhile and alot of misstaks happend and they still get mad at us

MY co-workers....was – more... good

THE hardest .....management

THE mostenjoyable .....was driving armys vehicles – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with possible room for growth, excellent commardare amongst co-workers, definitely a fun loving work environment.
Engineering Technician (Former Employee), Alexandria, VADecember 17, 2013
A typical 9-5 most times started out with a cup of coffee and sum early morning laughs with co-workers, getting prepped and motivated for a long day of good production. A lot of useful skills were acquired since day one, extensive safety training, HAZMAT handling and disposal, extensive knowledge of all hand tools, documentation control and Word Excell – more... use.
Dealing with management isn't always the easiest task on the job, being that you may not agree with everything they say or do, but at the end of the day they are the bosses and the ones that sign the paychecks. That is probably one of the hardest parts of the job, knowing that even though u may be right you still have to follow the direct orders given to you. The most enjoyable part of the job was just being good at what I did and seeing your finished product being shipped out the door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous
Supply Technician (Former Employee), Long Beach,MSDecember 6, 2013
Pros: direct deposit
Cons: health insurance, racism, sexual harassment
What a horrible place to work! Management showed favoritism, and on several occasions I heard racist remarks being made. The site director who smokes cigarettes in his office is demeaning and disrespectful to all employees. Most of the supervisors and management have been terminated, but nevertheless the site director as well as the shop supervisor – more... (and his son) are still employed at this dump. If you are low-life scum and are satisfied with making coins, then this is the job for you. However, if you are a person who has dignity and respect for yourself, then continue on your job search elsewhere...you'll regret it if you accept anything this company has to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work
Planner (Former Employee), Chesapeake VANovember 29, 2013
The management was the best . Everyone was treated like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local place of employment
Property Clerk/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dayton, NJNovember 21, 2013
The day at VSE would begin at 8 am and end at 5 pm sharp. In a typical day there was a lot of data entry to be done. I was able to improve on Excel with the training courses that were available. The majority of the co-workers that were there were great to work with. The hardest part of the job was the annual inventory that had to be done this would – more... take at least 1 month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very though job some times on power,people,or parts long hr.
Outside Machinist/ instructor/ field engineer (Current Employee), FOTS project in Egypt outsidemachine shopNovember 18, 2013
Pros: 30 days vacation plane tickets paid plus egyptian holidays off paid
Cons: no power, air, or electric slows down production a lot
Long hours with very hard conditions moneys good but could be better for an overseas job but i m haveing fun teaching the egyptians how to run and repair there war ships!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent corporation to work for. Advises employees on changes, benefits and work schedules by email or meetings. Rating is 10 out of 10.
Production Control Clerk (Current Employee), Fort Sam Houston, TXNovember 11, 2013
Pros: met suspenses & reports, prioritized tasks, delegated, evaluated, counseled, mentored employees and trained. ensure material and equipment are available for training.
Cons: employees trained to do a better job, resolve conflict among employee, abide and prevent with eo and affirmative actions
First to work and last to leave. A typical day at work would start by ensuring everyone was accountable and safe at work. Reporting accountability ranged from San Antonio and Marshall,Texas. Replying to e-mails and a half hour meeting to ensure suspenses and reports are met. Tour the facility to no violations were found. Always prepared for the unexpected. – more... Ensured employee took lunch on time and working in a good environmental. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childish Games
Engineering Tech (Former Employee), Long Beach, MSOctober 22, 2013
Pros: pay is pretty good but don't expect a raise only pay cuts.
Cons: healthcare sucks and gets worse every year, management is terrible.
If you're not in the "In Crowd" don't expect to get any respect or to advance in the company, they only take care of their "brother-in-laws" family and friends. Management has their heads so far up their butts they have no clue what to do on a daily basis. The level of Favoritism is ridiculous in the shop and the bureaucracy prevents everyone from accomplishing – more... the simplest goals, can't even get tools and parts in a timely manner. Reminds me of being in the military, mass punishment and harassment are a part of daily routine however corrective actions are non-existent. Honestly the only redeeming quality about working there is the pay which many of the employees have taken pay cuts over the last few years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is still struggling at the site level
employee (Current Employee), VAOctober 12, 2013
Pros: 9-5
Cons: high out of pocket rates for benefits
The furlough hiatus just reemphasizes the importance of proper management techniques and planning. VSE still struggles with changes to include, the ramping up phase, employee retention, and routine operations. Daily operations are redundant and employees in the mission critical positions lack creativity and the ability to change gears in order to meet – more... the current customers requirements.
One of the hardest parts of the job is trying to maintain cohesion between the different departments in an effort to perform job responsibilities. This company needs a facelift and a complete refurbishment to reach the unrealistic benchmarks that it establishes for itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: not so much stress, good hours
Cons: paydays not so timely
very productive, good management, working conditions good. typical day normal good. Management sometimes don't also keep you inform if needed. Co-workers works good as team. Being on my feet most of the work day. keeping busy and being productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7+ year employee of VSE Corportation
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Hamel, ILSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management
Work day began with a morning safety meeting. Then we worked in our assigned areas for refurbishing military ground equipment.

The local management was self serving, kissing butt to upper management, not looking out for the workers on the shop floor. This put in place our collective effort to organize, and become members of the Machinist union for – more... our location.

We all say pay increases, better benefits and better subsidies. After Sr. Management reviewed our contract, and refused to pay what is owed to several workers, we fought them. Now our location is closed in Hamel, IL.

Management only cares about units going out per month, above the health, and safety of the employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A soap opera
Painter 1 (Current Employee), Ruther Glen Va.September 19, 2013
Pros: some good people
Cons: everything else
Was a great job but went down hill fast.. Poor management from the top all the way to the supervisors. Slanted job, Wants you to be a zombie and work your butt off while others are enjoyed in a conversation with the supervisors talking. Fony Butt kissing and back stabbing spells VSE

1 2 3 4

About VSE Corporation

VSE brings military hand-me-downs back into fashion. The company provides engineering, testing, and logistics services for theĀ US – Read more

VSE Corporation Photos