Find companies:
VSE Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

VSE Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly to veteran workforce transitioning from active military duty to private sector.
Sr. Project Analyst/Division Manager (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAAugust 19, 2014
Cons: loss of tuition reimbursement benefit
Wonderful facility to work in providing a safe and challenging environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant company to work for
Project Manager II / Senoir MWO Coordinator, VSE (Current Employee), Fort Bragg, NCJuly 31, 2014
Pros: everything was great
Cons: i didn't have any bad experiences.
I love working for VSE. The management was excellent as well as the staff they are very knowledgeable and I learnt a lot. I learnt a lot about depot maintenance. I also learnt a great deal about MWOs such as how they get applied and who is authorized to apply them. I enjoyed help all the units out that were in the Army Reserve Command. My co-works work – more... well as a team/staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you would think
Work Center Collateral Duty Inspector (Former Employee), China Lake, CAJuly 30, 2014
This company as a whole is terrible. The Site Managers hired have little to no experience and one mistake will cost you your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Production Control Clerk (Former Employee), Concord, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: good pay, good hours, nice people i worked with
Cons: short changed by management when it came to benefits
The job was okay it was a contract job so it only lasted for 2 years but the pay was nice and so were the people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forced Retirement
Clerical (Former Employee), Alexandria, vaJune 24, 2014
Pros: not many
Cons: mo and his cronies
They claim to be offering retirement packages to those 55 or older really if you do not take it then the RIF you. Unless you are in the good ole boys club you have no security. Other ways to have security is be young and work for less than the ones being offered retirement. VSE used to be a proud company family type atmosphere then Mo arrived all downhill – more... after that – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important Job
Heavy Wheel Service Technician/Hull Repairman (Former Employee), KuwaitJune 24, 2014
Pros: worked in doors
Cons: management
--Typical day: working on military vehicles to support the War Fighter mission
-- Learned: I learned that poor management will lead to loss of contract
-- Management: Not really
--The hardest part: having to find a new contract because you are told this one was lost.
-- The most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Security /Maintenance Worker lead (Former Employee), mdJune 13, 2014
Security Lead for the guard contingent at the Army Reserve Depot.
Establish, monitor, maintain, and publish a weekly work schedule, providing
copies to IAP and each guard. Monitor and forward guard reports to client and IAP
at the required frequency. Provide (or delegate) new guard personnel site
orientation and SOP instruction. Notify IAP of all personnel – more... issues.Relay client-
delivered guidance relating to contract performance. Inform IAP of issues or
conditions effecting mission accomplishment.Verify time cards for each guard.
At the 99th Regional Support Command - Army Reserve in Baltimore MD
Inspect GSA vehicle at start of shift, Walk the pier at least once per hour looking
for civilian watercraft near the pier or Army watercraft, Check vessels, mooring
lines, drafts, brows, battery charges, fuel oil day tanks, bilge boilers, and alarms-
multiple times each day, Drive the perimeter of the depot and the Brandt
USAR center at least twice daily, Take draft readings at beginning of shift and
compare to prior shift Readings, Possible light supervised maintenance, Possible
limited forklift use, Maintain safe working conditions at the pier during adverse
weather conditions to include light snow removal in the winter
Perform safety inspections to include identifying and/or reporting leaks, flooding,
fires, accidents, and hazardous material spills Maintain ships' logs, documenting
irregularities found Following up on all sign-in sheets to insure they are complete
and there is a leave request to go along – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed work schedual
Paint Technician (Former Employee), Gatesville, TXMay 29, 2014
Enjoyed felow employees......It had been some time since I had worked within a group to acheive success. It proved to be a valued asset.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked working at VSE Corporation
Data Technician (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAMay 4, 2014
Mostly data entry, I did like working at VSE but, because this job was contracted with the government it was short lived. The installation was relocated and I could not follow the job to it's new location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no entertainment on the job
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), mina abdoula, kuwait kgl siteFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: we took lunch from 11:30-13:00
Cons: short breaks were 15 minutes and there were 4 per day.
i sometimes did not like or enjoy the work environment. because some of our supervisors abused their positions in an attempt to intimate some employees which caused much unnecessary tensions. it was a daily ball bursting nonstop grind.i learned to install every upgrade on both series of tanks. the hardest part of the job was keeping yourself away from – more... being part of the job politics and properly handling your frustationssince we performed these upgrades in iraq and kuwait. it could be very frustrating at times especially with every missing thrir families. it really didn't too much to set anyone off under those conditions. they were frequent occurences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Office Manager (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAFebruary 24, 2014
VSE Corporation was a great place to work and wonderful people to work with. Enjoyed my tenure there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working and follow instructions
Retrofit Mechanic (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: travel the world
Cons: no benefits, part time
Go to work and be happy in what I have to achieve for the day. Have to install night vision equiptment on military vehicles. Travel army base to army base to install equiptment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Property Clerk (Former Employee), Dayton NJFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: a paycheck
Cons: dealing with an overload of work and some unfriendly co-workers.
This place is awful. Weak, ineffective management along with employees who are doing more socializing than working. There are some nice people but very few. New people are overloaded with work to pick up the slack for those who aren't doing much. I would never refer a friend to work at this place. Overall it's just not a good work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little above average
Analyst (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJanuary 15, 2014
Every company has room to grow and improve. VSE is no exception. My experience at VSE has been a little above average. The pay is adequate. The benefits package is somewhat on the high side for out of pocket expenses. I have worked here now for nearly three years and have experienced some positives and negatives. Positive - I received a $5K bonus for – more... getting my PMP certification. Negative - The company has since reduced the bonus amount from $5k to $2K and has since reduced support for continuing education and professional certifications. Positive - I have had the opportunity to work with managers who are generally good people and have a relaxed style of management. Negative - Because they have been doing business a certain way for so long they are reluctant to change or take action on recommendations that can help the business (EVM methodologies were dismissed in a hurry). Positive - Some Co Workers were a joy to be around and easy to get along with making the work day more productive. Negative - There were a few Co Workers who were able to poison morale, were not controlled by management, and were able to make the work environment hostile for a time. No company is perfect, but I would give VSE a 6 1/2 on a scale of 1 to 10 for places to work. All in all, my work experience has been more positive than negative, but it's the negatives that really caused me to seek employment elsewhere coupled with the fact that the prospects for growth over the next few years indicate the company will be in a cycle of contraction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refurbished Millitary equipment
Lead (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: m-f
Work would start at 0600 and would end at 3pm. We would bring in a piece of equipment tear it down and send it to the sand blast and paint booth. Once that was completed we would bring it back into the shop and put it all back together. Co-workers were easy to get along with. Hardest part of the job would have to be down loading the equipment off of – more... incoming trailers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so so
Engineering Technician II (Current Employee), In fort samDecember 17, 2013
Pros: having fridays off
Cons: healthcare
A day at work... getting on us and pushing and telling us to moving even when theres nothing to do

What i have leaned...working on armys vehicles A-service

Management....to meany bosses one tells us to do it this way and the other says no this way it gets old after awhile and alot of misstaks happend and they still get mad at us

MY co-workers....was – more... good

THE hardest .....management

THE mostenjoyable .....was driving armys vehicles – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with possible room for growth, excellent commardare amongst co-workers, definitely a fun loving work environment.
Engineering Technician (Former Employee), Alexandria, VADecember 17, 2013
A typical 9-5 most times started out with a cup of coffee and sum early morning laughs with co-workers, getting prepped and motivated for a long day of good production. A lot of useful skills were acquired since day one, extensive safety training, HAZMAT handling and disposal, extensive knowledge of all hand tools, documentation control and Word Excell – more... use.
Dealing with management isn't always the easiest task on the job, being that you may not agree with everything they say or do, but at the end of the day they are the bosses and the ones that sign the paychecks. That is probably one of the hardest parts of the job, knowing that even though u may be right you still have to follow the direct orders given to you. The most enjoyable part of the job was just being good at what I did and seeing your finished product being shipped out the door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous
Supply Technician (Former Employee), Long Beach,MSDecember 6, 2013
Pros: direct deposit
Cons: health insurance, racism, sexual harassment
What a horrible place to work! Management showed favoritism, and on several occasions I heard racist remarks being made. The site director who smokes cigarettes in his office is demeaning and disrespectful to all employees. Most of the supervisors and management have been terminated, but nevertheless the site director as well as the shop supervisor – more... (and his son) are still employed at this dump. If you are low-life scum and are satisfied with making coins, then this is the job for you. However, if you are a person who has dignity and respect for yourself, then continue on your job search elsewhere...you'll regret it if you accept anything this company has to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work
Planner (Former Employee), Chesapeake VANovember 29, 2013
The management was the best . Everyone was treated like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local place of employment
Property Clerk/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dayton, NJNovember 21, 2013
The day at VSE would begin at 8 am and end at 5 pm sharp. In a typical day there was a lot of data entry to be done. I was able to improve on Excel with the training courses that were available. The majority of the co-workers that were there were great to work with. The hardest part of the job was the annual inventory that had to be done this would – more... take at least 1 month. – less

1 2 3 4

About VSE Corporation

VSE brings military hand-me-downs back into fashion. The company provides engineering, testing, and logistics services for theĀ US – Read more

VSE Corporation Photos