VSE Corporation Employee Reviews in United States

Found 86 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
weapon systems and training
Gunsmith II (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 2, 2015
Really enjoyed this contract job. Reminded me a lot in details of when I served the military. Really wish this company would've stayed on permanently but unfortunately it was only a temp job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VSE is a contractor under Red River Army Depot
Administration Assistant (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, TXSeptember 15, 2015
VSE is a hard company to work for because they do not understand how Red River Army Depot works. They try to do things differently and it doesnt work well at the depot. They do not pay their employees very well and the health care benefits are high. The imediate supervision is not a roll model for leadership at all.
Pros
You do have the chance of advancement by getting in on the Red River side.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Production Control (Current Employee) –  Ogden UtahAugust 26, 2015
Working at MECS88 with VSE has been a very rewarding experience to produce work for BioMeds to fix medical equipment and ordering parts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work there
Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAAugust 12, 2015
The only thing this company wants is money. They don't care what happens to their employees. Only the executive branch gets anything positive everyone else is disposable no matter how long you have worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive office. Good working conditions.
TRANSPORTATION COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  College Park, GAMarch 10, 2015
I have talented people I work with. Immediate management makes it a very comfortable job. The work is enjoyable. I could work here and be content for many years.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Company
SENIOR ENGINEER AND PROGRAM DEPARTMENT HEAD (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 5, 2015
Great company that allows good growth and upward mobility.

Wonderful place for veterans to work at. Entering new markets in 2015.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Technical Writer (Current Employee) –  Sterling Heights, miJanuary 31, 2015
This is a good place to work, they didn't micro manage you. Most of the people were good at what they did and we had a good team.
Pros
not mirco managed
Cons
not much management at all
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VSE: Should of, Could of, Would of...
Production Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Ladysmith, VAJanuary 25, 2015
While I enjoyed the work, upper management left a a lot to be desired. I was always worried about if and when our site would have a lay off. We went through many site managers, mostly because VSE was incapable of hiring competent managers.
Pros
the work is fun and always changing.
Cons
upper management and inability to secure contracts.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VSE is a great place to transition from active duty to civilian
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJanuary 11, 2015
With about 40% veteran employment, VSE is a great place for someone to transition into civilian life. The work is challenging and the coworkers are very supportive. I like my boss and I like the job.
Pros
salary, coworkers, management
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Combat System Weapons Systems Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Springfield, VANovember 26, 2014
Challanging and rewarding. Many ex-military leadership that has the team mentality when it comes to taking care of thier employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Contracting
Deputy Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VANovember 5, 2014
VSE is a government contractor that is feeling the pinch of slow and lack of government contracts.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best part of job is working with skilled employees
Auto Body Painter (Former Employee) –  Gatesville, TXOctober 18, 2014
a typical day at work was painting various military vehicles and equipment. I learned how to paint using carc paint. my work environment was very good. all employees were friendly and we all worked together. Most enjoyable part of job is painting.
Pros
free medical insurance
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly to veteran workforce transitioning from active military duty to private sector.
Sr. Project Analyst/Division Manager (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAAugust 19, 2014
Wonderful facility to work in providing a safe and challenging environment.
Cons
loss of tuition reimbursement benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant company to work for
Project Manager II / Senoir MWO Coordinator, VSE (Current Employee) –  Fort Bragg, NCJuly 31, 2014
I love working for VSE. The management was excellent as well as the staff they are very knowledgeable and I learnt a lot. I learnt a lot about depot maintenance. I also learnt a great deal about MWOs such as how they get applied and who is authorized to apply them. I enjoyed help all the units out that were in the Army Reserve Command. My co-works work well as a team/staff.
Pros
everything was great
Cons
i didn't have any bad experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you would think
Work Center Collateral Duty Inspector (Former Employee) –  China Lake, CAJuly 30, 2014
This company as a whole is terrible. The Site Managers hired have little to no experience and one mistake will cost you your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Production Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAJuly 16, 2014
The job was okay it was a contract job so it only lasted for 2 years but the pay was nice and so were the people
Pros
good pay, good hours, nice people i worked with
Cons
short changed by management when it came to benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forced Retirement
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, vaJune 24, 2014
They claim to be offering retirement packages to those 55 or older really if you do not take it then the RIF you. Unless you are in the good ole boys club you have no security. Other ways to have security is be young and work for less than the ones being offered retirement. VSE used to be a proud company family type atmosphere then Mo arrived all downhill after that
Pros
not many
Cons
mo and his cronies
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important Job
Heavy Wheel Service Technician/Hull Repairman (Former Employee) –  KuwaitJune 24, 2014
--Typical day: working on military vehicles to support the War Fighter mission
-- Learned: I learned that poor management will lead to loss of contract
-- Management: Not really
--The hardest part: having to find a new contract because you are told this one was lost.
-- The most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
worked in doors
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Security /Maintenance Worker lead (Former Employee) –  mdJune 13, 2014
Security Lead for the guard contingent at the Army Reserve Depot.
Establish, monitor, maintain, and publish a weekly work schedule, providing
copies to IAP and each guard. Monitor and forward guard reports to client and IAP
at the required frequency. Provide (or delegate) new guard personnel site
orientation and SOP instruction. Notify IAP of all personnel issues.Relay client-
delivered guidance relating to contract performance. Inform IAP of issues or
conditions effecting mission accomplishment.Verify time cards for each guard.
At the 99th Regional Support Command - Army Reserve in Baltimore MD
Inspect GSA vehicle at start of shift, Walk the pier at least once per hour looking
for civilian watercraft near the pier or Army watercraft, Check vessels, mooring
lines, drafts, brows, battery charges, fuel oil day tanks, bilge boilers, and alarms-
multiple times each day, Drive the perimeter of the depot and the Brandt
USAR center at least twice daily, Take draft readings at beginning of shift and
compare to prior shift Readings, Possible light supervised maintenance, Possible
limited forklift use, Maintain safe working conditions at the pier during adverse
weather conditions to include light snow removal in the winter
Perform safety inspections to include identifying and/or reporting leaks, flooding,
fires, accidents, and hazardous material spills Maintain ships' logs, documenting
irregularities found Following up on all sign-in sheets to insure they are complete
and there is a leave request to go along
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed work schedual
Paint Technician (Former Employee) –  Gatesville, TXMay 29, 2014
Enjoyed felow employees......It had been some time since I had worked within a group to acheive success. It proved to be a valued asset.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VSE Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 90 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1