Find companies:
VSE Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

VSE Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childish Games
Engineering Tech (Former Employee), Long Beach, MSOctober 22, 2013
Pros: pay is pretty good but don't expect a raise only pay cuts.
Cons: healthcare sucks and gets worse every year, management is terrible.
If you're not in the "In Crowd" don't expect to get any respect or to advance in the company, they only take care of their "brother-in-laws" family and friends. Management has their heads so far up their butts they have no clue what to do on a daily basis. The level of Favoritism is ridiculous in the shop and the bureaucracy prevents everyone from accomplishing – more... the simplest goals, can't even get tools and parts in a timely manner. Reminds me of being in the military, mass punishment and harassment are a part of daily routine however corrective actions are non-existent. Honestly the only redeeming quality about working there is the pay which many of the employees have taken pay cuts over the last few years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is still struggling at the site level
employee (Current Employee), VAOctober 12, 2013
Pros: 9-5
Cons: high out of pocket rates for benefits
The furlough hiatus just reemphasizes the importance of proper management techniques and planning. VSE still struggles with changes to include, the ramping up phase, employee retention, and routine operations. Daily operations are redundant and employees in the mission critical positions lack creativity and the ability to change gears in order to meet – more... the current customers requirements.
One of the hardest parts of the job is trying to maintain cohesion between the different departments in an effort to perform job responsibilities. This company needs a facelift and a complete refurbishment to reach the unrealistic benchmarks that it establishes for itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: not so much stress, good hours
Cons: paydays not so timely
very productive, good management, working conditions good. typical day normal good. Management sometimes don't also keep you inform if needed. Co-workers works good as team. Being on my feet most of the work day. keeping busy and being productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7+ year employee of VSE Corportation
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Hamel, ILSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management
Work day began with a morning safety meeting. Then we worked in our assigned areas for refurbishing military ground equipment.

The local management was self serving, kissing butt to upper management, not looking out for the workers on the shop floor. This put in place our collective effort to organize, and become members of the Machinist union for – more... our location.

We all say pay increases, better benefits and better subsidies. After Sr. Management reviewed our contract, and refused to pay what is owed to several workers, we fought them. Now our location is closed in Hamel, IL.

Management only cares about units going out per month, above the health, and safety of the employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A soap opera
Painter 1 (Current Employee), Ruther Glen Va.September 19, 2013
Pros: some good people
Cons: everything else
Was a great job but went down hill fast.. Poor management from the top all the way to the supervisors. Slanted job, Wants you to be a zombie and work your butt off while others are enjoyed in a conversation with the supervisors talking. Fony Butt kissing and back stabbing spells VSE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing Place to Work
Analyst (Former Employee), Alexandria, VASeptember 9, 2013
Cons: too many to list
Not sure how these folks stay in business with the management team they employ. Big AA push leads to folks in positions they have no business being in. CEO thinks he's Jack Welch but really is a mid-level manager cast off from CSC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading Management
Production Control Clerk (Former Employee), Gatesville, TXSeptember 6, 2013
Cons: fellow employees....
Worked with the Gatesville Facility for 14 months. Furloughed everyone while waiting for new Contract to be signed. New Contract was signed and was expected to be called back. Site and Asst Site Managers both indicated to me that I would be hearing something from Corporate rather than being up front and stating that I was not being called back. The – more... last email inquiry I sent them, they deleted all of my VSE accounts rather than reply to my questions. I still have not received notice from Corporate Headquarters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job as a Mechanic
Lead Mechanic II (Former Employee), Ruther Glen, VASeptember 4, 2013
- Work was always fun, we had a great group of men and woman that worked together as a team.
- Didn't learn too much there, already had a lot of knowledge prior to working for company.
- Management could have done a lot better at planning for fiscal year closeout.
- Great co-workers, for the most part.
- Hardest part of the job was meeting deadline – more... without the parts that were needed to complete the task at hand.
- Being able to go to work and do what I love to do. The love you have for your job, makes work seem like fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we stayed busy with-out down time
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), barstow califAugust 13, 2013
vse is very family oriented.i really enjoyed going to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kindergarten working envornment
wash rack (Former Employee), long beach msAugust 9, 2013
Pros: its a job! good saftey program!
Cons: poor comunication poor hr dept lazyness runs rampid
Poorly trained managment...no team effort....no one responsible for there own qualitly.....backwoods supervisors yelling out orders without a clue on what is really is going on!....long beach ms.needs a comeplete overhaul of management. The family....son....cousin....neighbor click needs to go away! If your going to work here better get out your knee – more... pads. Supervisor told me not to think for myself! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay, federal holidays, good environment
Painter (Former Employee), long beach MSAugust 4, 2013
Pros: 8 hour work day
Cons: 30 min lunch
painting heavy equipment and military vehicles
learned lots of safety practices and procedures, also about military equipment
management mostly retired military, slow to respond to personnel issues
most coworkers were great to work with. team players.
hardest part of job was climbing on equipment while painting.
the best part of the job; they supplied – more... the tools

Things were great until sequestration forced a furlough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VSE Corporation
LOGISTICS/FIELD ENGR III G (Former Employee), Orlando FLJuly 29, 2013
I corresponded daily with Army Reserve Units in reference to all types of equipment. I fielded questions about equipment currently at rebuild facility and equipment that has returned. I assisted co-workers via email or phone, I worked independently. The hardest part of the job was just making contact with the customer, they were not always available. – more... I enjoyed being able to answer questions and resolve issues with little delay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take care of employees, good pay and benefits
Senior Instructor (Current Employee), Fort McCoy, WIJuly 23, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits, good work environment
Cons: contract work, unstable
Provide in depth instruction on maintenance and repair of military vehicles and equipment, electrical, hydraulics, a/c, refrigeration, administer 609 testing and proctor 608 testing, develop courses and write lesson plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established track record
PROJECT CONTROLS AND FINANCIALS (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: it system and easy access to information
Cons: depedence on defense and naval contracts
Strong operational and technical capabilities, competitive benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work on military vehicles, equipment and systems
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Barstow, CAJuly 16, 2013
A typical day for me would be to get multiple work orders to initial inspect, find all the faults and order parts to fix the faults.

I help my fellow coworkers with anything they need.

The hardest part is the location and weather conditions. but i adjust and adapt for any situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress stress stress
Painter tech II (Former Employee), Long Beach, MSJuly 16, 2013
lazy people, lazy bosses that only care about themselves. got pay decreases took night shift differential and healtrh care is the most ridiculous ive seen ever. who can afford over $600 a pay period in health care for family?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company does a great service in support of our military.
Mechanic (Current Employee), Ladysmith, VAJuly 8, 2013
This was a great company to work for and I would recommend this company to anyone seeking work in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Production Control Clerk (Current Employee), Texarkana, ARJuly 6, 2013
Pros: living close to family
Cons: never knowing from year to year if you are going to have a job or not.
Co-workers are fun loving and no matter what is going on they will always find the bright spot in the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
???
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Long Beach, MSMay 12, 2013
I was responsible for being highly knowledgeable in gas and diesel engine technology and tracked and wheeled equipment. My duties included the complete disassembling and assembling military equipment from technical manuals, written procedures, reading blueprints, engineering sketches and/or verbal instructions, while adhering to all company safety and – more... quality standards. I Trouble shot complex electrical systems, mechanical assemblies, equipment systems using common test and measurement equipment. I was also responsible for another mechanic; I trained, managed, and inspected his work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fast paced, new learning opportunity and personal growth times.
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Mena Abdula, KuwaitApril 28, 2013
Pros: free lunch and 30min lunch and 3 15 min breaks during the day. the pay was great.
Cons: lunch was a bit too short and we worked 12hrs per day, 7 days a week.
A typical day work included using your research skills and the skills that your resume claimed were monitored by the Project Manager and your immediate supervisor. All technical manuals were available and were computerized. If you needed reference documentation, it had to be selected for printing and printed on our networked printer assigned to our – more... work area so everyone in that area had immediate access. I thought that it was well organized. I never had any problems getting the technical information that I needed. I learned about the MK II/MK-III Army and Marine buffalo electrical and mechanical components and the necessary requirements for repair and refurbishment. I learned how to interpret and address maintenance fault blink codes to include those codes given at the transmission shifter. I learned that this vehicle had three computers. The EECU in the engine compartment; VECU inside the truck located under the commander's side; and the TCM or Transmission Control Module and how to program and troubleshoot them. My specialty, however, was electrical troubleshooting and re-wiring. At the time that I worked on these vehicles, there were 14 pages of schematics covering the entire vehicle. I had learned and memorized each sheet according to that sheets applicable function. For example sheet #10 was the sheet that would be used for troubleshooting the transmission circuits that included several circuits coming out of the VECU and the TCM. Later some key personnel were realigned and I was sent to night shift to form a new team to upgrade the M1015 HETT with armor protection. This included putting on heavier front leaf springs for the additional weight of the equipment. We also had to add and extend airlines to the existing ones because the air tanks on the driver's side were moved to another location on the truck. Rewiring was done at the battery box in order for the armor to move in front of each door. Later, after further research and development, the armor was moved into place hydraulically with the addition of hydraulic lines, hoses and fittings in order for this system to properly function. The supervisor was a decent guy, he insured that when there was a day off request made the deserving person received the day off. They enforced the wear of PPE at all times. They worked well with the Project manager and other team leaders. We later started working on an MRAP vehicle named JEERVs which stands for Joint Emergency EOD Reconnaissance Vehicle. We had to put forth the same type refurbishment/upgrade effort as we did on the buffalo vehicle. Just as much effort had to be placed on this vehicle also. Again, my specialty was to troubleshoot and repair all the electrical systems. I also had to install a 120v converter systems phased correctly. I had a phase analyzer to help me with that(it was a small 3-pronged plug). As far as my coworkers are concerned there are only a few that I really enjoyed working with. There some, but not many, that wanted to improve upon their skills and their work showed that desire; and there were some who just did not care one way or the other. I also learned that everyone really doesn't want your help in the way of self improvement. This is a very delicate issue and has to be handled carefully. Sometimes the hardest part of the job was getting started. I mean you had to first identify and inventory all of your assigned equipment for that job. Move your tools into place and then go to work. After that, ensuring that you stayed focus on your assignment with your team mates. Each member had their areas of responsibility. We worked with Internationals, i.e., Pakistanis, Indians, Nepal, Sri Lankans, etc. Sometimes just to get your point across about what you wanted was a major task especially if there were new employees. I had the privilege of working with some of the more educated ones and it made the job easier because they all knew what had to be done. The most enjoyable part of the job is when it all came together. Standing back and watching the government inspect your work. Getting a chance to admire the work that you and your team completed together. And finally working off the final Government gigs and then parking the truck in the parking lot with a 100% that means that everything works according to the manual and is ready to send back to the soldiers on the mission fields. That is the supreme accomplishment and is most enjoyable. – less

About VSE Corporation

VSE brings military hand-me-downs back into fashion. The company provides engineering, testing, and logistics services for theĀ US – Read more

VSE Corporation Photos