Find companies:
VSE Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

VSE Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent corporation to work for. Advises employees on changes, benefits and work schedules by email or meetings. Rating is 10 out of 10.
Production Control Clerk (Current Employee), Fort Sam Houston, TXNovember 11, 2013
Pros: met suspenses & reports, prioritized tasks, delegated, evaluated, counseled, mentored employees and trained. ensure material and equipment are available for training.
Cons: employees trained to do a better job, resolve conflict among employee, abide and prevent with eo and affirmative actions
First to work and last to leave. A typical day at work would start by ensuring everyone was accountable and safe at work. Reporting accountability ranged from San Antonio and Marshall,Texas. Replying to e-mails and a half hour meeting to ensure suspenses and reports are met. Tour the facility to no violations were found. Always prepared for the unexpected. – more... Ensured employee took lunch on time and working in a good environmental. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childish Games
Engineering Tech (Former Employee), Long Beach, MSOctober 22, 2013
Pros: pay is pretty good but don't expect a raise only pay cuts.
Cons: healthcare sucks and gets worse every year, management is terrible.
If you're not in the "In Crowd" don't expect to get any respect or to advance in the company, they only take care of their "brother-in-laws" family and friends. Management has their heads so far up their butts they have no clue what to do on a daily basis. The level of Favoritism is ridiculous in the shop and the bureaucracy prevents everyone from accomplishing – more... the simplest goals, can't even get tools and parts in a timely manner. Reminds me of being in the military, mass punishment and harassment are a part of daily routine however corrective actions are non-existent. Honestly the only redeeming quality about working there is the pay which many of the employees have taken pay cuts over the last few years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is still struggling at the site level
employee (Current Employee), VAOctober 12, 2013
Pros: 9-5
Cons: high out of pocket rates for benefits
The furlough hiatus just reemphasizes the importance of proper management techniques and planning. VSE still struggles with changes to include, the ramping up phase, employee retention, and routine operations. Daily operations are redundant and employees in the mission critical positions lack creativity and the ability to change gears in order to meet – more... the current customers requirements.
One of the hardest parts of the job is trying to maintain cohesion between the different departments in an effort to perform job responsibilities. This company needs a facelift and a complete refurbishment to reach the unrealistic benchmarks that it establishes for itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: not so much stress, good hours
Cons: paydays not so timely
very productive, good management, working conditions good. typical day normal good. Management sometimes don't also keep you inform if needed. Co-workers works good as team. Being on my feet most of the work day. keeping busy and being productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7+ year employee of VSE Corportation
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Hamel, ILSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management
Work day began with a morning safety meeting. Then we worked in our assigned areas for refurbishing military ground equipment.

The local management was self serving, kissing butt to upper management, not looking out for the workers on the shop floor. This put in place our collective effort to organize, and become members of the Machinist union for – more... our location.

We all say pay increases, better benefits and better subsidies. After Sr. Management reviewed our contract, and refused to pay what is owed to several workers, we fought them. Now our location is closed in Hamel, IL.

Management only cares about units going out per month, above the health, and safety of the employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A soap opera
Painter 1 (Current Employee), Ruther Glen Va.September 19, 2013
Pros: some good people
Cons: everything else
Was a great job but went down hill fast.. Poor management from the top all the way to the supervisors. Slanted job, Wants you to be a zombie and work your butt off while others are enjoyed in a conversation with the supervisors talking. Fony Butt kissing and back stabbing spells VSE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing Place to Work
Analyst (Former Employee), Alexandria, VASeptember 9, 2013
Cons: too many to list
Not sure how these folks stay in business with the management team they employ. Big AA push leads to folks in positions they have no business being in. CEO thinks he's Jack Welch but really is a mid-level manager cast off from CSC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading Management
Production Control Clerk (Former Employee), Gatesville, TXSeptember 6, 2013
Cons: fellow employees....
Worked with the Gatesville Facility for 14 months. Furloughed everyone while waiting for new Contract to be signed. New Contract was signed and was expected to be called back. Site and Asst Site Managers both indicated to me that I would be hearing something from Corporate rather than being up front and stating that I was not being called back. The – more... last email inquiry I sent them, they deleted all of my VSE accounts rather than reply to my questions. I still have not received notice from Corporate Headquarters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job as a Mechanic
Lead Mechanic II (Former Employee), Ruther Glen, VASeptember 4, 2013
- Work was always fun, we had a great group of men and woman that worked together as a team.
- Didn't learn too much there, already had a lot of knowledge prior to working for company.
- Management could have done a lot better at planning for fiscal year closeout.
- Great co-workers, for the most part.
- Hardest part of the job was meeting deadline – more... without the parts that were needed to complete the task at hand.
- Being able to go to work and do what I love to do. The love you have for your job, makes work seem like fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we stayed busy with-out down time
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), barstow califAugust 13, 2013
vse is very family oriented.i really enjoyed going to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kindergarten working envornment
wash rack (Former Employee), long beach msAugust 9, 2013
Pros: its a job! good saftey program!
Cons: poor comunication poor hr dept lazyness runs rampid
Poorly trained managment...no team effort....no one responsible for there own qualitly.....backwoods supervisors yelling out orders without a clue on what is really is going on!....long beach ms.needs a comeplete overhaul of management. The family....son....cousin....neighbor click needs to go away! If your going to work here better get out your knee – more... pads. Supervisor told me not to think for myself! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay, federal holidays, good environment
Painter (Former Employee), long beach MSAugust 4, 2013
Pros: 8 hour work day
Cons: 30 min lunch
painting heavy equipment and military vehicles
learned lots of safety practices and procedures, also about military equipment
management mostly retired military, slow to respond to personnel issues
most coworkers were great to work with. team players.
hardest part of job was climbing on equipment while painting.
the best part of the job; they supplied – more... the tools

Things were great until sequestration forced a furlough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VSE Corporation
LOGISTICS/FIELD ENGR III G (Former Employee), Orlando FLJuly 29, 2013
I corresponded daily with Army Reserve Units in reference to all types of equipment. I fielded questions about equipment currently at rebuild facility and equipment that has returned. I assisted co-workers via email or phone, I worked independently. The hardest part of the job was just making contact with the customer, they were not always available. – more... I enjoyed being able to answer questions and resolve issues with little delay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take care of employees, good pay and benefits
Senior Instructor (Current Employee), Fort McCoy, WIJuly 23, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits, good work environment
Cons: contract work, unstable
Provide in depth instruction on maintenance and repair of military vehicles and equipment, electrical, hydraulics, a/c, refrigeration, administer 609 testing and proctor 608 testing, develop courses and write lesson plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established track record
PROJECT CONTROLS AND FINANCIALS (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: it system and easy access to information
Cons: depedence on defense and naval contracts
Strong operational and technical capabilities, competitive benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work on military vehicles, equipment and systems
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Barstow, CAJuly 16, 2013
A typical day for me would be to get multiple work orders to initial inspect, find all the faults and order parts to fix the faults.

I help my fellow coworkers with anything they need.

The hardest part is the location and weather conditions. but i adjust and adapt for any situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress stress stress
Painter tech II (Former Employee), Long Beach, MSJuly 16, 2013
lazy people, lazy bosses that only care about themselves. got pay decreases took night shift differential and healtrh care is the most ridiculous ive seen ever. who can afford over $600 a pay period in health care for family?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company does a great service in support of our military.
Mechanic (Current Employee), Ladysmith, VAJuly 8, 2013
This was a great company to work for and I would recommend this company to anyone seeking work in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Production Control Clerk (Current Employee), Texarkana, ARJuly 6, 2013
Pros: living close to family
Cons: never knowing from year to year if you are going to have a job or not.
Co-workers are fun loving and no matter what is going on they will always find the bright spot in the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
???
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Long Beach, MSMay 12, 2013
I was responsible for being highly knowledgeable in gas and diesel engine technology and tracked and wheeled equipment. My duties included the complete disassembling and assembling military equipment from technical manuals, written procedures, reading blueprints, engineering sketches and/or verbal instructions, while adhering to all company safety and – more... quality standards. I Trouble shot complex electrical systems, mechanical assemblies, equipment systems using common test and measurement equipment. I was also responsible for another mechanic; I trained, managed, and inspected his work. – less

About VSE Corporation

VSE brings military hand-me-downs back into fashion. The company provides engineering, testing, and logistics services for theĀ US – Read more

VSE Corporation Photos